Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq
adele123
Feb 27 2016, 10:47 PM
So, you know how some credit cards gives extra points/entries for their campaign when say spending overseas...
Since with online purchase nowadays, would agoda paid in foreign currency be considered as oversea spending?
My question is actually, will extra points given for online spending?
adele123
Feb 28 2016, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 28 2016, 03:15 PM) MBB Vs considers online transaction in foreign $$ as 5x TPs. Not sure about other banks thou. have you tried paying air tix, not mas or airasia, (in foreign currency) with MBB VS?
adele123
Apr 4 2016, 08:00 AM
For supp card, do I have to call in to call centre, arrange for otp to send to supp card's mobile number?
It's cimb bank cc, btw.
adele123
Apr 13 2016, 09:06 AM
I have a question on supp card. Say my original credit limit is RM5,000. when i applied for my supp card, i assigned 1k to my supp card. and that 1k comes from my credit limit correct? This is my understanding on how it works.
Now in my cimbclicks.
I can see my credit limit is 5000 - 100 =4900 which is my current outstanding.
for my supp card it is 1000 - 200 = 800. current outstanding of the supp card limit
What i'm seeing here is as if i have 6k credit limit including the supp card... Can anyone clarify for me?
adele123
Apr 14 2016, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 13 2016, 10:15 AM) Last time credit limit is share among principal and supp, so if your limit is 6k, your supp is 6k as well, but both your limit will be 5700 as you spend 100 and your supp spend 200 now they allow to assign credit limit?  Not sure about this new settings Er... there were two options. 1) assign credit limit 2) share my limit i chose option 1. This post has been edited by adele123: Apr 14 2016, 01:56 PM
adele123
Apr 21 2016, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(laymank @ Apr 21 2016, 02:36 PM) I'm not so sure about that. I have been paying the difference rather than the statement amount but never got penalized for underpayment. Was I lucky or what? I don't like cimb but since I don't know if my uob vox is approved or not, I gotta keep cimb for another 2 months. I have been paying outstanding a few months, then suddenly got charged finance charge for my february statement. Complained, they reversed the finance charge. CS say maybe cause I didn't clear statement balance. But seems like you are doing that and still fine.
adele123
Apr 22 2016, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(DarReNz @ Apr 22 2016, 12:23 PM) u use CIMB mostly for online transactions ? Yup. about 95%.
adele123
May 8 2016, 08:44 AM
Need confirmation on supp card payment.
i would only need to transfer from my account and GIRO to the principal card number the full amount (principal + supp), correct?
adele123
May 8 2016, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 8 2016, 11:12 AM) Diff bank diff policy. Some can some not. So better check with the bank. Or tell us which bank as some will already know the answer . QUOTE(fruitie @ May 8 2016, 11:12 AM) I split payment, pay separately. I know some banks don't split for you, for e.g. AmBank. Thanks both. it's cimb btw. appreciate if you have the past experience. else i will call in tomorrow.
adele123
Jun 20 2016, 08:25 AM
Is it necessary to call the banks nowadays, before going overseas?
adele123
Sep 2 2016, 08:55 AM
abit serious note: I think we should be more objective about this. while i like to swipe my credit card around, those merchants who charge you 2% or wants minimum payment is because those are their additional expenses when you pay credit card, compared to paying by cash.
places where they don't care, probably already priced it in, making the goods & services more expensive than it should be, and you spend more.
adele123
Sep 3 2016, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(DarReNz @ Sep 3 2016, 05:53 AM) merchants are not supposed to do that , u can try to take a pic of the 2% charge if they displayed outright and report to bnm so that they can suspend their terminals or fine these merchants instead  I understand, and agree. It's not right. And should report. But as a consumer, say the shop sell this item, rm100. Pay by credit card, 102. Instead of explicitly charging, now they sell the item rm102 or higher,say rm105. Then as a consumer, we lose in the end. Anyway, this 2% thing should slowly disappear, as bnm is planning to reduce the fee banks earn from card transaction, to increase usage of card transactions. In the end, all banks cut card's benefits, we end up with cards with lesser benefits. Just my pov for discussion.
adele123
Dec 8 2016, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(Tectorisms @ Dec 5 2016, 08:08 PM) Hello, 1) I'd like to know if I can use my mom's debit card (RHB) when I go shopping with her permission? (without her being there at the time I want to swipe the card) 2) Will they check to see if it's my debit card or someone else's? 3) If can use it, do I have write my own signature or hers? btw im 16 actually nowadays, the cards come with paywave function. if confirm they have the contactless function and what you buy is less than 250 (or is it 200?), then i think you don't need to worry about 2 and 3.
adele123
Dec 20 2016, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Dec 20 2016, 10:48 PM) You guys have any recommendations on which cc that gives most cash back on petrol? You can check out maybank ikhwan petronas, citibank cash back, uob one card, maybank ikhwan master.
adele123
Dec 22 2016, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(starry @ Dec 22 2016, 01:01 AM) Hi all, Will a purchase at http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/ with CIMB Cash Rebate Mastercard incur 1% cross border fee? What if pay via PayPal in USD using CIMB Cash Rebate Mastercard? Same cross border fee applies? If you pay in rm yes. I just kena. If you pay in non-rm, wont kena, but cimb charges 2% on forex. So... I chose rm. You dont need to choose paypal. Just choose to pay in non-rm. It is only chargeable if you pay in rm.
adele123
Dec 28 2016, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Dec 28 2016, 06:14 PM) what's the advantages of having non free annual charge cc? because i see some people rather not having the free for life card i'm not loyal to my credit cards... if they charge annual fee, i cancel...  so yes, i have not paid for annual fee ever before... This post has been edited by adele123: Dec 28 2016, 11:29 PM
adele123
Jan 9 2017, 07:16 AM
QUOTE(lalaland.< @ Jan 9 2017, 01:53 AM) Is apply credit card via ringgit plus is save? What ringgit plus will do when they collect personal data? As far as I can see, legit company. They are abit slow in giving gifts I think to be fair, they need to confirm few details with the bank before they can furnish you the gifts. Safe? Well, ringgit plus will have your details and I dont think something like identity theft will happen cause they are a registered company. Worst case I guess is that their sales team call you to sell you stuff, especially insurance?
adele123
Jan 23 2017, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 21 2017, 04:18 PM) People, my youngest sibling is commencing his degree, being the big brother, I am proud to swipe the card, but which card gives the best rewards? I can apply almost any card by pledging FD My opinion is, hlb essential, alliance younique or ocbc 365. They all offer tier based cash rebate for all retail spend. The highest effective cashback will depend on how much you spend. Happy researching.
adele123
Mar 10 2017, 07:53 AM
Does credit limit available (but not used) plays any factor in loan application?
adele123
Mar 22 2017, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 22 2017, 09:18 AM) Weh nice! I need that too since I couldn't get UOB YOLO  Can someone tag me when this card comes out? Hahaha  It's already out officially, i believe. There's advert in the star. quick summary of benefits that i managed to get from the advert. Quantum Visa 5% Cash Back for Departmental and Entertainment Quantum MasterCard 5% Cash Back for online and dining Cash rebate capped at RM30 per month.