Car yearly maintenance cost

TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 02:18 AM, updated 11 months ago

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Just gathered the receipt in my car's glovebox, for this year (2015) maintenance alone..

After all these there are still parts that needs to be replaced such as the wheel bearings, aircond cooling coil and condenser, absorber.

This is only a 4 year old Peugeot. An average bread and butter european car. I wonder how much do premium european car owner (BMW, Mercedes, Audi etc etc) spend on yearly maintenance alone?

Any owners would like to share theirs?

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 02:21 AM
gahpadu
post Dec 4 2015, 04:14 AM

1,438 posts

Wow...quite expensive to own Pug.

So far ,my 4 years old ford cost around rm1k this year and it already clocked 140k km

This post has been edited by gahpadu: Dec 4 2015, 04:14 AM
Darren
post Dec 4 2015, 08:37 AM

1,324 posts

What tires were you using anyway? 1.4K++ for a pair?

Anyway, prepared to bear the consequence for the so-called premium ride. I think most of the time, you can get away without doing the unnecessary maintenance but if you really like the car and wish to keep it in really good condition, this is the price to pay.

Not sure how much pricing has changed, but I was usually asked to drive the car back after servicing. Normal oil change already >1K 2-3 years ago. Speaking of which, I do noticed that even the Japanese marques had price increase for official sc servicing.
rcracer
post Dec 4 2015, 08:44 AM

?????
3,772 posts

all SC works of course expensive,

toyota also easily reach that fiure
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 4 2015, 08:47 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Battery RM320 fuuuuuuu can tahan up to 5 years?
theanswer
post Dec 4 2015, 08:54 AM

1,024 posts

yep sc price is expensive. unless u'r still under warranty.
yongtan
post Dec 4 2015, 08:57 AM

60 posts

Does the front brake disc and engine mount need to be replaced so early at 77k? Is this a normal routine maintenance for peugeot cars?
speedywinger
post Dec 4 2015, 09:01 AM

33 posts

Wow 3k for tires? That's pretty ex
TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 09:30 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ Dec 4 2015, 08:37 AM)
What tires were you using anyway? 1.4K++ for a pair?

Anyway, prepared to bear the consequence for the so-called premium ride. I think most of the time, you can get away without doing the unnecessary maintenance but if you really like the car and wish to keep it in really good condition, this is the price to pay.

Not sure how much pricing has changed, but I was usually asked to drive the car back after servicing. Normal oil change already >1K 2-3 years ago. Speaking of which, I do noticed that even the Japanese marques had price increase for official sc servicing.
Goodyear Asymmetric 2 225/40/18

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 4 2015, 08:44 AM)

only the oil change was done at SC (for record keeping ), other repair works are done at an outside specialist.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 4 2015, 08:47 AM)
Battery RM320 fuuuuuuu can tahan up to 5 years?
1 year only

TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 09:32 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(yongtan @ Dec 4 2015, 08:57 AM)
Does the front brake disc and engine mount need to be replaced so early at 77k? Is this a normal routine maintenance for peugeot cars?
My front and rear brake disc was badly scratched and I was told not to skim it (all specialist I went told the same thing). So for cost purposes I only did the front ones first as the rear ones are way more expensive than the front.

Yes my mounting crack already

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 09:36 AM

subaru555
post Dec 4 2015, 10:03 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 09:32 AM)
My front and rear brake disc was badly scratched and I was told not to skim it (all specialist I went told the same thing). So for cost purposes I only did the front ones first as the rear ones are way more expensive than the front.

Yes my mounting crack already
to change the engine mount at 77k kms is pretty early. Usually engine mount would fail at 100k - 150k depending on how you drive. Nevertheless, Peugeots are not well known for reliability. Thus, you would spend more than usual to upkeep your ride.

Also, why was your disc brakes badly scratched? Didn't you use the original brake pads? Or was it aftermarket ones?

TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 10:06 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:03 AM)
to change the engine mount at 77k kms is pretty early. Usually engine mount would fail at 100k - 150k depending on how you drive. Nevertheless, Peugeots are not well known for reliability. Thus, you would spend more than usual to upkeep your ride.

Also, why was your disc brakes badly scratched? Didn't you use the original brake pads? Or was it aftermarket ones?
All original, not a single aftermarket part in this car

Well, worse still my Proton had its engine mounting failed at 30k KM, luckily its under warranty

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 10:07 AM
janggutbiru
post Dec 4 2015, 10:10 AM

162 posts

damn espensip.
guanteik
post Dec 4 2015, 10:29 AM

2,656 posts

Great sharing. To be frank, your maintenance is a little at the high side. Of course the maintenance takes into consideration based on the distance traveled too.

I'm driving a 3 year old CC, I spent around 1K for maintenance + brake pads changes for this year alone. I would say newer car needs to maintain less.
kww
post Dec 4 2015, 01:10 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 02:18 AM)
Just gathered the receipt in my car's glovebox, for this year (2015) maintenance alone..

After all these there are still parts that needs to be replaced such as the wheel bearings, aircond cooling coil and condenser, absorber.

This is only a 4 year old Peugeot. An average bread and butter european car. I wonder how much do premium european car owner (BMW, Mercedes, Audi etc etc) spend on yearly maintenance alone?

Nice sharing. I'm also in the mid of clearing all papers in my 7 year old vw polo. Here is breakdown money spent:
- normal service: filter, oil, plug seal rm378
- radiator leak: rm498
- backside itchy, change absorber to Bilstein B8: rm3200
- major service: timing belt, water pump, normal service, all bushes, gear oil, DV, vacuum hoses, spark plugs, 4x Michelin PS3, etc rm7800 rclxub.gif eat ping pong biscuits for few months.
Total in 2014: rm11,876

- normal service: rm550
- change battery (Trane) after 3 years of use: rm404
Total in 2015: rm954
andrekua2
post Dec 4 2015, 01:34 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(subaru555 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:03 AM)

Not really. My previous vios also change engine mounting less than 100K. I do admit I 'FLY' over bumps like rally.

I think in Malaysia hot and humid weather, even rubber products are not spared. They tends to harden after few years especially if you left it to baked in the sun a lot.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 4 2015, 01:34 PM
rcracer
post Dec 4 2015, 01:36 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Dec 4 2015, 01:10 PM)
Nice sharing. I'm also in the mid of clearing all papers in my 7 year old vw polo. Here is breakdown money spent:
- normal service: filter, oil, plug seal rm378
- radiator leak: rm498
- backside itchy, change absorber to Bilstein B8: rm3200
- major service: timing belt, water pump, normal service, all bushes, gear oil, DV, vacuum hoses, spark plugs, 4x Michelin PS3, etc rm7800  rclxub.gif eat ping pong biscuits for few months.
Total in 2014: rm11,876

- normal service: rm550
- change battery (Trane) after 3 years of use: rm404
Total in 2015: rm954
remove the absorbers and tyres, wayyy cheaper than TS
subaru555
post Dec 4 2015, 01:42 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 4 2015, 01:34 PM)
Not really. My previous vios also change engine mounting less than 100K. I do admit I 'FLY' over bumps like rally.

I think in Malaysia hot and humid weather, even rubber products are not spared. They tends to harden after few years especially if you left it to baked in the sun a lot.
yup... definately it depends on the way you drive. My scooby bought brand new to date never had any engine mounting problem. Mileage is now 90k. My previous ride, Alphard can go 130k before I had to change the mounts!

subaru555
post Dec 4 2015, 01:44 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 10:06 AM)
All original, not a single aftermarket part in this car

Well, worse still my Proton had its engine mounting failed at 30k KM, luckily its under warranty
then it's a surprise that the disc is badly scratched. What's more worse is that it's not advisable to skim it. rclxub.gif

Like all continentals, Peugeot are nice to drive but when maintenance kicks in... rclxub.gif
Ginny88
post Dec 4 2015, 02:03 PM

1,032 posts

If this is what you have to pay to maintain a Pug then maintaining a BMW or Merc is less expensive. My brother spends about RM6K a year to maintain his Merc. A BMW owner (3 series) also told me about RM6K. Not sure about Audi.

JunJun04035
post Dec 4 2015, 03:14 PM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

Thus I can conclude free service from authorized SC do play an important role for owning a car?

SO far my fiesta claimed me less than 5k including two sets of wheel(4x MC5, 4xRE003, 2x used original rim), one battery (roadside breakdown on holiday week) for a span of 2.5 year.

Free item I got including free oil change/filter, wiper(front and back), brake pads and rotor skim

Battery if changed in SC also free. Warranty and free service ended tho. And timing belt change is needed in few months time.

This post has been edited by JunJun04035: Dec 4 2015, 03:15 PM
heavensea
post Dec 4 2015, 03:28 PM

9,616 posts

Don't know can I share my exp or not since I pakai Proton only...

Around 6 months, two times of service.
1st semi eo, 2nd fully eo.
Total cost is 400 something, and it would be much cheaper if I can use my own eo..

I guess it will cost around 1k for 1 yr of usage, which including re alignment, balancing or change tires.

