i enrolled in with SEGI's MBA....from University of South Queensland.....
Class starts next saturday.....part time course.....
Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?
Jan 1 2007, 03:43 AM
2,657 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In front of my computer |
i enrolled in with SEGI's MBA....from University of South Queensland.....
Class starts next saturday.....part time course..... |
Jan 1 2007, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(IamDaryl @ Jan 1 2007, 05:41 PM) Im also thinking of dat option...how much is the cost of the whole course??...guess the duration will be 2 years rite...all classes will be in the weekends??...thank bro... Yes...the classes will be on weekends....according to the timetable given, saturdays are from 2-6 or 2-7 sundays are mostly from 9-2 or 9-1....but there is one sunday from 9 all the way to 6....with 1 hour for lunch... the duration is 2 years... the fees are as follows...i'll explain the discounts later 1st year Application fees - RM300 Registration Fees - RM700 Course Fees - RM6000 Exam Fees - RM1500 5%(of course fees) full payment discount - (RM300) Early Bird Discount - (RM500) Total for 1st year - RM7700 2nd year Course Fees - RM9000 Exam Fees - AUD 3840 5%(of course fees) full payment discounts - (RM450) Early Bird Discount - (RM1500) Total for 2nd year = RM7050 + AUD3840 so in total, the whole course is RM7700 + RM7050 + AUD3840 = RM 25,118(taking AUD1 = RM2.7) On the discounts, if u pay in full (1 shot pay 1 year), u'll be entitled to a 5% discount off the COURSE FEES Early bird discounts - RM2000. RM500 will be deducted in the 1st year, the remaining (RM1500) will either be given to u as air ticket to go to australia for ur graduation OR u can deduct it from your fees.... i dont know if early bir discount are still available or not...i'll ask about it on 3rd jan....coz one my my friend is interested if the early bird discounts are still available...i'll post it here... Text books are not included...although they did give me "study materials".....about 1 inch thick photostated books that contains notes and course structures and stuff.... hope that helps....if u need to know more, just pn me...i'll answer it if i can.....hehehe |
Jan 2 2007, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(IamDaryl @ Jan 2 2007, 01:48 AM) Thank bro for dat detail information....really helps a lot...btw...for da classes timetable...is it standard across all segi coll branches or only to specific ones??... i think all segi colleges are offering different courses....i.e. only australian MBAs are offered in Segi Ss2 while UK based MBAs are offered in subang.....so i think the timetable are specific ones...QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 2 2007, 02:08 AM) IamDaryl, UK MBAs are about the same price as Australian MBAs....from my searchings.....and Australina MBAs do practice the minimum age requirement....for eg, University of South Queensland (segi) requires at least 23 years of agewith basic degree WITH 2 years working experience OR 25 years of age with recognised diploma and 5 years working experience OR 30 years of age without degree with at least 5 years working experience in a superisory/middle managerial capacity and satisfactory 100 words writeup.Should you decide to pursue a p/time MBA here in KL with a local instituition, it is true that the UK universities are costlier than those offered by the Australian universities [it could be due to exchange rates, etc? *shrugs*]. From my past experience (i'm unable to confirm if my findings are still accurate today), you will realise UK-based universities have more requirements; thus far, when I enquired, only the UK-based uni's had a MINIMUM age requirement; but if you're above 28, you shouldn't need to worry about this. QUOTE One of the more important aspects of an MBA would be the interaction and discussions between fellow 'classmates' hence it is important to ensure you enrol yourself in a course where your classmates WILL be able to share. It may be difficult to gauge upon enrolment but if majority of your classmates are going to be 'fresh graduates' with no working experience, chances are they will not be able to share their 'wealth of knowledge/practical experience' [there are exceptions ok?]. The more 'outspoken' the group, the more learning you will get from your MBA. It's like this, CSU/HELP's MBA courses are 80% assingment and only 20% exam. and they dont require an age limit nor working experience(i asked about this already, as long as u have a degree, u can enroll) It was very hard for them to do thier assignments as a lot of the students are fresh grads and they are still bringing their way of studying from degree level, although they are already in Masters level. |
Jan 6 2007, 05:16 AM
Jan 6 2007, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 6 2007, 10:55 AM) lokgotz, just came back from class.....hehehe.......got refreshments some more.....U sure are excited! Hope u haf fun, and let us know how the Induction went yah? Oh, any lenglui's? leng lui got 1 or 2 lah...but have to see the class tomorrow as it is the complete class.... today's induction is only for those who joined the jan-march class.....there are existing students.....so tomorrow lah....hehehe |
Jan 8 2007, 01:42 AM
