10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

bbgoat
post Dec 16 2015, 04:14 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2015, 03:28 PM)
Now that you mention it, the memo did state outward telegraphic transfer and Rentas as alternative. For rentas, it is basically same as over the counter IBG but takes longer time to reach? The manager also one kind one, I asked about over the counter IBG and he did not mention about rentas at all.
Rentas is listed as one of the alternative. So maybe that is another option.
You mean FD matured, SCB has 3 options, cash, SA or TT/RENTAS ?

If RENTAS it is supposed to be FAST, faster than OTC IBG. But cost higher from about RM5 to RM9 depending on banks. biggrin.gif

Recently I received CB SMS confirmation on fund xfer by RENTAS within one hr of the transfer. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 16 2015, 04:17 PM
bbgoat
post Dec 16 2015, 04:45 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2015, 04:31 PM)
Okay thanks for the info, for this situation, rentas it is then. So just need to provide the destination account number to the teller? How do you guys normally check whether the fund is in or not? Mobile banking?

@bbgoat, From the memo, one of the table entry:

Affected OTC services:
Interbank Giro / Cashier's Order / Bank Draft

Alternative:
Internet Banking / Breeze mobile app / ATM / Outward TT / Rentas
Oh boy, then it is NOT a big issue. Though some of us would prefer BC. biggrin.gif

I think TT also can but never did for within Malaysia. Has done TT for overseas transfer before.

After the RENTAS, you can check online, phone banking etc. CB online has option to SMS when new fund received in acct. It would SMS me when new fund received. This is GREAT as when the funds are received after RENTAS, I just go to another bank to do FD placement (with peace of mind) by opening a cheque. Very convenient without having to check online, phone banking etc. thumbup.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 16 2015, 05:34 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2015, 04:59 PM)
Yup, with rentas then no issue. Just i wonder why the teller does not mention about it. Even one aunty at the counter next to mine had to credit everything to her SA just now and the teller did not inform her about rentas. Can you double confirm with your RM @ SCB next week?
From the info you gave, Rentas is one of the options. Which made sense since no BC is given. Except why no OTC IBG which is cheaper but may arrive late in the day depending on when it is done. But Rentas wise also have a cut off time.

Will confirm on Monday. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 16 2015, 07:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2015, 07:23 PM)
I might drop by at the SCB branch next week to change the renewal instruction for all remaining certs to :

(3) Credit principal and interest to same currency account number

Will be bringing the certs this time.

-----
OCBC considers fund transferred to CASA in 7 days as fresh fund for FD placement. Anyone know what is UOB criteria? TQ
Your SCB FD renewal instructions are (2) (renew principal to current fd rate and interest to SA), same as mine ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 16 2015, 08:03 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2015, 07:54 PM)
Yes, all (2) except one cert with (3).
I will change one which is due on one Sat next year to (3) on Monday. Rest all are (2). At time of placement, the leng lui told me only option (2). shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 16 2015, 08:04 PM
bbgoat
post Dec 17 2015, 06:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 17 2015, 02:54 AM)
How to activate the sms option....does this apply to all accounts ...it is a very useful feature.....
You have Citibank account also ?

It is under Services, My Profile, Citialerts, Manage Alerts. I guess they don't differentiate if one is Citigold or not for the online account. Try it and see. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 17 2015, 07:18 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 17 2015, 06:55 PM)
Thanks will try latter. . Most of the time using phone banking. This feature very useful to monitor incoming fund
By the way, received 2 tickets for Special Screening of Star Wars The Force Awakens from CB for Dec 22nd in Gurney Plaza. Did you receive it ? biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 17 2015, 07:26 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 17 2015, 12:36 PM)
I just called OCBC, these 5.1% for 6 months or 5.5% for 3 months deals
need to buy insurance or investment products..
No free lunch in the world lah..  sad.gif

OCBC Customer Service Leng Lui, took this picture few days ago..
[attachmentid=5552956]
It is not PB centre (in Klang Valley) ?