Anyway it's my assumption.
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Dec 4 2015, 04:52 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,750 posts

Lucky I m poor fella n drive Axia only..

Service interval every 10k n each service rm 150 - 250 smile.gif
chyu89
post Dec 4 2015, 05:02 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Dec 4 2015, 04:52 PM)
Lucky I m poor fella n  drive Axia only..

Service  interval every  10k n each service rm 150 - 250 smile.gif
Service outside cheaper. below 100 get semi-syncthetic.
tankx3
post Dec 4 2015, 08:13 PM

My kelisa this year more changing of parts..
which are 4 rims (RM300) 4 tyres rm640
Battery rm160 , mounting + gasket rm250
Power window regulator + 2 window rubber rm200
Cushion refurbish RM55 1 PC rear absorber RM90
EO change x3 about RM150 timing belt RM250
Clutch pedal joint RM200 aircon add gas + air filter RM90

which is around total RM2400
Next month exactly 10 years. Maintenance OK?

This post has been edited by tankx3: Dec 4 2015, 08:26 PM
KennyKB
post Dec 4 2015, 09:40 PM

1,765 posts

This was my maintenance cost of my Kia Optima for the last 5 years
2010 (5th year) - RM1600
2011 (6th year) - RM3243
2012 (7th year) - RM2386
2013 (8th year) - RM6429
2014 (9th year) - RM2590

I've excluded tyres as this is a consumable item which will distort maintenance cost. 2013 was unusually high as I suffered a timing belt break which needed some engine repairs.

So in retrospec it doesn't cost a lot to maintain a D segment Korean car as many people fear. Certainly it is much cheaper than maintaining a Conti.

OC4/3
post Dec 4 2015, 10:00 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Dec 4 2015, 04:52 PM)
Lucky I m poor fella n  drive Axia only..

Service  interval every  10k n each service rm 150 - 250 smile.gif
After 5 years all the wear & tear you need to change, that is where it cost $$$ laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Dec 4 2015, 11:06 PM

1,704 posts

Damn so rich! I think you got chopped big time there.

Just oil changed already 500+ & 600+! I only paid <rm190 per oil change and I use 6ltr of FS oil.

Battery also very expensive. Mine is only rm170.

What is that door actuator and regulator until rm2.2k?

Those things costing 4k also are crazy expensive.

Wiper blade and top up aircon also rm268? My wiper blade are only rm10-15 and with rm250 I don't just top up aircon but I changed the whole gas and the compressor oil at already an rather expensive shop some more!
TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 11:13 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 4 2015, 11:06 PM)
Damn so rich! I think you got chopped big time there.

Just oil changed already 500+ & 600+!  I only paid <rm190 per oil change and I use 6ltr of FS oil.

Battery also very expensive. Mine is only rm170.

What is that door actuator and regulator until rm2.2k?

Those things costing 4k also are crazy expensive.

Wiper blade and top up aircon also rm268? My wiper blade are only rm10-15 and with rm250 I don't just top up aircon but I changed the whole gas and the compressor oil at already an rather expensive shop some more!
Oil change is standard pricing at SC, RM300 for 5W30 Total/Mobil1, battery use DIN 66,

Door actuator and module is because the car door electrical system failed, and because of the frameless door design, I cannot open the door because the window wont wind down a little as the system did not register to the computer that the door is being opened

Wiper blade usually around 250-300 a pair, go ask other 308 users, this 30" 26" pair is very hard to get and specialised for only this car..

Early Last year (2014), the coolant pipe burst twice in the period of 1 week, 1k+ once for the repair, so around 2k.. late last year the high pressure fuel pump went dead. Another 2k

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 11:16 PM
6UE5T
post Dec 4 2015, 11:33 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 11:13 PM)
Oil change is standard pricing at SC, RM300 for 5W30 Total/Mobil1,  battery use DIN 66,

Door actuator and module is because the car door electrical system failed, and because of the frameless door design, I cannot open the door because the window wont wind down a little as the system did not register to the computer that the door is being opened

Wiper blade usually around 250-300 a pair, go ask other 308 users, this 30" 26" pair is very hard to get and specialised for only this car..
That's why I never buy oil at SC! laugh.gif They chopped big time. Same oil grade can get for just <rm150, why need to pay so much? Even so, if oil about rm300 then what's the other rm200-300 for? Just oil filter and labor to change it? I paid only rm25 for oil filter and rm20 to change oil at any nearby shop.

Wiper blade so damn expensive?? doh.gif Really cannot buy in other places meh??

Well I never much of a fan of Peugeot in the first place and reading all these info and problems from you make me never want to touch that car even more! I'll just stay with those boring Japanese cars then. biggrin.gif
TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 11:35 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

This is the door module issue

Coolant leak issue

High pressure fuel pump issue, very rough idling

Engine oil leaking

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 11:44 PM
6UE5T
post Dec 4 2015, 11:45 PM

1,704 posts

What year is your Peugeot?
TSBoy96
post Dec 4 2015, 11:46 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 4 2015, 11:45 PM)
What year is your Peugeot?
March 2011. And its a CBU unit. Allthose people saying CKD units are bad because its assembled locally, isnt true at all

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 4 2015, 11:49 PM
6UE5T
post Dec 4 2015, 11:58 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 4 2015, 11:46 PM)
March 2011. And its a CBU unit. Allthose people saying CKD units are bad because its assembled locally, isnt true at all
Phew, only 4 yrs old and already so many problems...
Yeah again Japanese only for me. In fact I'd rather have older more conventional less hi-tech cars of early 2000/late 90s then the current so advanced cars but yet so worrying with all those complicated systems, electronics, and sensors that are headache to repair and cost the bomb!
herojack41
post Dec 5 2015, 12:53 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

tyre and major parts such as engine mounting should not calculate into this graph. as you are not changing this year every single year.

this data is invalid to be calculate as maintenance cost.
cedyy
post Dec 5 2015, 12:59 AM

1,403 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 4 2015, 08:44 AM)

my 5 year old Camry at 210k mileage last month, so far for this year, the maintenance cost less than RM6k (including changing 4 tyres) and all done at Toyota

This post has been edited by cedyy: Dec 5 2015, 01:03 AM
TSBoy96
post Dec 5 2015, 01:10 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 5 2015, 12:53 AM)
tyre and major parts such as engine mounting should not calculate into this graph. as you are not changing this year every single year.

Thus,this is for 2015 only. For last year, other parts like the high pressure pump,coolant, engine oil leak, major service so its +- the cost is around the same this year. For this car the tyres and batteries are a yearly affair

I dont have 2013 and earlier data since that time the car was still under warranty, and yes, so many parts was claimed during warranty period as well

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 5 2015, 01:11 AM
JunJun04035
post Dec 5 2015, 01:26 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:10 AM)
Thus,this is for 2015 only. For last year, other parts like the high pressure pump,coolant, engine oil leak, major service so its +- the cost is around the same this year. For this car the tyres and batteries are a yearly affair

I dont have 2013 and earlier data since that time the car was still under warranty, and yes, so many parts was claimed during warranty period as well
SELLPEUGEOTBUYGODCAR laugh.gif
subaru555
post Dec 5 2015, 01:32 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:10 AM)

This is why people sells off their ride before warranty ends... Same goes with VWs
kkk8787
post Dec 5 2015, 07:31 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Pajero vgt 5 years car. 160k km. This year around 7k for maintainance . Routine servicing every 3 months in service center. Including major service and also they had to replace valve seals in the engine they said leaking, that alone rm3.5k including labour in service center
kkk8787
post Dec 5 2015, 07:34 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

It seems typical japanese toyota and honda still win in yerm of maintainance cost
katsumoto2011
post Dec 5 2015, 07:41 AM

219 posts

average service for a Mercedes for the cheapest a/b class can cost up to rm1700
oil change , oil filter , pollen filter , alignment & balancing
KennyKB
post Dec 5 2015, 10:13 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 5 2015, 12:53 AM)

Tyres shouldn't be calculated as maintenance cost as it is a consumable item and depends on how much you use. It's like the toner you put into your photostat machine. There is also a wide variation in prices according to personal choice. However engine mountings should definitely be under maintenance as a wear and tear or failure part even if it isn't necessary to change every year. Your real cost per year should be averaged over a few years.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Dec 5 2015, 03:23 PM
herojack41
post Dec 5 2015, 10:23 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Dec 5 2015, 12:59 AM)
my 5 year old Camry at 210k mileage last month, so far for this year, the maintenance cost less than RM6k (including changing 4 tyres) and all done at Toyota
doh.gif why tukar tyre also at toyoda?

outside tukar you can easily save few hundred bucks for the 4 bijik of tyre
herojack41
post Dec 5 2015, 10:25 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 5 2015, 07:34 AM)
It seems typical japanese toyota and honda still win in yerm of maintainance cost
no doubt.

10 years old car the major part changed were just alternator and the engine top cover seal

thats all....
all service done outside
kkk8787
post Dec 5 2015, 10:53 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:25 AM)
no doubt.