Jan 8 2007, 03:37 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 6 2007, 06:34 PM) lokgotz, today also got refreshments....hahaha.....maybe every class also got refreshments.....heheheh.....Er, of course sure will have refreshments lah - takkan study so many hours no refreshment break meh? Besides, i'm sure the cost of it been embedded into your course fees *grins* Speaking of which, got how many students this intake? And, did you take my advise to try identifying who you wanna form your study group with? Ok, so now we know got 1/2 leng lui's... what about leng jai's? [pls dun include urself on the list Haf fun @ class tomorrow there are more than 1/2 leng luis i dont knwo how many students are in this intake...but there seems to be a bit of problem.... University of Southern Queensland (USQ) and University of Sunshine Coast (USC) are both offered by Segi......for the 1st year of MBA, the subjects for these 2 universities are the same.....the only difference is the assessments. USQ is 50% exam and 50% assignments (1 assignment for each module), USC is 100% assignments (2 assignments for each module)...First assignments for both universities are the same... For today's class, Segi combined both these university students into 1 class of about 50-60 students...which is really ridiculous as discussions with such a large group is a bit hard..... I am taking 2 modules this semester, Business Computing and Marketing Management.... Marketing Management is still ok according to all the people i talked to...this is because the lecturer is covering for both assignment based and exam based students..his lectures are also detailed and easy to understand..and the study materials provided by the college is usable...all the things that he is going to talk about is in the study materials provided...(i think this lecturer is one of the more senior and have a bit of authority in the post grad dept of segi...i am not too sure though) However, in Business Computing, the lecturer is teaching stuff from the text book...which is very theoratical....and according to him, everyone will not have any problems with the first assignments as everyone is having the same assignments.... The USC students are very concerned about this as they do not need all these theoratical stuff....they just want to do assignments, hand it up and pass the subject.... The USQ students are concerned about the subject and lecturer itself.....he uses slides to teach, and just reading through it....although he explained it here and there, he did not provide lecture notes...i know in MBA, u have to make ur own notes, but the way he is teaching, i dont even understand, how am i gonna write my notes?....he also said that he will not touch the study material that the college distributed for this subject (which is damn easy....introduction to computers, input output devices etc...) ...he uses too many management jargons(i was a Comp Sci graduate and i am in the IT line, i dont really understand a lot of the terms...value chain, 4Ps, Pestel something...)..and the way he is teaching is really confusing...the examples that he gave in explaining a theory is not clear also...i enjoyed the case study though.... the lecturer did say that in the second part of the semester, the college might be splitting the 2 unis into seperate classes....but that is not confirmed yet... a lot of the students complained these issues to the program coordinator......she says she will look into it... Existing students said that last semester, the 2 unis were split into seperate classes.... Since today is the 1st class, i am not gonna judge it....... I did meet a lot of students today, but forming a study group is eeermm....not suitable for me...i like to study alone in a quiet environment.....studying in a study group sometimes tends to lead to chit chatting and there will be someone who is pretending to be studying but his mind is some where else....that someone is usually me....i'll see how it goes as it progress..... |
Feb 8 2007, 04:17 AM
wow....didnt know this thread so many replies already....will try to come here more often and answer questions........since i am already an MBA student.....heheh
Sep 13 2007, 02:55 AM
Sep 13 2007, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 13 2007, 06:24 AM) While you can know people in LYN, I doubt that many good business folk running successful businesses have time to read LYN or impart their knowhow on LYN. Just look at the long running "Earning > RM5k" thread and see how much info you can actually get out of it That's not the case with the MBA program I am taking....Also, do understand how a good MBA program works. The professors in the program are just facilitators, the people who contribute ideas are the students/coursemates. You are given a situation or case study, each group discusses this and come up with a solution, which is then discussed with other groups in the class. Someone coming straight out of a degree program or with minimal experience will contribute significantly less compared to an entrepreneur running a successful business or a more senior guy who's been around. Assuming that getting to know your coursemates is purely networking is just naive. Some subjests like Marketing, business computing, international business, econs have constant contributes from my classmates, but subjects like statistics and financial management(the subject i am suffering right now) is purely a lecture-talk-student-listen kinda subject....it's kinda like degree style teaching.... I am still in my first year (exam this weekend, if pass i'll be going to 2nd year) and it'll be my second year next semester. I hope things could change where there are more people contributing to the classes.... Added on September 13, 2007, 10:47 pm QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 13 2007, 10:37 PM) tinkerbel, i hope u dont mind...heheh....This post has been edited by lokgotz: Sep 13 2007, 10:47 PM |
