Business ACCA (v2)

TScoolly
post Jan 25 2007, 08:06 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(vegie @ Jan 25 2007, 07:12 PM)
thank you for the advice...
part 1 is juz worming up..i know..but my fren said the 3th paper have to memorise so many things..ands the 1st ppr and 2nd ppr is ok...is it like that??
welcome... tongue.gif
paper 1.3 is all theory..there fore u have to memorise the model and some content of the models and try to apply to the questions..therefore this paper need some memorisation...but i don't think u have to memorise many things..

jus be flexible,read more,do more questions and u will be fine...
same technique apply yo paper 1.1 and 1.2...

all the best... nod.gif
TScoolly
post Jan 27 2007, 12:13 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jan 27 2007, 12:30 AM)
Hi there. I would like to know currently in Msia which uni/college offer direct ACCA studies? SOrry, i had tried google it but cant found anything. Hope someone can enlighten me. Thanks.
wat u mean by direct acca studies?

is it colleges that offer acca course and u go to attend?

u shd get all the info about acca tuition provider from accaglobal website... tongue.gif

TScoolly
post Jan 27 2007, 03:12 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jan 27 2007, 02:48 PM)
erm...i mean like not study for degree or diploma...direct study for ACCA....

10x for the link, i will check it out...
ya,most of us here are direct study for acca...the colleges that we mentioned such as sunway,ftms,kasturi,segi,mc orange all provide acca tuition directly...

if u want to know the colleges that offer acca in malaysia,then pls refer page 1,i have inserted a link to search for the acca tuition provider there...

and if u want to know the relevant college website,u can refer to some website that i posted in page 1 also...

nod.gif nod.gif
TScoolly
post Jan 30 2007, 11:49 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(coffeelover @ Jan 30 2007, 10:48 PM)
do anyone of u all know how to check if a degree from other uni is approved and recognised by ACCA?
do u mean getting exemption?

if yes,then u can check the exemption from the accaglobal website... biggrin.gif
TScoolly
post Jan 31 2007, 10:23 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(coffeelover @ Jan 31 2007, 09:22 PM)
i dunno what izit called....but i guess so....coz on the flyer there they wrote maximum 9 exemption from acca.....can someone explain to me what does it mean ar?
hello...ya...it means exemption as i stated above...

basically in simple,it means this...u have to complete all together 14 papers to get ur acca qualification in total...

so acca does recognised certain qualification such as CIMA and other degree to get exemption which in the case u stated exempted 9 papers,so u do not need to sit for the actual acca exam and u jus need to sit for the 5 remained...

by the way,even though u don need to pay the exam fees for the 9 papers,u still need to pay the exemptions fees for the 9 papers u exempted which is equivalent to the amount that we paid for the exam fees for that 9 papers...

u get wat u mean? nod.gif nod.gif
TScoolly
post Feb 4 2007, 10:26 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Feb 4 2007, 08:47 PM)
u think if i got the Diploma in Banking and Financa can take ACCA???

what the different between ACCA and CIMA??? unsure.gif

where is the best part to start learning accounting course? unsure.gif
why not?u can take acca of coz..but i would suggest u check with acca to see whether u got the exemptions by using ur diploma...

u can check for the exemption thru acca website that i stated at page 1...

ACCA more emphasize in financial accounting whereas CIMA is more in management accounting..

for more info...pls feel free to read the below link:

CIMA and ACCA
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=351141&hl=CIMA

TScoolly
post Feb 5 2007, 12:17 AM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Feb 4 2007, 11:49 PM)
how many acca papers are there? say u start frm lvl 1 itself.. the 2nd lvl right.. thy say u do an essay thn can get degree frm oxford brooks? is tat right/? thanks
under current syllabus...there are 3 parts,therefore in total 14 papers...
ya,u are right,after finishing part 2,u can do a thesis to submit to UK and if u pass,u can get a degree from Oxford Brookes Universities...

from dec 2007 onwards,ACCA will be using the new syllabus where there are no longer part 1,2 and 3...they are using fundamental and professional level but the papers remained to be 14..however they are some changes on the paper where if u need to know more info...

pls feel free to visit the acca website for further info and the links are provided in page 1...
TScoolly
post Feb 12 2007, 02:41 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 12 2007, 03:20 AM)
thanks niu_niu and Gary....