10 years old car the major part changed were just alternator and the engine top cover seal

thats all....
all service done outside
Japanese cars..
actually I thought korean maintainance caught up with Japanese already? seems Japanese still have the upper hand.
Wonder how is Proton's maitainance at 10 years
herojack41
post Dec 5 2015, 10:57 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:53 AM)
Japanese cars..
actually I thought korean maintainance caught up with Japanese already? seems Japanese still have the upper hand.
kimchi not sure......it have more complex system than sushi.

proton? at scrapyard ady how to maintain? laugh.gif
andrekua2
post Dec 5 2015, 01:30 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:53 AM)
Japanese cars..
Koreans are cheaper to service since they dont really check much. Just simple oil change. Of course, Im saying this based on Hyundai Sonata which I sent to authorized SC to service.

As for parts, they are still slightly expensive for common parts like bumpers, headlight, tail light, etc. However when it comes to rare parts like windscreen, sunroof, etc, the figure start to fly over the roof. Sonata windshield cost 1.8K while Camry cost RM900 (IIRC). One might argue that some Koreans part are higher quality like with DRL, projector headlamp instead of reflector on common Toyota and Honda or windshield that came with rain sensor. However you do find rare occurrence where Koreans are cheaper to maintain when it comes to accessories. Usually if you had problem with Honda/Toyota side mirror LED etc, you had to change the whole unit. Koreans had the LED only module.
kkk8787
post Dec 5 2015, 01:35 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:30 PM)
Koreans are cheaper to service since they dont really check much. Just simple oil change. Of course, Im saying this based on Hyundai Sonata which I sent to authorized SC to service.

As for parts, they are still slightly expensive for common parts like bumpers, headlight, tail light, etc. However when it comes to rare parts like windscreen, sunroof, etc, the figure start to fly over the roof. Sonata windshield cost 1.8K while Camry cost RM900 (IIRC). One might argue that some Koreans part are higher quality like with DRL, projector headlamp instead of reflector on common Toyota and Honda or windshield that came with rain sensor. However you do find rare occurrence where Koreans are cheaper to maintain when it comes to accessories. Usually if you had problem with Honda/Toyota side mirror LED etc, you had to change the whole unit. Koreans had the LED only module.
So if wanna jaga pocket...japanese still best bet la.

andrekua2
post Dec 5 2015, 01:44 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:35 PM)
So if wanna jaga pocket...japanese still best bet la.
Not really. Koreans are cheaper and have better specs. Now also come with 5 years warranty. If you are lucky, like now, KIA comes with 3 years/60K free service.

Japanese are better for those who change car regularly, like every 3-4 years.
kkk8787
post Dec 5 2015, 02:21 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:44 PM)
Not really. Koreans are cheaper and have better specs. Now also come with 5 years warranty. If you are lucky, like now, KIA comes with 3 years/60K free service.

Japanese are better for those who change car regularly, like every 3-4 years.
I tot long term reliability japs better...lets say keeping more than 10 years
cedyy
post Dec 5 2015, 05:10 PM

1,403 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 5 2015, 10:23 AM)
doh.gif why tukar tyre also at toyoda?

outside tukar you can easily save few hundred bucks for the 4 bijik of tyre
dont' you know that Toyota is having tyre promotion and the price is as competitive as outside? the promotion is still ongoing. furthermore can pay credit card. outside tyre shop want to charge surcharge

This post has been edited by cedyy: Dec 5 2015, 05:11 PM
herojack41
post Dec 5 2015, 06:51 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Dec 5 2015, 05:10 PM)
dont' you know that Toyota is having tyre promotion and the price is as competitive as outside? the promotion is still ongoing. furthermore can pay credit card. outside tyre shop want to charge surcharge
U also will say got promotion.

Promotion is not forever
voscar
post Dec 5 2015, 11:06 PM

1,524 posts

over 12 years of ownership, average yearly maintenance for my previous audi 100 is around rm4k (divided by 12 years). there is once in a time during the ownership having cooling coil replaced, gearbox overhaul, engine major overhaul. but usually those year having the major repair also the bill wouldn't exceed rm8k for that year.
glad that those alternator, aircond compressor, and starter lasts during my ownership, quite reliable for an european car with more than 20 years old...
herojack41
post Dec 6 2015, 11:21 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 5 2015, 10:13 AM)
Tyres shouldn't be calculated as maintenance cost as it is a consumable item and depends on how much you use. It's like the toner you put into your photostat machine. There is also a wide variation in prices according to personal choice. However engine mountings should definitely be under maintenance as a wear and tear or failure part even if it isn't necessary to change every year. Your real cost per year should be averaged over a few years.
Coz my maintenance is like things that required a constant laugh.gif

Engine mouting does not need everynyear to chg laugh.gif
andrekua2
post Dec 6 2015, 01:03 PM

13,470 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Dec 6 2015, 11:21 AM)
Coz my maintenance is like things that required a constant laugh.gif

Engine mouting does not need everynyear to chg laugh.gif
Maintenance does not necessary means constant repair/servicing. Everything that incur extra money to repair or replace are all adding up as maintenance cost.
TRAZE99
post Dec 6 2015, 05:19 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 5 2015, 01:30 PM)

my Peugeot front windscreen already rm2900 plus installation rm3390 (ori la) for model 407. if taiwan made one can get it done within rm2k.

recently one of my peugeot 508 headlight the led rosak ,u know how much per side bo.....cannot replace led alone...need whole set...sc asking for rm4k,,luckily under warranty ...change foc.
full turbo replacement kit ...asking for rm8k from sc.......hopefully my turbo don't kong so fast after warranty...but sure kong ....wear and tear bearing inside the turbo.but outside got made in china copy version only rm2.5k shja (turbo alone).

heard that that the new peugeot 308 lagi jialat,the headlamp no longer use bulb...full LED ...if spoil....buy a brand new headlamps.

TSBoy96
post Jan 15 2016, 02:46 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Starting 2016 with few problems..

In addition to the leaky O rings and TPMS sensor, the aircond compressor/cooling coil/thermostat needs to be checked also, visual inspection todays shows that the coolant level is already at minimum.

Lets see how it goes on from here
wobbles
post Jan 15 2016, 08:20 AM

175 posts

Well, my BMWs (F13, F15 and G12) have full warranty and free parts/oil changes/wear & tear (including disc brakes, pumps, filters even windshield wipers etc, excluding only tyres) for 3 years, so maintenance costs are zero. I hardly keep cars longer than 3 or max 4 years, so no major costs incurred for my modest fleet so far. The incoming W222 has $5000 rebates in service vouchers, so that should last at least a year or two... Fingers crossed haha
JunJun04035
post Jan 15 2016, 08:54 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 15 2016, 02:46 AM)

In addition to the leaky O rings and TPMS sensor, the aircond compressor/cooling coil/thermostat needs to be checked also, visual inspection todays shows that the coolant level is already at minimum.

#sellpijotbuymazda2
amdxp
post Jan 15 2016, 10:24 AM

239 posts

Below is my spending on the SLK 230. This does not incl some mod cost on front lip & bootlid, Roadtax / Ins, car care package etc.

Quite a fair bit for a Merc, but reasonable for a convertible which is > 10 years old wink.gif

azbro
post Jan 15 2016, 12:05 PM

4,403 posts

Mine 4 year old Peugeot 1 year alone more than 10K also.
Turbo koyak about 6K, aircon about 1K (Lucky), Fuel Pump 2k (plus towing), servicing about RM1K.
That's not incl tires etc

Sorry bro, I just sold it off....

I think I've experience enough of "Beli Boleh. Maintain Tak larat"
azbro
post Jan 15 2016, 12:10 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 15 2016, 02:46 AM)

In addition to the leaky O rings
Mine looks like that but worst until can smell burned oil

The problem came from the top turbo hose

If you are lucky, RM600 should cover it.
TSBoy96
post Jan 15 2016, 12:14 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 15 2016, 12:10 PM)
Mine looks like that but worst until can smell burned oil

The problem came from the top turbo hose

If you are lucky, RM600 should cover it.
This one the mechanic said its the O ring behind the oil filter..
azbro
post Jan 15 2016, 12:17 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 15 2016, 12:14 PM)
This one the mechanic said its the O ring behind the oil filter..
a few other areas as well, but if its the Oil filter O ring, than you lucky.

But do check your Turbo hose at the top. That one easy get clogged and become "High Pressure" so the seals leak and you turbo will get broken soon.
TSBoy96
post Feb 20 2016, 12:21 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

18 February 2016

Parts Cost
Engine Exhaust Water Pipe RM 75
Oil Filter Seal Pocket RM70
Engine Water Outlet Tank RM680
Coolant RM35
Brake Vacuum Pump O'ring RM40

Total = RM 1200 including labour and GST

19 February 2016

- Check engine light came up, fault code U1208, P0134, P0135 O2 sensor issues, unplug and plug it back again, reset fault, hope for the best.

- Spotted crack in top engine mounting

This post has been edited by Boy96: Feb 20 2016, 12:22 AM
Thrust
post Feb 20 2016, 08:42 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 20 2016, 12:21 AM)
18 February 2016

Parts Cost
Engine Exhaust Water Pipe RM 75
Oil Filter Seal Pocket RM70
Engine Water Outlet Tank RM680
Coolant RM35
Brake Vacuum Pump O'ring RM40

Total = RM 1200 including labour and GST
19 February 2016

- Check engine light came up, fault code U1208, P0134, P0135 O2 sensor issues, unplug and plug it back again, reset fault, hope for the best.

