> Military Thread V19

BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 06:21 PM

THE AIR FORCE WANTS A UNIVERSAL TRANSLATOR

Their solicitation says they want to conduct research and development in automatic speech recognition, machine translation, natural language processing, information extraction, information retrieval, text-to-speech synthesis, as well as other speech and language processing technologies.

Specifically, the Air Force says that these technologies are necessary as, “much of the information needed to effectively understand, anticipate, manage, and operate in the global environment is found in foreign language speech, text, videos, and images,” especially for “lesser spoken languages that have high military interest but lack sufficient linguists and automated language processing capabilities.”

http://www.popsci.com/air-force-wants-universal-translator
SUSTheHitman47
post Dec 10 2015, 06:34 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Dec 10 2015, 04:49 PM)
Yes

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 10 2015, 05:20 PM)
It has FLIR so yes!
is this the first in our inventory?.

i mean like for heli, since this would be very helpful especially at the times when the sulu attack for example.
it would be much help to locate their location right?.
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 06:38 PM

Did Putin just threaten to go NUCLEAR on ISIS? Russian leader says new cruise missiles can be equipped with warheads – but he hopes they would never

Vladimir Putin has warned that a new underwater missile system deployed by Russian submarines in the war against ISIS in Syria could be equipped with nuclear warheads.

The Russian president said that although using nuclear weapons was a possibility, he hoped that they would 'never be needed' in the fight against terrorism.

His warning came as Russia stepped up its barrage on Syrian rebels with its first submarine-launched cruise missile strikes combined with bombing raids from the air.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-33...-need-them.html
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 06:43 PM

For Muslims in the U.S. military, a different U.S. than the one they swore to defend

U.S. Marine Gunnery Sgt. Emir Hadzic was a Muslim refugee.

“The way Americans welcomed us made such a huge impression on me that I felt like I owed something back,” said Hadzic, a Bosnian-Muslim who fled Sarajevo in 1995. Shortly after arriving in the United States, Hadzic joined the Marine Corps as an infantryman — hoping to help peacekeepers deploying to his homeland.

“I thought I would sign up and pay my debt and on behalf of my family,” he added.

Eight deployments later and still in the Marine Corps, Hadzic has become disturbed by the rising anti-Muslim sentiment in this country after the recent Islamic State attacks in Paris and last week’s San Bernardino shootings. GOP presidential front-runner Donald Trump, a candidate Hadzic used to support, has called for barring Muslims from entering the United States.
He said he has tried to confront friends and former comrades who post hateful things about Muslims. Their response, according to Hashi: “Aw, man we’re not talking about you, you’re good. We’re talking about those Muslims.”

“I tell them you can’t cut me out of my own community and say that I’m the good one,” said Hashi, who deployed once to Afghanistan and twice to Iraq. “It’s sad. I’ve had to cut people out of my life, people I consider friends, because I’m not going to accept it. I value myself. I have self-worth.”

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/checkpo...wore-to-defend/
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 06:55 PM

PH military gets 114 armored vehicles from US

MANILA, Philippines – A total of 77 units of M113A2 Armed Personnel Carriers (APCs) from the US arrived in Subic Wednesday evening, December 9, and another 37 units are scheduled to arrive next week in time for the transfer of all 114 armored vehicles to the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) later in the month, the US embassy in Manila announced in a statement on Thursday, December 10.

The transfer of the large number of APCs will boost the armor capabilities of the Philippine military, which continues to fight communist insurgents and terrorists. The light tracked vehicles will provide secure transport to troops who will be inserted into combat zones.

"The EDA (Excess Defense Article) Program grants excess U.S. military equipment from the U.S., without cost, to qualified allied countries. The transfer is a result of a formal request made by the AFP to assist in their defense modernization efforts," said the US embassy.

http://www.rappler.com/nation/115490-armor...ippine-military
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 07:14 PM

India's Worst Nightmare: Pakistani F-35 Stealth Fighters?

Pakistan wants to buy Lockheed Martin’s stealthy fifth-generation F-35 Joint Strike Fighter. But the South Asian nation’s chances of acquiring the new American-built warplane are fairly remote. Not only would export of the F-35 to Islamabad compromise the stealth fighter’s technology to Beijing, it could also destabilize the security balance in the region. 