have u looked on the new syllabus? they re-arranged most of the subjects. 2.4 going to be after 2.5, so if i did not do it now, later on u and me have to pass 2.5 first instead of 2.4, so better study well and get pass...
QUOTE(G[a)
rY,Feb 12 2007, 11:27 AM]Erm, regarding the postition of the papers in new syllabus, anyone can 100% confirm with me..?? It seems that ACCA now says "students can attempt papers within a module in any order".. So, I dun think therz a problem of the arrangement of the paper, as both 2.4&2.5 is in skill module..
ya...this is another change under the new syllabus..that is u don't need to sit exam following the order of the paper...

quoted below is the info obtained from ACCA website...

Students are expected to study each module - Knowledge, Skills, Essentials and Options - in order. Students may attempt a maximum of four exams at any one sitting. Papers may be attempted from different modules at the same sitting as long as the modules are attempted in order. Students may vary the order they attempt exams within each module but they may not vary the order of the modules. However, ACCA strongly recommends that papers within a module are taken in order.

This post has been edited by coolly: Feb 12 2007, 02:42 PM
TScoolly
post Feb 12 2007, 09:49 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(virginslayer @ Feb 12 2007, 08:23 PM)
wanna ask something..i am blur here.
i am doing acca final term as in corepaper.
i heard that people say after complete acca need to work as auditor so that after 3 years acca will close u as chartered accountant..
is that true?
how if says i work as marketing?
or business consultant or business planner?
which not related to accounting..
after 3 years can i still get the acca title?
and will they just cancel my account not being an acca member?
very confusing..cos i need to apply job asap.
ummm...the 3 yrs experience need to be relevant,not simply working for 3 yrs then u can get ur membership...so if u working in irrelevant field,i doubt u can obtained ur membership by that..

of coz,there is not necessary that u have to work in audit,u can work as account or finance ..as long as ur job scope qualify under acca practical experience scheme...

below is something that i quoted from acca website...

A key component of the ACCA Qualification is gaining relevant practical experience. As an ACCA member, you will need to be equipped with the relevant skills and knowledge to meet different challenges in your career. ACCA's practical experience requirement (PER) enables you to apply the knowledge gained through your exams; and develop the skills, attitudes and behaviours that you will need to demonstrate as a qualified accountant. PER provides a framework for achievement, confirming effective and sustainable workplace performance, making you a more valuable employee.

if u need further info,pls feel free to read under the following link:

http://www.accaglobal.com/students/trainin...sional/features
TScoolly
post Feb 12 2007, 10:08 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(virginslayer @ Feb 12 2007, 09:53 PM)
if i work as business consultant or tax consultant?can anot?
it should be ok,but i doubt u can fulfil all the criteria u needed to get membership if u purely doing this for 3 years..pls check the link i provide for details criteria that u have to fulfil... biggrin.gif

TScoolly
post Feb 14 2007, 01:38 AM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Feb 13 2007, 12:31 PM)
i HOPE i can pass, bcause I really didn't put much effort on studying ACCA !!
QUOTE(roy_pck @ Feb 13 2007, 12:34 PM)
yeah me too. i'm so regret i din't put max effort last sitting. i've to say my best is yet to come. but i really pray pray pray i can pass either 2.4 or 2.5 (or both) so tat my optional papers are not affected. OMG!!!! icon_question.gif
no point to regret by now...coz no use oledi..jus remember now u shd work hard so that u wont mention i regret in the next time b4 result is out... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(virginslayer @ Feb 13 2007, 05:06 PM)
haih..dun keep on whining..
forget the pass and start again.
if fail,work harder..dun lepak too much..
bcos u guys are not like me.
i can lepak,i can do..lol..

anyway,now i am headache over job..
just now i ask my friend he say, bs consultant fullfill all the category leh..how?
umm..it really depends..coz bs consultant can be a big word and yet maybe the job scope is limited...so it is quite hard to justify... flex.gif
TScoolly
post Feb 17 2007, 05:50 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(hardworkingboy @ Feb 16 2007, 11:49 PM)
hey guys

can i study part 1 and 2 in SEGI then change to sunway for part 3.