- Spotted crack in top engine mounting
Bro, if it's an O2 sensor issue better don't play2.. Get it replaced or your engine will suffer a slow death.
JunJun04035
post Feb 20 2016, 08:47 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 20 2016, 08:42 AM)
Bro, if it's an O2 sensor issue better don't play2.. Get it replaced or your engine will suffer a slow death.
not to mention the cat con too
Thrust
post Feb 20 2016, 08:50 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Why Peugeot so many problems punya? I've been driving my Honda for 6 years @ 70k KM & to be honest, nothing needs replacement. Just the regular service cost only.
JunJun04035
post Feb 20 2016, 08:52 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 20 2016, 08:50 AM)
Why Peugeot so many problems punya? I've been driving my Honda for 6 years @ 70k KM & to be honest, nothing needs replacement. Just the regular service cost only.
face prbolem kot laugh.gif

TSBoy96
post Feb 20 2016, 11:14 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Parts baru order, mechanic say if check engine light comes up again then immediately go change..
TSBoy96
post Feb 20 2016, 12:18 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Cause its a Honda, no fancy mancy electronics rolleyes.gif
victor_hoh
post Feb 20 2016, 01:09 PM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

308 is not even a good driving car, to begin with. Harsh ride, average handling. Not worth the money and time. I sold mine 2 years back. Peace of mind.
victor_hoh
post Feb 20 2016, 01:12 PM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 20 2016, 12:18 PM)
Cause its a Honda, no fancy mancy electronics  rolleyes.gif
Those problems u faced, like leaking oil, leaking coolant, brake disc premature failure, are not electronic related also. O2 sensor is common on most cars.

This post has been edited by victor_hoh: Feb 20 2016, 01:12 PM
kluseng
post Feb 20 2016, 02:27 PM

473 posts

Among Conti cars French cars are more problematic than VW or Ford. I think they just don't bother to tropicalize the parts for tropical climate. The problem with Ford are mainly DCT related and with VW DSG related. If die die must buy a Conti car I would go for Ford > VW > Peugeot in that order with Pug think 100 times first.

RM10K a year to maintain a normal family car is ridiculous. You may as well maintain a Merc or BMW.

The new Focus 1.5L turbo with normal 6 speed AT may remove worries about reliability so those who want to try a powerful Conti car without losing sleep over maintenance can consider it. Provided you don't mine the super low resale value of course.

This post has been edited by kluseng: Feb 20 2016, 02:33 PM
Ginny88
post Feb 20 2016, 02:36 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Jan 15 2016, 08:54 AM)
#sellpijotbuymazda2
Good advice from a keyboard warrior! But why mazda 2? Should be Ford Fiesta you traitor! biggrin.gif
JunJun04035
post Feb 20 2016, 02:45 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Feb 20 2016, 02:36 PM)
Good advice from a keyboard warrior! But why mazda 2? Should be Ford Fiesta you traitor!  biggrin.gif
you do really work hard to amuse me, gooooood booooiiii.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
come i clap for you

joke aside, since mazda2 is so much better than fiesta, why can't I recommend one?
JunJun04035
post Feb 20 2016, 02:48 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Feb 20 2016, 02:27 PM)
Among Conti cars French cars are more problematic than VW or Ford. I think they just don't bother to tropicalize the parts for tropical climate. The problem with Ford are mainly DCT related and with VW DSG related. If die die must buy a Conti car I would go for Ford > VW > Peugeot in that order with Pug think 100 times first.

RM10K a year to maintain a normal family car is ridiculous. You may as well maintain a Merc or BMW.

The new Focus 1.5L turbo with normal 6 speed AT may remove worries about reliability so those who want to try a powerful Conti car without losing sleep over maintenance can consider it. Provided you don't mine the super low resale value of course.
free maintenance plan still intact?
TSBoy96
post Feb 20 2016, 02:53 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Feb 20 2016, 02:36 PM)
Good advice from a keyboard warrior! But why mazda 2? Should be Ford Fiesta you traitor!  biggrin.gif
Because why would you need 2 Fiesta's.. whistling.gif

Ginny88
post Feb 20 2016, 03:58 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(JunJun04035 @ Feb 20 2016, 02:45 PM)
you do really work hard to amuse me, gooooood booooiiii.
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
come i clap for you
joke aside, since mazda2 is so much better than fiesta, why can't I recommend one?
In that case take this advice #sellfofibuymazda2 brows.gif
acbc
post Feb 20 2016, 04:02 PM

9,041 posts

I replaced the brake pads for my 3008 outside at RM 700 plus skimming. Front is Brembo and rear is Bosch.
Thrust
post Feb 20 2016, 06:28 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Feb 20 2016, 04:02 PM)
I replaced the brake pads for my 3008 outside at RM 700 plus skimming. Front is Brembo and rear is Bosch.
Ohh man.. Brembo sucks. Very noisy pads. Cannot tahan & switched back to original pads.
heavensea
post Feb 20 2016, 10:11 PM

9,616 posts

Power of dream mah.
mytaffeta
post Feb 21 2016, 05:00 PM

1,325 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 20 2016, 06:28 PM)
Ohh man.. Brembo sucks. Very noisy pads. Cannot tahan & switched back to original pads.
u prefer nissin than 3rd party brand? currently using pumatec, bad experience with this pad, overheat when turun genting..
Thrust
post Feb 21 2016, 07:26 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Feb 21 2016, 05:00 PM)
u prefer nissin than 3rd party brand? currently using pumatec, bad experience with this pad, overheat when turun genting..
Currently using original pads.. Nothing beats them in terms of comfort, noise & reliability.
TSBoy96
post Feb 26 2017, 04:04 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Now that 2017 have arrived, here's the total maintenance cost for the Peugeot in 2016

Jan 2016

Tyre Pressure Monitoring fault, cost to repair, RM600 EACH
Solution: Disable the system all together = RM20

Feb 2016

-Oil filter housing gasket RM80
- thermostat housing 450+gst coolent 80

total RM 867

- parts listed in this post https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=78779345

total RM1200

May 2016

Cooling coil failure + full aircond service - RM2.3K

July 2016

Top Engine Mount - RM450

August 2016

90k periodic maintenance service - RM600

December 2016

alternator repair 750
,radiator repair400,
battery 380,
coolent85,
engineoil 100
labour 200

total RM 1915

=============================================

TOTAL overall cost for 2016 = RM 7400 ±

To start 2017 off, engine fault came on again, OBD konk which cause the diagnostic machine to be unable to find what was the actual fault + probably bearing issue from the front wheels + major service 100k.. we will see soon how much will it cost later..

This post has been edited by Boy96: Feb 26 2017, 05:07 AM
Chester
post Feb 26 2017, 09:35 AM

2,380 posts

Faulty o2sensor will spoil the engine?
Thrust
post Feb 26 2017, 10:23 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Feb 26 2017, 09:35 AM)
Faulty o2sensor will spoil the engine?
Yup but most likely in the long run.. Faulty O2 sensor will cause the engine to not operate within the ideal condition (it could cause your ECU to pump more fuel or less fuel cause the engine to run ric or lean. Fuel consumption will go up, carbon build up within the engine, it will run rough & subsequently causes other problems.
Chester
post Feb 26 2017, 11:35 AM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 26 2017, 10:23 AM)
Yup but most likely in the long run.. Faulty O2 sensor will cause the engine to not operate within the ideal condition (it could cause your ECU to pump more fuel or less fuel cause the engine to run ric or lean. Fuel consumption will go up, carbon build up within the engine, it will run rough & subsequently causes other problems.
I see.. i tot only the o2 distribution will not be accurate but dint know it would cause other prob.. tq bro
riezzien
post Feb 26 2017, 11:55 AM

107 posts

my 4 years w204 yearly 4k.
thats using hss service centre.
if other much cheaper
mars2003
post Feb 26 2017, 01:02 PM

123 posts

Why u keep paying for most of the stuff when your car is under warranty?
post Feb 26 2017, 01:08 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 26 2017, 04:04 AM)
Now that 2017 have arrived, here's the total maintenance cost for the Peugeot in 2016

Jan 2016

Feb 2016

total RM 867

- parts listed in this post https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=78779345

total RM1200

May 2016

July 2016

Top Engine Mount - RM450

August 2016

December 2016

alternator repair 750
,radiator repair400,
battery 380,
coolent85,
engineoil 100
labour 200

total RM 1915

To start 2017 off, engine fault came on again, OBD konk which cause the diagnostic machine to be unable to find what was the actual fault + probably bearing issue from the front wheels + major service 100k.. we will see soon how much will it cost later..
Damn bro, felt sorry for you for owning a lemon car. I think among all the conti cars, french cars are the most problematic. Had my fair share of spending money to maintain a BMW E60. Only thing that costed me an arm and a leg is the high pressure fuel pump, electric water pump and the active steering sensor (recond). That was the only expensive fix. Others are the usual wear and tear parts
TSBoy96
post Feb 26 2017, 01:15 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Feb 26 2017, 01:02 PM)
Why u keep paying for most of the stuff when your car is under warranty?
It's already out of warranty since 2014, one of the last batches to only get 3 years warranty
kluseng
post Feb 26 2017, 02:18 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ Feb 26 2017, 01:08 PM)
Damn bro, felt sorry for you for owning a lemon car. I think among all the conti cars, french cars are the most problematic. Had my fair share of spending money to maintain a BMW E60. Only thing that costed me an arm and a leg is the high pressure fuel pump, electric water pump and the active steering sensor (recond). That was the only expensive fix. Others are the usual wear and tear parts
I don't think his Peugeot is a lemon car. It's just an average Peugeot.

