Business ACCA (v2)

~~5ive~~
post Jan 15 2007, 12:03 AM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

Hi there. Sorry to disturb but i have some question here. Which route u guys think is easier?

1) Take up degree, work at a firm 3 years then take ACCA test.
2) Take up degree and then study for ACCA.

which is the best actually? Mind to explain the pro and con to me?
~~5ive~~
post Jan 15 2007, 08:41 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jan 15 2007, 12:09 AM)
Why don't straight away go for ACCA without degree.
will that be hard? Worry as in case i cant pass it i had nothing in pocket. btw, which college offer direct ACCA? i google but cant found it....
~~5ive~~
post Jan 17 2007, 11:23 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jan 15 2007, 12:03 AM)
Hi there. Sorry to disturb but i have some question here. Which route u guys think is easier?

1) Take up degree, work at a firm 3 years then take ACCA test.
2) Take up degree and then study for ACCA.

which is the best actually? Mind to explain the pro and con to me?
QUOTE(G[a]rY @ Jan 16 2007, 11:27 PM)
dependz on each individual.. for the two options, 2nd one ll be better.. almost all of the acca papers require no working experience, just academic study.. so, better to pass acca then go work rather than go work then only take acca..
again, thats dependz  de la.. some can pass acca one straight within 2years, but some find it so hard n stuck for number of years.. generally, if ur hardworking plus abit smart, can pass de...
restriction..?? haha, which coll in kl dun wan $$..??

all the coll in kl accept students register in march (after result) for Jun07 exam.. Some (like mcO n FTMS) even provide catch up classes to revise the earlier syllabus then u will join with the jan intake students..
if u wanna go oversea, it ll be advisable to go uk n do ur acca..
yes, if u plan to work aus, better take their cpa rather than acca..
the exam paper that taken for ACCA for the both option same? I mean is it both still need to take 14 paper?
~~5ive~~
post Jan 27 2007, 12:30 AM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

Hi there. I would like to know currently in Msia which uni/college offer direct ACCA studies? SOrry, i had tried google it but cant found anything. Hope someone can enlighten me. Thanks.
~~5ive~~
post Jan 27 2007, 02:48 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Jan 27 2007, 12:13 PM)
wat u mean by direct acca studies?

is it colleges that offer acca course and u go to attend?

u shd get all the info about acca tuition provider from accaglobal website... tongue.gif
erm...i mean like not study for degree or diploma...direct study for ACCA....

10x for the link, i will check it out...
~~5ive~~
post Mar 13 2007, 08:09 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

Hi there....i was confuse between ACCA and CIMA...so what is the difference? CIMA more to management?
~~5ive~~
post Mar 13 2007, 10:16 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Mar 13 2007, 09:09 PM)
10x for ur link.....
if i wish to take degree in accounting then ACCA....who which uni is good? Mind to state pro and cons of some famous college? Like sunway, tarc, segi, ftms, kasturi, mc orange....

This post has been edited by ~~5ive~~: Mar 13 2007, 11:25 PM
~~5ive~~
post Mar 14 2007, 12:43 AM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Mar 13 2007, 11:54 PM)
hey a bit of something from me regarding SUNCollege (u know which col i mean) wink.gif

pros
1) The lecturers are very helpful if ONLY you approach them for something you 
    don"t understand. If you can't get them in person to clarify your doubt ( becoz 
    they are many students surrounding the lecturer for asking question after the
    class) you can always communicate with them via sms or email. They will try to
    help you as much as they can.  icon_idea.gif

2) The lecturers are very hardworking (because they will always use the public 
    holiday) for extra class but NOT to the extent of CNY, Hari Raya, Deepavali or
    Christmas lar  tongue.gif so Saturday and Sunday definitely cannot escape
    one  rclxs0.gif for those party lover  sweat.gif  brows.gif  u know what to do lar? and
    evening class from 6:30pm-9:30pm will not be avoidable too  rclxub.gif

3) They will be two progress test ( normally after ACCA result come out ) and one
    mock exam (nearly to the end of semester) so you will know how you progress
    and prepare yourself before the REAL EXAM  wacko.gif

4) The lecturers, well, some of them are the former SUNCollege student and 
    are PRIZEWINNER, some of them have worked in one of the Big 4 audit firm 
    and some of them is master holder. They are very dedicated and helpful.

5) Student wise, most of them is excellent in their SPM, CAT and STPM. so, it is
    very campus life study in this college.  you may meet student from other         
    country as well so exchanging culture may be an added advantage.
    (hehe don't know whether this is relevant or not but they are lots of pretty     
    people here)  laugh.gif  blush.gif

6) The library here also can be another advantage aspect because there are many
    useful books, journal and company annual report for your reference. Wireless
    internet service also available for those who love surfing on their laptop in 
    library. but, there are also internet facility room for those who doesn't own
    laptop but wish to surf net. now, you be able to borrow about 10 books in one
    time and you may renew your borrowing via internet at any time just using 
    your pin number provided by the library.

