Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Ramjade
post Jan 25 2016, 06:52 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 25 2016, 06:27 PM)
its a PAY AND SAVE account. i told the bank officer that i only want to open and account for the fd. is it the same?
Is a bad account. Interest also not high.
https://ringgitplus.com/en/current-account/...ve-Account.html. If you don't need that account, close it, and open just a normal BSA.
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2016, 08:39 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 25 2016, 08:27 PM)
the best way is to change into USD or SGD?
Money changer but it's off topic. Would suggest you to visit the USD/myr thread.
Ramjade
post Jan 26 2016, 12:26 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(spiderman@lyn @ Jan 26 2016, 11:16 AM)
I would like to ask since we are in HLB topic here. The 4.5% only for 6-mth? What happen after that? Will 4.5% remain or they will lower the rate?
Of course lower rates la. Why should they give you 4.5% when they can give you only 3.x%? Banks hope that you will forget to uplift hence you will continue at 3.x% and they will earn about 1% from you. brows.gif

This applies to all banks.
Ramjade
post Jan 28 2016, 05:36 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jan 28 2016, 05:19 PM)
not from MBB means not from MBB FD? the money can be in MBB saving account?

if not, does that means i have to withdraw the amount from MBB first, then deposit back to MBB FD?
Fresh fund = money not from maybank FD/SA.
If you want to put with Maybank at promo rates (4.x%) your money need to come from outside of maybank. How? 2 ways :
1) Get money from other bank
2) Transfer money out from maybank into bank A. Then transfer back to maybank/use banker's cheque from bank A

Since you are new to FD, keep in mind that after the period (6 months, 1 year, etc) your promo rate will be renew to board rates (3.x%). To get 4.x% again, you will need to move your funds again. Unless your fund is very big and can make people's eyes become very round, chances are you will have to move your fund to another bank for new promo.
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2016, 08:26 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Jan 29 2016, 08:16 AM)
Now the BSN 5 years FD is the best in the market, interest rate 4.75% p.a. and monthly interim interest.
That's if one is willing to wait a loooooooog time at BSN
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2016, 10:02 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 29 2016, 09:38 AM)
If one can wait for 5 years till FD matures, cant wait 2 hours in air conditioned hall meh?  brows.gif
Actually bsn FD is good. If you look at it for the past years, no banks managed to surpass mbsb 5 years 4.7% rates.
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2016, 10:59 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 29 2016, 10:42 AM)
mbsb got pidm protection? or no?

no wonder mbsb can give out personal loans up to 300k hahaha... at low rates compare to other banks
Mbsb, BR don't have PIDM. Besides PIDM offer protection up to RM250k only. People like unker goat, unker lim, unker bones all put >RM250k so PIDM protection is not really a concern for thrm.
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2016, 01:42 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 29 2016, 01:41 PM)
Compare this:

1)RM1million, dump there once, sit back and shake leg 5 yrs..

2)Visit 10 banks or move FD every few weeks/months,
sure spend many more 2hours in 5 yr ,yet not earning more.

which one you choose??
True option 1 is better. But I choose Option 3. Dump into ASX FP. Earn 6.x% and don't need to run around until one needs the money tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 29 2016, 01:44 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2016, 02:13 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Jan 29 2016, 02:10 PM)
Enough of your nonsense okay? You have been out of topic most of the time.

If you want to promote ASX, you please go to the respective thread. Don't come and spam here.
Sorry. What I am saying people should lock in long term if they have no use for the money. (a similar anology). No need to keep going to bank.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 29 2016, 02:14 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 29 2016, 08:27 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 29 2016, 07:57 PM)
I may give it a go, if got signup gift from Ringgit Plus
If no gift? Is still a good FD as guy said go wait few hours at BSN, no need to run here and there for FD every 6, 12 months. Beside it is better than old mbsb 4.7%
Ramjade
post Jan 31 2016, 08:25 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 31 2016, 06:48 PM)
lol.. nowadays looks like not many ppl keen to put on FD liao .. cause of bad depreciation RM

else the bank won't extend the deadline?
Not true. Banks give dead line and target for
1) urgency (dead line - make you feel oh man, very short time to put)
2) banks need money (target). If target not reach, banks extend deadline.