Penang OCBC PB centre leng lui is better. This has always been an argument point with gsc. tongue.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Dec 17 2015, 01:16 PM)
Received a call from SCB RM and offered a bond:

Product name: Bond Paper
Tenure: 2 Years
Return: 5.5% return is guaranteed
Principal: Minimum RM 250K, principal is guaranteed
Risk: Only if Standard Chartered bankrupt or close down

Can consider this or not?? hmm.gif
QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 17 2015, 02:19 PM)
This is bond not FD.

And this may not bond issued by SCB.

You need to know the bond issuing party, because the risk of bond defaulting or not is on the issuing party, not selling agent (like bank).

You need to know the, exact yield to maturity.

You need to search the details properly, above info is too little and too amateur/not professional enough.
Saying return of 5.5% is guaranteed is a BIG lie. Ask them to show you in B & W. It would NOT be there ! Principal guaranteed, yes, that is not an issue if hold until maturity.

I bought one bond fund which matured this Dec, CB is the bank agent. Now received a letter from both parties giving reasons why they cannot achieve the 5% yield set out 3 yrs ago. doh.gif The return fluctuate between 3.55% to 4% only ! shakehead.gif

The Citigold leng lui RM who sold me this kind of very sure at the time I was sold ! tongue.gif Anyway she has left already. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 17 2015, 07:28 PM
bbgoat
post Dec 17 2015, 10:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 17 2015, 09:02 PM)
at least yr principal is intact, plus some FD level of returns
If you are expecting 5% return and end up getting lower than FD promo returns, will you be happy ? brows.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 18 2015, 01:49 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 18 2015, 01:42 PM)
While we were talking about UOB charging different fee for BC few days back, I sent an email to UOB to inquire what is the actual fee for pure FD upliftment and today I received a reply:
which is consistent with the penang branch.

I am going to show the print out of the email to the branch manager at my place as she has been insisting that the fee is RN2.xx all this while
UOB BC was even just RM0.15 cents early 2014. I have been saying this even Captain Gen-X was doubting this figure. He also quoted higher BC charge from UOB for Klang Valley. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 18 2015, 02:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 18 2015, 01:52 PM)
the extra RM2.00 can pay for parking biggrin.gif
Ya, save the RM2+ for parking fee, for you guys in KV. But the Pg branch that I normally use is in a bungalow, free parking ! thumbup.gif gsc also use that branch and where we all agreed no leng lui RM (he always disagreed with me on OCBC leng lui RM). tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 18 2015, 02:01 PM
bbgoat
post Dec 18 2015, 08:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 18 2015, 06:50 PM)
Let's calibrate our eyeballs. Look at BCC Ocbc leng lui photo, is your leng lui better looking than that?

The gold price has came down but still much higher than before RM depreciated....US interest rate up again, gold will continue going down

Analyst said next year OPR remain in 2016....

http://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-ne...m_content=links
How come you miss that post ? I already mentioned after Ah Boom posted it ! Or you have forgotten about what I wrote ? brows.gif Check it out ! tongue.gif

Still hard to say yet if OPR will change next year. brows.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 18 2015, 08:10 PM
bbgoat
post Dec 18 2015, 08:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 18 2015, 06:35 PM)
Bought a Cashiers Order. SCB charged me RM2.80 for it.
Human Nature, he got cashiers order from SCB ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 21 2015, 03:25 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 21 2015, 11:11 AM)
No tickets...you got it thru sms or ?   Anyway enjoy the show
For Citigold members 100 available tickets for maybe around Penang area. biggrin.gif

They sent email:

Special screening of Star Wars The Force Awakens
We are pleased to confirm your reservation of 2 tickets to the special screening of STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS on Tuesday, 22 December 2015 at Golden Screen Cinemas, Gurney Plaza.
Popcorn and mineral water will be distributed before you enter the movie hall.

rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 21 2015, 03:33 PM
bbgoat
post Dec 21 2015, 03:58 PM

6,614 posts

In SCB PB centre, one of the leng lui greeted me with my surname Mr so and so. Not bad. Friendly courteous staff. Have the same experience in Citigold. biggrin.gif

No interest for FD over non working days on maturity.

