Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

T231H
post Jan 6 2016, 09:20 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2016, 09:16 AM)
6.x% + employer contribution will definitely give returns of >10% right?

Any PRS give that kind of returns?
hmm.gif so it
2.5% + employer contribution will definitely give returns of > 10% right?

can take employer contribution into the calculation?

Ramjade
post Jan 6 2016, 09:24 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 6 2016, 09:20 AM)
hmm.gif so it

2.5% returns vs 6.x% returns? Why would you want to take 2.5% returns over 6.x% returns? Like I said PRS should be utilised for income tax only.
brotan
post Jan 6 2016, 09:25 AM

2,392 posts

what you guys think of this?

#############

tan: i noticed there's a SC promo
tan: 0.5% on 15th?
Jennifer:
Is on 16 January 2016

Jennifer:
This offer is given if you attend our seminar.

tan: ok 16th
tan: if i buy online, still valid?
Jennifer:
Yes

tan: but i need to attend the seminar?
Jennifer:
Yes

tan: if i didn't attend, i can't get the 0.5%?
Jennifer:
You are advisable to attend the seminar in order to get 0.5% discount. For those who place order at home will be on company discretion.

tan: ok
T231H
post Jan 6 2016, 09:32 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2016, 09:24 AM)
2.5% returns vs 6.x% returns? Why would you want to take 2.5% returns over 6.x% returns? Like I said PRS should be utilised for income tax only.
2.5% is EPF must gives out mandatory.....
the number used is to shows that if you add in the employer contribution.....it is large.
don't use to invest is also like you said > 10% already....

Like I said PRS should be NOT utilised for income tax only..the tax saving and the lower SC and the youth Incentive scheme are some small actions the Govt can helps to jump start one into the abit of financial planning process....
ever wonder how many started investing because of that?

Start Your Retirement Planning Early
http://www.ppa.my/getting-started/retireme...planning-early/

wongmunkeong
post Jan 6 2016, 09:32 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

mathematical statistics means whatever it is to the cooker.

facts are facts - Employer's EPF contribution does not USUALLY exceed 19% of Employee's gross, due to tax efficiency / costs.
no right or not here

---
As for "PRS just for income tax", i'd say it depends on one's usage of PRS.
OR
are U just espousing "there is only 1 way to use a tool"?

eg.
for employees that can only save $3K pa (excluding EPF contribution)
and for sure wont touch long long,
won't it be better for them to use 0% frontload PRS instead of "normal mutual funds" which will incur some % of frontload?

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 6 2016, 09:37 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2016, 09:37 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 6 2016, 09:32 AM)
mathematical statistics means whatever it is to the cooker.

facts are facts - Employer's EPF contribution does not exceed 19% of Employee's gross.
no right or not here

---
As for "PRS just for income tax", i'd say it depends on one's usage of PRS.
OR
are U just espousing "there is only 1 way to use a tool"?

eg.
for employees that can only save $3K pa (excluding EPF contribution)
and for sure wont touch long long,
won't it be better for them to use PRS instead of "normal mutual funds" which will incur some % of frontload?
What I am saying is just buy PRS for max tax relief. Any balance dump into epf rather than buy a PRS.
wongmunkeong
post Jan 6 2016, 09:43 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2016, 09:37 AM)
What I am saying is just buy PRS for max tax relief. Any balance dump into epf rather than buy a PRS.
For a typical Employee:
why the heck would i dump my cash into EPF
WHEN
1. no tax incentive - yup, hit that magical "$x,xxx for EPF AND Death Insurance" a long time ago.
Those who earns an average income IN KLANG VALLEY will have also hit it already

2. Long-term wise (talking about 20+ to 30+ years), EPF's average returns < equity markets' returns
The compounded returns pa% over those years make the few % difference a year huge in terms of $ at the end of 20+ 30+ years

3. IF U are saying "playing NOT to lose", yes i agree with U - just stupidly dump into EPF
BUT for those "playing TO WIN", dump into EPF? seriously?
T231H
post Jan 6 2016, 09:53 AM

5,143 posts

hmm.gif if SOME Uts has better returns than EPF...Why dump into EPF?
Better Returns with no locking period...
not sure?...go read page#9 post 163, 164 and 165
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3580942/+160

if one want to compare PRS why not I compare it with normal uts? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by T231H: Jan 6 2016, 09:55 AM
brotan
post Jan 6 2016, 10:18 AM

2,392 posts

any idea on this?

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 6 2016, 09:25 AM)
what you guys think of this?