THANKS for helping

yes...u can do so...but if u want to take in sunway they do required u to sign up at least 2 papers for the full time classes becoz of the college policy..

so acca allows u the flexibility to study in different colleges in that sense and subject to the rules and regulations of the college..but generally no problem..

but i do suggest u take part 3 outside sunway as i don't think sunway part 3 lecturers are that highly recommended,at least i seldom heard of except ms menon..(jus my personal opinion).. tongue.gif

QUOTE(niu_niu @ Feb 16 2007, 11:56 PM)

Sunway is offering full time course only...i dont thk u can jump 2 paper 3 in sunway in such a way.... icon_idea.gif
yaa..even though full time,still can go there take papers half way as long as pay the reg fees and take up certain numbers of papers there...unless they change the policy where required students take acca course starting from part 1 or part 2...but i doubt they will do so... laugh.gif laugh.gif

TScoolly
post Feb 19 2007, 12:07 AM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 18 2007, 06:01 PM)
when i see you people chatting about PER, i wonder...

what is the benefits of becoming an ACCA affiliatte? i mean, what so special to gain an ACCA memberships?what advantage would u get?

other things, about new syllabus, i think we can skip paper, but we still have to pay for the paper we defer. confirm me please?

i want to know, with premier express tuition, do u think u can pass under this course? within 2 months studying plus a month rev class, have anyone pass say 2 papers taking only with the premier express` course? if you can how do u study?i also wonder how the lecture running seems the limited time to teach.

other question is, have anyone tried before taking 4 at the same time within 6 months? have anyone here tried taking say, 6 papars in a year? i am actually planning my future. thanks.
umm...before u asked the 1st question,then u have to ask urself why u want to study ACCA,then u will get ur answer for the what is benefits of becoming ACCA member...

If u wish to know about more on what is the benefits of becoming acca member,i would suggest u visit the following link:

http://www.accaglobal.com/join/why_acca/ smile.gif

i jus add a bit ,that is to become MIA member,u have to fulfil the requirement set by MIA,ACCA is jus a way for u to qualify as a Chartered Accountant in Malaysia... smile.gif

sorry coz i never heard about skipping the papers in acca,i think u meant exempted from taking the paper as some people have the qualification which enable them to exempt the paper by not taking it and yet u have to pay the exemptions fees which is equivalent to the exam fees.

premier express is designed for those students who failed in the previous sitting to attend the class again and catch up with the areas that they might be missed out,therefore the lecture who conduct the class will assume that u have prior knowledge but not starting to learn from that paper from 0.

however,there are students who willing to take the risk by taking the premier express class for the brand new paper after they know their result,i have friend who did this before and she able to pass..these all come back to how u work hard for it and trying to catch up all the things in short time...even a self study people also can pass a paper without attending any class,it all depends on individual effort.but i would suggest that if u want to take a paper,please don't take up premier express,it is jus too rush and not fit the purpose... flex.gif

yes,i got friends who take maximum 4 papers in one sitting,that means 6 mths and some can pass all and some even can fail all...so there are no guarantee...

and for myself,i took 3 papers in each sitting and therefore as u said,6 in a year..but i am taking full time course... laugh.gif if u plan to study part time,i don;t really suggest u take so many papers in 1 sitting. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolly: Feb 19 2007, 12:23 AM
TScoolly
post Feb 19 2007, 12:41 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(niu_niu @ Feb 19 2007, 12:12 PM)
Yeah!!!!! I pass my 3.1 and 3.2!!!!!! Really happy!!!
Focus on last 3 papers now! Must pass for this last sitting!!!
congratulations ya... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

u r near to achieve ur dream of ACCA... rclxm9.gif

so do i deserve a meal ha?hehe.. tongue.gif

Added on February 19, 2007, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(nothingz @ Feb 19 2007, 10:43 AM)
2 papers passed, yay!
you passed wat papers? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolly: Feb 19 2007, 12:50 PM
TScoolly
post Feb 19 2007, 05:52 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(virginslayer @ Feb 19 2007, 05:14 PM)
fcuk acca..why fail me by 1 mark?
don't sad becoz of that 1 mark..as u know the mark is after top up der...

