Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?
young_guy87
Jun 30 2016, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 30 2016, 09:29 AM) Cuz I make an effort to find out things and I share here for everybody's info. Check my historical posts on other threads. Ull see how I get info and share. Don't worry. I don't work for them in any way and I don't get a 'cut' thanks for your effort and generosity bro...
Skeletonman
Jul 1 2016, 02:52 PM
Hey, just want to ask how's the workload like if one is interested to take up the MBA course. Currently an engineer in O&G field. Amount of work fluctuates, extremely free during Puasa month but extremely busy especially during the end of the year!
cybermaster98
Jul 1 2016, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(Skeletonman @ Jul 1 2016, 02:52 PM) Hey, just want to ask how's the workload like if one is interested to take up the MBA course. Currently an engineer in O&G field. Amount of work fluctuates, extremely free during Puasa month but extremely busy especially during the end of the year! If ure doing one of those top ranked MBA's like Lancaster and Strathclyde in Malaysia, be prepared for many sleepless nights and long periods of no personal life. Going for weekend classes is actually the easy part. Doing the assignments, preparing for classes and then preparing for exams is where the real workload lies.
Chemistry123ABC
Jul 1 2016, 04:58 PM
How about MBA from some of those places that offer online/open/distance/part time learning or whatever study modes they have which are specifically targeted at working adults?Any suggestions?
Skeletonman
Jul 1 2016, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 1 2016, 03:59 PM) If ure doing one of those top ranked MBA's like Lancaster and Strathclyde in Malaysia, be prepared for many sleepless nights and long periods of no personal life. Going for weekend classes is actually the easy part. Doing the assignments, preparing for classes and then preparing for exams is where the real workload lies. Hey Mr Civic!.. this is what worries me, 2 years isnt short and to endure such hardship especially during this economic downturn, im just afraid it will affect my working life and vice versa. Are you an MBA holder?
chamelion
Jul 1 2016, 05:28 PM
it is really depend which college or institute u sign up with. Norm, better the ranking n rating, heavier the load.
It also depend ur purpose to pursuit the course. For learning or for cari makan, because that will establish ur commitment and tolerant for the MBA load.
cybermaster98
Jul 1 2016, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(Skeletonman @ Jul 1 2016, 04:59 PM) Hey Mr Civic!.. this is what worries me, 2 years isnt short and to endure such hardship especially during this economic downturn, im just afraid it will affect my working life and vice versa.
Are you an MBA holder? LOL! Not me la. That's my wife's car. And no. MBA's would not have benefited me.
young_guy87
Jul 1 2016, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 1 2016, 05:46 PM) LOL! Not me la. That's my wife's car. And no. MBA's would not have benefited me. Have you heard about this before bro? UK PART TIME MBA - Awarded by Cardiff Metropolitan University (CMU)? it looks affordable and when i googled it, its stand out as top 100 University in london.
you90
Jul 1 2016, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(young_guy87 @ Jul 1 2016, 07:36 PM) Have you heard about this before bro? UK PART TIME MBA - Awarded by Cardiff Metropolitan University (CMU)? it looks affordable and when i googled it, its stand out as top 100 University in london. IS it the one offered in Subang Jaya campus also offering Westminister MBA?
cybermaster98
Jul 2 2016, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(young_guy87 @ Jul 1 2016, 07:36 PM) Have you heard about this before bro? UK PART TIME MBA - Awarded by Cardiff Metropolitan University (CMU)? it looks affordable and when i googled it, its stand out as top 100 University in london. With MBA's there is another criteria which you need to consider. Industry perception. You can do the MBA at the Top 50 Uni in UK but if the general industry has not heard of that Uni, then its 'value' drops automatically.
chamelion
Jul 2 2016, 02:26 AM
that why generally there is 2 ranking.
Common uni ranking that look into all field and Uni MBA/Bis school ranking.
