Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

hcolin
post Jan 28 2016, 12:42 PM

107 posts

Just opened an FD at UOB 4.4%p.a
Have to open savings account if u dun have one.
Account come with IB and ATM card

Btw, there is a charge of RM2.60 to issue cheque when withdrawing. They advice to transfer it to your savings account and IB transfer it out.

Also note that u will earn a little more interest if u open before 29 Feb coz it is a leap year !!!
cklimm
post Jan 28 2016, 12:45 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 28 2016, 12:03 PM)
"mai hiam not bad" hee hee!  tongue.gif

is that where the 1 mil eggs will go? brows.gif  u have not tell us your choice yet. hmm.gif
after consuming a portion of it, i shall return it to the bank with best rate in Feb brows.gif
yygo
post Jan 28 2016, 12:51 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(hcolin @ Jan 28 2016, 12:42 PM)
Just opened an FD at UOB 4.4%p.a
Have to open savings account if u dun have one.
Account come with IB and ATM card

Btw, there is a charge of RM2.60 to issue cheque when withdrawing. They advice to transfer it to your savings account and IB transfer it out.

Also note that u will earn a little more interest if u open before 29 Feb coz it is a leap year !!!
not true. in fact for leap year, per day interest is div 366 days instead of normal 365 days. interest still count by days.

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 28 2016, 12:45 PM)
after consuming a portion of it, i shall return it to the bank with best rate in Feb  brows.gif
drool.gif drool.gif consume part of 1 mil drool.gif drool.gif

okuribito
post Jan 28 2016, 01:17 PM

1,021 posts

Made a deposit at bsn yesterday, the 12m 4.5% deal. This morning recd sms saying
RM0.00 BSN telah melakukan jual beli komoditi utk CM Deposit-i bagi pihak anda pd jam 1209&1225 bersamaan dgn jumlah deposit anda.Utk pertanyaan,Tel 1300881900

Haven't called them to ask wtf that is. Anyone place this fd too? Any idea what this is about?
Chili_90
post Jan 28 2016, 01:19 PM

160 posts

maybank 4.5% for 12 months no longer available?
magika
post Jan 28 2016, 01:20 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 28 2016, 12:51 PM)
not true. in fact for leap year, per day interest is div 366 days instead of normal 365 days. interest still count by days.
drool.gif  drool.gif consume part of 1 mil  drool.gif  drool.gif
If not mistaken it is 366/365

yygo
post Jan 28 2016, 01:22 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jan 28 2016, 01:20 PM)
If not mistaken it is 366/365
not div 366 X x days? if like wat u said, we gain. hmm.gif hmm.gif

unkle magic, which bank u put fd nowadays?

This post has been edited by yygo: Jan 28 2016, 01:23 PM
yygo
post Jan 28 2016, 01:25 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 28 2016, 01:17 PM)
Made a deposit at bsn yesterday,  the 12m 4.5% deal.  This morning recd sms saying 

Haven't  called them to ask wtf that is. Anyone place this fd too?  Any idea what this is about?
islamic fd will send out this type of sms, for some banks. hl has sent out "u have purchased xxx tons of resin ..............." for their islamic fd before.

cool, man. tongue.gif
okuribito
post Jan 28 2016, 01:27 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 28 2016, 01:25 PM)
islamic fd will send out this type of sms, for some banks. hl has sent out "u have purchased xxx tons of resin ..............." for their islamic fd before.

cool, man. tongue.gif
aiseh! 1st time i get this notification even though hv done islamic fd b4 doh.gif

tq
yygo
post Jan 28 2016, 01:33 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 28 2016, 01:27 PM)
aiseh! 1st time i get this notification even though hv done islamic fd b4  doh.gif

tq
onli some banks do that. br never. but hl is one of them.
magika
post Jan 28 2016, 03:42 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 28 2016, 01:22 PM)
not div 366 X x days? if like wat u said, we gain. hmm.gif  hmm.gif

unkle magic, which bank u put fd nowadays?
OCBC n HLB. Also KWSP tongue.gif

Frostlord
post Jan 28 2016, 05:05 PM

1,723 posts

hi all

im new to FD but im interested to put some cash to FD

im looking at this promo
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/fdcny260116_tnc.pdf

there's some terms that i dont quite understand
1) fresh funds : this means that this funds cannot be from existing FD?
2) board rate : the usual FD rate?