7) There are San Francisco Coffee, Aunty Anne, LEmonGrass Rest (if i am not   
    mistaken), bubble tea stall, many coffee machine all over the college.

8) Bus facilities

cons
1) You need to come early for the BEST seat because there are no one permanent
    seat allocated to you. This mean you be sitting here and there each time you
    come for the class. so come early you may get the nice seat or else you have to
    be far far away from the white board. sometime you will feel like "sardine in   
    the can " in some of the classes. (too many student)

2) Hmm food in col except the one stated above  (depend on how you take
    it lar ) hmm.gif

Summary
SUNCollege = biggrin.gif  sweat.gif rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif mix with variety of experience....

so come and find out yourself  cheers.gif
rachelmay
ic...10x for ur opinion...really appreciate it....
if im not mistaken, sunway oso able to place 80% of their student under big 4...so is it true? those student requirement is what? able to do very well in ACCA test?

~~5ive~~
post Mar 14 2007, 09:20 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Mar 14 2007, 05:12 PM)
requirement:
1) Pass all the paper in 1st attempt (preferably)  thumbup.gif
2) A prizewinner will be an added advantage brows.gif
3) Make sure your passing mark is good  icon_rolleyes.gif
4) An active candidate in extra curricular activity bruce.gif
5) Possess a great personality rclxm9.gif

The college will help you to send in your resume so chances of getting an interview is quite ok.

HOWEVER IT DEPEND ON HOW YOU PERFORM DURING THE INTERVIEW

as i said the college is always being helpful  biggrin.gif
10x for the info....
haha...sunway is famous but the fees are high doh.gif
so if taking ACCA, which is the 2nd most recommended?
FTMS? TARC? Kasturi?
~~5ive~~
post Mar 16 2007, 03:50 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

Hi there... Juz wanna clarify sumthing....
Lets say i take diploma in acc in TARC (2years), then take adv. diploma in ACCA part 2 & 3, i pass in 1st attempt....mean i am a ACCA cert holder after 4years?

btw, if i have a degree in accounting from other university, s it i am exempted till part 2 of ACCA? Mean i only have to sit for part 3 ACCA?

then for the 1st & 2nd part of ACCA, only limited to 4papers per sitting. So mean i can only sit for 4 paper per half year? How bout the 3rd part? The 3 core paper can be taken together with the 2 optional paper? or have to take seperately?
~~5ive~~
post Mar 17 2007, 12:26 AM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Mar 16 2007, 06:05 PM)
yes,if u can pass ur acca external exam which u need to start to sit it when u r in adv diploma year 2...then after 4 yrs...u get acca cert...provided u pass all la... tongue.gif

it depends....acca give diff uni diff levels of exemptions...

so it does not mean u will get exempted for part 2 for any degree u get...

yes...one sitting u can only sit up to 4 papers..for part 3 the same rule now...
u can sit the core and optional papers together...

icic.... 10x for ur explaination....
btw, since ACCA is external exam paper, mean if sumone self study then pay exam fees can take up ACCA? or must reach certain requirement?

then how bout MMU degree? i cant found it in its website... I know that UCSI degree can exempted from part 1 and part 2.

hah...a quite funny question here. if i take up tarc diploma, i will be exempted till paper 2.2. Then can i sit for 2.3 till 2.6 for the 1st half year. then later i take the part 3 optional and core paper together, so if i pass all in 1st attempt, then i can get my ACCA cert in 3 years?
~~5ive~~
post Mar 17 2007, 07:37 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Mar 17 2007, 04:57 PM)
yes you can self study and enter for exams, provided you paid the exams fees to ACCA.

in TARC advance diploma, you do not sit for papers as you like.

in Year 1 1st sem would be paper 2.3 & 2.4, 2nd sem 2.5 & 2.6, 3rd sem industrial training. all part 2 papers are internally assessed. you are eligible to resit once (assignment marks will be exlcuded) if you fail at the 1st attempt. if you fail again, you would have to take external papers.

in Year 2 no exemption is granted. you sit for both internal and external papers. internal papers are usually easier than external papers. if you fail internal paper but fail external paper (vice versa), you will have a hard time. i'm not sure further details as i left during year 1  tongue.gif
ic...10x for ur explaination....u left on the 2nd year? Y? TARC is a bad choice for ACCA?

