34 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

What antivirus is the best?, vote now!!!

natakaasd
post Jun 22 2006, 09:24 PM

2,188 posts

LOL, yea NOD32 is not free (unles... I rest my case). Well, ClamWin is an Open Source Project. I heard it is OK, but it doesn't have Real Time Monitoring. (I might be wrong). AVG is OK, but if it misses anything, try Avast. Still no good, use Antivir. These 3 are free for personal use. Take a try. We can only recommend, but it is still up to you to test it out. Good Luck.
lthock
post Jun 22 2006, 09:27 PM

618 posts

yup..NOD32 is good..been using it for awhlie..
but me normally format pc every 6 month or so..
too much junk anyway..
ibnuasad
post Jun 24 2006, 11:50 AM

A screw is not a screw until you screw it!
558 posts

Yeah! Nod32 is the best. Tried AVG (free and pro), NAV2005 and NAV 2006, Kaspersky, ClamWin....but nothing is as good as Nod32 smile.gif
abgbes
post Jun 25 2006, 01:45 AM

66 posts

Nod32 is the king of antivirus for me.Mem usage only 8MB.unlike norton.use memory a lot.
quintessential
post Jun 26 2006, 10:39 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

trend micro housecall does a good job for me. even tho no real time protection
jordan86
post Jun 28 2006, 08:29 PM

631 posts

now im using Spybot, AVG, and AdAware.
So far, still ok loh.
Mooneyes
post Jul 3 2006, 10:54 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

avast av n nod32...which 1 is more suitable for old pc with low specs n doesnt use much ram sweat.gif
6GDominator
post Jul 3 2006, 11:23 PM

ThE NeW SpAm KiNg~.~
3,407 posts

i am using kaspersky now. it is damn good and i am using trial. i wonder where can i buy the original one here eh?
allblue82
post Jul 3 2006, 11:25 PM

79 posts

Im using BitDefender 9
It makes thing slow a bit, but this mean that the AV is doing its job.
It's effective, virus infected file is blocked from access after being detected, if u didnt choose to delete the file.
And, it's livechat support is responsive.
NV20
post Jul 4 2006, 12:58 AM

409 posts

actually should i use Kaspersky Antivirus + Outpost Firewall or jz use only the Kaspersky Internet Security better?
natakaasd
post Jul 4 2006, 04:47 PM

2,188 posts

nod 32 can be used on old pcs. they eat little ram.

av that makes a pc lag doesn't mean it is good or doing its work. sometimes, pcs that lag over the border means that the pc is overworked.

on KIS, it is up to you. any prefs?
6GDominator
post Jul 4 2006, 05:19 PM

ThE NeW SpAm KiNg~.~
3,407 posts

QUOTE(allblue82 @ Jul 3 2006, 11:25 PM)
Im using BitDefender 9
It's effective, virus infected file is blocked from access after being detected, if u didnt choose to delete the file.
bit defender eh. seems nice to use also but i am looking for the kaspersky original software which can get from kl area.
natakaasd
post Jul 5 2006, 06:59 PM

2,188 posts

Bit defender might be good, but the impression it gave me when I used its free version was (sigh)... Scanning time was so slow, Kaspersky definitely was faster,(considering the fact, Kaspersky scanning is quite slow if enable all options). Norton, I rest my case. All in a whole, it is your preference.
jack2
post Jul 8 2006, 08:52 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(allblue82 @ Jul 3 2006, 11:25 PM)
Im using BitDefender 9
If it makes thing slow abit means the AV is doing its job, then norton will be very effective and efficient as it has slow down your PC when running, takes long time to install or uninstall; and even notify that your PC is infected now, please scan it.

This means that norton is doing the great jobs > very rajin as able to catch the virus after infected. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Just joking....
natakaasd
post Jul 8 2006, 10:11 PM

2,188 posts

Jack2, your sarcasm might be true, but consider the fact, those who surf this corner is searching for "good" (no sarcasm) AVs, so I guess we need to speak it out nice and clear. No Offence.

What jack2 and I am trying to say is AVs that slow down the computer doesnt mean the AV is doing its job properly, much less being effective and efficient. NOD32 is good, and surely, many users can aggree with me, it feels as if you didnt install it in the first place. Response time to inform the user that the computer is being attacked is surely faster than Norton... I rest my case.

In a nutshell,common misconceptions that the PC is overworked means the AV is good, CRAP... Frankly, those who say that should check whether the computer is infected with Spyware... LOLX
allblue82
post Jul 9 2006, 01:41 PM

79 posts

Er....I make it clear..
Slow at every program start up, coz the AV is scanning the files accessed, after that everything runs smoothly. BitDefender is known for its heuristic measures, so it takes longer time for a reason.

For the case of norton, dont ever compare it with bitdefender, I never had good experiance with it. Norton eats up resource even if it's not scanning files, installation is a big project, then uninstallation can kill ur pc.

For other AVs, there are many good ones, u just have to try it. If u want speed, u have to sacrifice some effectiveness. For effectiveness, u have to sacrifice time. Things dont come slow or fast without a reason. If one can make a software to run faster, y not make it faster when there are many faster competitors? Except for the case of norton, it just look like a century worm to me.

This post has been edited by allblue82: Jul 9 2006, 01:46 PM
Chriss
post Jul 9 2006, 04:16 PM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

Where to get nod32 free for personal use copy?I wan oso rclxms.gif
My Ori norton AV2006 suck my rams dry lol vmad.gif
jack2
post Jul 9 2006, 06:43 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(natakaasd @ Jul 8 2006, 10:11 PM)

QUOTE(allblue82 @ Jul 9 2006, 01:41 PM)

Wonder why that I noticed many computer technicians or dealers are still installing norton for their customers. shakehead.gif

I think they just Norton for them just because Norton has been established since long time ago and they thought it is the best.
Chriss
post Jul 11 2006, 12:21 AM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

So where can i d/l Nod32???
GameSky
post Jul 11 2006, 10:56 AM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(Chriss @ Jul 11 2006, 12:21 AM)
So where can i d/l Nod32???
you can dl the trial program at www.eset.com

***I've tried NOD32, I installed it in Win 98, yea..it doesnt use resources too much smile.gif. Old pc friendly laugh.gif

34 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0416sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:23 PM