nexona88
post Jan 12 2016, 04:56 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 12 2016, 04:53 PM)
Those who don't know will say it is due to random luck;

Those who know will use probability and statistic to his advantage and make luck come to him / her.

Xuzen
and don't tell anyone about it whistling.gif
cheahcw2003
post Jan 12 2016, 04:59 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 12 2016, 04:53 PM)
hmm.gif mind my ignorant and naiveness...
I had this thought too about ASx FP products too.....buy at RM 1, sell at RM 1 too.
isn't it capital guarantee?
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
It's a fixed price fund. Therefore, it looks like a capital guaranteed fund because when u sell, you will sell at what you have paid. Banks take it as collateral and grant OD/TL facilities of up to 100% of the face value (due to its fixed priced feature)

Having said that, in the financial terms, and financial literature, it is not a capital guarantee funds, at leaset the fund prospectus never mentioned it is capital guaranteed, nor it is an FD which guaranteed by PIDM.
MUM
post Jan 12 2016, 05:00 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 12 2016, 04:56 PM)
and don't tell anyone about it  whistling.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif luckily, for many here, some forummers visiting here don't do that.....
they shared what they knew......
MUM
post Jan 12 2016, 05:06 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jan 12 2016, 04:59 PM)
It's a fixed price fund. Therefore, it looks like a capital guaranteed fund because when u sell, you will sell at what you have paid. Banks take it as collateral and grant OD/TL facilities of up to 100% of the face value (due to its fixed priced feature)

Having said that, in the financial terms, and financial literature, it is not a capital guarantee funds, at leaset the fund prospectus never mentioned it is capital guaranteed, nor it is an FD which guaranteed by PIDM.
Thanks for explaining....
in the end...is it capital protected in layman term?
how should I explain it to my children?

It looks like capital protected (bcos buy/sell at RM1) but it is actually not?...sound confusing.... rclxub.gif
ChuiChuiShui
post Jan 12 2016, 05:15 PM

1,020 posts

Hi all, gt a newbie Question to ask boss-boss here.

Is CMF=cash management fund? <--cnt really get results from google. Maybe i poor in google skill.
The search results i get from FSM is just RHB CASH MANAGEMENT FUND 2. <-- Is this the 1 boss-boss skalian talk bout?
If yes, is there still any CMF around beside this? If this is CMF2, then what is CMF1?

Sorry if my Questions bother all bosses here.. hope some1 could spare a minute and answer my questions.
Thanks. smile.gif
MUM
post Jan 12 2016, 05:22 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(ChuiChuiShui @ Jan 12 2016, 05:15 PM)

Is CMF=cash management fund? <--cnt really get results from google. Maybe i poor in google skill.
The search results i get from FSM is just RHB CASH MANAGEMENT FUND 2. <-- Is this the 1 boss-boss skalian talk bout?
If yes, is there still any CMF around beside this? If this is CMF2, then what is CMF1?

Sorry if my Questions bother all bosses here.. hope some1 could spare a minute and answer my questions.
Thanks. smile.gif
try this....for CMF 2
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...ent-Fund-2-9718

edited:......refer to next post by adele for CMF1 and CMF2

This post has been edited by MUM: Jan 12 2016, 05:31 PM
adele123
post Jan 12 2016, 05:28 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(ChuiChuiShui @ Jan 12 2016, 05:15 PM)

Thanks. smile.gif
you can go to rhb ASSET MANAGEMENT website.

There is RHB CMF 1 and RHB CMF2

My Webpage

you can do your research as to what are the differences. both are money market funds though
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 12 2016, 05:31 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 12 2016, 01:28 PM)
so u will sell most of ur UT and park in CMF ?  tongue.gif
I will try and trim down my equity exposure. Park more into bond funds. The rest to put as advance payment for my housing loan or OD account.
MUM
post Jan 12 2016, 05:33 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 12 2016, 05:31 PM)
I will try and trim down my equity exposure. Park more into bond funds. The rest to put as advance payment for my housing loan or OD account.
hmm.gif some would say that, one can get more ROI % if invest them in EQ tongue.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 12 2016, 05:36 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 12 2016, 01:50 PM)
Then...why not sell all now and park in FD? whistling.gif
I wanted to park everything in FD but I am only doing my layman Anal-ysis about how the markets will perform this year. But what if I am wrong and the markets pick up in the 3Q or 4Q? Then I will miss out on all the potential gains. tongue.gif

So I think a ratio of 50/50 in equity/bond funds is still acceptable. My current bond fund exposure is very low.
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 12 2016, 05:38 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jan 12 2016, 01:47 PM)
i like reading this thread. More insights to learn compared to the ASB/ASW thread.

In that thread, if any guy successfully top up 1k into their account, 10 postings asking which bank/branch, which counter, what time, 1 trial or multiple trials, and another 10 postings congrat the guy well done, and why so lucky.

The quality of that thread very low.
Your statement brought a smile to my face.

