Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Ramjade
post Dec 15 2015, 03:43 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Dec 15 2015, 03:19 PM)
That green guy does not know the sequence...just like he said 6 months 4.5%, 1 year is more than 4.5%. Some more try o deviate on his original point....yesterday went UOB, banker cheque is 68 sen. Hoe he will remember
Bro, 4.5% p.a for 6 months. Monthly interest credited. By having a say ambank truesavers earning you 2.8% on the interest credited by HL, at the end of the 6 months, you will get more than the effective rates given by HL.

So if you have a same promo which gives 4.5% after that 6 months promo, your effective rates will be more than 4.5% with combination of ambank truesavers. Or you need me to give an example?
Ramjade
post Dec 16 2015, 03:01 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 16 2015, 02:51 PM)
My OCBC online account was previously open because I have OCBC credit card. No SA. Even after I terminated the card, I can still view all my FDs. Then now after open the 360 SA, I can view it but unable to perform any transfer. Anyone with 360 account here?
Just call customer service. They will sort it out for you. smile.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 16 2015, 03:39 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Dec 16 2015, 03:34 PM)
Hi guys, the CIMB unfixed deposit for 12months 4.3% p.a option, is it the most suitable option for me if I would like to have the freedom to uplift some of the principal amount if there are anyway sudden need of cash (without loosing all of the interest)??? or is there other bank that offers competitive rate for the same feature???
For your future placement, Split your FD into few certs. Eg and rm100k split into 10 certs with rm10k each. Another way is place different amount each month every month.
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2015, 10:29 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Dec 17 2015, 10:26 AM)
Guys which bank has the highest FD currently? I wish to transfer my money to the one with the highest FD by today thx
Please read first page. No spoon feeding. Everything is on the first page. doh.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 17 2015, 10:50 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Dec 17 2015, 10:31 AM)
I dont know what to read. So Affin bank has the highest FD? And what are those brochures says for every bank? Why some offer 3.6%, 3.9%, and 4.6% for 6th month or 12 month
What you mean you don't know how to read? doh.gif
Steps
1. Make sure you have min rm10k. No rm10k, no talk.
2. Determine how long do you want to lock up your money
3. Open first page.
4. Search for the banks with the duration you want.
5. Compare rates
Eg. say 6 months bank A at 4%, bank B at 4.5%. Of course bank B gives the highest rate.
6. Determine whether the bank you have selected is convenient to you or not (distance, parking, queue, time processing)

Now that's spoon feeding. doh.gif

Ramjade
post Dec 17 2015, 01:05 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 17 2015, 11:47 AM)
Easy way is...

Giv ramjade ur money
He place for u.

Profit sharing..

Lolz
Good idea. thumbup.gif I will take 0.1% as SC. biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2015, 07:22 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 18 2015, 04:50 PM)
After reading the postings here, decided that HLB 4.5% was the FD to get since my SCB 15mth FD matured today. So hurriedly I uplift my SCB FD and proceed to HLB Bkt Tinggi, Klang branch which was near my office. The HLB branch there was quite busy with many people. My turn came and I proceeded to inform the counter girl that I want to place FD on the promotional 4.5% rate for 6 months. The counter girl ask if I have a saving account with the branch, I say no but I do have a a savings account with another branch. She says cannot, I have to open another account with the branch in order for me to place the FD. I need to take another que number to open the account. Got fedup, took my money and proceeded to Affin Bank. There I was greeted like an old friend, attended to immediately by a middle age lady (no leng lui here...sigh) and she proceed to explain to me on the promotional rate of 4.6% where by 20% of it need to be placed in either a 1 month (4.05%), 2 months (4.10%) or 3 months (4.3%) FD while the balance 80% will enjoy the 4.6% pa interest. She advised me to take up the 3 months FD @ 4.3%. After making some rough calculations, the first 3 months interest came out more that than the HLB 4.5% FD (3 months period). After that, I can take the 20% and find other FD to put (hopefully can find a better rate) while the balance 80% can enjoy the 4.6% interest.
I find that the customer service experience at Affin bank so much more better, we are really being treated as customers instead of being treated like livestocks at HLB.
That's HLB is like that. Wait damn long.

Glad you like affin bank. Told you guys is like vip service without the need to have any "priority status" with them. thumbup.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2015, 08:50 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 18 2015, 08:40 PM)
U are wrong in this.

