Mozilla Firefox 3.0 Alpha 3 Pre (Grand Paradiso), Note: This is an early alpha release

TSIrishcoffee
post Dec 10 2006, 03:00 AM, updated 19y ago

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

Gran Paradiso Alpha 1 is an early developer milestone for the next major version of Firefox that is being built on top of the next generation of Mozilla's layout engine, Gecko 1.9. Gran Paradiso Alpha 1 is being made available for testing purposes only, and is intended for web application developers and our testing community. Current users of Mozilla Firefox should not use Gran Paradiso Alpha 1.

LYN Firefox thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=84927
Release notes: http://www.mozilla.org/projects/firefox/3.0a1/releasenotes/
Download: http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...20Alpha%201.exe

Edit: Added warning/note to topic description and post, updated download link to use main mirror distribution server.

Update:

Firefox v3.0 Alpha 2 Pre

Firefox 3 is focused on improved memory handling, performance, and stability, improved XUL, and new core components such as application data stored in SQLite. Firefox 3 could break a few existing extensions and applications built on top of Firefox, and it will definitely include new optimizations if you like to build on the popular browser. Firefox 3 should have additional JavaScript and SVG features if you're into that sort of thing.

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/fir...2.installer.exe

Firefox v3.0 Alpha 2

http://mozilla.osuosl.org/pub/mozilla.org/...20Alpha%202.exe

This post has been edited by Irishcoffee: Feb 19 2007, 11:50 PM
sjn hassan
post Dec 10 2006, 03:39 AM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

installed just now..can notice any diff yet compare to firefox tongue.gif
sniper69
post Dec 10 2006, 07:42 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

currently using it...doh.gif, my extensions can't use...tongue.gif
steventan85
post Dec 10 2006, 08:46 AM

6,447 posts

using it now.... hope that so far so good as my previous version of mozilla firefox was not stable for me....quite often crashed.... smile.gif
samurai1337
post Dec 10 2006, 08:54 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Dec 10 2006, 03:00 AM)
Firefox is a free, open-source web browser for Windows, Linux and Mac OS X and is based on the Mozilla codebase. It is small, fast and easy to use, and offers many advantages over Internet Explorer, such as the ability to block pop-up windows.
http://mozilla.osuosl.org/pub/mozilla.org/...20Alpha%201.exe
Portable Firefox 3.0 Alpha 1 is also out
http://www.public.iastate.edu/~wagner84/Po...irefox3.0a1.zip

For testing purposes, I'd recommend you guys to download portable version instead since you don't have to install it, so that the existing 2.0 is not affected.

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Dec 10 2006, 03:39 AM)
Excerpt from PC World article

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Dec 10 2006, 07:42 AM)
currently using it...doh.gif, my extensions can't use...tongue.gif
Use nightly tester tools to make your extensions compatible
http://users.blueprintit.co.uk/~dave/web/firefox/nightly

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Dec 10 2006, 08:46 AM)
using it now.... hope that so far so good as my previous version of mozilla firefox was not stable for me....quite often crashed....  smile.gif
If your 2.0 is not stable, you can't expect a alpha release to be more stable than a supposedly stable release
sniper69
post Dec 10 2006, 09:40 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Dec 10 2006, 08:54 AM)
Use nightly tester tools to make your extensions compatible
http://users.blueprintit.co.uk/~dave/web/firefox/nightly
thanks a lot mate, it works now...now i can use all extension (as you recommended earlier in other thread smile.gif)

been using this FireFox 3.0a1 for 5 hrs now...tongue.gif
doh.gif, just found out...
when opening Yahoo mail (new beta interface) got error, says your browser not supported...but it can revert to old interface with no problem though...

This post has been edited by sniper69: Dec 10 2006, 09:50 AM
FLAMEX
post Dec 10 2006, 12:15 PM

134 posts

Quite stable for me, though it's still in Alpha smile.gif Firefox rocks foreva'...!
eXPeri3nc3
post Dec 10 2006, 01:22 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

OMG, alpha 3 release ady... So fast... sweat.gif
Gonna try it soon... After I finish playing with FF2 tongue.gif
JeffYong85
post Dec 10 2006, 03:49 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Dec 10 2006, 04:39 AM)
ya.. what's the difference?
sniper69
post Dec 10 2006, 06:38 PM

7,173 posts

whenever i tried to login Yahoo Mail...this is what i got...

[attachmentid=164923]
jonathanchee315
post Dec 11 2006, 01:38 AM

582 posts

sry for asking such noob question wat the different between this and Mozilla Firefox 2.0
sniper69
post Dec 11 2006, 07:54 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Dec 11 2006, 01:38 AM)
sry for asking such noob question wat the different between this and Mozilla Firefox 2.0
there aren't much difference, and it's recommended not to try (as Mr. Shockwave said), it's Alpha and might contains some error...anyway, it's for testing purposes...i'm using it now, one of i can notice, i can't view my Yahoo Mail with new Yahoo new interface, and most of existing extension/themes won't run...
samurai1337
post Dec 14 2006, 08:10 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

I'd usually skip the Alpha and only pay attention when it comes to Beta stage. Alpha is too early for me to try
HyipMan
post Dec 15 2006, 02:18 PM

38 posts

want give it a try.. thx..
Lingo20052003
post Dec 17 2006, 09:28 PM

Jatt84
602 posts

but still eat a lot of ram...
joshuatly
post Jan 2 2007, 02:24 PM

812 posts

no different at all!
it just maake my life much more terrible

sniper69
post Jan 2 2007, 04:53 PM

7,173 posts

doh.gif, what you expect from Alpha anyway...
TSIrishcoffee
post Jan 9 2007, 05:33 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

Update:

Firefox v3.0 Alpha 2 Pre

Firefox 3 is focused on improved memory handling, performance, and stability, improved XUL, and new core components such as application data stored in SQLite. Firefox 3 could break a few existing extensions and applications built on top of Firefox, and it will definitely include new optimizations if you like to build on the popular browser. Firefox 3 should have additional JavaScript and SVG features if you're into that sort of thing.

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/fir...2.installer.exe
megat_johan
post Jan 13 2007, 01:01 AM

134 posts

FF2 in unstable...i use Opera while waiting another stable version of FF
id86
post Jan 16 2007, 08:08 PM

GG
1,052 posts

when the beta version and the final will be release?

still using firefox 2.0

i will wait until the new one come out.

0.0185sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:20 AM