While Pakistan is focused on modernizing its air force with the Chinese-developed JF-17 Thunder, it is considering three possible options to acquire fifth-generation fighters. According to Islamabad’s chief of the air staff (CAS) Air Chief Marshal Sohail Aman, who spoke to the Pakistani daily The News, the country has started negotiations with the United States to acquire the stealthy single-engine F-35.
Realistically, Pakistan’s best bet at acquiring a fifth-generation stealth fighter is probably either the Chinese J-31 or the J-20. However, the Russian Sukhoi T-50 PAK-FA might also be a possibility is Moscow were willing to alienate its Indian allies. The Russians have been discussing a Su-35 sale to Islamabad, so it is not out of the question. But Pakistan’s chances of buying the F-35 are fairly close to nil.

http://nationalinterest.org/blog/the-buzz/...-fighters-14564
SUSAxeFire
post Dec 10 2015, 07:18 PM

368 posts

Was the F 35 ever offered to Malaysia? Im guessing if yes it was declined due to budget constraints
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 07:20 PM

America’s secret arsenal

One thing everyone I spoke to agreed on: The U.S. has the most powerful cyber arsenal in the world. Brandon Valeriano, a lecturer at the University of Glasgow who focuses on cyber conflict, used the example of the North Korean Internet interruption in December 2014, when the nation’s fledgling Internet went out for a few hours, just a few days after the White House blamed the Sony hack on Pyongyang. “If America wanted to take down North Korea’s Internet,” he said, “it wouldn’t be two to three hours. It would be devastating.”

A cyber weapon, called a “capability” in the field, is a piece of malicious code that exploits a flaw in an enemy’s software; the point is to manipulate, disrupt or destroy computers, information systems, networks or physical infrastructure controlled by computer systems. An attacker could use a cyber weapon to take down another country’s financial systems or electrical systems.

“Anything that has a computer anywhere on earth can be stopped or taken over,” said Jason Healey, the head of the Atlantic Council’s Cyber Statecraft Initiative and former director for cyber infrastructure protection in the George W. Bush White House from 2003 to 2005.

http://www.politico.com/agenda/story/2015/...strategy-000331
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 07:23 PM

US Army Successfully Tests ‘Venom’ Drone targeting System

Defense contractor Northrop Grumman said Tuesday that the US Army has successfully demonstrated its Venom detection and tracking system at military maneuvers. At the Army Maneuver-Fires Integrated Experiment (MFIX), the company’s Venom system demonstrated its ability to identify and track even small drones, and provide accurate targeting data while on the move.

http://www.valuewalk.com/2015/12/us-army-t...rgeting-system/
SUSGregyong
post Dec 10 2015, 09:18 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(BorneoAlliance @ Dec 10 2015, 06:21 PM)
THE AIR FORCE WANTS A UNIVERSAL TRANSLATOR

http://www.popsci.com/air-force-wants-universal-translator
tongue.gif rclxms.gif

BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 09:23 PM

Syrian Army Seizes a Strategic Village on the Turkish Border as the Islamist Rebel Defenses Collapse

On Wednesday morning, the Syrian Arab Army’s 103rd Brigade of the Republican Guard continued its triumphant march across the vast mountains of northeastern Latakia, capturing more villages and hilltops in Jabal Al-Turkmen (Turkmen Mountains) and Jabal Al-Akrad (Kurdish Mountains) as they eye the imperative Turkish border-crossing that is used by the Islamist rebels to enter Syria.

The Syrian Arab Army’s 103rd Brigadeand their allies began their assault at the large hilltop of Tal Harisha after advancing from the Tal Sheikh Mohammad front in Jabal Al-Turkmen; this battle was short-lived, however, as the pro-government forces seized this site following a brief firefight with the Syrian Al-Qaeda group “Jabhat Al-Nusra” and their allies from the Free Syrian Army’s “1st Coastal Brigade”.

Later in the day, the Syrian Arab Army’s 103rd Brigade intensified their military operations in Jabal Al-Turkmen, seizing the strategic hilltop of Tal Syriatel that overlooks the mountaintop village of ‘Ateera near the rebel stronghold of Al-Rabi’yah.

Moments after capturing Tal Syriatel, the Syrian Armed Forces stormed the integral mountaintop village ‘Ateera, where they were confronted by a large Jabhat Al-Nusra contingent; however, the aforementioned Islamist group was unable to maintain defensive positions and thus, conceded the village to the pro-government forces after only a 90 minute firefight.

For the Islamist rebels, the Syrian Arab Army’s capture of ‘Ateera spells bad news for them, as their long-standing stronghold of Rabi’yah is now susceptible to an assault by the pro-government forces that are entrenched in the Zahiyah Mountains.

http://www.almasdarnews.com/article/syrian...enses-collapse/
skeleton202
post Dec 10 2015, 09:30 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

Do you guy know where to find fashion military shirt.. not the pasal malam one
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 09:37 PM

First Known Chinese National Fighting Against Islamic State in Syria Speaks

“I have to acknowledge that IS’s equipment is much better than that of YPG’s… But no matter how difficult it is, I believe justice will eventually triumph,” Pan wrote early in his adventure on his Sina Weibo page. He explained to the BBC in Mandarin – he speaks neither Kurdish nor Arabic and communicates with fellow fighters with an electronic translator – that he felt responsible for stopping the Islamic State, or at least doing his part in the fight, because they have “taken so many innocent lives.”

