144 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

kimyee73
post Jan 15 2016, 11:55 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 15 2016, 08:44 AM)
Be worried about your EPF money  whistling.gif
No need to worry one. EPF is like a giant Ponzi scheme. There are always new employees that will contribute and lock down for about 35 years before can take out. 35 years later, there are always new employees contributing enabling you to take out your money whistling.gif
iamoracle
post Jan 15 2016, 01:25 PM

614 posts

Am I entitle for 0.5% sales charge if I am not attending the investment fair?
guy3288
post Jan 15 2016, 01:33 PM

5,877 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 15 2016, 10:01 AM)
If I were you, I will cut my losses and move on.

To draw an analogy. A patient is in a coma and is on life support system. He may or may not wake up in the future. The chances of him waking up is 5%. So would it be more humane to cut off the line support system now and let the patient die?

But the final decision is yours. It is your hard earned money. Do you have confidence that the price of oil will rebound in the short run?
thanks for you rview, will seriously consider to sell.... oil really can go down some more??how low can it go....
brotan
post Jan 15 2016, 01:41 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Jan 15 2016, 01:25 PM)
Am I entitle for 0.5% sales charge if I am not attending the investment fair?
should be. i bought some without going to penang ones. got the 0.5%
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 15 2016, 02:02 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 15 2016, 11:55 AM)
No need to worry one. EPF is like a giant Ponzi scheme. There are always new employees that will contribute and lock down for about 35 years before can take out. 35 years later, there are always new employees contributing enabling you to take out your money  whistling.gif
don't forget those who died without a named beneficiary whistling.gif
nexona88
post Jan 15 2016, 02:12 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,453 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 15 2016, 01:33 PM)
thanks for you rview, will seriously consider to sell.... oil really can go down some more??how low can it go....
most mention USD 20/bbl, but stanchart gave usd10/bbl shocking.gif
brotan
post Jan 15 2016, 02:15 PM

2,392 posts

i made net extra 0.5% switching from ponzi 2 to titan biggrin.gif
T231H
post Jan 15 2016, 02:16 PM

5,143 posts

Binged and found this....if one is interested to read....

How Low Will Oil Go in 2016?
https://www.bing.com/search?q=How+Low+Will+...2016&FORM=QSRE1
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 03:51 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 15 2016, 01:33 PM)
The projected oil price drop is USD 20 a barrel. It may or may not happen. Warren Buffett is buying up shares in oil companies. Unfortunately we are not him. I would rather use the money from Am Commodities to invest in other funds. I am just looking at the lost opportunity costs.

It is your money and your call bro.

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jan 15 2016, 03:53 PM
j.passing.by
post Jan 15 2016, 04:30 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 15 2016, 03:51 PM)
The projected oil price drop is USD 20 a barrel. It may or may not happen. Warren Buffett is buying up shares in oil companies. Unfortunately we are not him. I would rather use the money from Am Commodities to invest in other funds. I am just looking at the lost opportunity costs.

It is your money and your call bro.
Higher volatility = higher risk = higher reward.

Not easy to make the call; after finding that there was more risk than one can stomach. Which is common enough since investors often think of high returns, and seldom the higher risk of loss.

It is back to square one, the initial decision before getting into any fund: How much volatility/risk should one take?

If switched to another less aggressive fund now, there could be another round of lost opportunity when the market rebounds. Tough choice...since switching into another less aggresive fund could means taking a longer time to recoup the loss.

=============

Whatever funds to switch into, even the same fund after pulling out temporary; maybe ponder on this investment strategy with a big sum of money:

1. Don't do one-time lump sum investment.
2. Split it into 2 halves, and invest 50% first.
3. Staggered the other 50% over 5 years.
4. If market behaves normally, then invest 10% each year.
5. If market falls sharply, then do following to take advantage of the steep drop:

Market fell by this much; Invest this much.
10% 10%
15% 22%
20% 30%
30% 13%
40% 12.5%
50% 12.5%

Q: What if market drops less than 10%?
A: It is normal and expected in an aggressive and volatile fund. As seen in recent days, funds can easily lost 1% to 3% in a day. If one can't withstand the volatility, then choose a more conservative fund with lower expected returns.

Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 04:43 PM

3,541 posts

Very exciting times....

My CIMB China is down by 6% and RHB China India is down by 6.2%.

I am not sure how long my heart can take this... biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 15 2016, 04:48 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 15 2016, 04:43 PM)
Very exciting times....

My RHB-OSK China-India Dynamic Growth Fund has down for -9.9%

Whose heart can't take it now! cool2.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 04:50 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jan 15 2016, 04:30 PM)
Higher volatility = higher risk = higher reward.

This is very true but also very difficult for some investors to understand. If you ask an average investor, "Would you like to make a potential gain of more than 10% per annum investing in unit trusts?" He will say "Fuyoh, where do I sign up"?

Then tell him, "But in the short run, there could be some bumpy years. You need to ride out the bumps by investing for the long run. So you could make a paper loss of 10% or more in the short run...".

The average investor would say, "Huh.. WTH. I only want the potential gain but I don't want to suffer the potential loss. Can ah?".

Our answer, "Mana boleh. Where got free lunch one in this world? biggrin.gif"
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 04:51 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 15 2016, 04:48 PM)
My RHB-OSK China-India Dynamic Growth Fund has down for -9.9%

Whose heart can't take it now!  cool2.gif
Well, you can ask Pink Spider to do CPR on you... rclxms.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jan 15 2016, 04:52 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 15 2016, 04:51 PM)
Well, you can ask Pink Spider to do CPR on you... rclxms.gif
He only does CPR to dong gals. whistling.gif
brotan
post Jan 15 2016, 04:53 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 15 2016, 04:43 PM)
Very exciting times....

top up top up top up .... top up
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 05:09 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 15 2016, 04:52 PM)
He only does CPR to dong gals. whistling.gif
Ptui, ptui, ptui. And he will let his brothers in arms in the forum die from heart attack. laugh.gif
voyage23
post Jan 15 2016, 05:09 PM

368 posts

Just wondering, where do you guys park your emergency funds (3-6months)? CMF or FD?
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 05:10 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 15 2016, 04:53 PM)
top up top up top up .... top up
No more no more no more. Wait until April 2016. I just topped up last week. smile.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 15 2016, 05:11 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Jan 15 2016, 05:09 PM)
Just wondering, where do you guys park your emergency funds (3-6months)? CMF or FD?
For me....ASM/AS 1M, OD account.....

I tarak FD or CMF. Living dangerously is my motto. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jan 15 2016, 05:12 PM

144 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:27 PM