The reason they are not continuing it forever is because they will make lesser profit by giving FD promos. Majority of the people put FD at board rates. They don't move their money around. So why give at 4.x% when you can give the same FD with same time at 3.x%? Imagine Bank A giving 4.x% p.a promo for only 3 months. After that go back to board rates. Bank B gives same 4.x% p.a throughout the year. Can you see how much less profit is bank B making?

QUOTE(zero721 @ Jan 31 2016, 07:20 PM)
Can I know what's the differences between Hong Leong 4.5% for 6 months and Hong Leong Mach 4.5% for 6 months? Is it both some or got differences?
Normal Hong Leong - fresh funds, can only be done over the counter.
HL Mach - no need fresh funds, can be done online.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 31 2016, 08:26 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 1 2016, 12:09 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Jan 31 2016, 10:00 PM)
has anyone tried to use single cheque (so consider as fresh fund) for multiple FDs?

like a piece of 50k cheque, then split to 3 FDs.

FD 1 15k - 3 months.
FD 2 15k - 6 months.
FD 3 20k - 12 months.
Should be doable.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 1 2016, 12:47 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 1 2016, 12:47 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 1 2016, 12:41 AM)
i think he wants to separate a single BC to multiple FD certs here
Ok. Sorry. My mistake. Thanks.
Ramjade
post Feb 1 2016, 10:38 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(babysiew @ Feb 1 2016, 10:36 AM)
sorry to say i dont really have much confidence in affin or bsn or rhb... sorry if i offended anyone, just personal preference... biggrin.gif
Put max RM250k. Don't exceed that if no confidence. More than that, no PIDM protection. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 1 2016, 10:38 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 1 2016, 11:03 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(babysiew @ Feb 1 2016, 10:40 AM)
PIDM protection is given by a GOVERNMENT body right? biggrin.gif
Yes. For example banks kena rob, PIDM will cover some of the loss. As long don't exceed RM250k, you are safe (if you really care about getting the PIDM protection)

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Feb 1 2016, 10:45 AM)
Hey guys.

Just wanna ask, if my money is in Maybank and I wanan put money in the RHB FD 15months promo, never had any account with RHB. How do I go about it?

Do I need a banker's cheque from Maybank? Or can I open an account with RHB and transfer online?

If the FD does not require you to have account. No need to open account. A Banker's Cheque from maybank will do. However if they say must open account, ask for BSA (it's a FOC account)
Ramjade
post Feb 1 2016, 11:23 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Feb 1 2016, 11:21 AM)
But most staff won't allow u to open BSA. Just like PBB, they insisted to enjoy FD campaign, must open acc with min 250
Use the magic word. If you don't let me open a bsa, I will write into bnm. Guaranteed sure they let you open but face sure become sour. tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 3 2016, 03:00 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Feb 3 2016, 02:39 PM)
The other thing I dont like about BR is that despite having that particular FD earning 5%, they seem to register additional FDs as individuals.  I have another 1mil FD earning 4.285% when the even give that 4.285% to individuals depositing RM500!!!

Poor customer service.
All fair in love and war. I actually support them. Big or small amount, all received the same interest
Ramjade
post Feb 4 2016, 12:11 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Feb 4 2016, 12:09 PM)
guys, if FD for short tenure like 3 months 6 months, which is the best bank? lets say 10k
Depends on your prefences. Like some people die die must put Bank A only despite rates not good. whistling.gif Check first page.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 4 2016, 12:13 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 4 2016, 08:18 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Feb 4 2016, 08:07 PM)
MBf Finance Berhad-1999
I heard bank bumiputra also broke?
Ramjade
post Feb 5 2016, 08:40 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 4 2016, 11:30 PM)
Yes..fresh fund..minimum 10K
I placed with a banker's check and mixed with cash for one FD cert ..
Don't forget to ask for monthly interest and open iRakyat online account,
BR Coop ATM card is still free so far..

Everybody should ask for freebies, not cheapskate, but this is our FD depositors' right... thumbup.gif
You're back thumbup.gif

QUOTE(fulltimekiller86 @ Feb 5 2016, 12:42 AM)
hi, new to this thread, is any bank have promotion on online efd rate? Or all online efd have same rate?

Thanks in advance
Usually is there's no promo for eFD. There are exceptions like alliance bank EFD. Recently HLB Mach (no more). Cimb have efd promos every now and then.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0442sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:26 PM