Business ACCA (v2)

Busy body
post Aug 2 2007, 01:30 AM

QUOTE(King_sToN @ Jul 14 2007, 01:17 AM)
no......don't you know that there is a photostat room beside room3......just go there and tell the guy there which book you want to have a copy...... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
He has display all the texbook there......you can have a view on them before deciding whether want to photostat  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Today i went to KSA and ask for photostating books of BPP, there is no such thing at KSA. Counter say no such thing that we can photostat. I went to photostat room and see a guy, he said he is not allowed to photostat...disappointed...

Added on August 2, 2007, 1:32 am
QUOTE(Angeline @ Jul 29 2007, 07:02 PM)
how to register as ACCA student if i plan to buy the textbooks and study myself?
Actually you can go to any college to ask them to give you an IR (Initial Registrataion) form, fill it up, 2 photos (i think), and photostat your result and IC, then buy bank draft and either send youself to UK or send to ACCA Malaysia office. You also can register online at acca website. I know KSA help students to register.

Added on August 2, 2007, 1:42 am
QUOTE(formulaoag @ Jul 24 2007, 11:47 PM)
since a lot of ppl discuss about philip woo's notes,

how bout ms sheila's notes?

any comment from fellow members attending f8@McO
I heard Sheila WAS good, but recently drop in standard. ppl are talking Jackson from KSA is better then her, and Philip Woo is even better than both of them. Why even bother to look for 2nd best? Take the majority and you will not be wrong.

Added on August 2, 2007, 1:47 am
QUOTE(syin096 @ Jul 16 2007, 12:22 PM)
arrr... cry.gif really that bad?? nvm ...today is my 1st class with jackson,will c how is da class. wink.gif since the philip woo's class so full house,there is no way i can transfer back to his class. KSA students..any1,im in jackson class,can i join philip's revision?da revision is included in our fees right?
I think you can request change the revision to Philip Woo class. I know KSA is quite flexible. Otherwise talk to the director Andrew Pang, may be he can help you to arrange.

Added on August 2, 2007, 1:49 am
QUOTE(rvp @ Jul 24 2007, 02:23 AM)
@andy888

yar all lyn members can share their tips...
f7) joefang+goh wern yit+haneef
f8)philip woo + jackson + sheila
f9)philip woo + ??? lol
I think F7 all three are ok, at least all among the best
F8 recommend philip woo (strongly)
F9 i heard Andrew Pang is the best

Added on August 2, 2007, 2:06 am
QUOTE(Zoeee @ Jul 30 2007, 02:46 PM)
Hi, plan to drive to kasturi, anyone know where to park & how much? I cant find the rate listing for parking in kasturi building, anyone here drive to kasturi?
Thanks!
Car park charges at Kasturi:
Weekday office hour - hourly about RM3.60 (not worth it, too expensive)
Weekday after 5pm - per entry RM3.00

Weekend Saturday before 1pm - hourly RM3.60
Weekend Saturday after 1pm - per entry RM3.00
Weekend Sunday and Public holiday - per entry RM3.00 but sometime not open...??

Weekday office hour better to park at Klang Bus stand, cheaper..but smoky...

This post has been edited by Busy body: Aug 2 2007, 02:06 AM
Busy body
post Aug 3 2007, 02:33 AM

[quote=kobe8byrant,Aug 1 2007, 01:15 PM]I am about to do my Acc and Finance degree in UCSI and after that go for ACCA. so I am wondering, if my degree in UCSI but ACCA somewhere else, will it matter on where I had my degree or where I had my ACCA done?

[/quote]
ACCA is a professional course, you can study in any place and make no difference because certificate is issued from UK and it will not specify which college you study. You can even do your degree and ACCA at the same time (if you can cope). Some of my fren do degree and ACCA parallel...

Added on August 3, 2007, 2:37 am[quote=kobe8byrant,Jul 31 2007, 08:12 PM]If I were to do an ACCA in the future, will colleges count? I mean will ACCA from Sunway be considered better than ACCA in UCSI or TAR?

[/quote]
ACCA is a professional course and you can do at any college and it doesn't really matter because the certificate is issued from Uk and will not state where you study. Sunway is expensive but established. Other good established places like Kasturi is also a good choice, low fee with good lecturers. UCSI is too new and no experienced lecturers there at all. Tar normally concentrate in internal diploma rather than ACCA.

Added on August 3, 2007, 2:45 am[quote=faith77,Jul 28 2007, 04:35 PM]financial reporting..any suggested lecturer? where to find him/her?thanks.

[/quote]
As per suggested list of lecturers in this site. Joe Fang is a better one, Haneef damn boring and sleepy and finish syllabus very very late. Goh Wern Yit seems ok from frens in her class.