Pan also claims to feel responsible for fighting ISIS now that he knows from Kurdish sources that the terrorist group has “trained many Chinese people and then sent them back to China.” He did not elaborate on how he knew this information. The Chinese government has previously estimated that up to 300 Chinese nationals have left China to join ISIS is Iraq and Syria, though they have not detailed whether any have returned. Chinese officials claim all are ethnic Uyghurs from western Xinjiang province, a Turkic Muslim people..

Pan, who fights under a pseudonym and claims “Ba Si” is the Kurdish translation of his Han Chinese name, says he had fallen into a rut at home, leaving his girlfriend and not quite having a stable career. He then saw the story of Huang Lei, a British national of Han Chinese origin who left the UK to fight ISIS, and felt compelled to do the same. “I had actually thought he is still here in Kobane, but when I arrived in Kobane I was told he’s already back in the UK,” Pan said.

http://www.breitbart.com/national-security...e-syria-speaks/
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 09:46 PM

Middle Eastern Countries Interested in Russian Armed Vehicles, Aircraft

This year, we will complete the fulfillment of the contract to supply BMP-3M and BMP-3K infantry fighting vehicles to Kuwait. The last batch of the vehicles arrived in Kuwait in early November, which is currently undergoing the receipt process," Sergey Goreslavsky told RIA Novosti.
http://sputniknews.com/russia/20151210/103...y-interest.html
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 09:52 PM

Russia’s Armata combat platform may be allowed for exports by 2020 — manufacturer

"If everything goes well and we get the permission [from the Russian Defense Ministry], I believe that we’ll be able to receive an export configuration certificate by 2020 or maybe earlier," Khalitov said, adding that everything would depend on the principal customer.
According to the official, batch production of the T-14 tank and the T-15 infantry fighting vehicle may begin in 2017 or 2018.
Finalizing the blueprints and making the experimental product took two years. Testing is in progress. It is to be finalized in 2017.
http://tass.ru/en/defense/842938
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 10:03 PM

Watch a North Korean Military Parade In VR With This Free App

In a collaboration with VR company Jaunt, ABC News captured the North Korean capital in intimate detail. All you need is a smartphone, the Jaunt app, and a Google Cardboard viewer.

The feature puts you side-by-side ABC News correspondent Bob Woodruff (and the two government security guards ordered to follow his every move) as you explore Pyongyang streets, subway stations, and finally Kim Il Sung Square, home of North Korea’s biggest event of the year—the 70th anniversary of the North Korean Workers’ Party.

http://gizmodo.com/watch-a-north-korean-mi...s-fr-1747139410
xtemujin
post Dec 10 2015, 10:05 PM

318 posts

Yeah, really did not want to go down for the 2015 LIMA.

However, decided to go to see the PLAAF J10.

Maybe next time meet up bro.

Hope that there will be a 2016 Hari ATM at Dataran Merdeka.

My blog about the 2015 LIMA.

https://xtemujin.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/2...gkawi-malaysia/

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Dec 10 2015, 05:20 PM)
jumpa aku dlu
balik kuantan tak pernah nak jumpa aku

merajuk aku gini
good to hear
wuut you were at LIMA?
Man we should have met
It has FLIR so yes!
This post has been edited by xtemujin: Dec 10 2015, 10:12 PM
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 10 2015, 10:11 PM

You Can Buy a Ride in a MiG-29 Fighter Jet

​A jet fighter factory has teamed up with a Swiss tour company to offer flights in one of the Soviet Union's last fighter planes. Starting from $12,466, tourists from around the world can travel to Russia and zip around in a MiG-29 fighter.

The unique tour is offered by Sokol, a Russian aerospace company, in conjunction with Swiss company MiGFlug. Founded in 1932 outside the Russian city of Nizhny Novgorod, Sokol has built fighters for 80 years, including the MiG-29.
http://www.popularmechanics.com/military/w...29-fighter-jet/
atreyuangel
post Dec 10 2015, 10:13 PM

406 posts

double post

This post has been edited by atreyuangel: Dec 10 2015, 10:23 PM
atreyuangel
post Dec 10 2015, 10:18 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Dec 10 2015, 06:34 PM)
is this the first in our inventory?.

i mean like for heli, since this would be very helpful especially at the times when the sulu attack for example.
it would be much help to locate their location right?.
nope, we already have experience operating FLIR before
it is very helpful especially in night mission

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Dec 10 2015, 07:18 PM)
Was the F 35 ever offered to Malaysia? Im guessing if yes it was declined due to budget constraints
offered yes

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Dec 10 2015, 10:05 PM)
Yeah, really did not want to go down for the 2015 LIMA.

However, decided to go to see the PLAAF J10.

Maybe next time meet up bro.

My blog about the 2015 LIMA.

https://xtemujin.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/2...gkawi-malaysia/
yeah we should
thanks for the links
hehe my shoulder is in one of your picture

120 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0258sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:59 PM