This post has been edited by chamelion: Jul 2 2016, 02:27 AM
Skeletonman
Jul 2 2016, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 2 2016, 12:07 AM) With MBA's there is another criteria which you need to consider. Industry perception. You can do the MBA at the Top 50 Uni in UK but if the general industry has not heard of that Uni, then its 'value' drops automatically. yea actually im looking forward to join business analyst company, however from all the forums i read, they will only hire people who have MBA and graduated from renowned universities. Kinda pressure looking at this kinda qualifications. Even coming out tops in the local university that did not qualify me for the company. Sad
LucentEducation
Jul 2 2016, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(Skeletonman @ Jul 2 2016, 09:52 AM) yea actually im looking forward to join business analyst company, however from all the forums i read, they will only hire people who have MBA and graduated from renowned universities. Kinda pressure looking at this kinda qualifications. Even coming out tops in the local university that did not qualify me for the company. Sad I would definitely say try to be positive - it's not impossible to get into a renowned business school if you have graduated from a local university. In fact, we have actually helped a graduate of a local, private university gain acceptance in one of the top business school in the US, that is ranked within the top 5. Basically, it's more about your 'story' - what is your raison d'etre for going to business school and what do you want to achieve with the degree. Do PM me if you'd like to discuss this a little more!
young_guy87
Jul 4 2016, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(LucentEducation @ Jul 2 2016, 09:56 AM) I would definitely say try to be positive - it's not impossible to get into a renowned business school if you have graduated from a local university. In fact, we have actually helped a graduate of a local, private university gain acceptance in one of the top business school in the US, that is ranked within the top 5. Basically, it's more about your 'story' - what is your raison d'etre for going to business school and what do you want to achieve with the degree. Do PM me if you'd like to discuss this a little more! which higher education you present sir?
kiawin
Jul 4 2016, 10:11 PM
There is no shortcut in any MBA programme, no matter what is its delivery mode. If you found any that is less burdensome, perhaps it is not that worth taking anyway. My 2 cents
rgck
Jul 9 2016, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(CDC Management Institute @ Apr 7 2016, 01:33 PM) Hi there Do you mind sharing when did you apply to CDC/Strathclyde and what's your full name (you may PM me too)? Perhaps I can help look into it? Strathclyde doesn't simply reject any candidate, especially not with the numbers of experience you have. Have you been interviewed by the university? Thanks Regards, Edahani Dear Sir, I was told so during an edu fair years back. Is good you all have change the strategy. I believe your uni is a good choice for many. Anyway thank you for your kindness to offer to help. I have found a uni that accepted. Even nowdays there are plenty colleges advertising heavily recently for accepting diploma level. Mine is just solely for self fulfillment and additional achievements. Sincerely Rgck
ezryezan
Jul 10 2016, 04:56 AM
Hello guys, need some help with some reviews of MBA UKM or MBA PUTRA BUSINESS SCHOOL UPM ? Which one is more better value and ranking ?
Basically i want to change my career path but i'm in a dilemma to pick a general management or a specialised MBA ? I'm a holder of degree in multimedia (creative). Any added advice i would like to know.
Thank you
rabloo
Jul 13 2016, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(young_guy87 @ Jul 1 2016, 07:36 PM) Have you heard about this before bro? UK PART TIME MBA - Awarded by Cardiff Metropolitan University (CMU)? it looks affordable and when i googled it, its stand out as top 100 University in london. London is small and there is probably less than 100 universities in London.. so being in the top 100 is no big deal.
kiawin
Jul 13 2016, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(rabloo @ Jul 13 2016, 12:18 PM) London is small and there is probably less than 100 universities in London.. so being in the top 100 is no big deal. Next question should be, since when Cardiff is in London?
rabloo
Jul 14 2016, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 13 2016, 02:06 PM) Next question should be, since when Cardiff is in London?  Lol..having lived in Cardiff for 4 years, I can also testify that Cardiff is nowhere near London.. a 2 hours train ride in fact.