Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

Joker339
post May 8 2007, 06:02 PM

160 posts

From what I've seen, most local MBAs or MBAs conducted locally do not require GMAT.

Also, for IELTS, if you graduated from foreign university and/or your work environment is predominantly English - usually you can get an exemption.

I remember getting exemption even from overseas courses when I applied in the past. I also did my GMAT, but I think no longer valid for me. I didn't do my MBA in the end.

I think it's important to understand what you're doing an MBA for - as other people have pointed out.

Also, my personal feeling is that you should have at least 5 years+ work experience to make it meaningful.

Having said that, the Manchester Part time in Sunway is tweaking my interest. Nottingham as well.

The only concern I have is the peer group around as one of the key learnings will definitely be from your own coursemates. No offense to anyone, but if you enter a course where there's a whole bunch of inexperienced people around, you don't get the full benefit either. So I think it's important to ask about the admissions profile. You should be doing a 'reverse' interview with the MBA school of your choice.

Joker339
post May 8 2007, 06:50 PM

160 posts

From what I've seen of Nottingham and Manchester websites (the local ones I mean), it doesn't seem to show GMAT as compulsory?

I could be wrong for Manchester, but I'm 100% certain Nottingham, you can enrol w/o taking GMAT.

Do let me know/post in the forum if you do find out more about the Sunway/Manchester one. But I think I am gatal only..... won't have the time to purse at moment.

Which is where I think your point on location is actually very valid - after work/during weekends, if have to go damn far/inconvenient location just to attend classes, that would be 'irritating'. But of course, location can't trump the Uni/Course reputation lah.

Which is also why Local U MBA.... err... I think don't waste your time and money.
Joker339
post May 9 2007, 12:00 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 8 2007, 07:00 PM)
Joker339,
I don't know about Nottingham's requirements but I'm surprised if GMAT's not needed - it's good though cause it's a real hassle having to sit for an additional exam just to gain entry..... waste of time & money.. If wanna test, call me in for an interview and access from there lah *g*  whistling.gif

I did post the fees for the coming intake for the MBS MBA (RM75k after the 25% bursary).  Next intake will be RM100k (but who knows if they'll offer another 25% bursary then *shrugs*).  Anyhow, if U want more details, I could redirect the email which was sent to me - just PM me your email address.

If ur thinking of an MBA, u'll HAVE to find the time and I'm sure u be able to find it - it is afterall priorities and time management - something MOST managers should know *g* [then again, knowing and not practising it is another matter altogether!] hEHehehEHeheh  tongue.gif
I've actually taken GMAT, so to be fair, it's much better for a Uni to check your GMAT as it's hard to tell everything from your interview.

BTW - GMAT got both a Language as well as a Math (or more) part. I remembered that I used to be damn good at Math - but haha..... needed to practise as well as do exercises - was way too slow and cannot remember formulas.

Luckily I aced the Language part - else my overall score would be lower.

I've pm-ed you my email.

0.0177sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:33 PM