4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

chiahau
post Jan 28 2016, 12:19 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 28 2016, 10:47 AM)
strongly advise you to make this to BNM.. BNM sure will take stern actions on this case.

I have replied from BNM they will investigate this matter on 6% GST extra charges and will revert me back soonest

meanwhile i have met custom high ranking officer and he informed me he will issue compound to that particular shop

i suggest you channel to BNM and meet custom officer face to face with proofs, of course.
Can PM me the Custom's contact?

I got a lot of complaints to make to him regarding GST.

chiahau
post Jan 29 2016, 08:15 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jan 29 2016, 07:02 AM)
Guys, I'm have been using Maybankard 2 Cards for two years and I wonder if I can upgrade to the platinum cards if my income doesn't satisfy the requirements?

Basically I may need to travel overseas for a business trip and my current gold cards credit limit is not good enough, and the benefits aren't as good as the platinum as well when used overseas.
Short answer - Unlikely can upgrade.

However - Can try your luck by writing in and see how it goes? Sometimes they will consider other factors as well.

As for credit limit, submit your latest 3-6 months salary and ask if they can adjust accordingly?

chiahau
post Feb 15 2016, 04:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Feb 15 2016, 09:03 AM)
With chip and PIN, the responsibility of a fraud is pushed to the merchants and customers instead of the banks.
I foresee future disputes on any fraudulent case will end up in tug of war with the merchants in future.
Banks are still involved in the governance of the CC.

Whether they like it or not, a dispute must be raised and settled through banks.

If they are not willing to work for their paycheck ( In my case, UOB Malaysia pushing me to deal with the merchant ), I just complaint to Bank Negara and Tribunal for faster action.

In fact, I have 10 missed calls in the past 2 hours after Bank Negara send them an email ordering them to respond to me directly.

Grandmother story short :

Issuing banks are still in charge of the disputes, as per stipulated by Visa/Master/Amex International.

I remember got Bank and Finance Act to support this argument as well, just that I don't have enough time to dive through the books laugh.gif

If you ask merchant to settle with you, end up nothing will happen one. Coz most M'sia merchants are dishonest as crap.

No offense for those who are honest.
chiahau
post Feb 15 2016, 04:11 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 15 2016, 03:53 PM)
Thanks, found it under the general T&C:

14.7 VARIATION
The Cardmember agrees that Maybank shall be at liberty and reserves the right to vary, add to or amend the terms and conditions under this
Agreement or arrangements (including the privileges made available by Maybank in connection with the Credit Card whether such privileges are
set out herein or elsewhere) whenever Maybank deems necessary by giving Twenty One (21) calendar days prior notice before the implementation.
Arguing for Priority Pass? laugh.gif

chiahau
post Feb 15 2016, 04:13 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 15 2016, 04:11 PM)
For MBB VS  biggrin.gif
Go copy paste that clause, throw to BNM and ask them be Referee.

If you gather few heads and complaint, your Lounge access may be retained up to 1st of April 2016 laugh.gif
chiahau
post Feb 15 2016, 04:17 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(kiwijuice @ Feb 15 2016, 04:16 PM)
May I know for renewal of credit card, do i need to register once again all the current auto payment (maintenance fee, insurance, etc)?

Thanks. : )
Likely yes.

You'll be issued a new card, so it's safe to assume that you have to update your details with those auto payment so that they could capture the information in the system.
chiahau
post Feb 19 2016, 09:40 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(sukitena @ Feb 18 2016, 03:58 PM)
hello..i have a question regarding "new to bank". usually, banks will give more privilege to those who are new to bank. for example, last time public bank have promo get luggage bag or somethin if apply for their credit card, but only for those who are new to the bank. those that already have other pbb credit card not entitled for the gift if they apply for that type of cc.

for my situation, i applied for home loan to a few banks. then without me knowing, i received many cc's from most of the banks. when i call a call center for one of the banks (it's cimb), i told them i want to cancel the cc they gave me, and can i be considered new to bank in the system coz technically i did not apply for their CC, their ans is no. Coz when i applied for the home loan, i have agreed and signed that the home loan and cc is part of a bundle package.

the thing is, I never signed anything! i only gave my documents for home loan application, so even if there is a document, maybe the officer would have signed it for me????

my question is:

1. is there any way that I can still be considered "new to bank" by showing that they never get any consent from me? I don't even have anythg to prove anyway, but just asking if anyone got experience

2. not related to cc, but is it normal for home loan application, not to have any forms to be filled etc? I applied for 6 banks and 4 out of 6 did not ask for my signature, did not ask me to fill up forms..
1. Sometimes, even the application forms will state so. So read carefully before you apply tongue.gif

2. Nope, usually they'll need your signature as an indicator of consent.

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Feb 19 2016, 12:11 AM)
1. You can cancel the card and after some time (6 months to 1 year, depending on bank), you'll be considered new to bank again. If you are sure you didn't sign a credit card application form, you can complain to bank and BNM about this.

2. Based on my personal experience with several banks, the loan officer will include an empty credit card application form and ask you to sign when applying for home loan. Most people will just sign it and the loan officer will fill up the form for them.
Number 2 is very correct. Read what you sign before you put your signatures on it.

Loan officers are a bunch of cheeky people. I got plenty of "unwanted" CC from banks when I apply for Term Loans as well laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chiahau: Feb 19 2016, 09:41 AM
chiahau
post Feb 24 2016, 11:23 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2016, 10:19 PM)
I booked a hotel at booking.com under 'book first, pay later' option. However, received sms alert that the full amount has been charged to my card. Is the notification just a formality but nothing is actually charged?
Sounds like the same SOP for Expedia.