Sep 14 2007, 02:55 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 14 2007, 12:59 AM) @lokgotz, I can understand that is the case for statistics as i dont think statistics (theoratical parts) are widely use in the office.D reason the subjects u mentioned becomes a 'lecture' session is because the students in the class hasn't gone through the reading materials or because they aren't familiar with the academic/theoretical aspects hence the need to 'teach' those basics. No point in giving out case studies because without the background theories, ur not gonna be able to answer those questions - hence it's also important to prepare for class; but just how many of us bother preparing for classes? Damn, just how many people even actually bother preparing themselves for a meeting? But Finance is quite common, i think la...according to the lecturer, the subject would be kacang putih to accountants. There are quite a number of accountants in my class, but none of them gave feedbacks and stuff... Reading materials were given at the beginning of the semester, but none of the lecuturers use it (in the case of my MBA course, i dont know about other MBA courses)...so there is no point reading the materials beforehand... There wasn't a of of case studies also....unless examples of companies being used to describe a situation is considered as case studies.. I am too new too all these stuff....hahah..... OT: All those Kd, Ke, Ko, K???? is driving me nuts for finance...really wanna pass my exams after slaving through my assignments(passed).....hehehe..... |
Sep 14 2007, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 14 2007, 07:58 PM) @lokgotz, yeah.....my study group was fine...a sales guy, a marketing guy, the IT guy(me) and a an admin girl.....quite diversified.....hehe...Malaysians love to be spoon fed what to do? I hope you're learning from your study group though learning a lot on how their company operates, it might be unrelated to the course/subjects we are taking, but at least it's something that is happening real life..something more practical than all those Kd, Ke, Rm,RF stuff in finance management! P.S. I am still clueless about finance management....and my exams starts in 12 hours and 44 minutes.... |
Sep 14 2007, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 14 2007, 10:14 PM) @lokgotz, nah....not expecting you to be able to help also.....too late to ask for help now....heheh....Discuss stuff with your group member; put what you have learnt into practise. No point in just finding out operations |
Sep 16 2007, 03:41 AM
Sep 17 2007, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(DerekKuah @ Sep 17 2007, 11:23 AM) im plannign my MBA nest year...somehow i did myself on either SEGI or sunway...but the sunway Victoria is a bit pricey..betwn i went for both college Seminar MBA...in term of facilities sunway shud be better in such compare to SEGI.... What would u like to know about Segi's MBA?Can anyone pls give feedback on me for SEGI & sunway?i understand that SEGI have more working ppl study mba compare sunway some is undergraduate student? I can only provide you with information on Segi's USQ MBA(the one i am taking), the rest of the MBA u have to ask someone else...hahah.... it terms of facility, Segi sucks to the max(SS2 campus)... The "library" is just 3 racks of books in a room about the size of a squash court... No wifi in the campus but all this will be different in the KD campus....The SS2 campus is closing down this month, infact, my last exam(yesterday) was the last class in SS2...they wont be operating already... about 95% of the classes are working adults....but from my understanding, they recently accept applications from people without the minimum 2 years working experience as well, on one condition, their specialization must be International business.... As far as the classes go, i've mentioned it in my previous posts....some lecturers spoon feed us...some discuss stuff with us...realy world cases are also discussed... just post it here if u need to know more....i'll try my best to answer ur questions... Added on September 17, 2007, 9:48 pm QUOTE(CityLife @ Sep 17 2007, 06:49 PM) I guess local would be fully local and foreign would be fully abroad or graduate with foreign certificate. In short, what is the institution that confer u the MBA. I cant comment on local MBAs...besides that they are a lot cheaper than foreign MBAs.For foreign MBAs, some of them will have lecturers coming down to malaysia to conduct full day classes...so u'll have to take leave and attend the classes. This is where u get to ask questions that your usual lecturers wont be able to answer, i.e. how will the exam be marked, based on critical analysis or just textbook answers, how will the assignments be assessed, what type of references do you need...questions like that... For foreign MBAs, you'll have to keep in constant contact with your lecturers via emails or online forums of the uni...some of the subjects (in my case) does not have any classes for that particular subject....so u'll be relying on emails to complete your course.... So to take a local MBA or a foreign MBA is really your choice....I am sure both has it's pros and cons... This post has been edited by lokgotz: Sep 17 2007, 09:48 PM |