worry for so long,finally u can relax urself oledi... smile.gif

Added on February 19, 2007, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(G[a]rY @ Feb 19 2007, 03:28 PM)
icon_idea.gif  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif  nod.gif  icon_idea.gif
share share ur mark..faster..haha...or else pm me.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mxxuang @ Feb 19 2007, 04:32 PM)
hey wanna ask, this June 2007 paper 2.3 will be following the 2006 tax law or 2007 tax law? thx...
if i not mistaken shd be 2006... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by coolly: Feb 19 2007, 05:55 PM
TScoolly
post Feb 20 2007, 02:14 AM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 19 2007, 01:31 AM)
thanks coolly..so much informations..smile.gif
comparing here in the UK with malaysia, i`m sure i`m doing a right choice, ACCA will always be in my heart forever..!!! i`m not gonna give up easily, and we all have to sacrifise for a better career.

dont get me wrong, not that acca is not 4 me..i just trying to find better motivation here, since with all the packing up things to go home and it is just some thoughts.

so after becoming chartered accountant, then what?

good luck every one! i am sure u all can pass!

i meant we still have to sit in right order. i in my case, i dont want to take 2.3 business tax(UK stream), so i continue with 2.4, this is what i meant by skipping paper, this means i still have to pay for the 2.3 exam fees although i am not gonna sit the exam. so i think in the new syllabus would also be the same, only this time 2.4 going to be AFTER 2.3 and 2.5(Financial reporting), that is the new order for the new syllabus.

i got the leaflet from BPP here in the UK telling me about this.

coolly did u do acca with ftms before? u are my role model..smile.gif
after become chartered accountant a,also nothing der...basically u jus qualify as an accountant in malaysia and u can join in any area of interest u r...

this is jus like when u wish to have something,then u work hard and try ur best to get it,then after get it,then what?it is jus basically the same principle apply...

i see,the way u mentioned about skipping paper,yes,in the syllabus now,if u want to take 2.4 only,u still have to pay for the 2,3 exam even though u don plan to sit for it...

under the new syllabus,the order is not important anymore under one module,that's mean u can sit the paper in any order u wished as long as they are fall under the same module,only the module u have to sit in order but not the papers..so in new syllabus cicumstances,if u don wish to sit for 2.3,u also no need to pay for 2,3 exam fees.. tongue.gif

ya,last time i took all my papers in ftms except 3.2..hehe...but jus tell u the lecturers that i attended last time might not be the same as now..so choose ur college wisely...

hehe..don't say role model la..saling tolong menolong only.. icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
TScoolly
post Feb 20 2007, 01:48 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Feb 20 2007, 12:55 PM)
Thanks a lot to coolly and all the other helpful guys and girls! Don't know what I would have done without your help. Ngam ngam 1st class for the OBU.
you are welcome....you work hard and u deserve it...

keep up the good work and wish u can achieve ur dream of ACCA soon..

so sad i don have 1st class,less 1 mark to get.. cry.gif cry.gif

but nvm la.. laugh.gif brows.gif
TScoolly
post Feb 20 2007, 09:26 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(mxxuang @ Feb 20 2007, 08:58 PM)
Hey regarding about OBU 1st class,

Just get an average of 66 then we're guaranteed 1st class? Or have to see how we do for our OBU thesis.
oxford brookes jus granted u pass or fail and the class is following the class tat u get from acca... biggrin.gif
TScoolly
post Feb 21 2007, 01:57 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(hho84 @ Feb 20 2007, 11:29 PM)
I passed my part 2 4 papers. Thx to coolly and all of you for your support.
Can anyone tell me how to start doing my OBU thesis?
congratulations...umm..for the OBU,u can attend the class from one of the colleges tat provide the course and then they will guide u thru the whole process...

basically jus get the OBU guide from net and pick one topic of ur interest and start preparing and do ur research...
tongue.gif

QUOTE(virginslayer @ Feb 20 2007, 11:49 PM)
recover from result trauma..
QUOTE(virginslayer @ Feb 21 2007, 01:35 AM)
ask coolly...i tot of doing that but after all..not worth it..
i plan to get world prize for 2.6 this term.
rather than passing 2.6 with border line which affect OBU..i rather resit.
glad to hear that.and i think wat u think also correct..sometime it is jus too risky to get admin review as HBK said,u can fight but sometimes can't win ACCA.... rclxms.gif

