Feedback for Peugeot 208, Is it worth to buy a secondhand 208?
Dec 5 2015, 11:35 AM, updated 11y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
0 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
hi guys, would like to hear opinion from peugeot 208 owner,ex-owner or anybody that know about the car. Is it a good continental car or is it a very problematic and high running cost in terms of services? looking to buy a secondhand peugeot 208 and there is alot of them selling in a very reasonable price and used for only 1-2 Years with warranty. Its very tempting but it sounds kinda fishy because who bought a car to used for only 1-2 years? Unless there is a lot of rich dudes out there
Dec 5 2015, 03:03 PM
4,072 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: μετά |
QUOTE(nikko91111 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:35 PM) hi guys, would like to hear opinion from peugeot 208 owner,ex-owner or anybody that know about the car. Is it a good continental car or is it a very problematic and high running cost in terms of services? looking to buy a secondhand peugeot 208 and there is alot of them selling in a very reasonable price and used for only 1-2 Years with warranty. Its very tempting but it sounds kinda fishy because who bought a car to used for only 1-2 years? Unless there is a lot of rich dudes out there if u no need work, and got heaps of free time, and love going to service centres,yes it is the perfect car. all their cars got problem, and when got problem, they (SC) don't admit it. I have been driving around with this timebomb for 1 week. acceleration slow, clunking suspension, etc » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 3 years of problems. |
Dec 8 2015, 09:06 AM
291 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Kedai Bakuteh Ah Kau Pte. Ltd. |
QUOTE(springfall @ Dec 5 2015, 03:03 PM) if u no need work, and got heaps of free time, and love going to service centres, Engine check light lit you mean? What's the problem? yes it is the perfect car. all their cars got problem, and when got problem, they (SC) don't admit it. I have been driving around with this timebomb for 1 week. acceleration slow, clunking suspension, etc » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 3 years of problems. How do you find the workmanship and the service quality of the after sales service? |
Dec 8 2015, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Dec 8 2015, 11:06 AM) Engine check light lit you mean? What's the problem? so many problem that even the sc don't know what they are doing.How do you find the workmanship and the service quality of the after sales service? fix 1 item, break another item, then want to fix say tungu next milage service. workmanship win liao, send service, break something else, then ask to pay as they dont admit. after sales service makes you want to go else where fix, try pj then glenmarie still not good, now finding another one. sometimes it makes you want to go kedai uncle, at least they fix better than sc.. If I truly know what the problem is, I don't need send SC already, sendiri fix better. |
Dec 8 2015, 11:04 AM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kajang |
QUOTE(springfall @ Dec 8 2015, 10:26 AM) so many problem that even the sc don't know what they are doing. quite surprise with your issue. so far my family member didnt have any issue regarding warranty claim (308 & 508). off course sc visit is a norm to them. but all the sc honoured their warranty claim (balakong sc).fix 1 item, break another item, then want to fix say tungu next milage service. workmanship win liao, send service, break something else, then ask to pay as they dont admit. after sales service makes you want to go else where fix, try pj then glenmarie still not good, now finding another one. sometimes it makes you want to go kedai uncle, at least they fix better than sc.. If I truly know what the problem is, I don't need send SC already, sendiri fix better. from electrical problem..turbo valve..leaking..aircond..all repaired free under warranty. |
Dec 8 2015, 11:29 AM
291 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Kedai Bakuteh Ah Kau Pte. Ltd. |
QUOTE(springfall @ Dec 8 2015, 10:26 AM) so many problem that even the sc don't know what they are doing. Sounds like the quality of service is not much different from P1.fix 1 item, break another item, then want to fix say tungu next milage service. workmanship win liao, send service, break something else, then ask to pay as they dont admit. after sales service makes you want to go else where fix, try pj then glenmarie still not good, now finding another one. sometimes it makes you want to go kedai uncle, at least they fix better than sc.. If I truly know what the problem is, I don't need send SC already, sendiri fix better. But how about the after sales service given by SDAC (Ford)? |
Dec 8 2015, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(theanswer @ Dec 8 2015, 01:04 PM) quite surprise with your issue. so far my family member didnt have any issue regarding warranty claim (308 & 508). off course sc visit is a norm to them. but all the sc honoured their warranty claim (balakong sc). maybe I need go belakong now. PJ and glam from electrical problem..turbo valve..leaking..aircond..all repaired free under warranty. oh running extended warranty now. 2 years used up, now extended (they used to offer extended by paying extra) 2 years. submitting claim slow, apparently is not the SC but the SC runner. he left our claims in his filing for >weeks and we had to chase up. and the extended warranty is not like normal warranty which covers everything. extended only covers what they want. so many items have to fork out etc. tell your family members, 3rd year you fuel pump will break. and peugeot will blame you for keeping your fuel levels low (which I did not) my 3008 and friend 308 both similar time brought, both masuk workshop same time, same issue, same response. GG next time I masuk workshop, suspension koyak (3rd time), turbo maybe koyak, engine oil issues, and check engine issues. last time masuk 3 weeks ago, is overheat, radiator, electronics sensor, piping, etc. My service logbook sangat tebal 1. I feel sad that I am destroying my car's resale value, but this needs to be spoken up, not many people have the time to play in SC, and they think they upgraded from proton/perodua etc. but peugeot is like a downgrade IMO. pay more, still get more problems. Buy peugeot = Buy problems |
