Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

Vanguard 2015
post Jan 14 2016, 10:03 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 14 2016, 07:11 AM)
hmm.gif FSM advises...."As small cap stocks are known to be more volatile than their large cap counterparts, investors should consider including small cap equity funds in their supplementary portfolios, confining their allocation in these funds to no more than 10% weightage of their entire portfolios."

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...allenging--6639

anyway.....if one got the appetite and are well prepared for it (financially)....I see, why not go against FSM advice.... brows.gif
No-lah. My post no. 1356 was meant as a joke to lighten the atmosphere in this forum a bit. Everyone seems to be a bit sombre because of the global rout. Like attending a funeral already. biggrin.gif

I have not lost my marbles....yet....to hold 100% in Malaysian small cap. tongue.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 14 2016, 10:06 AM

3,541 posts

If I read the Morningstar Asia info correctly, the current cash holdings of the following funds are as follows:-

1. CIMB Dynamic (aka Ponzi 2) = 15.79% of net assets
2. CIMB Global Titans = 9.89% of net assets
3. Eastspring Global Leaders = 1.67% of net assets
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 14 2016, 03:42 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Jan 14 2016, 02:06 PM)
Last I checked, Morningstar's fund info is a bit outdated. Best to get those info from each fund's FFS from FSM
FSM's Fund Sheet also not so updated. For Ponzi 2 and Titanic fund, the Fund Sheet is as at November 2015.
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 14 2016, 05:09 PM

3,541 posts

(Reaching for my popcorn). Let the battle begin. biggrin.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 14 2016, 06:12 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 14 2016, 05:57 PM)

The buying and selling at RM1/unit is to make people who are adverse of losing money to go into this eventhough it's a pure equity fund.
If any of this people bother to read the master prospectus
http://www.asnb.com.my/v3_/pdf/produk/mast..._prospectus.pdf

and the various fund factsheets
http://www.asnb.com.my/v3_/pdf/produk/ASB/...0331PHS-ASB.pdf

It is clearly stated that • ASB is a fixed price fund and it is not a capital guaranteed fund under the Guidelines

Thank you Dasecret. This is the first time that I have read the factsheet which says this.
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 10:01 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 15 2016, 12:38 AM)
any views on Amcommodities? Is this a sinking ship, a gone case UT?

I am stuck with it from day 1....... 2 years ago...........should i cut loss or buy more, i wonder...
If I were you, I will cut my losses and move on.

To draw an analogy. A patient is in a coma and is on life support system. He may or may not wake up in the future. The chances of him waking up is 5%. So would it be more humane to cut off the line support system now and let the patient die?

But the final decision is yours. It is your hard earned money. Do you have confidence that the price of oil will rebound in the short run?

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jan 15 2016, 10:06 AM
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 03:51 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 15 2016, 01:33 PM)
thanks for you rview, will seriously consider to sell.... oil really can go down some more??how low can it go....
The projected oil price drop is USD 20 a barrel. It may or may not happen. Warren Buffett is buying up shares in oil companies. Unfortunately we are not him. I would rather use the money from Am Commodities to invest in other funds. I am just looking at the lost opportunity costs.

It is your money and your call bro.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jan 15 2016, 03:53 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 04:43 PM

3,541 posts

Very exciting times....

My CIMB China is down by 6% and RHB China India is down by 6.2%.

I am not sure how long my heart can take this... biggrin.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 04:50 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jan 15 2016, 04:30 PM)
Higher volatility = higher risk = higher reward.

This is very true but also very difficult for some investors to understand. If you ask an average investor, "Would you like to make a potential gain of more than 10% per annum investing in unit trusts?" He will say "Fuyoh, where do I sign up"?

Then tell him, "But in the short run, there could be some bumpy years. You need to ride out the bumps by investing for the long run. So you could make a paper loss of 10% or more in the short run...".

The average investor would say, "Huh.. WTH. I only want the potential gain but I don't want to suffer the potential loss. Can ah?".

Our answer, "Mana boleh. Where got free lunch one in this world? biggrin.gif"
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 04:51 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 15 2016, 04:48 PM)
My RHB-OSK China-India Dynamic Growth Fund has down for -9.9%

Whose heart can't take it now!  cool2.gif
Well, you can ask Pink Spider to do CPR on you... rclxms.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 05:09 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 15 2016, 04:52 PM)
He only does CPR to dong gals. whistling.gif
Ptui, ptui, ptui. And he will let his brothers in arms in the forum die from heart attack. laugh.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 05:10 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 15 2016, 04:53 PM)
top up top up top up .... top up
No more no more no more. Wait until April 2016. I just topped up last week. smile.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 05:11 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Jan 15 2016, 05:09 PM)
Just wondering, where do you guys park your emergency funds (3-6months)? CMF or FD?
For me....ASM/AS 1M, OD account.....

I tarak FD or CMF. Living dangerously is my motto. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jan 15 2016, 05:12 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 17 2016, 12:13 AM

3,541 posts

I pity the investors queuing up to top up their investment at the FSM booth at Sunway Pyramid.

I feel like telling them, "STOP. You can do this from the comfort of your house without driving to Sunway Pyramid".

I notice this year's freebies are not as good as last year. Most of the booths have no freebies. Maybe it is because I went late, at around 2.00 pm. Or it could be a sign that the economy is not doing well and even the fund houses are tightening their belt.
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 17 2016, 12:21 AM

3,541 posts

If I invest based purely on EQ and not IQ, I would cash out from my equity funds now. Hold 50% in FD and CMF, 40% in bond funds and 10% in Global Titans and KGF.

Alas, I cannot predict how the markets will perform in the future. Purely based on my instinct which is worthless, I would say that there will be another global economic crisis this year or at least a major market correction. Those with titanium balls would load up on oil stocks and gold now.

But ANALysis is quite useless right? Everyone has one. It is what we call financial pornography...
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 17 2016, 12:48 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 17 2016, 12:30 AM)
Then no dinner for those gold and platinum account holder also..  tongue.gif
Dunno leh. Last year I got one lunch invite by FSM but I didn't go. I think it was sponsored by RHB and Manulife if I remember correctly.
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 17 2016, 01:09 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 17 2016, 01:05 AM)
Oh..  Where is the lunch?  At a 4 star hotel?
Bijian Bar and Restaurant, Jalan Ceylon, KL. I have never been there before, so I dunno whether it is 5 star or no star restaurant. smile.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 17 2016, 02:02 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 17 2016, 07:57 AM)
I got invest in few rhb funds,  bit they didnt invite me pun..  sad.gif

I think bijan is near jalan alor area..
It's ok sis. You didn't lose anything. I don't think the food is great. Anyway it is like first time dating. I rejected the invitation once and never got invited again. smile.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 17 2016, 02:05 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(JAIDK23 @ Jan 17 2016, 01:06 PM)
why cant buy aladdin??  shakehead.gif
Aladdin funds sinking like the titanic. Just google Aberdeen, they lost a lot of money last year. In December 2015, one of their top fund managers for Asia left after 20 years...
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 17 2016, 02:08 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 17 2016, 10:35 AM)
Because of the extraordinary return on last year. During the Penang event, some did ask the RHB speaker on how they achieved such return. The RHB speaker said that they missed the tech sector, if not, it'll be much higher!
Isn't this rear view mirror investing? It is like flipping a coin. 50/50 chance the RHB Smart Treasure fund will continue its sterling performance.

Sorry ah to the forumers here. I don't mean to be a party pooper.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0363sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:09 AM