Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

deadalus
post Jul 24 2009, 04:36 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Jul 20 2009, 04:00 PM)
hehe.. I am not enrol for Segi MBA
I just inform others to aware they do hv their own MBA..
I enrol a local uni MBA
which local university you enroll? i am considering a part-time MBA in either UPM or UM. UM is nearer to KL but traffic always congested, UPM far away but traffic less congested. Having a hard time to choose...

By the way, UM's MBA December intake is open for enrollment in coming August. Anybody taking MBA in UM?
deadalus
post Dec 18 2009, 03:26 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Dec 8 2009, 04:33 PM)
seems like everyone is going for college MBA, any one considering University of Malaya MBA?
i am taking the MBA from UM @ Dec intake and just share with you some of the information i gather through the orientation conducted on 17/12.

- UM started to offer MBA in the 1980's
- Currently having 70+ full time lecturer, of which 40+ having a Doctorate Degree with an average of 12 years industrial working experience.
- Each year, there will be 8 ~ 10 visiting lecturer from foreign institution
- According to the dean of graduate study, they are committed to improve the ranking of UM and intends to further upgrade the quality of their courses.

Prior to taking up the UM MBA, i have compared UM UPM & Segi-USQ and here are some of my findings:

UPM

- Their MBA offer in 6 Concentration/Major and require to take up a total of 14 courses (10 core, 4 elective) & 1 Thesis (6 credit hour) which sum up to a total of 48 credit hour. Course structure are very similar to UM but with less choice on the field of concentration.
- Admission: CGPA min 2.75, no working experience required
- Conducting in both Day & Evening Class
- Fee = RM 26k

UM

- UM's MBA offer in 11 Concentration/Major and require to take up a total of 15 courses (10 core, 5 elective) & 1 Thesis (6 credit hour) which sum up to a total of 51 credit hour. Course structure are very similar to UPM but with more option on the field of concentration. (Quite heavy sweat.gif )
- The assessment is basing on 60% coursework + 40% final exam (alamak sweat.gif i didnt know this before hand)
- Thesis assessment 70% project paper + 30% presentation.
- Admission: CGPA min 3.00, min 3 years working experience required
- Conducting in both Day & Evening Class
- Fee = RM 19k
- Exchange program with NUS (Singapore), France, Germany, Uni.Melbourne, Australia National University, Denmark, Japan, Peru. You may opt to complete your remaining credit hour in one of the foreign institution.

Segi-USQ

- Offer in 12 Concentration/Major and require to take up a total of 12 courses (8 core, 4 elective), no thesis required. which sum up to a total of 36 credit hour. The program is based on a combination of coursework + exam
- Admission: Degree, 2 years working experience required
- Conducting in both Day & weekend Class
- Fee = RM 30k ++ (According to post #1016)
- Exchange program with USQ.

Maybe those taking MBA in Segi & UPM can provide more information on their respective courses.

This post has been edited by deadalus: Dec 18 2009, 03:36 PM
deadalus
post Mar 27 2010, 02:44 AM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

i think finding the mba that suit you depending on what you expect out of it.

if you want an easy life, go for those MBA that weighted more on assignment and a thesis based MBA if you want to challenge yourself. (most student will have hard time in thesis especially if you are a part-timer)

In general, lecturers that teach in IPTA maybe either, an incompetence one (and thus not making it to IPTS), or one who pursue after a bigger picture (who aims to impart knowledge at his/her expense). In UM, as far as i know of, they are mostly the latter one. (from what i understand an IPTA lecturer with doctorate earns 5~6k a month compare to a part timer that teach in a few IPTS who can earn up to 20k+ << the amount that my undergraduate accounting lecturer earning by teaching in 3 college as part timer 5 yrs ago)

Currently the graduate school of business in UM is having approx 350~400 students pursuing MBA alone and 40+ full time lecturers with phd.

Since the government & opposition party are pressing hard on the ranking of local university, it appears that UM is urging its lecturer to publish research article in ISI journal to improve ranking. (Because ranking is basing mostly on how many research article that an university manage to publish in ISI journal)In my opinion, this may divert attention away from teaching into research, and a setback in a student point of view.

The MBA in UM is demanding, since the lecturers expect the student to follow the course wholeheartedly. As for my case, i do have my moment of doubt when the study is getting into my nerve, but never for a second regretted for enrolling MBA in UM.

Just follow your gut feeling in choosing MBA that fit you most. Nothing is what it seems and you might be surprised at what lies inside the "chocolate box" (one way or another smile.gif )

0.0589sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:36 PM