Oct 4 2007, 02:33 AM
QUOTE(SincerePrayer @ Oct 3 2007, 07:06 PM) @lokgotz This semester FM? Funny. Maybe it's different from campus to campus because SS2(shifted to KD)/KD campus is doing business computing and marketing management. I thought they have to synchronize all subjects, campus wide.I started my MBA journey at SEGi SJ and this sem I'm going for FM. Plus, I'm going to form a study group. Do you have any tips for me on these two areas? My tips for FM--->STUDY HARD and ATTEND ALL CLASSES. I don't know about you but to me, FM is the hardest subject of all 6 subjects in the first year. As for study group, just go with your instincts. It's best if you could get an accounting person in your study group since according to the lecturer, FM will be like kindergartens stuff to accountants. Bear in mind that the MBA course is a part time course, study groups might not work. Your free time might be your group mate's busiest times. Some of them have families as well and most of them are working adults. These people are usually at the mid-top management levels, so impromptu meetings and outstation trips are very common, thus affecting your group studies. So it's still best that you rely more on to yourself. This is just based on my experiences. Maybe you'll have a different bunch of coursemates where they could make it every time you guys have group studies. OT: My group is a young bunch, about 24-27 years old. Everytime there is a group study, 10% of the time is used for studying, 50% of the time for chit chatting BTW, are you taking USQ MBA or Sunderland? OT: Since my college didn't call me, I assume that I've passed my exams Second part will be tough. I heard from my coursemates that assignments are due in a shorter period of time, exams are much harder and communication between the student and the lecturers overseas are vital as they will be the ones marking assignments and exams. You'll have to know their style of marking, what do they really want as answers and things like that. The local lecturers are only there to facilitate. And to make things worst, I've just started my job (I wasn't working during my first part, health problem). I hope I'll be able to cope with it. Just PM me if you need to know more, or just post it here.....hehe..... This post has been edited by lokgotz: Oct 4 2007, 02:40 AM |
Oct 5 2007, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(SincerePrayer @ Oct 5 2007, 11:32 AM) @lokgotz I didn't know all subjects were offered. Only 2 subjects are offered in my campus.All subjects are offered on each sem. So, it's perfectly normal for me to take FM this sem =D I'm also aware FM is the superb hard subject. That's triggers me to consider study group option. Since you got the points on that, I guess just keep the group small and flexible. Another possible approach is discussion via emails. Another reason for me consider study group is for the part 2. I was told to have study group to survive in part 2. Lone ranger is ok for part 1 but part 2 is going be huge. a.k.a. Study smart not hard. In order to cater for FM, I do some prior reading on any FM stuffs. Do you have any good sites for me? BTW, how did you receive your assignment questions? For SJ branch, is via download from their web site -> http://www.connect.segi.edu.my Because of my work, my approach is 1 subject per sem. It's going be slow and steady. Last sem, few study mates took 2 subjects and ended up screaming. Guess what? They are going for 2 subjects (including FM) for this sem as well. It's going be interesting to see how they react. =D FYI, I'm going for USA MBA. Yeah, keep your group small and flexible. Discussion via emails is good as well, but as I've said earlier, people might not have time to read their emails AND reply them. No one tell me that I need a study group to survive in part 2! We do not have any logins to any website. I don't know why but all these while we thought it was beacause we are part time students, so we have no logins. I got my assignment questions the old skool way, handed out by the program coordinator.hehehe... I take 2 subjects every semester and it was alright, partly because I wasn't working. All my coursemates were ok too. It all depends on yourselves me thinks. taking 1 subject at a time is slow. Very slow but if you can't cope with it, it most probably is the best way to do it. Let me know if you need my assignments, you know, for "reference". Tinkerbel helped me with my Marketing Management QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 5 2007, 01:54 PM) Do not tell urself the subject is difficult for if you do, you will find that it truly is tough! Just prepare for classes and you'll do fine. Ask when you don't understand and importantly, contribute! I am considering taking DBA, maybe 10 year later. hehhe...too tired of studying nowTo really check if you know the subject, explain what you've just learnt to someone who's lost and if you're able to transfer the knowledge, you'll realise you'll know the subject better now Good Luck...and soon, u people be talking about DBAs ! *scary* |
