Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Human Nature
post Jan 9 2016, 12:55 PM

- student of human nature -
26,522 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jan 9 2016, 12:39 AM)
What you missed completely is 5% is greater than 3% where you disregard the irrelevant point of how much money is actually involved.
Which FD is giving 5%? If it is non-FD type, then may proceed to discuss at other relevant thread.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 9 2016, 12:56 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2016, 01:21 PM

6,614 posts

Yesterday when I placed FD at HL, the cert stated maturity date as 8th July. Today when I logged into HL Connect, it showed the maturity date as 11th of July. Need to call them on Monday to clarify.

There was 2 holidays 6th and 7th (Raya holidays) and 9 th Sat Pg Governor's holiday. So HL also like some banks moving maturity date to working day ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 9 2016, 01:29 PM
wil-i-am
post Jan 9 2016, 01:37 PM

10,001 posts

Went to Public Bank for ATM withdrawal today
Just realized Public Bank have extended promo for FD 12 mths @ 4.30% until 31/1/2016
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2016, 01:52 PM

6,614 posts

I called to AmBank ABM yesterday before going for HL 6 mth 4.5%. It seems they may not have the CNY promo for AmBank. She said still the relatively low 12mth 4.18%, 6 mth 4.08% which I mentioned before.

Still not heated up yet for CNY Ang Pow FD promo ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 9 2016, 01:53 PM
cklimm
post Jan 9 2016, 02:52 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Jan 9 2016, 12:55 AM)
is the luggage worthwhile?
i notice the offer was 4.30% 70k for 15month.
you will get RM4515 upon maturity + the luggage

i have other bank offer @ 4.5% if base on 70k for 15month.
i can get RM4725 upon maturity.

The bag worth RM210?
They claim that the bag worth rm445, but my bro offers me rm100 for it
cklimm
post Jan 9 2016, 02:53 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2016, 01:21 PM)
Yesterday when I placed FD at HL, the cert stated maturity date as 8th July. Today when I logged into HL Connect, it showed the maturity date as 11th of July. Need to call them on Monday to clarify.

There was 2 holidays 6th and 7th (Raya holidays) and 9 th Sat Pg Governor's holiday. So HL also like some banks moving maturity date to working day ?  hmm.gif
another 2 days of promo rate interest, isnt that wonderful?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 9 2016, 03:48 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

Guys. Still remember the gia by mbb? Hows the dividend for the first month? I forgot to follow up. I try to calculate but cant get the 4% pa.
cybpsych
post Jan 9 2016, 04:02 PM

---------------------
65,273 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 6 2016, 03:05 PM)
cybpsych let us know your MBB GIA-i interest for Dec month. Should be in few days time. I think it will be less by few cents (depending on your placement amt) as I mentioned earlier.  biggrin.gif
got my 3rd month profit liao.

i gotten slightly higher than my calculation. month 3 EIR was calculated to be 3.9891% but actual was 3.9973% (based on 31 days over 365) laugh.gif previous month 1 was 4.0003% and month 2 was 4.0004%.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 9 2016, 03:48 PM)
Guys. Still remember the gia by mbb? Hows the dividend for the first month? I forgot to follow up. I try to calculate but cant get the 4% pa.
been trying to tag you since first month liao. sweat.gif
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 9 2016, 04:06 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 9 2016, 04:02 PM)

i gotten slightly higher than my calculation. month 3 EIR was calculated to be 3.9891% but actual was 3.9973% (based on 31 days over 365)  laugh.gif previous month 1 was 4.0003% and month 2 was 4.0004%.
been trying to tag you since first month liao.  sweat.gif
Even tho I myself also forgot. Too busy lately only remeber back after checking m2u.
I grossly calculated just now. Also slight more. Very slight la. Haha. Since quite stable, now feeling reliefs abit. Haha.
cklimm
post Jan 9 2016, 04:24 PM

2,337 posts

i gotten slightly higher than my calculation. month 3 EIR was calculated to be 3.9891% but actual was 3.9973% (based on 31 days over 365)  laugh.gif previous month 1 was 4.0003% and month 2 was 4.0004%.
been trying to tag you since first month liao.  sweat.gif
how much does the extra 0.0003% worth in Ringgit?
cybpsych
post Jan 9 2016, 04:26 PM

---------------------
65,273 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 9 2016, 04:24 PM)
how much does the extra 0.0003% worth in Ringgit?
kuaci value laugh.gif i put min fund only.
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2016, 04:30 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 9 2016, 02:52 PM)
They claim that the bag worth rm445, but my bro offers me rm100 for it
I think I have too many bags already. Don't quite like it as it is just 20". I think it is slightly big and may not be allowed in cabin especially that airline recently reduced in cabin bag size.