SUSbluecar
post Feb 27 2017, 11:59 AM

23 posts

Jan 2016

Feb 2016

total RM 867

December 2016

alternator repair 750
,radiator repair400,
battery 380,
coolent85,
engineoil 100
labour 200

total RM 1915

Why coolant change twice?
mastedo
post Feb 27 2017, 01:22 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(bluecar @ Feb 27 2017, 12:59 PM)
Maybe because the first one change oil filter housing n thermostat housing.
Second change radiator.

But change radiator if the coolant still ok still can use back.
TSBoy96
post Feb 27 2017, 02:57 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(bluecar @ Feb 27 2017, 11:59 AM)
QUOTE(mastedo @ Feb 27 2017, 01:22 PM)
Maybe because the first one change oil filter housing n thermostat housing.
Second change radiator.

But change radiator if the coolant still ok still can use back.
Correct, but changed the radiator because the coolant had leaked again

In the 6 year life of this car , coolant had been changed for around 6 times already. All due to leaks from different different areas and hoses
SUSMatrix
post Feb 27 2017, 03:06 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Jan 2016

Feb 2016

total RM 867

total RM1200

May 2016

July 2016

Top Engine Mount - RM450

August 2016

December 2016

alternator repair 750
,radiator repair400,
battery 380,
coolent85,
engineoil 100
labour 200

total RM 1915

6 years old car...same like My Inspira. Only go SC every 8 to 9 months, if rajin, every 6 months. Probably RM 1K or less/ year avg. Most expensive ever was lost my stupid remote/immobilizer (RM 600) and change fuel filter (RM 400 i think) all these years. Change tyres no count lah. Battery got replace yes, normal wear and tear.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 27 2017, 03:12 PM
jacobngen87
post Feb 27 2017, 05:55 PM

My 2015 Honda HRV maintenance for year 2016 -> $0

Hahaha

Cos I only drive around 6000km a year

Antzfield
post Feb 27 2017, 06:06 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Feb 26 2017, 11:55 AM)
my 4 years w204 yearly 4k.
thats using hss service centre.
if other much cheaper
Yearly of RM 4k is the normal service costs? How much mileage clocked thus far?

I was made to understand that it costs about RM 1.5k for just normal service at SC at every 12k mileage. True?
riezzien
post Feb 27 2017, 07:41 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Antzfield @ Feb 27 2017, 06:06 PM)
Yearly of RM 4k is the normal service costs? How much mileage clocked thus far?

I was made to understand that it costs about RM 1.5k for just normal service at SC at every 12k mileage. True?
96k.
true
TSBoy96
post Dec 24 2017, 02:32 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

As 2017 draws to an end, i would like to share the maintenance expenses for the year 2017, not just the Peugeot, but all the cars that is in my household.

Peugeot 308CC
- 100k KM service - RM1200
- Suspension works - RM2310.80
- Recall parts 1 (oilcooler adapter, turbo electric coolant pump,
Water pump , breather hose) - FOC
- (pair)HID bulbs – RM 370
- Engine oil topup 3L – RM127
- (pair) Yokohama Advan Fleva – RM 900
- Recall parts 2 ( Waterpump, timing chain, HPFP, Cooling coil, oil pump kit, ECU update) – FOC
- 110k KM service + coolant flush - RM670

Total (round up) : RM 5580

Volkswagen Passat
- Lower Arm Bracket - RM350
- Engine oil topup 1L - RM73
- Century Ultramax Din75 - RM360
- Wheel Speed Sensor – FOC
- 90K KM service - RM1465
- Gasket – Timing Cover, Cam Magnet, O ring - RM180.20
- Mechatronic – FOC
- 97K KM interim service - RM750
- Brembo pads - RM350
- (pair)Michelin PS4 + A/B - RM1610

Total(Round up): RM5140

Ford Fiesta
- 40k KM service + Battery + Driveshaft – FOC
- Brembo Brake pads + Disc Skim + A/B – RM 285
- (2xPair)Yokohama Advan Fleva — RM1300
- 50k KM service – FOC
- TRW pads + rotor - RM450

Total: RM2035

Proton Suprima S
- 60k KM service + Engine Mount + H7 bulb = RM1940.25
- Transmission mount - RM240
- TRW DTEC Pads - RM160
- Fan Relay - RM120
- Fan assembly and harness – Warranty FOC
- Assy Tensioner + Belt + labour - RM350+RM71+RM52
- Seal Cam rocker cover + labour - RM51.5+ RM36.16
- SY Zip Tube - RM82.81
- Battery - RM268 + RM13
- ISO mini relay - RM101.42
- 65k (70k) km Service – RM 284
- Fuel Tank replacement – RM 878.
- (2xPair)Bridgestone RE003 - Rm1.1k

Total: RM5750

The Peugeot is due for an appointment to check for engine oil leaks this coming Wednesday, they have extended the warranty for 7 years so hopefully it will be covered. Pug also needs new rear brake pads and a pair of new tyres for the front

The Proton is also in need of a new rear brake pads.

This post has been edited by Boy96: Dec 24 2017, 02:48 AM
lemonish
post Feb 19 2019, 11:45 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 24 2017, 02:32 AM)
As 2017 draws to an end, i would like to share the maintenance expenses for the year 2017, not just the Peugeot, but all the cars that is in my household.
Peugeot 308CC
- Suspension works  - RM2310.80
Water pump , breather hose) -  FOC
- Recall parts 2 ( Waterpump, timing chain, HPFP, Cooling coil, oil pump kit, ECU update) – FOC

Volkswagen Passat
- Mechatronic – FOC
- Brembo pads - RM350

Total(Round up):  RM5140

Ford Fiesta
- 50k KM service – FOC

Proton Suprima S
- TRW DTEC Pads - RM160
- Fan Relay - RM120
- SY Zip Tube - RM82.81
- Battery - RM268 + RM13

The Peugeot is due for an appointment to check for engine oil leaks this coming Wednesday, they have extended the warranty for 7 years so hopefully it will be covered. Pug also needs new rear brake pads and a pair of new tyres for the front

Waa bro, you've done an excellent job at keeping track at all the cars you & your fam owns. Respect to you sir.
Plus you must've learned a lot of technical stuffs doing all this. what an experience.

not to mention can t̶o̶u̶g̶e̶ test driving dynamics for all the cars also thumbup.gif
ah_suknat
post Feb 19 2019, 12:34 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 23 2017, 06:32 PM)
Peugeot 308CC

Volkswagen Passat
- Mechatronic – FOC
- Brembo pads - RM350

Ford Fiesta
- 50k KM service – FOC

Proton Suprima S
- TRW DTEC Pads - RM160
- Fan Relay - RM120
- SY Zip Tube - RM82.81
- Battery - RM268 + RM13

Wow...you bought all infamous cars..peugeot, ford, proton, vw...haha..

Buy a japanese and you would be less headache.
TSBoy96
post Feb 19 2019, 09:03 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Feb 19 2019, 11:45 AM)
Waa bro, you've done an excellent job at keeping track at all the cars you & your fam owns. Respect to you sir.
Plus you must've learned a lot of technical stuffs doing all this. what an experience.

not to mention can t̶o̶u̶g̶e̶ test driving dynamics for all the cars also  thumbup.gif
Thanks for bumping this thread , I have forgotten about this thread that i made lol. Anyways, for 2018. Here are the expenses

CAR MAINTENANCE EXPENSES 2018

Ford (mileage 77k km)
Alignment balancing - RM70
70k km service - RM320
GE +130 H7 Bulb - RM110
Alignment + balancing + brakepads - RM360

Total = RM 860

Proton (mileage 81k km)
70k KM service - RM302.25
Head Unit blow – FOC WARRANTY
80k km svc (EO, PSFLuid, Brake Fluid, OCH) - RM512.13
Rear brake pad - RM120
Continental Mc5 - RM660

Total = RM 1595

VW (mileage 115k km)
Century Ultramax RM380
O2 sensor - RM700+
Ignition coil - RM700
Oil Seperator PCV - RM280
Repair ECU & replace Coolant temp sensor - RM500
Fan Belt - RM65
ALTERNATOR pulley - RM280
Wheel bearing - RM260
111k km service (EO, brake fluid, cabin filter, spark plug) - RM1545
Osram D3S HID – RM 180
Water pump related parts & timing cover gasket - RM1740