other than the rate offered, is there anything else that i should take note before deciding which bank?
wjchay
post Jan 28 2016, 05:15 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jan 28 2016, 06:05 PM)
hi all

im new to FD but im interested to put some cash to FD

im looking at this promo
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/fdcny260116_tnc.pdf

there's some terms that i dont quite understand
1) fresh funds : this means that this funds cannot be from existing FD?
2) board rate : the usual FD rate?

other than the rate offered, is there anything else that i should take note before deciding which bank?
fresh funds: money NOT from MBB
board rate: yes, the normal publised rates that you can find on website
Frostlord
post Jan 28 2016, 05:19 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 28 2016, 05:15 PM)
fresh funds: money NOT from MBB
board rate: yes, the normal publised rates that you can find on website
not from MBB means not from MBB FD? the money can be in MBB saving account?

if not, does that means i have to withdraw the amount from MBB first, then deposit back to MBB FD?
Ramjade
post Jan 28 2016, 05:36 PM

24,354 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jan 28 2016, 05:19 PM)
not from MBB means not from MBB FD? the money can be in MBB saving account?

if not, does that means i have to withdraw the amount from MBB first, then deposit back to MBB FD?
Fresh fund = money not from maybank FD/SA.
If you want to put with Maybank at promo rates (4.x%) your money need to come from outside of maybank. How? 2 ways :
1) Get money from other bank
2) Transfer money out from maybank into bank A. Then transfer back to maybank/use banker's cheque from bank A

Since you are new to FD, keep in mind that after the period (6 months, 1 year, etc) your promo rate will be renew to board rates (3.x%). To get 4.x% again, you will need to move your funds again. Unless your fund is very big and can make people's eyes become very round, chances are you will have to move your fund to another bank for new promo.
Frostlord
post Jan 28 2016, 05:46 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 28 2016, 05:36 PM)
Fresh fund = money not from maybank FD/SA.
If you want to put with Maybank at promo rates (4.x%) your money need to come from outside of maybank. How? 2 ways :
1) Get money from other bank
2) Transfer money out from maybank into bank A. Then transfer back to maybank/use banker's cheque from bank A

Since you are new to FD, keep in mind that after the period (6 months, 1 year, etc) your promo rate will be renew to board rates (3.x%). To get 4.x% again, you will need to move your funds again. Unless your fund is very big and can make people's eyes become very round, chances are you will have to move your fund to another bank for new promo.
Thanks for the clarification thumbup.gif
guy3288
post Jan 28 2016, 06:21 PM

5,877 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 28 2016, 12:03 PM)
"mai hiam not bad" hee hee!  tongue.gif

is that where the 1 mil eggs will go? brows.gif  u have not tell us your choice yet. hmm.gif
BSn better choice la.

i called up BSN, the 4.75%% is paying monthly.

For every million, you lose RM5700 per year. over long term rugi besar oooo
4.18% is very poor rate for big money.
yygo
post Jan 28 2016, 06:28 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 28 2016, 06:21 PM)
BSn better choice la.

i called up BSN, the  4.75%% is paying monthly.

4.18% is  very poor rate for big money.
bsn 4.75% is 5 years fd rate, rite?

ya, mr lim lose out big time if he put in for the 4.18%.
Nom-el
post Jan 28 2016, 06:54 PM

507 posts

Hong Leong's Islamic FD effective date only starts after the cheque is cleared, right? I presume the money would be sitting in the CASA before the cheque is cleared. Would Hong Leong give interest for the money in CASA before the cheque is cleared (2 days or longer depending on whether there is any holiday or weekend in between)?

In general, if I deposit a cheque into a CASA, would I get interest only after the cheque is cleared or I would get interest from the date I deposit the cheque?

This post has been edited by Nom-el: Jan 28 2016, 06:55 PM
Clement1001
post Jan 28 2016, 06:58 PM

914 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 28 2016, 06:21 PM)
BSn better choice la.

i called up BSN, the  4.75%% is paying monthly.

4.18% is  very poor rate for big money.
Which branch ? I was told the Interest will only payable after mature period. blink.gif
The lady at the front desk looks uncertain and approach her manager, then her manager make a call, then confirm to me. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Clement1001: Jan 28 2016, 07:01 PM

125 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:19 PM