170 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

chgchksg128
post Mar 27 2008, 10:02 PM

1,002 posts

All, I know there is a thread of MBA.
However, I just want to know the quality of the local MBA.
Some said, not worth taking a local brand MBA or less prospect.
I list down some of the local MBA
MMU
UM
UPM
UKM
UTM
UUM

Any one study or graduated form the above MBA?
Mind to share your experience and also your current working after MBA??

Thanks for sharing.
We all know a prestigious MBA, like Manchester from Sunway and Nottingham are costly.
Local one is more affordable. But is it worth the value (time and money).

This post has been edited by chgchksg128: Mar 27 2008, 10:02 PM
cks2k2
post Mar 27 2008, 11:27 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Mar 27 2008, 10:02 PM)
All, I know there is a thread of MBA.
However, I just want to know the quality of the local MBA.
Some said, not worth taking a local brand MBA or less prospect.
I list down some of the local MBA
MMU
UM
UPM
UKM
UTM
UUM

Any one study or graduated form the above MBA?
Mind to share your experience and also your current working after MBA??

Thanks for sharing.
We all know a prestigious MBA, like Manchester from Sunway and Nottingham are costly.
Local one is more affordable. But is it worth the value (time and money).
Save your money, go for the better ones.
Seriously.
DerekKuah
post Mar 28 2008, 11:28 AM

519 posts

From your list, my comment is MMU still ok....others no comment whistling.gif
after survey here & there...i finally confirm in SEGI for my MBA......
Yes, USM is abt Rm15k...the likes of sunway, segi is at Rm35k......
i would suggest u go & find out yourself as normally individual university have seminar course briefing....
Good Luck...

This post has been edited by DerekKuah: Mar 28 2008, 11:31 AM
harmeet15
post Mar 28 2008, 11:38 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

inti aso got..starting next sem...
1yr...37k i tink...
if u want 2 join...can pm me

Added on March 28, 2008, 11:38 amuk mba...and free inti mba cert...

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Mar 28 2008, 11:38 AM
harmeet15
post Mar 28 2008, 11:41 AM

2,729 posts

inti is starting uk+inti mba next sem
u'll get 2 mba cert...one local...one frm uk...
1yr, rm 37k...
if any1 interested...can pm me
chgchksg128
post Mar 28 2008, 12:55 PM

1,002 posts

I would like to know any who hold the local MBA manage to change their career path?
I just want o know how was the local grads MBA doing now...

If there is no different as not many working opportunity that require MBA in Malaysia. I also doubt how many mployer will appreciate the foreign MBA more as it is also obtain locally.
alsree786
post Mar 28 2008, 02:55 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Mar 28 2008, 11:41 AM)
inti is starting uk+inti mba next sem
u'll get 2 mba cert...one local...one frm uk...
1yr, rm 37k...
if any1 interested...can pm me
which university is INTI affiliating with for this MBA?
WillHung
post Mar 28 2008, 03:57 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

I know UTM, UPM and UM's MBAs are quite well respected in Malaysia. I don't think MBAs from shit overseas unis like Uni of Southern Queensland or Newcastle Uni of Australia are any better to be honest. I have met their graduates and the quality was appalling. As long as it accomplishes your career goals, local MBAs are good enough, unless you are able to to go to top MBAs like Harvard, Wharton, Insead, LBS and the like.
chgchksg128
post Mar 28 2008, 09:22 PM

1,002 posts

Your friend is changing career path ?
What field do they involve now?

Even local MBA is not cheap though..not much cheaper than the oversea MBA by Segi....

Not every one have the chance to study Top MBA. Study a MBS at SUnway is it same with MBS in UK?If it is not, why an employer will appreciate the degree more?

I just wonder..not have any bad comment of any MBA..I just want to make a wise choice
harmeet15
post Mar 29 2008, 10:36 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Mar 28 2008, 02:55 PM)
which university is INTI affiliating with for this MBA?
uni of hertforshire
alsree786
post Mar 29 2008, 12:33 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Mar 29 2008, 10:36 AM)
uni of hertforshire
u mean Hertfordshire....

hmmm ok!

Arthur_lee83
post Mar 29 2008, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(Teong @ Dec 16 2006, 11:22 AM)
Heard Unity Ballarat programmes are filled with china students who can't even string a proper sentence in English.

No doubt some may be smart, but it's hard to get a proper and intelligible conversation or discussion going with them.

