Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

river.sand
post Jan 25 2016, 07:34 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jan 25 2016, 01:10 PM)
N I dun mean the customer service like front counter people but the one called CIS,  can they analyse a portfolio thoroughly and tell you what went wrong
Do CIS get commission from our transactions?
If they don't get commission I don't expect them to be too aggressive.

Sorry, I am yet to communicate with any of them...
river.sand
post Jan 25 2016, 09:44 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 25 2016, 08:44 PM)
I have NEVER into stock investing...
just reading from the above posts.....just wondering if I have RM 100k to invest into lets say Maybank or NEstle.....will they let me have a look to analyse their operations?
You don't need to be a shareholder to do these:
- study financial reports
- talk to their Investor Relations

If you are a shareholder, you can attend the AGM and ask questions.
river.sand
post Jan 25 2016, 10:30 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 25 2016, 10:09 PM)
isn't it they will always says good about their company?
can they be trusted to tell you the truth or
did the top mgmt hide somethings from them or
the top mgmt. did not tell them some things?
then in that case they (investor relation) are telling the truth but a lot of hanky panky they will not know. right?
One thing you can get from the Investor Relations is company's future road map.
If a cookie maker is diversifying into property, you may think, “Oh no, this is diworseification!"

Note: this is what Peter Lynch means by diworseification. It has nothing to do with correlation coefficient.
river.sand
post Jan 26 2016, 11:01 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 26 2016, 10:12 PM)
Gulp, touch wood. I think my job is quite secure for now. All the sifus in investment from Warren Buffett to William Bernstein tells us that the best time to buy is during a falling market when the economic clouds are the blackest. This is especially so if the investors are in their 20's and 30's and have a long term investment horizon. Remember the hamburger story by Buffett?

So I applied it to my investment in FSM. Touch wood, thus far, I am still ok. Not burned yet.

I am not sure about the strategies used for stock trading. Buy high, sell higher? How would we know when is the right time to sell? This means we are not going to hold the stock for long term? This seems to be a different concept from unit trust investing.

hmm.gif

So would you mind sharing what would be your FSM investment strategy now in view of the global rout?

My principle is simple. I read a lot of investment books and apply some of the ideas to my investment portfolio. If it works, I will share it here. If it doesn't work, then I will be the only casualty, aka guinea pig.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Stock trading is buy high sell higher. Stock investment is different story.

Peter Lynch's One Up on Wall Street is my investment Bible. This is what he says:
The best time to buy stocks will always be the day when you've convinced yourself you've found solid merchandise at a good price.

In other words, it doesn't matter whether the market is up or down.

Somehow I am not sure if we can apply this principle to UT investment, as we can't determine whether a fund is at good price. The best I can do is diversification and DCA.

river.sand
post Jan 27 2016, 10:00 AM

3,815 posts

FSM gives Russia 4-and-a half stars rating, but...

Russian GDP contracted 3.7% in 2015

river.sand
post Jan 27 2016, 02:38 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 27 2016, 10:33 AM)
hi guys.......... it's my 1st post in fsm thread in 2-3 years time.

i recently thinking of constructing a portfolio, apart from my current investment in stock. i want something more resilient and long term that I don't have to watch out for the next 5-10 years. or possibly for retirement purposes.

Method of my investment will be via RSP on monthly basis and via EPF contribution, i have never taken out any monies from my epf account before.

Currently I only have very insignificant amount invested in Kenanga Growth Fund, return of about 36% since invested 3 years ago.

Can any member(s) here shed some light of your insights on how can I go about doing it?

Goal is 30% (EPF + mandatory savings for retirement), so I will make up the remaining 7% minus PRS of 250 every month. which means I need to save pretty little only for such purpose.

question in mind is, what kind of funds should I go for? I would say the riskier funds, more to equity since time is on my side.

Also, i know nuts about asset allocation, can share with me on what do you think?

Thanks a bunch and happy midweek!

Edit: if i just invest in one, say Kenanga Growth Fund, do you think this is ok?
You invest in Bursa? Then I suggest funds which cover foreign markets.

river.sand
post Jan 28 2016, 09:15 AM

3,815 posts

Wanna ask your opinion...

