Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

patryn33
post Jul 30 2009, 10:22 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(RJdio @ Jul 30 2009, 09:10 PM)
Anyone doing an EMBA thats modular  - come in for a class say 6-8 x 2 weeks or so ? I prefer programs in Singapore. I know of those like Chicago Booth, Nanyang Tech APEX,NUS UCLA etc but these have a venue/country that keeps changing. I want a fixed location.
the class location kept changing?
All the long I still thought its held on their campus ground in the same country.
then again, if U can get into Chicago EMBA program shouldn't have problem meeting their crazy location.
IIRC many students are VP or Director level.

patryn33
post Jul 31 2009, 10:15 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(RJdio @ Jul 31 2009, 09:22 AM)
For the chicago program - classes in Chicago/Sg/london same as Insead Fountainbleu/SG. Liekwise for the UCLA/NUS - Bangalore/UCLA/NUS. The Nanyang/APEX is also south east asia based. Some of the other EMBA's (like SMU) have weekday/weekend classes which I cant make.

Many EMBA's go this path.  Due to work committments the most I can travel to is SG.
oic.. maybe IMD EMBA can be done mostly at home
too bad its EMBA else plenty of Distance learning MBA program out there. Don't have to leave the comfort of your home also do a degree at
- Warwick
- Thunderbird
- Duke
- manchester

patryn33
post Aug 19 2009, 10:36 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 19 2009, 04:30 PM)
120k for an online MBA...WoW ohmy.gif

i think even the Executive MBA from Manchester Business School at Sunway is just around the 80k mark.....do correct me if I'm wrong...
whats wrong? with RM$120K?
the warwick online MBA program pretty costly. the full time program already UK$21K.
http://www.wbs.ac.uk/students/mba/fees/index.cfm
thunderbird around US$63K
http://www.thunderbird.edu/graduate_degree...g_mba/index.htm
Carnegie Mellon - Tepper also avg around US$60K.
http://www.tepper.cmu.edu/mba/mba-programs...-mba/index.aspx
IE - EUR$50K
http://www.gmba-eng.ie.edu/

Does Sunway offer an EMBA from Manchester? isn't it a MBA?
2-3yrs of working experience can do EMBA? wow!

don't misunderstood the EMBA = executive MBA its MBA for Engineering Business Managers (EMBA)
http://www.sunway.edu.my/index.php?option=...lang=iso-8859-1

I got to agree with dreamer, 2-3yrs of working experience, only willing to pay 80K..
Not worth it. the value of a MBA program kinda increase with the amount of investment U put in.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Aug 19 2009, 10:40 PM
patryn33
post Aug 20 2009, 07:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 19 2009, 11:34 PM)
mind to explain the difference between an Executive MBA & MBA for Engineering Business Managers?
I don't mind but its not beneficial to U. ppl going for MBA U should have the resourse to figure it out.
why not try exercise that?

patryn33
post Sep 11 2009, 08:07 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(desmond~ @ Aug 20 2009, 07:07 PM)
EMBA OR MBA whice one is best ?
EMBA best! already Exec level, or VP, Director level, just wanna miggle and move up to the dream CEO, CTO, CIO etc

Added on September 11, 2009, 8:08 am
QUOTE(benlaw @ Sep 4 2009, 01:24 PM)
hi guys is there scholarship that we can take for study MBA?
I heard some Uni are need blind, not sure how true, do offer some.. esp the Ivy.. the bigger issue is can score 750 or better on GMAT? only like top 1% make such grades.

Added on September 11, 2009, 8:10 am
QUOTE(Lerner @ Sep 10 2009, 12:22 PM)
After read thru, Still wondering which Master is suitable for myself.
I am Bsc in Computer Science (CGPA of 2.8)and been involved in System/Network Admin daily routine since Year 2000. I believed it is time for changes.

I know myself well enuf, i not good in reading however i enjoy case study, assignment .. therefore, I am worry that I can't pass the Exam Paper of those tie-1 course. my hardearn $$ will be wasted.

I am welcome all opinion and suggestions.
what do u wanna do in life?
MBA do U have a good 4-5yrs of working experience?
Masters wanna do locally?
too bad your CGPA is too low, go overseas the chance of getting $$$ is silm.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 11 2009, 08:10 AM
patryn33
post Sep 13 2009, 04:13 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(desmond~ @ Sep 13 2009, 04:07 AM)
but i hear EMBA is not regonised  rclxub.gif  notworthy.gif
I hear or heard?
who told U not recongnise? by who? U?

