Cutting Acrylic, cutting blowhole/straight line

TScoolice
post Dec 8 2006, 08:44 PM, updated 20y ago

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

plan to cut my acrylic soon but dono wat tool to use,any idea?prefer hand cut coz i heard tat using rotary tool will result the acrylic melt
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 8 2006, 08:56 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 8 2006, 08:44 PM)
plan to cut my acrylic soon but dono wat tool to use,any idea?prefer hand cut coz i heard tat using rotary tool will result the acrylic melt
try using a plastic cutter? or a small saw?
TScoolice
post Dec 8 2006, 09:40 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 8 2006, 08:56 PM)
try using a plastic cutter? or a small saw?
plastic cutter can cut blowhole?
shinobikit
post Dec 8 2006, 09:42 PM

Honey Bunny
900 posts

brother... where did u buy acrylic ah?
hows the price?

*edit* typo

This post has been edited by shinobikit: Dec 8 2006, 09:42 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 8 2006, 09:56 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 8 2006, 09:40 PM)
u can use a saw for that.
i dunno what u call them, but u can
serez
post Dec 12 2006, 09:47 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

ya.. me oso plan tu cut some blowholes for my existing arcrylic.. wanna send to uncle ianho.. he`s too busy meh.. hehe.. i do want to experience the mod myself.. but not sure what tools can use to cut it..
ynneb25
post Dec 12 2006, 12:45 PM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Dec 12 2006, 09:47 AM)
ya.. me oso plan tu cut some blowholes for my existing arcrylic.. wanna send to uncle ianho.. he`s too busy meh.. hehe.. i do want to experience the mod myself.. but not sure what tools can use to cut it..
can use rotary tool....just lower the rpm so it doesn't melt the acrylic lo...
can also use the coping saw (like what allngap uses if i am not mistaken)
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 12 2006, 08:18 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Dec 12 2006, 09:47 AM)
i guess u can go around finding for a hole saw?
can cut blow holes.
Westley
post Dec 12 2006, 08:40 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 12 2006, 08:18 PM)
i guess u can go around finding for a hole saw?
can cut blow holes.
u can use 2 tools, 1st hole saw.
but this is limited to only one cutting, a round shape with fixed size.

2nd, scroll saw, to use it, 1st, drill a small hole, then put the saw in the hole and start sawing.
it hv 2 types, the classical by hand, and a desktop version from proxxon.

mamadox
post Dec 12 2006, 08:51 PM

227 posts

if u want to make hole u can us small saw... it length around 6" only.. just make small hole then use the saw
HexPhoenix
post Dec 12 2006, 10:35 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 8 2006, 10:40 PM)
can what... but i call it acrylic cutter. very damn expensive.... better use coping saw....

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Dec 8 2006, 10:42 PM)
brother... where did u buy acrylic ah?
hows the price?
*edit* typo
custom frame shop

E-J@1
post Dec 12 2006, 11:14 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Dec 12 2006, 08:40 PM)
u can use 2 tools, 1st hole saw.
but this is limited to only one cutting, a round shape with fixed size.

2nd, scroll saw, to use it, 1st, drill a small hole, then put the saw in the hole and start sawing.
it hv 2 types, the classical by hand, and a desktop version from proxxon.

does it cost u much for the 2 tools?
sniper on the roof
post Dec 15 2006, 03:12 PM

23,414 posts

I used this...

Scrap straight line a couple of times guided by metal ruler and snap...nice and straight.
TScoolice
post Dec 15 2006, 04:32 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 15 2006, 03:12 PM)
I used this...

Scrap straight line a couple of times guided by metal ruler and snap...nice and straight.
got bigger pic for the blade? biggrin.gif
edited:wat is the max thickness this blade can cut?

This post has been edited by coolice: Dec 15 2006, 04:34 PM
sniper on the roof
post Dec 15 2006, 04:38 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 15 2006, 04:32 PM)
got bigger pic for the blade? biggrin.gif
edited:wat is the max thickness this blade can cut?
Found this pic on the web... but it's the same thing as what I used.

Only for cutting straight lines though.... for acrylic up to 10mm thick... ya gotta scrap through about 2/3 of the thickness and just snap the acrylic in 2.

TScoolice
post Dec 15 2006, 04:44 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 15 2006, 04:38 PM)
Found this pic on the web... but it's the same thing as what I used.

Only for cutting straight lines though.... for acrylic up to 10mm thick... ya gotta scrap through about 2/3 of the thickness and just snap the acrylic in 2.
tqtq rclxms.gif
any idea about cutting blowhole?
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 15 2006, 06:30 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 15 2006, 04:44 PM)
tqtq rclxms.gif
any idea about cutting blowhole?
this is the roundup tongue.gif

1. Dremel (aka rotary tool)
2.Hole Saw. (not too sure where to find this. the biggest size ive found so far is 60mm)
3.a saw (the one with the flexible blade. i dunno the name, but i have one at home tongue.gif)
4.some dude used a grinder. but im not too sure thats too suitable with acrylic

anyhoo, thats it i guess cool2.gif
Westley
post Dec 15 2006, 10:45 PM

Night Crawler...
Store Representative
679 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 12 2006, 11:14 PM)
does it cost u much for the 2 tools?
blow hole just cost around 100, plus with a nice drill, about 150~

but the 2nd tools, scroll saw will cost few K.
so, my advice is but the classic scroll saw, release ur man power. flex.gif
bombman
post Dec 16 2006, 02:41 AM

Xtreme Modding™
991 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 15 2006, 03:12 PM)
I used this...

Dats the Plastic Cutter. Well-known brands u can find in market r SELLERY & Tajima. Guess dis question hav bn ans manył times though laugh.gif

I'd also like 2 clarify it's for straight lines only as u need 2 snap afterwards.

The other thing is DREMEL is just a brand of rotary tool; there r many others. So it's better 2 mention rotary tool rather than DREMEL

This post has been edited by bombman: Dec 16 2006, 02:41 AM
j@y !!!
post Dec 16 2006, 01:50 PM

215 posts

i use this woo, angle grinder... use this to cut a hole!

then gosok with this one to make it more round...

i try already no problem, good so thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

see this!
TScoolice
post Dec 16 2006, 02:18 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(j@y !!! @ Dec 16 2006, 01:50 PM)
i use this woo, angle grinder... use this to cut a hole!

then gosok with this one to make it more round...

i try already no problem, good so thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

see this!
u r cutting metal doh.gif ,but great blowhole there,very round rclxms.gif
neway..how much u get the angle grinder
DaRkSyThE
post Dec 16 2006, 03:26 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 16 2006, 02:18 PM)
he used to cut acrylic too dude
j@y !!!
post Dec 16 2006, 03:42 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Dec 16 2006, 03:18 PM)
i cut acrylic too... i dont know the price leh, cos that is old de, last time my dad bought!
Gundamcool
post Dec 19 2013, 10:25 PM

23 posts

We are selling all type of rotary tool, Carving tool and etc. Suitable for DIY purpose

http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/touchdiy.htm

Feel free to drop by our shop for the tool you all need

EH Global @ Touch D.I.Y
Block 10-8-8, Queen's Avenue, Jalan Bayam,
Off Jalan Peel, Cheras 55100 Kuala Lumpur,
Malaysia.

Business Hour:
Monday - Friday 9am-6.30pm

We accept Credit Card, Cash or Bank Transfer.

Email: eric@touchdiy.com

0.0222sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:11 AM