Added on August 3, 2007, 2:48 am[quote=annvogue,Jul 24 2007, 08:58 PM]
for F8 i'm abit curious ...is philip notes ..i mean Bpp notes,, enough hah?? audit have to read a lot to generate more ideas la right??? how bout the Kaplan books?? is it worth i buy Kaplan for F8 for my extra reading for audit...by the way, at KSA they have any kaplan book can i photocopy????
today i just photocopy F5 bpp text...thanx for LYN members who told me about the Photocopy at KSA...thanx guys rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Philip Woo actually has his own set of note for F8 (full set). It is just that he use a small part extracted from BPP. His notes is famous to be very thick. Don worry, you will get a lot and complain too much later

Added on August 3, 2007, 2:51 am[quote=King_sToN,Jul 24 2007, 09:11 PM]
In the first lesson......there is only about 15+ students
Today is the forth lesson......there is about 35+ students in the full time class......
I am not sure how about the part time class......anyone her attend andrew F5 part time class?

Andrew Pang is the veteran in this subject. Attended his class before, very good, finish syllabus, good exam techniques, systematic and humurous as well. I saw the part time class is big, using room 3 at KSA.

Added on August 3, 2007, 2:58 am[quote=King_sToN,Jul 24 2007, 07:35 PM]
Fuyoh......more and more students joining Andrew Pang F5 full time class rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
But the class size is still comfortable......
So far......I think Andrew is a good lecturer in lecturing F5 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

[/quote]

Totally agree. Enjoy his jokes and study hard. thumbup.gif

Added on August 3, 2007, 3:00 am[quote=rachelmay1402,Jul 21 2007, 01:12 AM]
P1 sound like audit to me but my lovely lec make it clear that it is not

so a bit confuse here and there...feel really like sitting for old syllabus

paper 2.6 in the class...a bit boring but still have to bear with it... cool.gif

[/quote]

P1 is NOT an audit paper, it is a paper on corporate governance and ethics, internal control is just the part of it.

Added on August 3, 2007, 3:09 am[quote=littlediana,Jul 23 2007, 12:05 AM]
can i take p2 and/or p3 before taking p1? anyone knows?

so blur and dunno anything about it hehe... sweat.gif

[/quote]
The conditions set by ACCA is as follow:
If in June 2007 sitting (you received exam entry form in February 2007), if the entry form shown that you can take optional papers, then you can do optional papers before doing core i.e. you can do in any sequence for core and optional.

But if your exam entry in February 2007 shown you can only do level 2 papers without optional papers, then you MUST do Essential core papers before doing optionals.

Within Essential, you can do one, two or all three papers in any sequence. Just confirm with Andrew Pang at his office today for you.

Added on August 3, 2007, 3:23 am[quote=annvogue,Jul 17 2007, 09:10 PM]
i just wondering....if i take F9 together with P1,P2,P3 can or not????? or have to complete part 2 1st then can take Part 3 subject??? Right now i'm taking F8,F7,F5 and 2nd term F6 wait for my result for 2.1,2.3 n1.3.....i feel that i fail 2.1 n 2.3............. So i plan that next intake i will do F9,P1,P2,P3.....any suggestion LYN members????? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

[/quote]

If you afraid to fail 2.1, then should attend F5 class now because F5 is management accounting, totally different from 2.1

Yes you can do F9 with any number of core papers (don have to take all three if you find too heavy to cope).

This post has been edited by Busy body: Aug 3 2007, 03:23 AM
Busy body
post Aug 4 2007, 12:49 AM

QUOTE(oriqueen @ Aug 3 2007, 07:27 PM)
Hi BusyBody...

U r a lecturer from KSA rite? Hehehe.
Cos yesterday my fren told me a lecturer yesterday play low yat and put comments inside..
My friend saw...

if so, ur comments very Bias la.. all also support ksa the best.
No doubt KSA have very good lecturers but McOrange also got good lecturers
... don't forget F9 got Daniel from FTMS. He has BIGGGGEST numbers when he teach ACCA 3.7

Anyway, Im just trying to guess..

LYN members, visit Page 1 for the Recommended Lecturers by Coolly  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
I hope i am one, but unfortunately i am not. Just a supporter of KSA.

Why KSA talk about lowyat net?
Busy body
post Aug 18 2007, 08:04 PM

QUOTE(simchi @ Aug 18 2007, 02:14 PM)
Having scrapping a pass in the recent LCCI exams ..I would like to ask whether my results would permit me into signing up as a ACCA student ? And the options about doing it part time ? where to go for tuition and all ? thanks in advance smile.gif
If you are considering studying ACCA in KL, you can consider Kasturi college, this is a better quality and relatively cheaper alternative. Look at the first page to look at KSA website for address and contact.
If you are from PJ, may be consider Sunway college, but the fee is very high. Lecturers there are ok too.
If you prefer Wangsa Maju area, then may also try out TAR College.

0.0471sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:44 AM