I confirm with the staff when placing the fund woth HLB MV branch.

I told the staff that i already got existing FD acc at jalan perak HLB Main, why do you still need me to open a FD acc here ?

The staff told me that when they open the FD acc here, the money recorded in the FD acc is counted as this branch (MV branch). So it will be their so called "performance"

It is not true that you need to open a saving acc at different branch. Now my ebanking hlb connect show 2 FD acc. 1 from main branch, 1 from MV branch.
Just a little info on HLB. You can only uplift the money from the branch you place your FD. Kena once before. Place a fd in KL. Upon maturity, told me cannot remove from Klang. Need to go back original branch

Nope. Ambank is still my go to bank for SA (no banks giving >2.8% interest for SA yet without complicated terms. Still waiting.) tongue.gif

Affin was my favourite depositing place for FDs. Just left a few more cert with them. Should be able to move everything out by year end next year. Totally no certs with HLB at all due to their past pathetic rates.
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2015, 08:59 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 18 2015, 08:56 PM)
Come on. All fD certs need you go back to the branch you place to withdraw one la..
Really? I thought I read somewhere that you can uplift in any branch (some banks)
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2015, 09:11 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 18 2015, 08:59 PM)
Based on my recent encounter, looks like HLB dont practice like how PBB do..

I wont say i am right or wrong either, but i did it without any problem.

I think either
- the staff dunno and simply cakap
- branch too many people and purposely make u mafan and go other place
OT, Say one have a SA with bank A open at KL. Then that person goes Johor, can he open another same SA with bank A at Johor? This holding 2 same SA from bank A but from different place.
Ramjade
post Dec 18 2015, 10:15 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 18 2015, 09:45 PM)
I dun think you can have more than 1 same SA with same name in the same bank.. is redundant.
If that's the case, I don't think the previous poster can open the same SA with the same bank.
Ramjade
post Dec 19 2015, 09:06 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 18 2015, 10:50 PM)
Any T&C?
Btw, tis is not attractive when compare to HSBC which offers 5% for 3 mths
HSBC valid for 1 x only. After that you cannot enjoy 5% anymore.
Ramjade
post Dec 20 2015, 08:25 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 20 2015, 02:42 AM)
For my case since I'm taking up the 20% on the 3rd option of 4.3% pa rate, effective rate can only be calculated for only 3 months, then the funds will split into 2, 80% will remain to enjoy interest rate of 4.6 pa for the remaining 12 months and the other 20% of the fund I will take out and put into other FD.

My simple calculation for the 3 month effective rate would be as follows:-

Taking 100k as an example,

20k x 0.043 x 3/12 = RM215
80k x 0.046 x 3/12 = RM920
Total interest for 3 months = RM1135

Per annum interest would be RM1135 x 4 = RM4540.00.
To calculate effective rate, simply divide RM4540 by principal amount of 100k and multiply 100 to get percentage.
Which is effective interest rate of 4.54% pa for 3 months.
Then the 100k funds will split into :-
80k @ 4.6% pa for balance 12 months
20k to invest in other promotional FD.

Hopefully after 3months, there would be some attractive promotional FD rates for me to park the 20% fund.
Just for info, effective rates is calculated based on number of days/total number of days in a year not number of months/12
CODE
Eg. Placement on 1st Dec
91/366

Ramjade
post Dec 21 2015, 07:06 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(robinwongkm @ Dec 21 2015, 06:26 PM)
Just got to open my very first FD with HLB

How does the 4.5% p.a 6months works?
Eg: RM10000 deposit x 4.5% = RM450
      RM450/2 = RM225?
Wrong.
Rm10k x 0.045 x (183/366) = RM225. You don't count by the months but no. of days.
Ramjade
post Dec 21 2015, 11:03 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 21 2015, 09:34 PM)
Hi, I am thinking of opening a FD account. I have a few k of cash lying around, and my father tell me to keep in FD account.

Anyway, I have some question. I saw that the CIMB Unfixed deposit is good. My questions based on that.

1) Now if I sign up for 12 months at a rate of 4.3%, what happens after that? Meaning, in one year's time, I will have RM1043 (if principla is RM1000). Correct?

2) After one year, what kind of interest rate will charge to me? Will that interest rate be applied only to initial RM1000, or to RM1043?