Got a friend who told me the service at Unity is pathetic, at best.
Are Unity Ballarat programmes not good? How about at MSU( Management Science University) MBA programme?
harmeet15
post Mar 29 2008, 05:48 PM

2,729 posts

yes yess..my bad
Rendezvous
post Mar 31 2008, 02:48 PM

If you need to be spoonfed even in determining whether a local or foreign MBA is of higher quality instead of doing a little research yourself e.g. checking out the ranking tables or writeups on the quality of the various institutions you're interested in, I'm pretty surprised that you're looking forward to enrolling yourself in a postgraduate programme in the first place.
chgchksg128
post Mar 31 2008, 08:49 PM

1,002 posts

QUOTE(Rendezvous @ Mar 31 2008, 02:48 PM)
If you need to be spoonfed even in determining whether a local or foreign MBA is of higher quality instead of doing a little research yourself e.g. checking out the ranking tables or writeups on the quality of the various institutions you're interested in, I'm pretty surprised that you're looking forward to enrolling yourself in a postgraduate programme in the first place.
if u know that the ranking for local MBA is not much different, there u would like to found out from those graduated or studying in local MBA.
I have seen the post in MBA...I am not interested in foreign MBA that taught locally.

thanks for ur unproductive opinion
cks2k2
post Apr 1 2008, 12:08 AM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(nnasir @ Mar 31 2008, 11:57 PM)
ok in 2003 ranked higher than monash. i thought honestly they were talking about 2006 or later mba rankings. i didnt think asia inc rankings were for 2004 my mistake. but so far you have not shown me any evidence that monash is higher than upm. although upm must have gone down the rankings since 2004 otherwise they wouldnt still advertise 2004 7th best on their website would they. i'll do a websearch and see what i can find.

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:01 amtop three business schools in south east asia :asia inc 2004
southeast Asia
National University of Singapore (NUS) Business School, Singapore
Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Business School, Singapore
Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) School of Management, Thailand
There's also Insead and the Chicago Business School in SG.

But seriously, I doubt UPM is that good.

This post has been edited by cks2k2: Apr 1 2008, 12:08 AM
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 1 2008, 12:17 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

http://www.topuniversities.com/worlduniver...0_universities/

http://www.topuniversities.com/worlduniver...ocial_sciences/

http://www.topmba.com/research/top_100_bus...3_asia_pacific/

http://www.careerdynamo.com/asia_mba.html
here monash ranks 11, UPM 36

http://mba.eiu.com/index.asp?layout=top100

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:21 am
QUOTE(nnasir @ Apr 1 2008, 12:11 AM)

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:14 ami hate to say it but this is the reason why malaysia is on a downslope. everyone wants to be foreign. everyone wants to go foreign countries, get foreign education, behave like a foreigner, get foreign stuff. if you're good why dont you go to upm and get the best possible grade you can and when you're there at upm gsm why dont you form a clique with all your peers and develop a special spirit so that you can raise the profile of the business school.
do u think we want to leave our country and study overseas? if our local univeristies dont discriminate in their student entries and academic staff we would at least have 'a' university to be proud of. non currently is on par with sg's uni... and currently now not even thailand to some extent.... we have to use our parent's hard earn money to gain knowledge elsewhere because the tax $$$ my parents paid had been used to feed certain ppl...

what happened to our local universities? only god knows...

This post has been edited by SeLrAhC: Apr 1 2008, 12:21 AM
fyire
post Apr 1 2008, 12:21 AM

9,270 posts

can anyone honestly afford those business school. unless your dad is datuk or something how can you afford.

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:14 ami hate to say it but this is the reason why malaysia is on a downslope. everyone wants to be foreign. everyone wants to go foreign countries, get foreign education, behave like a foreigner, get foreign stuff. if you're good why dont you go to upm and get the best possible grade you can and when you're there at upm gsm why dont you form a clique with all your peers and develop a special spirit so that you can raise the profile of the business school.
If you're to look at the history of UPM, you'll find that its one of the most notorious public universities in Malaysia when it comes to abuse of power by the authorities.

The problem with the public universities in Malaysia is not because nobody wants to improve them, but mainly because of politics (both external at the national level, and also internal within the universities itself). Furthermore there's the AKU Janji document that has to be signed by all students and staffed, of which the wording is so biased that in signing that, the person had virtually signed away their rights for legal representation while giving the university the right to put down any sort of accusations on the person.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 1 2008, 12:24 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

not only that... only universities in malaysia is not based on merit but skin colour... sry to say this to my bumi friends but those who know me agrees too... look at NUS' law faculty... you will be shocked by the amount of academic staff that are from malaysia...
cks2k2
post Apr 1 2008, 12:27 AM

1,966 posts

can anyone honestly afford those business school. unless your dad is datuk or something how can you afford.

I mentioned Insead and CBS to add to your list of best B-schools in SE Asia. It wasn't about the cost.

Seems like I touched a nerve there... you from UPM? tongue.gif

Blind nationalism gets you nowhere. I demand the best my money can get me, and sadly the best schools I can afford are NOT in Malaysia.
Give me a reason to do it locally - are our schools anywhere near the Top 100 (or even 200)?
Why do you think the govt spends millions to send our best and brightest overseas? What does that say about the govt's confidence in their own IPTAs?

<BTW, I am good. cool2.gif I have worked in one of the biggest companies in the world and have studied in some of the best schools on the planet. tongue.gif >

This post has been edited by cks2k2: Apr 1 2008, 12:29 AM

170 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:54 AM