Total = RM 6630

Peugeot (mileage 127k km)
- Overhaul (Cylinder head gasket, Rocker covet gasket, Set of Valve Stem Seal, Set of piston rings, cylinder head fixing assembly, water exhaust bypass pipe, turbo lubrication pipe, oil return hose, lubrication end screw gasket, engine water end piece gasket, crankshaft seal, EO svc , fuse, rear brake pad, door stop, air filter) – RM 4245
- Battery AMARON - RM340
- (Pair) Yokohama Advan Fleva - RM850
- Recon alternator & coolant pipe - RM1000
- New ECU & Low Pressure fuel pump – RM 5812

Total = RM 12,247
lemonish
post Feb 25 2019, 12:29 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 19 2019, 09:03 PM)
Thanks for bumping this thread , I have forgotten about this thread that i made lol. Anyways, for 2018. Here are the expenses

Ford (mileage 77k km)
70k km service - RM320
GE +130 H7 Bulb - RM110

Total = RM 860

Proton (mileage 81k km)
70k KM service  - RM302.25
Rear brake pad - RM120
Continental Mc5 - RM660

Total = RM 1595

VW (mileage 115k km)
Century Ultramax RM380
O2 sensor - RM700+
Ignition coil - RM700
Fan Belt - RM65
ALTERNATOR  pulley - RM280
Wheel bearing - RM260
Osram D3S HID – RM 180

Total = RM 6630

- Overhaul (Cylinder head gasket, Rocker covet gasket, Set of Valve Stem Seal, Set of piston rings, cylinder head fixing assembly, water exhaust bypass pipe, turbo lubrication pipe, oil return hose, lubrication end screw gasket, engine water end piece gasket, crankshaft seal, EO svc , fuse, rear brake pad, door stop, air filter) – RM 4245
- Battery AMARON - RM340
-  New ECU & Low Pressure fuel pump – RM 5812

Total = RM 12,247
I can see for the year 2018, VW's maintenance cost is only half scary as Peugeot sweat.gif
kluseng
post Feb 25 2019, 03:27 PM

473 posts

- Battery AMARON - RM340

Total = RM 12,247
127K km is very soon for an overhaul. To a Jap car overhaul is only considered after 300k km and even then may not be necessary until 400k km.

TSBoy96
post Feb 25 2019, 03:28 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Feb 25 2019, 03:27 PM)
127K km is very soon for an overhaul. To a Jap car overhaul is only considered after 300k km and even then may not be necessary until 400k km.
Thats european car for you. Even the VW they recommend timing chain replacement after 100k km

This post has been edited by Boy96: Feb 25 2019, 03:29 PM
doublecool
post Feb 25 2019, 04:02 PM

67 posts

Ford (mileage 77k km)
70k km service - RM320
GE +130 H7 Bulb - RM110

Total = RM 860

Proton (mileage 81k km)
Rear brake pad - RM120
Continental Mc5 - RM660

Total = RM 1595

VW (mileage 115k km)
Century Ultramax RM380
O2 sensor - RM700+
Ignition coil - RM700
Fan Belt - RM65
Wheel bearing - RM260
Osram D3S HID – RM 180

Total = RM 6630

- Battery AMARON - RM340

Total = RM 12,247
For the maintenance cost you can get a new car already, no mocking but is it worth it?
kluseng
post Feb 25 2019, 11:09 PM

473 posts

Actually, maintaining a Peugeot can already maintain a BMW 3 series so why not buy a cheap second hand 3 series and drive that instead?

TSBoy96
post Feb 25 2019, 11:30 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(doublecool @ Feb 25 2019, 04:02 PM)
For the maintenance cost you can get a new car already, no mocking but is it worth it?
QUOTE(kluseng @ Feb 25 2019, 11:09 PM)
Actually, maintaining a Peugeot can already maintain a BMW 3 series so why not buy a cheap second hand 3 series and drive that instead?
This isnt an ordinary peugeot, its a limited run 50 unit only in Malaysia. The 3 series is just too common on our roads. So yes we are not trading it for another car.

I dont think u can find other usable 4 seater convertible, with spacious interior and bootspace, the Mazda ND is only 2 seater with small boot.

This post has been edited by Boy96: Feb 25 2019, 11:32 PM
6UE5T
post Feb 26 2019, 08:47 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Feb 25 2019, 12:29 PM)
I can see for the year 2018, VW's maintenance cost is only half scary as Peugeot  sweat.gif
Both are horrible.
thx2012
post Apr 21 2019, 02:15 PM

877 posts

My Myvi 1.5 SE Lagi Best service record

2013 - Cost Rm 100 (Free 5 year Service)
2014 - Cost Rm 100 (Free 5 year Service)
2015 - Cost Rm 800 (Free 5 year Service + Change Tayer)
2016 - Cost Rm 300 (Free 5 year Service + Major Service)
2017 - Cost Rm 100 (Free 5 year Service)
2018 - Cost Rm 400 (Change wear and tear thing)
2019 - Cost Rm 1200 (Change Tayer again + change Brake skin)

Myvi is Lagi Best..... for city drive
gld998
post Apr 22 2019, 07:09 AM

767 posts

QUOTE(thx2012 @ Apr 21 2019, 02:15 PM)

Buying a myvi nao!
yhtan
post Apr 22 2019, 12:46 PM

8,651 posts

QUOTE(thx2012 @ Apr 21 2019, 02:15 PM)

I think u only change absorber right, but not lower arm, driveshaft, link rod, mounting etc.

amad108
post Apr 23 2019, 10:26 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

Myvi?
Why not kancil?
Even cheaper lol..
Tyre only cost rm80-90 similar price with motorcycle cup series..
Engine oil change? Rm50 enough..
But change it clutch plate no so cheap, at rm500+ because rm200 for clutch set and rm300 for labor because need to bring down the whole engine and gbx..
TSBoy96
post Dec 31 2019, 10:06 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

As the year 2019 comes to an end. Heres the figures for this year

Ford Fiesta EcoBoost

- 80K KM service (EO, filter, brake fluid) ,RM482 , 5th Jan
- Battery DIN66 , RM320, 6TH jan
- Raytech Front Window Tint replacement , RM550 (windscreen chg under insurance)
- TOYO Proxes TR1 , RM840
- 90K KM Service (EO, filter) ,RM320, 8th July
- Coolant tank+hose, RM290 19TH Aug

Total= RM 2512

Peugeot 308cc

- 120k km service + GB mounting + gearbox fluid , RM 932, 4th April
- Rooflining replacement , RM400, 6th May
- Reset fault code, topup coolant , FOC, May
- Aircond gas topup 2x , RM60
- Ignition coil (cyl 4), ABS sensor, RM500, 11TH July (tow truck)
- Ignition coil (cyl 2), RM200, 1st August (tow truck)
- Ignition Coil (cyl 1,3), RM480, 8th August
- Front wheel bearing , RM1212, 10th Aug
- On-wheel balancing , RM110, 16TH Aug
- Coolant 2L, RM50
- Aircond compressor+condensor, RM2380,8th Oct
- Drive belt, RM100, 10TH Oct
- 130k km svc, oil filter seal pocket, heater water pipe, turbo intake pipe, coolant 2l, oil filter cover, oil filter housing, degas pipe, RM2162, 30TH nov
- Alignment, balancing, Rims repair (accident), RM270, 8TH dec

Total = RM 8746

Proton Suprima S

- Driver seat repair, RM300, 20TH April
- 90k KM service + CVT oil+ filter , RM600, May
- CVT Dampener recall, FOC, June
- Body panel knock and repaint, RM1300, June
- Service turbo+tb, bulb, topup aircond gas, cvt adaptation , RM380, 30th aug
- Timing belt+waterpump, A/C Condensor+flush, Valve body svc, cvt flush, rear arm, steering rack, wheel alignment RM2647, 6th Nov
- Engine mounting set, RM325.34, 22nd Nov

Total = RM 5172.34

Volkswagen Passat

- Gear linkage rubber, FOC, May (tow truck)
- Topup 1L Petronas EO, RM67, June
- Fuel pump + controller + gasket , VBelt, Belt Tensioner, RM 1558.40, 1st July (tow truck)
- Alignment Balancing, RM75, Aug
- Topup 1L petronas EO, RM40, 29 Aug
- 126k km service (eo+filter), 23 sept, rm468.30

Total = RM 2093.7

GRAND TOTAL = RM18524.04

EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 1 2020, 09:26 AM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 31 2019, 10:06 PM)
As the year 2019 comes to an end.  Heres the figures for this year
Ford Fiesta EcoBoost

- Raytech Front Window Tint replacement , RM550 (windscreen chg under insurance)

Total= RM 2512

Peugeot 308cc

- Coolant 2L, RM50
- 130k km svc, oil filter seal pocket, heater water pipe, turbo intake pipe, coolant 2l, oil filter cover, oil filter housing,  degas pipe, RM2162, 30TH nov

Total = RM 8746

Proton Suprima S

- Timing belt+waterpump, A/C Condensor+flush, Valve body svc, cvt flush, rear arm, steering rack, wheel alignment RM2647, 6th Nov

Total = RM 5172.34

Volkswagen Passat

- Fuel pump + controller + gasket , VBelt, Belt Tensioner, RM 1558.40, 1st July (tow truck)

Total = RM 2093.7

GRAND TOTAL = RM18524.04
Good share .....Looks like Peugeot is still the undisputed champion in service cost?