Asked about BC, they have Cashier's Order which is RM 2.80. Rentas RM 5. Human Nature, Penang still issuing Cashier's Order. Then asked to change all FD to Renewal Instruction 3. Initially the lady was a bit hesitant. Said need KL to make the change. So ended decided to change only one cert which matured on Sat to Option 3.

Was told that for SCB, the cert we received is just a receipt or statement only. Not needed on maturity. In a way similar to UOB, no need any FD cert, statement, receipt on maturity. Just our IC will do.

Went to nearby OCBC PB centre, relaxing atmosphere, spacious and nice environment. Also leng lui there and very friendly, courteous counter staff (leng lui drool.gif ). SCB PB centre kind of old, old building needing renovation.

Asked about FD maturity on Sat/Sun, was told they pay the interest but the FD has to be on auto renewal. BC or Cashier's Order RM2.80.

So both SCB and OCBC, pay RM2.80 only to get their cheque. biggrin.gif

Went to HL to place the 6 mths 4.5% monthly interest FD. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 21 2015, 04:03 PM
bbgoat
post Dec 21 2015, 04:05 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Dec 21 2015, 04:01 PM)
yes, once u place it in mach branch, you can withdraw partial/full via HL connect already... i believe their system is not intelligent enough to trace fresh funds, therefore will need us to go mach branch to place lol.. good rate, but troublesome
I was thinking of doing Mach placement. But after hearing all these, find it no point, might as well do it in HL branch. MACH branch in Penang limited and inconvenient. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 21 2015, 04:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Dec 21 2015, 02:16 AM)
CIMB and AMBANK FD upliftment at any branch for any amount , as long as IC can be read. PUBLIC BANK interbranch  FD withdrawal possible BUT only up RMxxk (pls refer to PBB branch, I forgot exact amount)
Ya, CIMB RM told me can uplift in any CIMB branch on FD maturity. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 21 2015, 05:05 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 21 2015, 04:44 PM)
Thanks for the update. In other words, the branch manager and staffs at my branch are really clueless. They insisted on my cert when I want to change instruction and when I did not have it with me, they want me to signed a under a stamp that I am uplifting without cert. I think I will play safe and just remain with the current standing instruction.
Initially the staff took my FD cert and said need to scan and send to KL to change the renewal instruction. Thats why I decided to change only one FD. Later she made a photo copy and returned me the original FD cert/receipt/statement. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Dec 23 2015, 09:02 AM

6,614 posts

Was in cinema enjoying free movie for Star Wars courtesy of CB. You guys have been having so many posts already ! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cklimm @ Dec 23 2015, 07:50 AM)
Another mach FD update,

its shown on HL konek now, placement date: yesterday,
Whats better? the cheque aint cleared yet, it shall earn another set of interest in HSBC
Wow, one cert of 1 Million ! notworthy.gif Really so called Ultra HNWI ! notworthy.gif

In May, OCBC has promo 12 mth 4.2%. Compared with the Mach placement, for 12 mth, the difference is 2k for the interest !

Also with 1 mil, could nego for better rate with the banks. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 23 2015, 09:04 AM
bbgoat
post Dec 23 2015, 10:46 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 23 2015, 10:15 AM)
Follow up on the overcharging of the BC fee by UOB branch here. I sent an official complaint and the branch will be refunding the extra charged amount for the past years to me. Just nice as I will be heading there for one FD upliftment later.
So what Penang side is charging is the correct amt all along. It was 15 cent before and recently RM0.68. biggrin.gif

gen-x, will you be asking for the refund ? tongue.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:43 PM