Dec 8 2015, 11:38 AM
Validating
1 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
I'm one of the pug 208 owner. Service wise RM500 for normal service and RM1.2k - 1.8k for major service. So far no issue with my car after 2.5 years
Dec 8 2015, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Dec 8 2015, 01:29 PM) Sounds like the quality of service is not much different from P1. dont know about that as I dont own and dont plan to buy a ford.But how about the after sales service given by SDAC (Ford)? coming from straya, I know VW, Ford and Jeep are very notorious. (jeep last month extra famous) in fact they are doing so bad that every program break on TV, will have all 3 company ads, definitely. (is a sign that car not selling well) |
Dec 8 2015, 11:41 AM
Dec 8 2015, 12:31 PM
Dec 8 2015, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(springfall @ Dec 8 2015, 11:36 AM) maybe I need go belakong now. PJ and glam ya..ya extended warranty will happen like that. nway, my family member already looking fwd for a new replacement. dont think they want to form out huge amount of money just to repair here and there after the warranty ends.oh running extended warranty now. 2 years used up, now extended (they used to offer extended by paying extra) 2 years. submitting claim slow, apparently is not the SC but the SC runner. he left our claims in his filing for >weeks and we had to chase up. and the extended warranty is not like normal warranty which covers everything. extended only covers what they want. so many items have to fork out etc. tell your family members, 3rd year you fuel pump will break. and peugeot will blame you for keeping your fuel levels low (which I did not) my 3008 and friend 308 both similar time brought, both masuk workshop same time, same issue, same response. GG next time I masuk workshop, suspension koyak (3rd time), turbo maybe koyak, engine oil issues, and check engine issues. last time masuk 3 weeks ago, is overheat, radiator, electronics sensor, piping, etc. My service logbook sangat tebal 1. I feel sad that I am destroying my car's resale value, but this needs to be spoken up, not many people have the time to play in SC, and they think they upgraded from proton/perodua etc. but peugeot is like a downgrade IMO. pay more, still get more problems. Buy peugeot = Buy problems |
Dec 8 2015, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(theanswer @ Dec 8 2015, 02:32 PM) ya..ya extended warranty will happen like that. nway, my family member already looking fwd for a new replacement. dont think they want to form out huge amount of money just to repair here and there after the warranty ends. yup better sell if can sell.before the log book gains more 'history' of repairs and more word spreads out of the issue. |
Dec 8 2015, 05:03 PM
2,215 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
If you buy a used Pug 208 direct from its owner, you will make him/her very happy.
Dec 9 2015, 08:07 AM
791 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hahaha
want to buy a 308 vti, 3 years old now got 2 years EXTENDED WARRANTY left? has the panaromic roof like turbo, with no issues that plagues the turbo. 40,000km on the clock. give me your offer, bigger car, different class than a 208. |
Dec 9 2015, 12:27 PM
105 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
fancy to look at, but a big no to engine and gearbox...seriously they still use al4 in 2015?
Dec 9 2015, 12:39 PM
512 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
From my test drive. This car actually is a fairly nimble car. But I really dislike the 4 speeder gearbox. The gearing, as you corner, will start hunting for the better gear to use, which is relatively annoying
If they had given this a 6 speed Aisin AT, the car would be so much better to drive. As it is, I'd tell people to just go for the Polo 1.6 if they really insist on a conti B segment. |
Dec 9 2015, 12:40 PM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 9 2015, 12:39 PM) From my test drive. This car actually is a fairly nimble car. But I really dislike the 4 speeder gearbox. The gearing, as you corner, will start hunting for the better gear to use, which is relatively annoying Features and tech wise, the Polo 1.6 is very outdated and inferior compared to the 208If they had given this a 6 speed Aisin AT, the car would be so much better to drive. As it is, I'd tell people to just go for the Polo 1.6 if they really insist on a conti B segment. |
Dec 9 2015, 02:11 PM
371 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Newer generation of Peugeot 208, 308 should have less problem. Currently you can rarely see people selling their 208GTi on Mudah, most are enjoying their ride with minor problem that can be fixed easily. Probably CBU car has better quality. I know is stated as CKD but Naza won't CBU a car that is low volume seller. For CKD 208 though, may be different quality but I was told that it is also CBU with some minor things install in Gurun only.
This post has been edited by Yeapy: Dec 9 2015, 02:14 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:39 AM |