3) Assuming this is a long term fund I set away, is there any downside to using a Fixed Deposit account?

4) I see at CIMB website, regular FD rate is around 3.25-3.6%, depending on duration. How can I ensure that from my second year onwards I earn 3.6%? Or will the bank automatically upgrade me to the best rates?

5) In general, are there recurrent fees in maintaining FD accounts? Does the account become dormant after one year like a regular savings account?
1. Yes. OCBC gives better rates at 4.5%. If you want to get the >4.x%, you will need min RM10k. No min RM10k, no talk.

2. You will not get 4.3% anymore. But board rates (~3+%). After one year, you can withdraw the money + interest and redeposit into another bank which give higher interest (again min RM10k)

3. Yes. FD interest cannot outrun inflatation (the value of your money is getting smaller). FD is good for parking money short term if you don't need it.

4. Banks will never upgrade you to their best rates (4.x+%). You will received board rates (~3+%). Why should they give 4.x+% when they can give you ~3+%? The only way to keep enjoying 4.x+% is to move your money around to another bank to get 4.x+% as banks only give 4.x+% for fresh funds (money not originally from their bank)

5. No fees unless you remove it using banker's cheque. If you withdraw in cold hard cash, no charge. 7 years before it become inactive but not recommended to leave it at board rates (you are losing out the extra 1+%)
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 12:24 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 21 2015, 11:45 PM)
Wow where does that come from? Unit trust? Never seen it mentioned on any single brochure/website for the Unfixed Deposit campaign.

-------------------

Again, I would like to ask. On the 13th month, what interest rate will apply? On CIMB website it ranges from 3.25-3.5%. How to know which will be my rate?
Again. No RM10k, no talk. See front page. It's already listed there. It's also on all brochure in cimb bank doh.gif
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/en/personal/pre...ed-Deposit.html

13th month you will only get the 12-month interest
RM10430 X 0.03.x X 31/365 (this is Jan 2017 and x is I do not know what's the rate for the unfixed as they have tier 1& tier 2.)

That's the amount of interest you will get.
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 12:33 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 21 2015, 11:58 PM)
People, that means stupid to parking inside a CIMB account forever? My plan keep a RM10,000 in there, and then never touch it. In 50 years, it became bigger.

Is this plan wrong? Means every year December I go withdraw, and put in another bank?

Is there any other similar "safe" investment like FD, but with slightly higher returns?
Yes. Stupid move. After maturity, just remove and dump into the another bank with the highest interest. No banks will give you higher interest after their promo rates. Why should they? whistling.gif Banks are doing business. They hope that you will forget to remove your FD upon maturity, hence they do not need to pay you so much interest. If you are lazy to move your money around every year, dump into 5 years FD. After 5 years, then only you move your money. Interest will not be added to the original amount (prinicipal)

Yes. 50 years right? EPF. You cannot remove your money until 55 years old and compunding interest will be at work. Interest given is ~6.75% p.a

Another one is ASX FP (6.x% p.a). That's what I am switching all my FD to. Too lazy to keep running to the bank every year.

The question is are you willing to let the government touch your money (EPF and ASX FP)? whistling.gif

More info :
ASX FP - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3779176
EPF - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2705461
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:00 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 22 2015, 08:40 AM)
kind of hearing: don't give free moxxx to the banks! rclxm9.gif  tongue.gif
That's the idea. tongue.gif

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 22 2015, 10:46 AM)
Brother, what you means when saying

"After 5 years, then only you move your money. Interest will not be added to the original amount (prinicipal)"

Meaning? Sorry I didn't catch it ya.
Money is locked up for 5 years. You do not need to go chasing for FD promo every year.
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:01 PM

24,333 posts

Went to Ambank just now, BC is RM2.80. New promo coming in January.

Didn't go place any FD. Just "transferring my money"
Ramjade
post Dec 22 2015, 01:10 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 22 2015, 01:07 PM)
say it out loud! brows.gif  rclxm9.gif
no more talk of bc rm5? brows.gif  tongue.gif

transfer $$ to buy asnb ut? brows.gif
Don't want la. Later kena curse. tongue.gif Next time I asked CIMB and Maybank and see how much is their BC.
Not transfer. Withdraw cash.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:04 AM