QUOTE(coolly @ Mar 17 2007, 05:17 PM)
ya,since acca is external exam,so actually u can self study and pay exam fees and go for ur exam..jus sometime we need some guidance from the lecturers to prepare the exam well only...the min requirement are as prescribed in the acca website...
for the exemption,pls check urself at the following link:

https://portal.accaglobal.com/accaweb/faces...tionsTable.jspx

it is not funny actually,this is basically jus u discontinue ur tarc diploma and come back to taking the external urself,u can get ur acca in 3 yrs provided everything runs smoothly... brows.gif  brows.gif
oo...thx for that link....
so mean if sumone is hardworking enuf, he actually can juz use distance learning way..study at home then go to exam every half year?

hah...actually im thinking to do both on the same time....adv. diploma as a back up....i juz wonder shud i speed up to get my ACCA cert?

btw, wanna ask....ACCA cert from TARC or from SUNWAY or from any institution carry the same weight? I think by logically it shud be the same, but i wonder how bout the fact? Mayb big 4 or other medium firm prefer SUNWAY....
~~5ive~~
post Mar 18 2007, 03:38 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Mar 18 2007, 01:55 PM)
ACCA is world wide recognised so it does not really matter which college you obtain the cert from. but mind you, TARC adv diploma provides both ACCA and adv diploma cert upon graduation PROVIDED you passed ext. and int. exams within the time frame. no doubt, the pressure is doubled too. rclxub.gif

TARC is not a bad choice for ACCA but i left because i didn't feel like taking the advance diploma and therefore, i'm not willing to take up the extra stress. moreover, i've studied 2 years there for my diploma. xien jor...wanna go out and try something new  smile.gif
ic....double pressure? I thought juz need to study the same thing but exam twice...haha....if exam once oso need to study, exam twice oso need to study....so shudnt be a big problem....

btw, so try what later? obtain degree?
~~5ive~~
post Mar 19 2007, 01:58 AM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(niu_niu @ Mar 18 2007, 11:00 PM)

icic.....10x yea...since we shudnt discuss it in public...moind to give me ur msn....hehe.....juz want to know more.....10x ya if u dun mind....
~~5ive~~
post Mar 20 2007, 01:57 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Mar 20 2007, 09:09 AM)
OMG!! Your batch of student is poorer than last batch of students. (my batch)

at least we met the wordwide passing rate for the optional papers!! Got some prize winners also.

Anyway, what is platinum status ? Frankly, TARC lecturer remuneration is just OK, teaching in Kasturi or other college give u more flexible time & higher pay!!
Andrew Pang will never teach in TARC with such remuneration !!

We pay so little, can't expect too much... And TARC so generous in giving out scholarship !! State any college that (untill now)still give 100% tuition fee waiver to SPM 9As students.... (Some demand 11A1 now)

TARC is a good choice anyway!!
Sunway so expensive  blink.gif
Hah....pay less then expect less, right?
btw, TARC scholarship 100% give to candidate who score 9As above? NO any T&C? My frenz say that later need to maintain CGPA only can get 100% tuition fee waiver, if got bad result then have to pay back the money that last time no pay also....
~~5ive~~
post Apr 11 2007, 08:25 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

Hi there. I know this is ACCA thread but can i ask bout CPA thing oso? My frenz is now studying in AUS high school. He plan to take accounting in AUS. But if im not mistaken, AUS apply different accounting compare to ACCA (UK based), right? So is he able to study ACCA there? If he take CPA, still can work at Malaysia, right?
~~5ive~~
post Apr 11 2007, 11:39 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Apr 11 2007, 09:54 PM)
ACCA abd CPA are both professional bodies..... not to say is different accounting....

1 is called ACCA based in UK.
another 1 called CPA based in AUS.

both can say is equivalent standard.

ACCA is worldwide available...
CPA, some of the organisation is prefer CPA... dun know why...
IC...but is it studying the same thing? Coz i heard that AUS accounting different compare with UK system .....
~~5ive~~
post Apr 12 2007, 06:58 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE(G[a]rY @ Apr 12 2007, 04:02 PM)
Erm, so long the country adopt international standards (IASs n IFRSs), it wun be too much different in acctg policies.. Especially aus is komanwel country, wun run too far from uk, just bit diff lol.. correct me if im wrong..

Malaysia recognises CPA Aus.. (plz do not confuse, msia got CPA msia, n its diff).. Just like acca, cpa qualification is recognised by MIA.. No prob working in Msia with CPA..
what is the difference between CPA AUS and CPA MSIA?
~~5ive~~
post Apr 15 2007, 01:07 AM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE([cheehwa] @ Apr 14 2007, 11:01 PM)
hello everyone...
on the june,i will study ACCA in TARC...
TARC is offer one intake which jan intake..
once fail any paper have to wait for A YR...
i wondering,other college(s) is it offer 2 intakes?
study ACCA in tarc? u mean diploma? adv diploma? or what?
~~5ive~~
post Apr 19 2007, 06:01 PM

Im n0one
2,750 posts

QUOTE([cheehwa] @ Apr 18 2007, 09:30 PM)
i'm studying diploma in accouting in TARC...
diploma is a 2 years course however CAT just a year course...
both also get exemption from ACCA..
diploma get exmepted ACCA part 1 and ACCA part 2-2 papers.
on other hand, CAT only exempted ACCA part1 only
when in advance diploma there will be internal and external papers u have handle,other colleges only external..
hope this can help...
come to TARC...hehe
u 1st year or 2nd year? Im SPM 06 and this may im going to study at tarc kl. need help from u guys....thx a lot...

0.0235sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:12 AM