Hardware PC does not boot up

TSdanshi
post Dec 10 2015, 09:25 AM, updated 10y ago

190 posts

I have a 2 year old PC. Recently, I have been having a strange problem. The PC does not boot up. when I check inside the case, the network port light as well as power button on the motherboard is lighted but the fans and PC does not boot up.

My spec as below.

Proc: Intel i5 proc
Mobo: MSI Z77A GD55
RAM: Corsair 8GB RAM
HDD: WD 2TB

Kindly advice what I should do. I checked every cables and all is working. Yesterday, the PC booted by itself and was working well until I shut it down afterwards it does not boot back.
WebWalker
post Dec 10 2015, 10:54 AM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

Try to reset the BIOS by remove the CMOS battery for at least 5min
TSdanshi
post Dec 10 2015, 10:57 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(WebWalker @ Dec 10 2015, 10:54 AM)
Try to reset the BIOS by remove the CMOS battery for at least 5min
Could it be that my CMOS battery is spoiled?
WebWalker
post Dec 10 2015, 11:08 AM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

Even CMOS battery die, you still can boot up your pc.
wkc
post Dec 10 2015, 12:53 PM

190 posts

The power supply good or not? Can try to change to another power supply if you have extra. Sometimes mobo got light doesn't mean power supply is ok. If you dont have spare unit of power, you need to jump start it with green and black cable.
Better still just plug out all the cables or graphic card. Just mobo and power supply only.

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-pow...y-without-a-PC/
Nels
post Dec 10 2015, 12:54 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

Remove all hardware components. Only put graphic card, cpu and if you have two RAM module, just go for 1 first. Try that and see.
SUStlts
post Dec 10 2015, 05:38 PM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

the cpu fan spin a while then sttop.or langsung no spin?
wanna be hi-tech
post Dec 10 2015, 06:01 PM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

Jump start the psu... Ull know if its psu issue..
ricstc
post Dec 11 2015, 05:13 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

very common symptom esp when either the motherboard has shorted or the psu is faulty

this is bcos you can see some led but no motor movement on the fans

fans need power and the power is drawn fr the psu through parts of the motherboard. its not the cmos batter bcos the symptoms of depleted cmos battery is beep wanings at bios boot up time - in your case it cant even get to that bios boot up session bcos there is fundamentally lack of AC juice going into your machine

change part by part testing one thing at a time - start with a psu then motherboard - though i think these activiews are best done by a pc tech with you supervising like a hawk

0.0170sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:11 AM