#############

tan: i noticed there's a SC promo
tan: 0.5% on 15th?
Jennifer:
Is on 16 January 2016

Jennifer:
This offer is given if you attend our seminar.

tan: ok 16th
tan: if i buy online, still valid?
Jennifer:
Yes

tan: but i need to attend the seminar?
Jennifer:
Yes

tan: if i didn't attend, i can't get the 0.5%?
Jennifer:
You are advisable to attend the seminar in order to get 0.5% discount. For those who place order at home will be on company discretion.

tan: ok
SUSyklooi
post Jan 6 2016, 10:37 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 6 2016, 10:18 AM)
any idea on this?
hmm.gif I think they ......you decide biggrin.gif
dare not challenge,..else...Jennifer angry and take action.... sweat.gif

dasecret
post Jan 6 2016, 10:52 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:03 PM)
Who got more than 3 PRS funds?
Me... every year buy different fund blush.gif
Problem with looking at rear view mirror when investing
dasecret
post Jan 6 2016, 10:59 AM

1,498 posts

You are looking at PRS too simplistically

I would look at it at each of its element

1. Employee contribution - compare against UTs; PRS with lock in, UT without - only differentiating factor is tax relief
So yes, contribute only up to RM3k per annum

2. Employer contribution - compare against EPF; both have lock in period
If you are self employed in a Sdn Bhd; or have some say on how HR deals with the additional employment benefit; ie company currently contribute more than 12% to EPF
I would recommend for the extra % to be contributed into PRS instead of EPF
Why?
- The additional % up to 7% would be tax deductible anyway, if contributed to EPF or PRS
- The employee does not have to pay sales charge to take out account 1 balances to invest in UTs
- The choice of PRS funds are not limited to Malaysia equity funds; you get asia pac funds as well
Cons - HR got more work to do as the employees might choose different funds in different fund house

Unfortunately PPA does not do a good job in (2) and therefore the AUM for PRS is still very low. Most banks and many MNCs contribute additional % to EPF as a staff perk. Most PRS equity funds would exceed 2.5% return or even EPF returns on a longer term basis
wongmunkeong
post Jan 6 2016, 11:00 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 6 2016, 10:37 AM)
hmm.gif I think they ......you decide  biggrin.gif
dare not challenge,..else...Jennifer angry and take action.... sweat.gif
nanti kena sebat by Jennifer.. cool tongue.gif

aiya - go attend / sign-in there lar, help them with numbers/stats/headcount
else
next year no more leh
U know some old management-style people lar - stats for stats, not "what's the REAL GOALs/OBJECTIVEs" of the thinggy
brotan
post Jan 6 2016, 11:14 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 6 2016, 11:00 AM)

else
next year no more leh
U know some old management-style people lar - stats for stats, not "what's the REAL GOALs/OBJECTIVEs" of the thinggy
too far away lah.
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2016, 11:18 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 6 2016, 10:52 AM)
Me... every year buy different fund  blush.gif
Problem with looking at rear view mirror when investing
Haha.. you are right!!!
Okina
post Jan 6 2016, 11:21 AM

131 posts

"0.5% SC for all funds from participating fund houses during the event" refers to fund houses that are going to be featured in the fair? Or fund houses that are on the FSM platform?

Reading too much between the lines? tongue.gif
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2016, 11:24 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 6 2016, 09:20 AM)
hmm.gif so it

Yalah.. why would you want to take employer contribution into the calculation?
Ramjade
post Jan 6 2016, 11:31 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 6 2016, 11:24 AM)
Yalah.. why would you want to take employer contribution into the calculation?
Cause employer can only contribute to either EPF or PRS only right? They cannot contribute to both. Am I right?
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2016, 11:34 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 6 2016, 09:53 AM)
hmm.gif if SOME Uts has better returns than EPF...Why dump into EPF?
Better Returns with no locking period...
not sure?...go read page#9 post 163, 164 and 165
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3580942/+160

if one want to compare PRS why not I compare it with normal uts?  tongue.gif
EPF is play save.. every year can see your EPF growing little by little. Can sleep better..

UT equities over long term will be better.. but problem is psychology and mentally cannot take it when see UT red or during economy crisis and the time to wait for it to go back up is excruciating tough.
Kaka23
post Jan 6 2016, 11:38 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 6 2016, 11:00 AM)

else
next year no more leh
Kena sebat di katil?!! tongue.gif

Haha.. go there makan free ada? Parking free?

144 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0910sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:48 AM