My own experience with my 408 2.0 (going 160k km) already more than your Passat and/or Fiesta in 2019.

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jan 1 2020, 09:29 AM
SUSDaylight2018
post Jan 2 2020, 07:18 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 24 2017, 02:32 AM)
Peugeot 308CC

Volkswagen Passat
- Mechatronic – FOC
- Brembo pads - RM350

Ford Fiesta
- 50k KM service – FOC

Proton Suprima S
- TRW DTEC Pads - RM160
- Fan Relay - RM120
- SY Zip Tube - RM82.81
- Battery - RM268 + RM13

Ford (mileage 77k km)
70k km service - RM320
GE +130 H7 Bulb - RM110

Total = RM 860

Proton (mileage 81k km)
Rear brake pad - RM120
Continental Mc5 - RM660

Total = RM 1595

VW (mileage 115k km)
Century Ultramax RM380
O2 sensor - RM700+
Ignition coil - RM700
Fan Belt - RM65
Wheel bearing - RM260
Osram D3S HID – RM 180

Total = RM 6630

- Battery AMARON - RM340

Total = RM 12,247
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Dec 31 2019, 10:06 PM)
As the year 2019 comes to an end.  Heres the figures for this year
Ford Fiesta EcoBoost

Total= RM 2512

Peugeot 308cc

- Coolant 2L, RM50
- 130k km svc, oil filter seal pocket, heater water pipe, turbo intake pipe, coolant 2l, oil filter cover, oil filter housing,  degas pipe, RM2162, 30TH nov

Total = RM 8746

Proton Suprima S

Total = RM 5172.34

Volkswagen Passat

Total = RM 2093.7

GRAND TOTAL = RM18524.04
The cost would be cheaper if u bought a lexus/honda/toyota

4WD_er
post Jan 2 2020, 09:31 AM

571 posts

I have sold my Year 2002 Mercedes SLK230 Kompressor after owning it for a good 5.5 years. It's quite an economical car to own as hobby car actually.

Bought in 2014 March (ODO 69k km), sold in 2019 Sep (ODO 124k km).

Year 2014 - RM4,662
-----------
Transmission Fluid -357
Spray Paint -280
O2 Sensor -447.3
Wheel Alignment, Steering Rod, Wheels Balancing -745
Cabin Air Filter, Fuel Filter, Spark Plugs -637.4
Engine Oil -506
Speed Sensor -460
Radiator Coolant Tank -400
Engine Mounts -530
Transmission Mounting -300

Year 2015 - RM4,484
-----------
Power Steering Fluid -50
Wheel Alignment, New Tires -1,100.00
Belts, Tensioner & Bearing -605
Wheel Alignment -26.5
Battery -348
Lower Arm Bushes -1,446.90
Wheel Alignment -26.5
Engine Oil, Oil Filter -343
Cooling System -137.8
Used Yaw Rate Sensor -400

Year 2016 - RM2,679
-----------
Engine Oil, Oil Filter -667.8
Repair 2 Rear Hydraulic -1,262.26
Coils Pack & Spark Plugs -568.48
Wheel Alignment -45
Power Steering hose -135.2

Year 2017 - RM1,375
-----------
Engine Oil, Oil Filter, Transmission Fluid, Windshield Washer Fluid -1,004.98
A/C System -730

Year 2018 - RM2,149
-----------
Cabin Air Filter, Engine Oil, Oil Filter -794.04
Mirror Motor -365.6
Battery -420
Tire(2x), Wheel Alignment, Wheels Balancing -569

Year 2019 - <RM500
-----------
Engine oil change -350
Boot struts -150

Fuel records
-----------

This post has been edited by 4WD_er: Jan 2 2020, 09:36 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 4 2020, 10:49 AM

4,117 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jan 2 2020, 09:31 AM)
I have sold my Year 2002 Mercedes SLK230 Kompressor after owning it for a good 5.5 years.  It's quite an economical car to own as hobby car actually.

Bought in 2014 March (ODO 69k km), sold in 2019 Sep (ODO 124k km).
Year 2014 - RM4,662
-----------
Transmission Fluid -357
Spray Paint          -280
O2 Sensor                -447.3
Wheel Alignment, Steering Rod, Wheels Balancing -745
Cabin Air Filter, Fuel Filter, Spark Plugs        -637.4
Engine Oil                  -506
Speed Sensor          -460
Radiator Coolant Tank  -400
Engine Mounts          -530
Transmission Mounting -300
Year 2015 - RM4,484
-----------
Power Steering Fluid  -50
Wheel Alignment, New Tires -1,100.00
Belts, Tensioner & Bearing -605
Wheel Alignment -26.5
Battery                -348
Lower Arm Bushes -1,446.90
Wheel Alignment -26.5
Engine Oil, Oil Filter -343
Cooling System          -137.8
Used Yaw Rate Sensor -400
Year 2016 - RM2,679
-----------
Engine Oil, Oil Filter    -667.8
Repair 2 Rear Hydraulic -1,262.26
Coils Pack & Spark Plugs -568.48
Wheel Alignment    -45
Power Steering hose    -135.2
Year 2017 - RM1,375
-----------
Engine Oil, Oil Filter, Transmission Fluid, Windshield Washer Fluid -1,004.98
A/C System -730
Year 2018 - RM2,149
-----------
Cabin Air Filter, Engine Oil, Oil Filter          -794.04
Mirror Motor -365.6
Battery        -420
Tire(2x), Wheel Alignment, Wheels Balancing  -569
Year 2019 - <RM500
-----------
Engine oil change -350
Boot struts          -150
Fuel records
-----------
Kind of surprising to see these numbers. Much much lower than one would naturally expect. Hobby car means you drive it occasionally only right?
twincharger07
post Jan 4 2020, 05:23 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jan 4 2020, 10:49 AM)
Kind of surprising to see these numbers. Much much lower than one would naturally expect. Hobby car means you drive it occasionally only right?
Looking at the mileage record per annum about 10k km.. seems like a daily driver
4WD_er
post Jan 4 2020, 06:40 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Jan 4 2020, 05:23 PM)
Looking at the mileage record per annum about 10k km.. seems like a daily driver
Yup, in the beginning of ownership I did drive more. Then slightly less later on. But it's not like those who just buy and keep their hobby car in the garage for viewing only.
unitron
post Jan 10 2020, 10:38 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jan 4 2020, 06:40 PM)
Yup, in the beginning of ownership I did drive more. Then slightly less later on. But it's not like those who just buy and keep their hobby car in the garage for viewing only.
Maintenance done yourself or you have a mechanic that handle the major stuff ?
4WD_er
post Jan 10 2020, 11:58 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jan 10 2020, 10:38 AM)
Maintenance done yourself or you have a mechanic that handle the major stuff ?
All by outside workshop, sometime I did lots of reading before committed to change certain parts. Not all parts need to be replaced with new.

Like the roof cylinders, I sent it over to USA for refurbishment, it cost me only 15-20% of complete replacement.
TSBoy96
post Jan 2 2021, 04:19 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Update for 2020. MCO, WFH, online classes. Car barely moved so maintenance / wear n tear costs for this year was much lower than previous years.

Ford Fiesta

- 100k service+Radiator Fan Assy, 4 Jan, RM320
- EBC brakepads + 1 pc tyre, 15 may, RM530
- Ignition coil, gb oil, brake svc, 6 jun, rm640
- Ignition coil cadic , 8 aug, RM275.50
- 107k km service, 5 oct, RM190.40
- ABS module, 10 oct, RM2000

Total: RM 3955.90

Peugeot 308

- Flywheel oil seal, torque converter oil seal,1l AT GB oil, engine degreaser , 9 Jan, RM1000
- Door Lock Module, 24 Jan, RM942
- Thermostat Housing, Coolant,Hose Clamp, 11 Feb, RM898
- diagnosis wiring/turbo/valve issue , 12 march, rm150
- aircond screw/pipe , 4th may, rm100 (tow)
- ABS sensor, Valve Cover, EO 1L, HID Bulb – 23rd july, rm777
- gear knob, 17 sept, rm30
- service 136k, 18 sept, rm235.15

Total: RM 4132.15

Volkswagen Passat

- Century Ultramax Din66 , 6 March, RM365
- Front hood damper, rear brake pad, 4th May, RM290
- Coolant 2L, 10 july, RM36.60
- Petronas 5w40 1l, RM37
- 140k KM svc, brake fluid, 12 Oct, RM480
- Heater Coolant Flange (tow), 18 Dec, RM260
- Coolant flush, 19 Dec, RM80
- Frt Left ABS sensor, 23 Dec, RM160

Total: RM 1708.60

Proton Suprima

- Coolant hose rm25
- Dayton DT30 tyre (1 set) , july, rm780
- Service+ suspension components- July rm885
- Wiper cap - rm10
- Bulb - rm25
- Alignment b/cing – 23nov, rm50
- Tie rod end – 23 nov, rm160
- Tint bubble – 30 nov, rm190
- Rims + tyre, 25 dec,rm600

Total: RM 2725

Grand total : RM12521.65

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jan 2 2021, 04:21 AM
markblurberry
post Jan 2 2021, 09:17 PM

110 posts

Sold my Nissan cefiro a32 after owning for almost 6 years bought used, then I calculate all my bills from receipt for maintanence and repair, comes to 10K for 6 years ownership - inclusive of complete suspension overhaul and gearbox reconditioned
TSBoy96
post Jan 20 2022, 12:49 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

A little bit late but done calculation for 2021 repair cost. And here it is..