Also unless it is of comparable FD interest rate like that time when it was offered. Current OCBC offer is NG ! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 9 2016, 02:53 PM)
another 2 days of promo rate interest, isnt that wonderful?
Ya ya. Still really admire your single FD in MACH. But my FD now in HL/MACH also need to be controlled. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 9 2016, 04:31 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2016, 04:37 PM

6,614 posts

As mentioned I calculated to be 3.998% based on 31 days over 365 days (simple calculation without taking into acct of 366 days this year).

But the other 2 months are pure 4%. But I did not really look to the 4th decimal point ! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 9 2016, 04:37 PM
cybpsych
post Jan 9 2016, 04:48 PM

---------------------
65,273 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2016, 04:37 PM)
As mentioned I calculated to be 3.998% based on 31 days over 365 days (simple calculation without taking into acct of 366 days this year).

But the other 2 months are pure 4%. But I did not really look to the 4th decimal point !  tongue.gif
hahah it's negligible for me anyway thumbup.gif the calculation is just for fun tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 9 2016, 04:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 9 2016, 04:48 PM)
hahah it's negligible for me anyway  thumbup.gif the calculation is just for fun  tongue.gif
Ya, just sub sub sui only. biggrin.gif More for fun, you are right !! thumbup.gif

Lets see in Feb how much we are given. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 9 2016, 04:58 PM
CyberKewl
post Jan 9 2016, 08:50 PM

2,900 posts

quick question about GIA - it says :

THE RETURNS ON THIS INVESTMENT ACCOUNT WILL BE AFFECTED BY THE PERFORMANCE
OF THE UNDERLYING ASSETS. THE PRINCIPAL AND RETURNS ARE NOT GUARANTEED AND
CUSTOMER RISKS EARNING NO RETURNS AT ALL

Does this mean the worst case scenario that can happen is that I dont make money OR is there a possibility that I will lose money (i.e: say I put in 10k but I only get back 9k) - can this happen? or will the worst be put in 10k, just get back 10k (mean earn nothing)?
Ramjade
post Jan 9 2016, 08:56 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jan 9 2016, 08:50 PM)
quick question about GIA - it says :

THE RETURNS ON THIS INVESTMENT ACCOUNT WILL BE AFFECTED BY THE PERFORMANCE
OF THE UNDERLYING ASSETS. THE PRINCIPAL AND RETURNS ARE NOT GUARANTEED AND
CUSTOMER RISKS EARNING NO RETURNS AT ALL

Does this mean the worst case scenario that can happen is that I dont make money OR is there a possibility that I will lose money (i.e: say I put in 10k but I only get back 9k) - can this happen? or will the worst be put in 10k, just get back 10k (mean earn nothing)?
Worse case scenario is you put rm10k, you get back rm0. But it wouldn't happen or else maybank is going to have lots of angry customers. laugh.gif It could happen as neither principal nor returns are guaranteed but very very unlikely.

Worse come to worse is you might not get the stated returns (get lesser)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 9 2016, 08:56 PM
CyberKewl
post Jan 9 2016, 11:41 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 9 2016, 08:56 PM)
Worse case scenario is you put rm10k, you get back rm0. But it wouldn't happen or else maybank is going to have lots of angry customers. laugh.gif It could happen as neither principal nor returns are guaranteed but very very unlikely.

Worse come to worse is you might not get the stated returns (get lesser)
ic ic..noted on that. thx smile.gif
TANjb
post Jan 10 2016, 09:19 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 9 2016, 01:52 PM)
I called to AmBank ABM yesterday before going for HL 6 mth 4.5%. It seems they may not have the CNY promo for AmBank. She said still the relatively low 12mth  4.18%, 6 mth 4.08% which I mentioned before.

Still not heated up yet for CNY Ang Pow FD promo ?  hmm.gif
sad.gif Yes, no new promotion at AmBank. Looks like I have to collect my matured FD from AMBank on Monday and move it to UOB ( 12 mths - 4.4% ).
bbgoat
post Jan 10 2016, 09:50 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(TANjb @ Jan 10 2016, 09:19 AM)
sad.gif Yes, no new promotion at AmBank. Looks like I have to collect my matured FD from AMBank on Monday and move it to UOB ( 12 mths - 4.4% ).
At the moment, it seems to me the best ones are HL/MACH 6 mths 4.5%, UOB 12 mth 4.4% and RHB's 15 mth eff rate 4.4%. My next target will be UOB's 4.4%. biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:45 PM