Given the volatility, when you make an investment, whether in bond fund or equity fund, what's your investment horizon/planned holding period?
river.sand
post Jan 28 2016, 10:52 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 28 2016, 09:20 AM)
the longer the better?
Indeed it's the longer the better. But what are the minimum holding periods?
river.sand
post Jan 28 2016, 03:20 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 28 2016, 01:24 PM)
I don't have a fixed holding period esp. for my supplementary portfolio. It all depends on the performance of the fund compared to its peers. That's why I sometimes tend to overtrade.

If the fund manager is not performing, then we will just have to "sack" him/her by selling the unit trusts. Of course in a global rout like now, every fund is not "performing", so there is nobody to sack.
Ok, let's put it in another way.
When you invest in certain funds, you know: I am not going to need this money in n years.

What is that n?
river.sand
post Feb 3 2016, 04:02 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Feb 3 2016, 03:21 PM)
Only 1 call regarding market. 2 scheduled rebalancing. No excitement over here.
You wait for your clients to call rclxub.gif
You don't proactively call 30 of them everyday?
river.sand
post Feb 3 2016, 04:04 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 3 2016, 12:23 PM)
I have just look at Hwang's monthly review and all sector: all indices are down... there is no where to hide. Only one asset class is in positive territory, i.e., GOLD.

With such duldrums and huldrums, where got mood to be chatty leh?

Sigh!

Xuzen
Over in the Stock Market forum, people are more excited when the market is down laugh.gif
river.sand
post Feb 5 2016, 08:14 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 4 2016, 11:22 PM)
Why have chinese version?
FSM operates in Hong Kong. Articles written by hongkies are re-published here.
river.sand
post Feb 5 2016, 11:24 AM

3,815 posts

early greeting smile.gif

Attached image(s)
river.sand
post Feb 7 2016, 11:38 PM

3,815 posts

Last year, I went to a temple in Taiwan (the Shell Temple). Upon our donation, the temple fellows uttered a few words in Taiwanese/Hokkien. I repeat them here biggrin.gif

HENG AH! ONG AH! HUAT AH!

This post has been edited by river.sand: Feb 7 2016, 11:39 PM
river.sand
post Feb 10 2016, 04:43 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(stutroop @ Feb 8 2016, 10:45 PM)
hi. i am still new to fsm. is good to buy unit trust now...? as we all know the economy is not that good now... please give some advice.
There are 2 schools of thoughts.
The first one is 'buy low sell high';
The second one is 'buy high sell higher', also known as 'don't catch the falling knife'.

Investors from the first school would be happy to buy when the economy/market is bad; whereas those from the second school would sell.

We really can't tell you whether it is good time to buy. You have to make up your mind.

river.sand
post Feb 12 2016, 10:32 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 12 2016, 09:51 AM)
Sell now n buy back later at cheaper price?
You sell today markets up tomorrow...
river.sand
post Feb 13 2016, 12:11 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2016, 11:53 AM)
I busy with girlfriend and her family wub.gif
You went to Mekong?
According to news, police raided Kuchai Lama many recently.
river.sand
post Feb 15 2016, 01:35 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(stutroop @ Feb 14 2016, 11:44 PM)
tq bro, duit ala.... of course when market down. but looks like market is keep going down n down... hmmm... like what u said "...the volatility will continue"

shud i wait until market start going up and buy?
Let me try to answer your question...

The market may go up in 3 months, 6 months or 1 year. Nobody knows...
If your investment horizon is 10 years or more, 6 months do not make a lot of difference.
You can buy now, but not lump sum investment. Do DCA.

OTOH, if your investment horizon is 3 years, you may want to wait and see.
river.sand
post Feb 16 2016, 09:58 PM

3,815 posts

Saudi, Qatar, Venezuela and Russia agree to freeze output.
Oil prices should rally, and ringgit would strengthen. Which means some of the funds we invest in will be more red...
river.sand
post Feb 16 2016, 10:10 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 16 2016, 10:02 PM)
hmm.gif freeze output?....
does it mean NO OUTPUT?...for how long?
Freeze at January levels.
I guess that means the four nations will not increase outputs, but may not reduce them anytime soon.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0546sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:57 PM