I got charged full amount despite there stating will charge on XX date.

Thus, I conclude that full payment has been charged despite how they offer not to charge until a certain date.
chiahau
post Feb 24 2016, 11:27 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2016, 11:26 PM)
The sms states the hotel name and not booking.com

Anyway, I have cancelled the booking. It is under Free Cancellation option.
Hope they dun charge ur card and make u wait 2 weeks to get back the money tongue.gif
chiahau
post Feb 25 2016, 07:17 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 25 2016, 12:25 AM)
thanks for the info. will follow up with aeon  shakehead.gif

add: just spoke to representative from booking.com and he confirmed that I was charged and he will arrange for refund.
Time to make a report.

How can pay on other dates but Kena charge early early?
chiahau
post Feb 28 2016, 03:15 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 27 2016, 10:47 PM)
So, you know how some credit cards gives extra points/entries for their campaign when say spending overseas...

Since with online purchase nowadays, would agoda paid in foreign currency be considered as oversea spending?

My question is actually, will extra points given for online spending?
MBB Vs considers online transaction in foreign $$ as 5x TPs.

Not sure about other banks thou.
chiahau
post Feb 28 2016, 03:21 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Feb 28 2016, 03:19 PM)
have you tried paying air tix, not mas or airasia, (in foreign currency) with MBB VS?
Nope.

Don't think I'll have the chance to, since the card is already at the bottom of drawer waiting cancellation.

For flights, I usually let someone else purchase it because they have better CB card for that purpose lol
chiahau
post Mar 28 2016, 11:21 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Nagato @ Mar 26 2016, 06:57 AM)
Hi guys, just got my application for MBB card rejected when i apply via online...wanna ask if pledge FD for their cc did i need to wait another 6 month later to apply?

Pledge FD no need wait.

Go to branch and cough up $.

QUOTE(YoNGkw90 @ Mar 27 2016, 12:34 PM)
Hi, got a question here. Can i use tenancy agreement together with my payslips to apply for credit card? Do they accept tenancy agreement rental as income?
Can.

Just submit the agreement + bank in slips / statements indicating your received the payment.
chiahau
post Mar 30 2016, 04:40 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(YoNGkw90 @ Mar 30 2016, 04:04 PM)
My rental only start next month. If just tenancy agreement cant? If need payments prove means need wait 3/6months only can apply ya?
If it's stamped, I think just submit only no problem.
chiahau
post Dec 13 2016, 10:56 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

If I am applying for a housing loan next month, would it be recommended to apply for a credit card at this current moment?

Need to get some cashback from utilities payment since it's quite a sum nowadays.

Thank you for any info provided.
chiahau
post Dec 13 2016, 05:18 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 13 2016, 05:16 PM)
shouldnt be any issue.

i've gotten my 2nd house loan early this year and already gotten the following cards since:

1) uob yolo (indirect application as they called me)
2) mbb ikhwan visa (walk-in maybank card centre)
3) 3x pbb vs (1 principal + 2 supp) via email
4) aeon big visa (walk-in aeon credit service centre)

laugh.gif all approved easily.
Just submitted my application for PBB VS laugh.gif

Stan Chart should be next with Yolo coming close.
chiahau
post Dec 14 2016, 09:07 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Dec 13 2016, 10:53 PM)
From my experience, I applied for a 7 figure housing loan based on my sole income, and while holding 20+ CC (have been applying and cancelling very regularly for the past 5 years). All banks approved my application easily. However, I have never missed payment, had no outstanding balances, and no other borrowings in the past except a car loan which I paid in 2 years.

I don't think CC applications / number held is such a huge factor. It's probably credit history and total amount outstanding which matters

On a semi related note, my colleague is much more senior than me and earns more than me. She has only held one CC her whole life (entry level Citibank clear card) as she uses her husbands supplementary. Limited credit history and no loans for 15 years. She has been rejected by several premium CCs, and her max approved loan amounts are less than mine.
Your income is crazy and your colleague's income is even crazier laugh.gif

Guess having a good credit score by abusing the CC and paying them off promptly afterwards helps in getting good premium CCs

Thanks anyways. Gonna see if PBB approves me or not biggrin.gif
chiahau
post Dec 14 2016, 11:44 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Dec 14 2016, 11:42 AM)
We're old-timers in an industry which rewards seniority and experience, so gross income looks decent, but at the end of the day, still have to count dollars and cents carefully (which explains my obsession with cashback and saving in general).

And I agree that it is ironic that I am "rewarded" for maxing CC benefits, compared to people who use CCs prudently, or pay off debts using cash.

Good luck with your PBB application. Really hope you get it, as it is my favourite CC by a mile.
Thanks!

I would prefer if they approve my PBB housing loan with the CC as well! biggrin.gif
chiahau
post Dec 15 2016, 12:29 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Just curious.

Does outstanding PTPTN loan affects CC applications?

For housing loans, as long as you showed you paid the up to date amount, they usually close eyes already.

CC so particular in that sense? biggrin.gif
chiahau
post Dec 15 2016, 12:41 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Dec 15 2016, 12:36 PM)
Not sure about PTPTN.

House loan got house as security. If you don't pay they take your house..

But CC is unsecured that's why the % of outstanding will affect CC application..
Ah. Okay.

Funny this is, once you restructure it, magically it all becomes okay back even thou you have not been paying for ages laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0736sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:16 PM