Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

wonglokat
post Jul 11 2016, 08:40 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Jul 11 2016, 05:47 PM)
well, u get 0.1% rebate for using OCBC Titanium if you pay your PTPTN with it....lollll rclxs0.gif  whistling.gif
well, step:
1. u go open OCBC 360 account,
2. every month u transfer minimum RM500 to that account
3. every month u make 3 bill payments, including OCBC credit card bill, OCBC loan bills, and those astro bill, utilities bills and whatever bill that can pay on OCBC internet banking, from OCBC 360 account
4. spend min RM500 on ur OCBC credit card..

then u will get 4.1% pa interest on your OCBC 360 account
step 1, entitle u base interest rate of 0.5% pa
2. entitles u 1.2%pa bonus interest,
3. entitles u 1.2%pa bonus interest,
4. entitles u 1.2%pa bonus interest

thats the reason I pull out my OCBC Titanium from deep freezer last month..and I use it to pay PTPTN...after I open the account and since I already hv loan bills with OCBC..instead of finding rebates, I find more interests..
Seems like the way to go when I have more commitments in the near future. Currently on hand-me-downs and accumulating wealth.

Thanks for the tips though, deity01
wonglokat
post Jul 22 2016, 08:39 PM

247 posts

Got a call offering CIMB CR Platinum card and somehow my details were given to them when company switched to CIMB to bank in salary. Declined but caller persisted saying they'll send the card to workplace anyway.

So they can push cards now? Don't know of I need another CR card. You guys (and girls) get this often?
wonglokat
post Jul 22 2016, 11:09 PM

247 posts

Sounded really eager that I have that. I was in the middle of work and figured I could cancel (or not activate) after I received it.

Will read up more tomorrow and see if I have a need for another Ikhwan-similar xD
wonglokat
post Jul 23 2016, 09:59 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 22 2016, 11:11 PM)
It's useful for online transactions. smile.gif
Done reading. Would be good if I have to fill up on days other than Friday/Saturday; even if it's only 2%. Didn't have much to buy online (: Currently its essentials > dining > splurging
wonglokat
post Jul 25 2016, 04:17 PM

247 posts

Having money stashed away for a new laptop, I'll wait for end of year shopping before taking the plunge.

Meanwhile, to those with experience doing the 0% installment thing no traps to look out for right?
wonglokat
post Sep 7 2016, 08:22 AM

247 posts

CIMB cardholders,

So I have my cards sent to my home address and just got to activate them few days back. How long do I have to wait for it to show up in CIMBClicks? Or will it ever?
wonglokat
post Sep 7 2016, 12:03 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 7 2016, 09:26 AM)
Mine shown before even it reached me. Heard you will need to link it yourself. You may want to search in CIMB thread.
Thanks fruitie, just did it on clicks but have to wait a few days.
wonglokat
post Sep 7 2016, 02:23 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Sep 7 2016, 12:48 PM)
off topic. If only have MBB credit card, but no current or savings acc, can still apply for online registration with Maybank2u.com.my ?
If you meant getting a login credential, you can obtain a temporary PIN from MBB ATM using your card. Then proceed to m2u and set it up. And all you could do is access and process CC related stuff.

Edit: did this for 3 months before I set up a new savings a/c and linked both the SA and CC accounts together in m2u.

This post has been edited by wonglokat: Sep 7 2016, 02:24 PM
wonglokat
post Sep 11 2016, 10:05 AM

247 posts

Two more weeks to find out but... I set up scheduled transactions on CIMB Clicks for utilities.

Is that considered as a standing instruction for rebate (as stipulated for the CIMB CR cc) or does payment/charging need to be effected from merchant side?
wonglokat
post Sep 12 2016, 11:32 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 12 2016, 10:52 AM)
not going to count
you need to choose "Pay Bills > Register for auto payment" from the drop down list
Will redo. Thanks!
wonglokat
post Oct 21 2016, 11:36 AM

247 posts

Any HSBC cardholders applied for the cash instalment plan? The CIMB CashLite interest rated at 8.99% p.a. but couldn't find any charges for the 15k offered by HSBC. Anything I might have overlooked?
wonglokat
post Oct 21 2016, 12:05 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Oct 21 2016, 11:57 AM)
RM15,000 at 0% Interest with Cash Instalment Plan for 15 months
https://sp.hsbc.com.my/15k?WABFormEntryComm...YH_PWS_MAIN_10K
Yup, this. I think the monthly repayment will be charged to the card and the late fees will apply. Depending on how one pay it off / do with the money, it's essentially free cash.

Too good to believe yet it does appear to be harmless. Hmm...

This post has been edited by wonglokat: Oct 21 2016, 12:26 PM
wonglokat
post Nov 17 2016, 02:00 PM

247 posts

So, we've all heard about the PTPTN discount thing for lump sum payment. I have 7k left but thinking to pay it off.

Now Maybank has promo on BT. My only worry is that after charging to card A, the BT couldn't get approved.

Any one knows how generous Maybank is on the 0% BT approval? Any other tips/heads-up appreciated.
wonglokat
post Nov 17 2016, 02:50 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 17 2016, 02:07 PM)
You may want to post in BT thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3918057
I just applied mine on Monday and already got approved. Was using it to pay PTPTN as well. smile.gif
QUOTE(laymank @ Nov 17 2016, 02:08 PM)
There is still Public Bank, Aeon Credit Service for 6 month 0% interest, provided if you have them.
Thanks for the replies. I have Maybank's and CIMB's only. Will peruse the thread for BT notworthy.gif
wonglokat
post Jan 14 2017, 08:48 PM

247 posts

Will be leaving the country for a week on business and not sure if I should keep one card at home - MBB Ikhwan / CIMB CR.

Unlikely to gain anything from flight bookings, hotel is settled via Expedia so I'm left with daily expenses and gift shopping. Will be carrying a hundred or two Euro for emergency.

My first so input from you all is appreciated.
wonglokat
post Jan 15 2017, 10:11 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Jan 15 2017, 01:06 AM)
I believe CIMB charges cross border fee if used from overseas terminal. My advise, MBB Ikhwan. But you can get discount at KLIA2/KLIA. So if you plan to do some duty free shopping when you come back, bring both. It won't feel too many lah.
Ok sure, thanks! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by wonglokat: Jan 15 2017, 10:11 AM
wonglokat
post Jan 20 2017, 10:41 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 19 2017, 11:09 PM)
maximum 2 issuers, not 2 cards
What's the next bracket? Is it in 12k increments too?
wonglokat
post Jan 20 2017, 02:44 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Jan 20 2017, 02:28 PM)

is there any way to request for sms for every cc transaction?
Did it with my MBB cc by asking them to set to the minimum amount for alert. Tried for 6 mins before I got through though.
wonglokat
post Jan 20 2017, 02:44 PM

247 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by wonglokat: Jan 20 2017, 02:45 PM
wonglokat
post Jan 22 2017, 09:20 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Jan 22 2017, 08:55 PM)
Sometimes bank offer rebate of RM x for y nos of auto billing subscribed. Given the existence of cash rebate card like PB VS, cimb cash rebate, Uob YOLO etc, which offer rebates on online payment, what is the logic of subscribing to auto billing? Which option is more worthwhile in terms of getting rebate? Thanks
My CIMB CR requires auto billing to be eligible for the rebate.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0268sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:36 AM