Choosing new laptop for work and play, Lenovo Y700 vs MSI GE62 6QC Apache

TSpakub3si_design
post Dec 7 2015, 10:10 AM, updated 11y ago

hi bros, need help with some info.

Comparing some laptops for my next upgrade. I've been wanting a MSI GE Apache for a while and almost pull the trigger when their new skylake models came out but now i see Lenovo also refresh their Y-series and the Y700 looks slim and stylish.

But can't seem to find more info on the model except it's 15" screen with 960M gpu and cost RM4,699.

Whereas the MSI GE62 6QC Apache i'm looking at has the specs below.

i7-6700HQ processor and 960M gpu
1tb HDD 7200rpm and 4gb ram.
Windows 10
RM4,399

does anyone here know what is the specs for the Y700 and how it compares with the MSI GE62 Apache?

devildevil87
post Dec 7 2015, 10:16 AM

198 posts

http://store.illegear.com/z-series/115-ill...z5-skylake.html
i7-6700HQ processor and gtx 960M gpu
1tb HDD 7200rpm and 8gb ddr4 ram.
This spec quite ok also bUT NO OS INCLUDED.
need to buy..
><
rm4599

This post has been edited by devildevil87: Dec 7 2015, 10:19 AM
shin2l
post Dec 7 2015, 10:20 AM

1,032 posts

What is your max budget and minimum specification?
androidfans
post Dec 7 2015, 01:42 PM

209 posts

Y700 BLACK - 15.6 FHD IPS AG(SLIM), I7-6700HQ Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, Backlit Keyboard, W10 HOME, BLACK, 2 Year Carry In

XeactorZ
post Dec 7 2015, 04:56 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,612 posts

QUOTE(devildevil87 @ Dec 7 2015, 10:16 AM)
http://store.illegear.com/z-series/115-ill...z5-skylake.html
i7-6700HQ processor and gtx 960M gpu
1tb HDD 7200rpm and 8gb ddr4 ram.
This spec quite ok also bUT NO OS INCLUDED.
need to buy..
><
rm4599
just buy windows from either garage sales or lelong around RM 50 to get windows 7 / 8 / 8.1
then update to windows 10, settle whistling.gif
meera1225
post Dec 11 2015, 01:46 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(pakub3si_design @ Dec 7 2015, 10:10 AM)

Comparing some laptops for my next upgrade. I've been wanting a MSI GE Apache for a while and almost pull the trigger when their new skylake models came out but now i see Lenovo also refresh their Y-series and the Y700 looks slim and stylish.

But can't seem to find more info on the model except it's 15" screen with 960M gpu and cost RM4,699.

Windows 10
RM4,399

does anyone here know what is the specs for the Y700 and how it compares with the MSI GE62 Apache?
Spec comparison is too generally. can share is MSI GE62 6QC is c/w HQ CPU, keyboard by steel series with single color, killer Lan (play online game without lag), built in dynaudio (the best sound maker in the world), SSD slot option (let u upgrade in future), SRGB NSTC 94% with true color technology, anti-glare screen with wide view angle, and other features.
Sometime buy a laptop, it is really depend what is your usage.

ricstc
post Dec 12 2015, 07:48 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

Windows 10

my experience suggest the above but definitely add to 8GB of RAM as modern apps and OS are very demanding and it does not justify to be dragged down by memory issue esp when you have such a good processor and GPU
sammiey
post Dec 17 2015, 11:52 AM

139 posts

specs to specs comparison is about the same.. u may take note on the features as MSI is famous with some gaming features..
klmojuze
post Dec 17 2015, 01:48 PM

157 posts

Hey I would definitely recommend MSI but be sure to check in person what the screen looks like. Screen specification is one thing, but looking at it in person (demo model, etc.) is crucial.

The main reason I would suggest MSI is because it has generally a good track record and the cooling design is important for thin laptops such as for the 950M and 960M 15-inch.

Overall do factor into your budget upgrades such as 12GB or 16GB RAM in the future, but most importantly a 128GB or more SSD will make things much, much faster.

SSD can be added down the line, it appears the MSI model you mention is M.2 PCI-E Gen3 x4 (NVMe) ...When you put an M.2 SSD in there, wow, it will be fast.

