170 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

thefryingfox
post Sep 25 2009, 01:32 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Sep 23 2009, 09:50 PM)
so what is your salary now? RM 2500/
read -> ADJUSTMENT
so its a plus 2500. I dont know about the rest but money is my driving factor man.

ky_khor
post Sep 30 2009, 04:37 PM

No.22
894 posts

Anyone has any comment on Sunway's Victoria MBA? I plan to enroll there but would like to know why no one seems to study this MBA, and no one even comment about it?
Aggroboy
post Oct 6 2009, 08:49 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(nky_kevin @ Sep 12 2009, 07:04 PM)
Hi people, I would like to ask what's the criteria doing MBA? I'm an undergraduate right now & what should I be prepared for MBA? Is it possible that once I graduate & straight away pursue my MBA without needing the working experience? What are the skills that I need to equip with during my undergraduate life? Please advice.

P/s: I'm sorry if the same question have been posted up.
Really depends on the school. Some schools allow MBA directly after graduation from degree program.

Certain high ranked schools require the candidate to have minimum 1-3 years of experience to qualify for an MBA. The qualities from work exp good schools look for is generally technical skill, activism and leadership. Normally a recommendation letter from your manager is needed for their application process. US schools also require a GMAT exam score, which is an aptitude test involving math, essay and basic case studies.
HappyA_Q
post Oct 7 2009, 05:19 PM

869 posts

Probably this info will help you guys considering doing part-time MBA:-

1)
University of Nottingham, UK
2 years
January, Sept (enquire)
GMAT required
RM55,000

2)
University of Sunderland, UK (via Segi College)
2 years
July, October, January, April
Registration fees:
RM700 or RM300 during promotion times
Tuition fees:
RM20,650 + GBP 1,500
= ~ RM32,000

3)
University of Southern Queensland, AUS (via Segi College)
2 years
March, July, November
Tuition fees: RM30K++ (depends on AUS exchange rate)

Txi
post Oct 8 2009, 08:42 PM

592 posts

Self employed work CAN be considered as experience for MBA but you must demonstrate that you have a good working knowledge of your area of work.
EduSpiral
post Oct 8 2009, 11:42 PM

Your online education advisor
654 posts

QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Sep 24 2009, 01:03 AM)
hi, some questions here, hopefully u guys can enlighten me.

can self-employed working experience be considered as equivalent wor experience?
i've graduated from an engineering background degree, working as a production supervisor and would like to start my own non-engineering business. but afraid that it may not be considered as equivalent work experience, as stated in the colleges' website.

what does the EQUIVALENT work experience refer to?

thanks all.
It can be considered, however, it will vary from college to college on how they will need you to provide the proof of your work experience. It may be as simple as providing your CV or you may also have to provide other proof. You should check with the colleges to find out what they need from your situation.

Cheers

Added on October 8, 2009, 11:55 pmThere are many MBA programmes offered in Malaysia, some that are accredited by MQA, some not. It depends on your needs as the private sector does look at the accreditation part in terms of employment. If you plan to work for the government or become a lecturer, you will not be able to do that.

MBA programmes also vary in terms of subjects and specializations. From your work experience, you will need to decide which MBA course contains the subjects that are most applicable to your current or future work. Then, only choose the college. For example, UCSI University's MBA programme includes and incorporates the latest contents and components that will train graduate students in the disciplines of Business Law (including current issues surrounding the field of franchising, logistics and strategic economics, etc)

It is highly recommended to work for about 2-3 years before taking up the MBA as the programme basically is to provide you business and management knowledge and how to apply it to your work. If you have not worked, you may not gain as much from it as you would with work experience.

In addition, there are also different modes of delivery which you should consider as to which one would fit you. Generally they are coursework, exam based, online, online support, group work, classroom, etc.

Other entry requirements are English using TOEFL or IELTS.

Cheers.

Added on October 9, 2009, 12:02 amI think other than the quality of the MBA, most of us considering or at one point considered doing the MBA, are the tuition fees and location. Since we are working, we have to juggle our finances. Note that you can withdraw from your EPF Account 2 to fund part of your studies.