Oct 6 2007, 03:56 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 6 2007, 02:00 AM) @lokgotz, I got a B+ for my marketing management leh! still not good enough??hehehe....anyway, i was too tired back then (u called me when i was sleeping! With the amount of publicity you're giving to me, I'm gonna have to start charging for advise sought *grins* Good luck with the DBA - I'm sure there's gonna be more choices then than now. I did come across a new DBA offered by *i dun remember the name but I think it's probably affiliated with HELP [i think it's Glocal Education ....bla bla bla...]*. Its offshore partner's a uni in the Philippines - don't quite remember the name but i do know they've just opened registration for the 1st Intake. It apparently also can be completed within 1.5 years. Ok Ok I'll spare the details cause ur not gonna start until about a decade later [plus, that's all the info I have! LoL] Eh.. and how can u be too tired of studying? You still have an entire Y2 to go through before you're done with the program!! Oh.. and I'm fed up of work, fed up of some people, fed up of teaching, fed up of the ... ah well, u get the idea DBA is too early for me to think right now....i need to build up my career first before anything else right now.....no point going for a DBA but couldn't afford it.....and this MBA course is already tiring enough for me....no time to think of a DBA.....hehe....... yeah...i still have 1 year to go...i'll slave through this year and give my self a study break for of at least 10 years....hahaha.......been studying since 4 years old.....studied for 20 years already....time to stop for a while....hehe...... BTW, SEGI USQ MBA PART 1 assignment for sale...B+ to A material...PM me for details.....hahaha......not letting tinkerbel get all the profit here.....hehe... |
Oct 7 2007, 02:20 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 6 2007, 04:05 PM) @lokgotz, Thanks again for the help...hehe..i really really appreciated it.....i still owe u a meal.....remember?....hehe.....Appreciate that I took the initiative to call to check on the assignment despite my super bz scheduled !! LoL In terms of ROI I too find the DBA not worth pursuing but well, as Maslow puts it - it's just self actualisation to some people *grins* Good Luck with the remaining Year - and remember.. whatever u do, do NOT defer `k? not planning to defer...i wanted to last semester because i just could go to college.....back problems...i couldnt even walk, stand, sit, sleep at one point....but i went through that and i am feeling a lot better now (health terms)....so i wont be deferring....unless my back acts up again.... QUOTE(SincerePrayer @ Oct 6 2007, 04:12 PM) references arr? eeerm....not much....like what i said, just go to every class and pay attention....hehe.....but you could always PM me if u need help.....I could send my assignments to u and you could use it as a 'reference', if the questions are same.....hehe....QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 6 2007, 10:57 PM) @SincerePrayer, yeah...i am your senior and i am suppose to help u......if it's within my power lah....hehe.....If u need help, just send me a PM and we'll get in touch but i'm sure u'll be fine And, the cycle towards a better GDP would need to involve payment from all parties *grins* Know how to evaluate an organisation's financial standings, as in what u need to look at and why u look into those areas, etc etc. My last tip to you is to go through ur notes or the subject before class so that you can ask questions during class - an MBA class shouldn't be done where you're taught the theories and not discuss it in a real world setting [alas, that's how most local MBAs are conducted! *sigh*] anyway, what tinkerbel said was right...go through the notes before you go to class....even if you dont understand them, at least you've read through it and know what the lecturer is talking about..... go through the stuff again after each lectures and if you still dont understand, go to the lecturer. Most lecturers offer a one to one session on their free time at the college..... The students in malaysia are not the outgoing type when it comes to studies...so you'll be expecting the lectures to be "lecturer talk, students listen"..however, there are a few out spoken ones....so listen to what they say....usually they'll relate it to real world settings... the example given by the lecturers to explain a theory will also be a real world setting where he'll use something that just happened with a company to relate to the theory...like when Genting splitted it's stocks into 5 smaller stocks and why are they doing that, what is the outcome and something like that.... as i've said, just PM me if u need my help...i'll do whatever i can to help...heheh.......then u owe me a meal! |
Oct 9 2007, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(DerekKuah @ Oct 9 2007, 06:38 PM) thats what i heard that segi more above age ppl study compare to sunway(more younger age)....u know what i mean.... RM28K?the other things is the fees differencess...sunway is 35k...segi only 28k.....can this difference justify for sunway is better? i think the price increased already since beginning of this year.....for Segi MBA (USQ)........It's now RM32K unless u are talking about University of Sunderland, Australia (not england) by segi.....then i'm not too sure about the fees.....could be cheaper me thinks.... |
| Change to: | 0.0209sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:28 AM |