QUOTE(bonbonba @ Feb 21 2007, 01:27 AM)
hi, i would like to ask can i fill up the administrative review online n pay by credit card? Or i must post it to UK?
QUOTE(shanelai @ Feb 21 2007, 01:40 PM)
Oh..icic... Anyway, may i know the exactly amount i ned to pay for it??? And where can i get the administrative review???
Thx in advance..  icon_rolleyes.gif
please think carefully before u asked for the admin review...u might success and at the same time u might fed up with the result of the admin review..

however if u wish to know the details of admin review,pls visit the following link to get further info,and bear in mind,u only have 15 days from the result release day to ask for the review...all the best... smile.gif

TScoolly
post Feb 22 2007, 09:55 PM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Feb 21 2007, 11:38 PM)
May i know what is the link u mentioned?? Cannot find it.. tongue.gif
BTW, what to think if i want to ask for the review?? Already failed, if ask for review didnt influence my result to the worse right as it's already fail??
alamak,my deep apologies..i forgot to put the link after writing out all my words.. blush.gif
er...acca got mentioned they might lower ur marks if the review reflects that u shd get lower..but do u think the chances to get a pass is high? blush.gif

here there is:
http://www.accaglobal.com/students/results/reviews

QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 22 2007, 03:44 AM)
thanks coolly and alls.

wow virginslayer, ur marks ignite me! hehe, how i wish i were you. Please share some tips or your way of studying that might help us..say 12 hours non stop studying...? smile.gif
u follow his way a...susah o...he jus study less and can pass liao o..but not many can do like this leh... brows.gif

QUOTE(xcrue @ Feb 22 2007, 10:34 AM)
im taking cores nex sitting... very worry now ..which tutor good for 3.6 n 3.7?
u can try ftms nazar or haneef in segi for 3.6 ..
or daniel at ftms and andrew at ksa for 3.7

QUOTE(sching @ Feb 22 2007, 12:36 PM)
Hi guyz, passed my 2.6 and 3.4 but i failed my mys tax! I guess i have to resit this sem again...haih...do u think it is better for me to take my core in Dec 07 sitting since it have some changes to it? or, should i take it this sitting? And do u know which college/lecturer in Penang is good for core?

I am oso taking OBU this sem...forgot when is the submission date..hehe..anyway, any advice? i am doing an analysis on the multinational company mergers...
if u take 4 papers in coming sitting,it will be very bulky and also depends whether u study that papers from the beginning of the year..depends u wan to take the risk or not...

for the obu,u can refer to the website for the date of submission,i quote here for u also...

Period 14
Activity
Earliest receipt of Project by Oxford Brookes University - Monday 19 February 2007
Latest receipt of Project by Oxford Brookes University - Friday 6 April 2007
Oxford Brookes University Examination Board - July 2007
Project and BSc degree results despatched - Friday 27 July 2007

the rest u refer to http://www.accaglobal.com/students/study_e...cations/degree/

QUOTE(hho84 @ Feb 22 2007, 01:40 PM)
Can i do it all by myself? I dun think have OBU class at my place, Sibu. Next sitting only i can go to west malaysia to study.
ya,u can start to do urself and find the mentor and guide u ... laugh.gif
QUOTE(HBK @ Feb 22 2007, 03:31 PM)
tis sitting im thinking takin 2.6 at segi..ms madgalene chia..anyone attend her class?how's the class?okay or not...or mr.sathia at paac?
why not sheila or chin ann?

QUOTE(shanelai @ Feb 22 2007, 07:38 PM)
Anyone know???????? icon_question.gif
pls refer to the above link for admin review...

Added on February 22, 2007, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Feb 22 2007, 06:41 PM)
hmm i need some assistant for the paper 2.6 PYQ and answer. it seem that the accaglobal website doesn't give me this information. those who has downloaded it pls provide to me thanks thanks
in fact the website got provide..but u need to go thru many steps to get the past year and i had done that for u... tongue.gif

go to the following link to get the past year for 2.6(msia variant)...

http://www.accaglobal.com/students/study_e...exam_papers/mys

This post has been edited by coolly: Feb 22 2007, 09:58 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0490sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:45 PM