As most of us would know, working in the Klang Valley, location would be important to consider because of the traffic jam and parking. Just some points to consider.

There are some MBA programmes which are not of high standard or quality out there and we should be discerning on choosing the right one. Just because it is popular does not mean that it is good. It may be popular because it is cheap or easier to complete. I suppose it depends on your reasons for wanting to do the MBA.

Cheers

This post has been edited by EduSpiral: Oct 9 2009, 12:02 AM
ugly_cruzx
post Oct 16 2009, 11:29 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(HappyA_Q @ Oct 7 2009, 05:19 PM)
Probably this info will help you guys considering doing part-time MBA:-

1)
University of Nottingham, UK
2 years
January, Sept (enquire)
GMAT required
RM55,000

2)
University of Sunderland, UK (via Segi College)
2 years
July, October, January, April
Registration fees:
RM700 or RM300 during promotion times
Tuition fees:
RM20,650 + GBP 1,500
= ~ RM32,000

3)
University of Southern Queensland, AUS (via Segi College)
2 years
March, July, November
Tuition fees: RM30K++ (depends on AUS exchange rate)
tuituin fees void till wut date??
i'm looking to pursue my MBA. but dunno the rank of MBA institutions here in malaysia.
prefer MBA w/o working experience. dun wanna wait 3-4 years to do so.
help me out guys..can??

This post has been edited by ugly_cruzx: Oct 16 2009, 12:12 PM
FJack
post Oct 18 2009, 04:02 AM

Hi all,

Appreciate if anyone can suggest which part-time MBA is cheap & worth to take in Malaysia.

I've shortlisted some MBA in KL:

1) Olympia College's MBA partnership with Nottingham Trent University ~ RM28k

2) HELP Institute's MBA partnership with Charles Stuart University ~ RM31k

I'm planning to take a part-time MBA with the budget RM30k, welcome your comments & suggestions.
gomes.
post Oct 18 2009, 04:28 AM

361 posts

neither's MBA degree is superior over the other. but i'd say HELP cause HELP is a more established college than olympia.
Valentineday
post Oct 18 2009, 10:09 AM

478 posts

sunway got i think...partnership with manchester uni
trdcelica
post Oct 18 2009, 12:11 PM

122 posts

try check out sunway as what valentineday said, if they partner manchester uni...
for me, given only these two choices, i would say help..olympia isn't a very well-known or maybe isn't good enough and why not pay 3k more for a better uni.
gomes.
post Oct 18 2009, 09:05 PM

361 posts

but yea, i would go for the sunway/manchester uni one if I was given a choice of all 3.
tanjinjack
post Oct 18 2009, 09:17 PM

4,122 posts

How about the MBA in local universities like UM, I believe they are quite established as well and have part-time flexibility.
nky_kevin
post Oct 18 2009, 10:08 PM

209 posts

How about the criteria in doing MBA? Do anyone know what are the minimum requirement? Say, 5 years working experience, degree must score CGPA 3.5 and etc? Do they have such things?
gomes.
post Oct 19 2009, 01:36 AM

361 posts

some have some dont have
alsree786
post Oct 19 2009, 02:23 AM

937 posts

I reckon Strathclyde MBA via CDC and Manchester via Sunway will cost much more than Rm30k...Im not sure whether the Manchester MBA costs RM70k cause i cant find the brochure i downloaded, check with the sunway webbie...

Btw the two MBAs TS mentioned, i would go with Help and CS...
nky_kevin
post Oct 19 2009, 10:31 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gomes. @ Oct 19 2009, 01:36 AM)
some have some dont have
which have? which don't have? blink.gif
FJack
post Oct 20 2009, 12:30 AM

HELP is partnership with charles stuart college... it is 32k, really out of budget...

how about the MBA in segi partnership with sunderland university?
Txi
post Oct 20 2009, 01:07 PM

592 posts

is anyone at Manchester Sunway or Strathclyde CDC?
ppguy2006
post Oct 20 2009, 10:50 PM

244 posts

UPM- MBA- 20K

170 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:39 PM