Added on September 13, 2009, 4:19 am
QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Sep 12 2009, 07:04 PM)
Hi people, I would like to ask what's the criteria doing MBA? I'm an undergraduate right now & what should I be prepared for MBA? Is it possible that once I graduate & straight away pursue my MBA without needing the working experience? What are the skills that I need to equip with during my undergraduate life? Please advice.

P/s: I'm sorry if the same question have been posted up.
which school U gunning for?
Harvard/MIT/Oxford/Insead?
or others such as USQ, Nottingham Trent..

it is possible to start MBA as a fresh grad.
what skills? what skills do U have?
a few of the successful ppl, who made to renown Uni are involved in Uni Investment banking stuff, managed US$1-5M funds with good annual profits, or have started some Biz.
to other lesser reputable program, just $$ to pay fees and maybe grades.

pretty much depend on your target School.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Sep 13 2009, 04:19 AM
patryn33
post Sep 14 2009, 12:43 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(cheejiun @ Sep 13 2009, 11:20 PM)
MSU = Management & Science University
for a moment I thout MSU = Mich State Uni - Broad! but can't be right..

anyway, Management & Science University no idea. google also cannot find any review.

patryn33
post Feb 25 2010, 10:52 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Valentineday @ Feb 24 2010, 10:20 AM)
izit anyway u cn enroll to harvard MBA? u dosen't nid ur degree result any more right? heard is the highest qualification u can get for business
what are u trying to say here?
patryn33
post Mar 4 2010, 09:35 AM

3,940 posts

if u are too lazy to click on those links and look for the fees. not too sure if U should go for a MBA program.

MBA is never research base.. want a research do Msc or Phd! usually projects/exam.

Warwick is a online program
http://www.wbs.ac.uk/students/mba/learn/dl.cfm
http://www.wbs.ac.uk/students/mba/fees/index.cfm

Uni of Florida
http://www.floridamba.ufl.edu/FutureStudents/internet.asp

more could be found in this pdf. google is your best friend.
http://www.floridamba.ufl.edu/docs/Economist2008.pdf

patryn33
post Mar 4 2010, 08:19 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(dennisloh @ Mar 4 2010, 12:16 PM)
I am just helping my colleague to ask, since she needs to take care of her baby and family and need to work during day time, so I am searching for "easy mode" MBA for her. So that, she doesn't need to carry so much burdens, be it stress or suffer financially.
U are seriously misled that research work is less work vs exams/projects.
the fact is research work at postgrad level is alot more work. else why would many opt for coursework programs than research programs.
some postgrad programs do give U take home exam, rest assured U cannot find the ans in the textbook or Online, and u would be burning more time to get the job time.
the easy way is just buy one! good/renown MBA == Expensive!

patryn33
post Mar 5 2010, 08:24 AM

3,940 posts

among local program u mean?

U must have seen such info.
http://www.rankings.ft.com/businessschoolr...al-mba-rankings
http://www.economist.com/business-finance/...ation/whichmba/
patryn33
post Mar 10 2010, 10:09 AM

3,940 posts

is she doing for knowledge or ROI or paper chase?
patryn33
post May 9 2010, 09:15 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 28 2010, 11:22 PM)
insead is too exp for me... i am near fresh... can only afford adelaide... then mba i would get a 4 subject exemption.. hehe

nus have a partnership with harvard.... and best of all... if you are working in sg, you can get your employer to pay for you..
even U can afford U may not even find a spot there.

where did u find info on NUS partnership with Harvard?
I only know nus-UCLA partnership on EMBA and Beida.

employer pay? not all do that. in fact few do that

Added on May 9, 2010, 9:19 pm
QUOTE(POYOZER @ Apr 28 2010, 10:11 PM)
Besides that, not all people want to take MBA because want to get a better salary. I believe most of people who take MBA locally are just sake of knowledge to refine their career path. Most of them are into technical line and know nothing about business, finance and management.  So, what’s wrong to take cheap MBA? I believe some of them want to take MBA because want to change the career path.

And hey, not all the students are makan gaji like you. This group of people doesn’t care about the “salary” pun.
If you are lucky enough to enter one of the top business schools, then I would like to congrats to you.
not salary? refine career path with prospects of higher salary thats the ultimate goal.
for knowledge just go library and grab a book and read, why need a paper?

ther are also plenty of good online MBA programs. no discipline to study that way I guess.
http://www.businessweek.com/bschools/03/distance.htm
http://rankings.ft.com/businessschoolranki...online-mba-2009

This post has been edited by patryn33: May 9 2010, 09:21 PM
patryn33
post Jul 21 2011, 12:40 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 15 2011, 04:19 PM)
u will pay alot of money and if lucky u get a piece of paper to hang at the wall, the failure rate is high, even u suceed to grad, u might still be taking telephone call. my experiance with my 20 plus classmate some 
still stuck with their old co no promotion no raise.

u paying on your own ? your blood and sweat money, then drag your feet to school, spending your resting time, fight the traffic and see some fella reading from text book.   

have u exhausted other option available, think hard, very hard
which Uni did they do their MBA?
Harvard?

every mth U find a new Uni offering MBA. not all MBA is made the same.
patryn33
post Jan 27 2016, 11:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 26 2016, 10:17 AM)
Wow! Nice to see INSEAD at No 1 beating even Harvard.

