Internet for home
TSrocketm
Dec 7 2015, 01:39 AM, updated 10y ago
Can anyone recommend me any internet plan for home with low usage per month preferable RM100 subscription per month?
I am getting for my parents in new home next year around June. They do not use much quota so I would say is low usage. If the subscription fee is much cheaper than without the phone then it will be better as I plan to use TM for call service.
Thank you for your reply.
Seiro
Dec 7 2015, 02:18 AM

how about streamyx from TM?
WebDpot
Dec 7 2015, 04:02 AM
Yes Fiz 30gb wireless - rm89 monthly - 2 years contract - speed 1mbps - need 4g coverage. - completely wireless Streamyx with wireless modem - 1 year contract - unlimited bandwidth - rm116 for 1mbps speed - need to install a fixed line Streamyx got few more plan under rm100 This post has been edited by WebDpot: Dec 7 2015, 04:05 AM
CyrusWong
Dec 7 2015, 04:14 AM
one of my friend still using Streamyx BB Deal RM60. 384kbps DL speed 128Kbps UL speed no quota limit. basically everything same with the RM110 1Mbps plan. just the speed is way slower and dun have free call to tm fixed line. This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Dec 7 2015, 04:16 AM
TSrocketm
Dec 7 2015, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(WebDpot @ Dec 7 2015, 05:02 AM) Yes Fiz 30gb wireless - rm89 monthly - 2 years contract - speed 1mbps - need 4g coverage. - completely wireless Streamyx with wireless modem - 1 year contract - unlimited bandwidth - rm116 for 1mbps speed - need to install a fixed line Streamyx got few more plan under rm100 Thanks for the info. Is 30GB is enough for just browsing the webpage, using FB, Whatsapp go to bank website for money transfer without watching movie or listen to song? If the 20GB monthly quota has been exceed, can I buy top up or still can browse webpage but just the speed being throttled for the YES plan? I cannot find the info regarding Streamyx plan is under RM100 in TM website? Can you tell me how to get it?
TSrocketm
Dec 7 2015, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Dec 7 2015, 05:14 AM) one of my friend still using Streamyx BB Deal RM60. 384kbps DL speed 128Kbps UL speed no quota limit. basically everything same with the RM110 1Mbps plan. just the speed is way slower and dun have free call to tm fixed line.  Hi, thanks for the info as well. Can I know for the RM60 and RM90 plan is its info available in TM website? Is the speed is really slow since is it just kbps?
WebDpot
Dec 7 2015, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(rocketm @ Dec 7 2015, 09:30 PM) Thanks for the info. Is 30GB is enough for just browsing the webpage, using FB, Whatsapp go to bank website for money transfer without watching movie or listen to song? If the 20GB monthly quota has been exceed, can I buy top up or still can browse webpage but just the speed being throttled for the YES plan? I cannot find the info regarding Streamyx plan is under RM100 in TM website? Can you tell me how to get it? Yes Fiz actually first launched with unlimited bandwidth, i'm not sure if it's still unlimited because it is stated in their website they might apply 30GB bandwidth with prior notice. I think it's still unlimited now.. Any Yes Fiz user here? please clarify this.. Read here: http://www.yes.my/v3/support/faq/unlimited-fiz-1mbps.do Yup, 30GB is more than enough for light surfer. To subscribe to this plan, you need to walk in to any nearest Yes Fiz dealer. For streamyx older plan, check out here: http://www.telekom.net.my/packages_small.html
TSrocketm
Dec 7 2015, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(WebDpot @ Dec 7 2015, 11:11 PM) Yes Fiz actually first launched with unlimited bandwidth, i'm not sure if it's still unlimited because it is stated in their website they might apply 30GB bandwidth with prior notice. I think it's still unlimited now.. Any Yes Fiz user here? please clarify this.. Read here: http://www.yes.my/v3/support/faq/unlimited-fiz-1mbps.do Yup, 30GB is more than enough for light surfer. To subscribe to this plan, you need to walk in to any nearest Yes Fiz dealer. For streamyx older plan, check out here: http://www.telekom.net.my/packages_small.htmlOh, I appreciate your effort in making me more understandable. For the Streamyx plan the link you share with me, does it still exist? Can I buy online or through 100? Thanks a lot.
WebDpot
Dec 7 2015, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(rocketm @ Dec 7 2015, 10:33 PM) Oh, I appreciate your effort in making me more understandable. For the Streamyx plan the link you share with me, does it still exist? Can I buy online or through 100? Thanks a lot. The site looks outdated, I'm sure the price too  , I think better you walk in to nearest TM point.
CyrusWong
Dec 8 2015, 06:49 AM
QUOTE(rocketm @ Dec 7 2015, 09:33 PM) Hi, thanks for the info as well. Can I know for the RM60 and RM90 plan is its info available in TM website? Is the speed is really slow since is it just kbps? no, the info is not in tm website. this is old plan, you need find agent to help you subscribe. or maybe at least you can go tmpoint to ask the staff. yea the speed is slow 384/8 = 48kb/s DL speed. to DL a 3mb song, it require, 64 seconds (if it always run at full speed 48kb/s) to download 100mb it require ~36minutes. to download 1gb it require ~6 hours 5 mins. This post has been edited by CyrusWong: Dec 8 2015, 06:56 AM
alhelmy
Dec 17 2015, 06:24 AM
QUOTE(rocketm @ Dec 7 2015, 09:30 PM) Thanks for the info. Is 30GB is enough for just browsing the webpage, using FB, Whatsapp go to bank website for money transfer without watching movie or listen to song? If the 20GB monthly quota has been exceed, can I buy top up or still can browse webpage but just the speed being throttled for the YES plan? I cannot find the info regarding Streamyx plan is under RM100 in TM website? Can you tell me how to get it? It is enough strictly for the activities you listed. But there is always a danger of getting streaming videos whether voluntary or involuntary. voluntary examples: your friends post videos in facebook, you cannot resists the temptation of viewing that funny clip from your friend, one view only you say, next day same thing and you end up viewing lots of video, and that's when it is not enough. involuntary examples is some website play videos automatically or have a little video by the corner that plays while you read the web page or websites that forced you to play the video to continue etc. All this adds up, so you need to watch out.
Slyke
Jan 20 2016, 08:16 AM
If you say doesn't use much quota, try Streamyx Lite. It's RM38/month exclusive GST and 1GB of quota
delsoo
Apr 13 2016, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Dec 7 2015, 04:14 AM) one of my friend still using Streamyx BB Deal RM60. 384kbps DL speed 128Kbps UL speed no quota limit. basically everything same with the RM110 1Mbps plan. just the speed is way slower and dun have free call to tm fixed line.  Yes, I am on this plan....