This post has been edited by klmojuze: Dec 17 2015, 01:50 PM
DragonRiderStar
post Dec 18 2015, 04:03 PM

178 posts

Windows 10
RM4,399

QUOTE(androidfans @ Dec 7 2015, 01:42 PM)
Y700 BLACK - 15.6 FHD IPS AG(SLIM), I7-6700HQ Processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, Backlit Keyboard, W10 HOME, BLACK, 2 Year Carry In
I think both notebooks should have pretty similar specs but the Lenovo cost more. Another potential issue is the way they structure their heat pipes.
MSI GE62 has separate heat pipes for the CPU and GPU while the Lenovo Y700 has shared pipes starting from the CPU, leading to the GPU before finally reaching the cooling fans.
http://laptopmedia.com/news/inside-lenovo-...pgrade-options/

Not sure if this is the best option as it allows for heat build when gaming under high load.
androidfans
post Dec 18 2015, 06:34 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Dec 18 2015, 04:03 PM)
I think both notebooks should have pretty similar specs but the Lenovo cost more. Another potential issue is the way they structure their heat pipes.
MSI GE62 has separate heat pipes for the CPU and GPU while the Lenovo Y700 has shared pipes starting from the CPU, leading to the GPU before finally reaching the cooling fans.
http://laptopmedia.com/news/inside-lenovo-...pgrade-options/

Not sure if this is the best option as it allows for heat build when gaming under high load.
Speaking about heat dissipation,

http://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-GE60-GTX-...w.142764.0.html

I don't see ge 62 has any leading performance, its too hot and loud

storm88
post Dec 19 2015, 12:53 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(androidfans @ Dec 18 2015, 07:34 PM)

infact GE62's cooling not bad. Just when the fan start to kick in then.... rclxub.gif
androidfans
post Dec 19 2015, 01:00 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Dec 19 2015, 12:53 PM)
infact GE62's cooling not bad. Just when the fan start to kick in then.... rclxub.gif
Yah I know, it has improved since ge series, but review said still hot, so I think it is quite common for gaming laptop with slim chassis, haha
myway1985
post Dec 19 2015, 01:09 PM

12,091 posts

Windows 10
RM4,399

Add bit n go Alienware 15
DragonRiderStar
post Dec 21 2015, 10:13 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(androidfans @ Dec 18 2015, 06:34 PM)

QUOTE(storm88 @ Dec 19 2015, 12:53 PM)
QUOTE(androidfans @ Dec 19 2015, 01:00 PM)
Yah I know, it has improved since ge series, but review said still hot, so I think it is quite common for gaming laptop with slim chassis, haha
Androidfans,

The article you linked to refers to the old GE60 lah. I'm referring to the newer GE62 with dual fans. You can see from the teardown pics in the article that its the older chassis with single fan.

These are the droids you're looking for thumbup.gif
- http://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-unveils-G...s.134517.0.html
androidfans
post Dec 21 2015, 11:41 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Dec 21 2015, 10:13 AM)
Androidfans,

The article you linked to refers to the old GE60 lah. I'm referring to the newer GE62 with dual fans. You can see from the teardown pics in the article that its the older chassis with single fan.

These are the droids you're looking for  thumbup.gif
- http://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-unveils-G...s.134517.0.html
http://www.notebookcheck.net/iBuyPower-MSI...w.137721.0.html

http://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-GE62-Note...w.137007.0.html

Nah, hotter then y5070, uncomfortable temperature surface for user
klmojuze
post Dec 23 2015, 02:43 PM

157 posts

If you have a laptop cooler pad and in an air-conditioned room then playing intense games will be alright.

If you are in 30-35degC as per in Malaysia and not even using a laptop cooling pad, then yes you're probably going to get somewhat warm fingers, unless you press that Cooler Boost button and turn the fans to max.

Just the nature of most thin and light gaming laptops. Running it at max for hours without an air-conditioned room is quite crazy. smile.gif

Indeed something like Alienware AFAIK has a much more heavier and intense heatsink etc.

So lots of tradeoffs to consider for today's modern gaming laptops, choose wisely. cool.gif

This post has been edited by klmojuze: Dec 23 2015, 02:45 PM
MahathirM7
post Jan 20 2016, 11:08 AM

195 posts

Windows 10
RM4,399ant

Hi. Maybe I'm too late to reply.
Just want to share my experience with both of the laptop since I got both of it.
From the build quality side, I will say that Y700 have the solid build, Ge62 have some problem with hinges and the keyboard layout is weak when you press it with a little bit pressure.
I feel more comfortable using the Lenovo's keyboard layout, it is the best so far for me.
From the display side, I will say that GE62 look better than Y700 a bit. This maybe bcause Y700 has anti-glare filter layer that cause the colour production a bit poor.
From heat issue side, I will say Y700 feels better, Im not saying that Y700 not getting overheat, but you wont feel the heat on your palm area or too much on keyboard, on keyboard only the middle part will be warm a bit (I play games non-stop for at least 4 hours). Ge62 have good cooling system but you will feel the heat on you left palm when you are gaming. And the fan get quite loud.

Overall, I will say Im happy with Y700 compare to Ge62. I bought Y700 the highest spec, which have 8gbRAM and 4gb GPU. So far from the performance side, both did a decent job.

sachiko_118
post Jan 22 2016, 12:07 AM

95 posts

Windows 10
RM4,399

there is totally two different category, it is really not suitable to do a comparison. what is your purpose and usage of your laptop?

superhuman88
post Jan 25 2016, 02:02 PM

73 posts

seems like TS is looking for gaming laptop right, if gaming laptop i would suggest MSI because better gaming features

0.0238sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:05 AM