And the highest ranked MBA program in Malaysia is still Lancaster which has moved up 15 spots to No 35 in the global rankings. Strathclyde is the 2nd highest ranked in Malaysia at No 63 in the world.
Play with methodology and stats you can get any program u wish number 1.
patryn33
post Jan 27 2016, 11:30 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wro718 @ Jan 22 2016, 11:58 AM)
Hi, Is it possible to do a PhD directly with your ACCA qualification?If there is any university that can grant admission to do a PhD kindly put me in connection. Tks.
Don't think anything changed, u can do masters then Ph.D. Next
http://www.accountancystudents.co.uk/forum...hp?f=25&t=14484
patryn33
post Feb 16 2016, 12:05 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(erwinlee @ Feb 16 2016, 01:20 AM)
Hello, I lost track of this thread 2 years ago after moving to SG from Australia. Planning to take on MBA in Malaysia due to cheaper cost and also I have accommodation and car in KL. Was thinking of doing full time in Nottingham initially but it seemed like Lancaster MBA and the Strathclyde MBA are the more recommended ones here.  Any advice regarding this ?
QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 16 2016, 10:17 AM)
Are you going to be travelling back and forth from Australia to Malaysia during the course? Lancaster and Strathclyde MBA in Malaysia are both part time.

There are exams and workshops quite often with the Lancaster MBA, so you need to check if it suits you.
That's to Singapore from Australia, should be traveling from Singapore to Malaysia
patryn33
post Feb 17 2016, 02:40 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(erwinlee @ Feb 17 2016, 01:12 AM)
I plan to do it in Malaysia. So traveling shouldnt be a problem. I'm actually a pharmacist in both Australia and Singapore and I can get a pharmacy license in Malaysia and work too if I want to.  Pretty much have accomodation and transport settled anyways, just looking for a school to study. Wonder how much would a MBA course in Lancaster cost me ?
You have plans to return to work and leave Singapore?
MBA is more about networking, otherwise you can do online MBA with Warwick don't have to travel.
patryn33
post Feb 17 2016, 09:07 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(erwinlee @ Feb 17 2016, 08:30 PM)
I plan to work part-time as a Pharmacist in Malaysia and study MBA. Will be probably going back to Singapore after my MBA but will also strongly consider working in Malaysia as well.
U doing it for paper value? Most ppl try to network. U network in Malaysia and return to Sg. Such MBA not going to cause any impact to career to compensation.

What's your goal? For paper then work and study a better "brand" mba.

Cheap and great program don't exist for MBA

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 17 2016, 09:09 PM
patryn33
post Oct 20 2016, 02:01 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(xenotzu @ Sep 28 2016, 01:14 PM)
Its not easy but its doable.  As long as you get good scores for the entrance exams, then its possible.  I understand she took a few times before finally succeeding into entering Wharton MBA.  Good bonus is that she can stay on to work in USA and with her Wharton MBA, she has very good prospect.  I don't think she will every be returning to Singapore or Vietnam.
since U are in touch with this Viet lady perhaps you can share the stats here.

Top uni usually takes a holistic approach... at times family background plays a roles plus donations! Bush is one example.
http://m.mentalfloss.com/article.php?id=28826

its not doable if someone did poorly for their Bach degree, Taxi driver and score 790 on GMAT.
doable yes but really depends on the portfolio you bring to the table.
Being a Wharton Grad just means can work in USA, not automatically granted work status to stay in USA.

There are alot of MBA grades from Top Uni. There are many doing part time MBA looking for the next Golden Door too.
another note MBA holders are not in the bucket of needed professionals in USA, ppl with Masters degree can apply for H1B under Masters advanced degree exemption but their OPT is just limited to 1 yr, unlike those with a Masters of Sci can obtain OPT extension of 18mths.

To get h1B still subjected to lottery system if too many ppl apply, if you have an offer without securing a VISA you are still going home.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 20 2016, 06:49 AM

0.0244sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:29 AM