It reminds me of aunties buying fish at the market. One aunty managed to buy a fish at a cheap price. The other aunties will crowd around her and say "Wah, your fish is so fresh and cheap. From which stall did you buy it from ah? rclxms.gif
Ramjade
post Jan 12 2016, 05:38 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 12 2016, 04:53 PM)
hmm.gif mind my ignorant and naiveness...
I had this thought too about ASx FP products too.....buy at RM 1, sell at RM 1 too.
isn't it capital guarantee?
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
They didn't mentioned anything about capital guaranteed (no b&w). However it's the closest thing to capital guaranteed they can give you without the b&w. tongue.gif

Sorry if the ASX thread have been poor quality. I feel I am part to be blamed for it. Also lots of new people never read page. doh.gif
But ASX FP is as easy as ABC. There's also nothing much to talk about it.

ASX FP is kids playground where one will be safe. Not suitable for adults who want to take risk. tongue.gif But seriously FSM is one of the best way to increase one's returns if one is willing to lose some money and is DIY some more. No offense to anyone here. smile.gif

But as I said before I believed ASX FP can only help one to even out the increasing cost of living. If one were to try outrun the increase in living cost, I believed one were have to dabble in stocks, UT.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 12 2016, 05:41 PM
dasecret
post Jan 12 2016, 05:46 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 12 2016, 05:06 PM)
Thanks for explaining....
in the end...is it capital protected in layman term?
how should I explain it to my children?

It looks like capital protected (bcos buy/sell at RM1) but it is actually not?...sound confusing.... rclxub.gif
Thanks to our government who wants to leverage on the people's money to prop up the share market but at the same time these people will not invest in anything that may lose money

Capital guaranteed is such a powerful term in behavioral finance; as soon as people hear that word, all logic goes out of the window cool2.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 12 2016, 05:56 PM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 12 2016, 05:33 PM)
hmm.gif some would say that, one can get more  ROI % if invest them in EQ  tongue.gif
I am not sure what is the meaning of EQ you are referring to bro. blush.gif

To me, all the forumers here have the IQ to become successful or are already successful investors. The fact that they invested in FSM, joined this forum and talk about asset allocation shows that they are on the right track. biggrin.gif

Speaking for myself, most of the time it is an (Emotional Intelligence) EQ problem and not an IQ problem. biggrin.gif

MUM
post Jan 12 2016, 06:00 PM

14,871 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 12 2016, 05:56 PM)
I am not sure what is the meaning of EQ you are referring to bro.  blush.gif

To me, all the forumers here have the IQ to become successful or are already successful investors. The fact that they invested in FSM, joined this forum and talk about asset allocation shows that they are on the right track.  biggrin.gif

Speaking for myself, most of the time it is an (Emotional Intelligence) EQ problem and not an IQ problem.  biggrin.gif
sorry...it is Equities....my mistake of not spell it out.
Ramjade
post Jan 12 2016, 06:05 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 12 2016, 05:46 PM)
Thanks to our government who wants to leverage on the people's money to prop up the share market but at the same time these people will not invest in anything that may lose money

Capital guaranteed is such a powerful term in behavioral finance; as soon as people hear that word, all logic goes out of the window  cool2.gif
Actually I don't see what's wrong with that. What's wrong with people do not want to invest in anything that may lose money? There are some who invest fully in FDs. At least the people have alternative to FDs if they want "capital. guaranteed without the b&w" 6.X% is actually quite achievable no considering one can get 7-8% from dividends paid by stocks

Of course capital guaranteed is so powerful. Why else you think people put money in FD? Because the principal and returns are guaranteed unless of course if one exceed the limit for pidm, then it's not covered. Take maybank GIA. People rush to put it. When they found out principal and returns not guaranteed they straight away reject (real incident at maybank)

Btw if there is a fund which buy and sell at RM1/unit not from asnb with returns higher than ASX FP, I wouldn't mind withdrawing and buying that fund. Unfortunately, such fund do not exist in the world.

So please do state your reasons what's wrong with people investing in something which they won't lose their money. I would like to know what's wrong.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 12 2016, 06:07 PM
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 12 2016, 06:13 PM

3,541 posts

I am like the United Nations. I invest in everything in sight. So tak payah gaduh gaduh.

I taruh in FSM, ASM, EPF, endowment policy, SSPN, PRS.

MALAYSIA BOLEH. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jan 12 2016, 06:14 PM
nexona88
post Jan 12 2016, 06:14 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

FP ASx vs FSM flex.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Jan 12 2016, 06:15 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 12 2016, 06:19 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

All those institutional funds are propping up the market artificially

EPF, ASN and all those bla bla bla...with their endless monies...are supporting the market, supporting weak companies...

It's not healthy. A healthy economy should be competitive, weak ones should be allowed to die.
SUSyklooi
post Jan 12 2016, 06:27 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 12 2016, 06:19 PM)
All those institutional funds are propping up the market artificially

EPF, ASN and all those bla bla bla...with their endless monies...are supporting the market, supporting weak companies...

It's not healthy. A healthy economy should be competitive, weak ones should be allowed to die.
wooih!! don't leh...not yet leh...don't let it die yet leh...
I just go heavy into that economy and are planning to to stay till next year. tongue.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif

144 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:27 PM