[WTA] Demo Recording, How to record one?
TSkbandito
Dec 9 2006, 12:27 AM, updated 20y ago
My friend got the interest from a music producer after taking part in a singing competition. The producer asked her to record a demo and send it to him thru internet but she does not know how to record one. What shall she do now?
Thank You.
Bassix
Dec 9 2006, 09:19 AM
Depends on how much money you are willing to invest in a demo tape. You could go to any tone studio and hire a tone engineer to record you and do some backing tracks but it will cost you. I don't know how malaysian pricing is like, but i'm quite sure it will be expensive. Otherwise, you could do some cheap home recording. Buy a karaoke mic and plug it into your computer and go to sound recorder and record 2 minutes worth of singing. Of course it won't sound so impressive, and you'll probably not impress the producer with that. Another option is to record yourself singing at a concert or something. Which is probably the best alternative. Just go to the sound guy and say "i want to get this session on tape" and he will do the rest. Of course you won'T get studio quality stuff, but for a demo it should be enough.
I don't have experience with impressing producers and stuff, but i have gone through a pretty close to decent amount of recording experiences and i found that recording live is the best solution for the best price. Because, you already need to pay for the PA guy, so might as well ask him to record for you.
led_zep_freak
Dec 9 2006, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(kbandito @ Dec 9 2006, 12:27 AM) My friend got the interest from a music producer after taking part in a singing competition. The producer asked her to record a demo and send it to him thru internet but she does not know how to record one. What shall she do now? Thank You. Does she play an instrument? If she plays the piano or guitar, she could go to a decent studio to record her singing and her instrument. It doesn't have to be studio-quality imo, as this music producer probably wants to use this demo to show her ability to his record company. I would recommend Standing Waves for a decent demo recording but it could be pretty pricey. Otherwise you could do what Bassix has suggested, go for either home or live recording.
gizmoduck
Dec 10 2006, 07:58 PM
If she's a singer, all she needs is a minus one. If she can get a hold of one, just scoot over to Meng's (Standing Waves) and he'll do the rest; dun worry, guy is a genius. LOLx (free plug). Won't cost u more than 50 quids