Volkswagen
- Lower coolant water hose, RM 420, 4th Feb
- (Pair) Continental MC6, RM903, 5th Apr
- Waterpump and Coolant related items, Gearshift Linkage , RM 1352, 22nd April
- Alternator repair (carbon brush), RM180, 28TH Sept
- Sunroof cloth, RM200, 28th Sept
- Servis, fuel pump ctrl module, RM550, 22nd Oct
- Hella battery, RM350, 30th Oct
- Fuel pump, RM875, 2nd Nov
- Fuel pump ctrl, EVAP solenoid, Carbon Canister, RM784, 30th Nov

Total = RM 5596

Proton
- EO, Filter, OCV, Valve Cover Gasket, RM 595, 17th Feb
- Century Battery, RM 288, 10th Mar
- Gearbox Full Set, RM 5925, 17th April
- Tyres pair, RM 483, 13TH Aug
- A/C Magnetic Clutch , RM350, 18TH Sept
- Svc 106k km (eo filter), spark plug, RM359, 25th Sep

Total = RM8000

Ford
- Camel Din75 , RM380, 6TH Apr
- Service, Valve Cover, Brake Disc, Brake Pad, Rm 1433.74, 20th April
- Service, Spark Plug , RM 601.7, 30th Oct
Total = RM2415.44

Peugeot
- Service+scan+cabin filter, RM560.30, 31st Aug
- Frt left speed sensor, RM270, 13TH Oct

Total = RM830.3

Grand Total = RM16841.44

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jan 20 2022, 01:38 PM
OrangeGrove
post Jan 20 2022, 12:54 PM

643 posts

My cost of maintenance for 2021.. "0"
Sold my car middle of the year, carless for 6 months.. lol..
blindmutedeaf
post Jan 20 2022, 01:54 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 20 2022, 12:49 PM)
A little bit late but done calculation for 2021 repair cost. And here it is..

Volkswagen
- Lower coolant water hose, RM 420, 4th Feb
- (Pair) Continental MC6, RM903, 5th Apr
- Waterpump and Coolant related items, Gearshift Linkage , RM 1352, 22nd April
- Alternator repair (carbon brush),  RM180, 28TH Sept
- Sunroof cloth, RM200, 28th Sept
- Servis, fuel pump ctrl module, RM550, 22nd Oct
- Hella battery, RM350, 30th Oct
- Fuel pump, RM875, 2nd Nov
- Fuel pump ctrl, EVAP solenoid, Carbon Canister, RM784, 30th Nov

Total = RM 5596
Proton
- EO, Filter, OCV, Valve Cover Gasket, RM 595, 17th Feb
- Century Battery, RM 288, 10th Mar
- Gearbox Full Set, RM 5925, 17th April
- Tyres pair, RM 483, 13TH Aug
- A/C Magnetic Clutch , RM350, 18TH Sept
- Svc 106k km (eo filter), spark plug, RM359, 25th Sep

Total = RM8000

Ford
- Camel Din75 , RM380, 6TH Apr
- Service, Valve Cover, Brake Disc, Brake Pad, Rm 1433.74, 20th April
- Service, Spark Plug , RM 601.7, 30th Oct
Total = RM2415.44

Peugeot
- Service+scan+cabin filter, RM560.30, 31st Aug
- Frt left speed sensor, RM270, 13TH Oct

Total = RM830.3

Grand Total = RM16841.44
after reading your post... looks like passat is not that scary if compare to proton confused.gif
fantastic tracking ts

TSBoy96
post Jan 2 2023, 08:32 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

2022 Car Maintenance full list is here!

babisotong
post Jan 4 2023, 12:33 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 2 2023, 08:32 PM)

walauweh, all your totaled up to 20k per annum to maintain.. ggwp

This post has been edited by babisotong: Jan 4 2023, 12:33 PM
ZzZzz...
post Jan 4 2023, 03:58 PM

Art of Sleeping
1,782 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 2 2023, 08:32 PM)

passat mana?
TSBoy96
post Jan 4 2023, 04:02 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jan 4 2023, 03:58 PM)
passat mana?
Sold it off end of last year
danielcmugen
post Jan 4 2023, 11:48 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Jan 4 2023, 12:33 PM)
walauweh, all your totaled up to 20k per annum to maintain.. ggwp
I think this is the reality of car ownership. I doubt many would be willing to share such detailed breakdown.
myteam94
post Jan 5 2023, 08:36 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jan 4 2023, 03:58 PM)
passat mana?
walao..why your suprima so many thing need to change..

my worst case for preve

2019 - Full set of radiator (RM1K++), gearbox replacement (FOC)
2020 - alternator (RM600-800),
2021 - Aircond full system set (1.2K), new battery (300)
2022 - Change new set of tyre and rear upper arm (1.5k) - bought Potenza RE004
TSBoy96
post Jan 5 2023, 12:18 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Jan 5 2023, 08:36 AM)
walao..why your suprima so many thing need to change..
my worst case for preve

2019 - Full set of radiator (RM1K++), gearbox replacement (FOC)
2020 - alternator (RM600-800),
2021 - Aircond full system set (1.2K), new battery (300)
2022 - Change new set of tyre and rear upper arm (1.5k) - bought Potenza RE004
What year your preve? How come still can get foc gb replacement
myteam94
post Jan 5 2023, 01:10 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 5 2023, 12:18 PM)
What year your preve? How come still can get foc gb replacement
mine 2014 manufacturer year.

2019 was the last year of warranty before expired. Proton COE detected my gb almost end of it line so they suggest to replace it and because they notice my warranty expiring, so kasi tukar saja.
cempedaklife
post Jan 5 2023, 04:22 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

Change engine oil seal and cap. Rm3xx
Change engine oil rm17x

Settle.
babisotong
post Jan 6 2023, 07:09 AM

653 posts

normal service : 300
fix oi leak on oil pump side : 400
ayamxxx
post Jan 7 2023, 09:15 AM

4,040 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 5 2023, 04:22 PM)
Change engine oil seal and cap. Rm3xx
Change engine oil rm17x

Settle.
new to 197k km on end 2014 2.4 Honda Accord.
Regular Fully Syn at every 10k-12k oil interval. Oil bought from Hingan for rm150, sometime Shopee Mall Mizu RM80, after warranty ended
On 2019, changed the 235/45/18 for PS4 RM550 x 4
Driveshaft 3 times under warranty at SC during 5 years old at SC. RM550 driveshaft replaced outside after warranty ended due to oil/grease leakage.
TRW brakepad forgot how many cyles already but RM200/pair front RM170/pair rear changed simultaneously.
RM300 for Valve seal cover at engine, got some minor leakage when the car hit 120k km.

Next in future plan:-
1. All-in-engine/ gb mounting, parts find online at rm1k, will install at regular workshop.
2. New tyres all in
3. Spark plug + EO change when hit 200k km as per manual
4. Repaint as already hitting 9 years old of age.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 7 2023, 09:16 AM
DM52
post Jan 7 2023, 07:26 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jan 7 2023, 09:15 AM)
new to 197k km on end 2014 2.4 Honda Accord.
Regular Fully Syn at every 10k-12k oil interval. Oil bought from Hingan for rm150, sometime Shopee Mall Mizu RM80, after warranty ended
On 2019, changed the 235/45/18 for PS4 RM550 x 4
Driveshaft 3 times under warranty at SC during 5 years old at SC. RM550 driveshaft replaced outside after warranty ended due to oil/grease leakage.
TRW brakepad forgot how many cyles already but RM200/pair front RM170/pair rear changed simultaneously.
RM300 for Valve seal cover at engine, got some minor leakage when the car hit 120k km.

Next in future plan:-
1. All-in-engine/ gb mounting, parts find online at rm1k, will install at regular workshop.
2. New tyres all in
3. Spark plug + EO change when hit 200k km as per manual
4. Repaint as already hitting 9 years old of age.
u said regular fully synthetic at 10 to 12k km..so, u extend the engine oil right?. not damaged engine?. I tot want to extend a bit my engine oil too. 10k km seems like too short now. And some even newer model car start to put interval 12k km too.
ayamxxx
post Jan 7 2023, 09:20 PM

4,040 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jan 7 2023, 07:26 PM)
u said regular fully synthetic at 10 to 12k km..so, u extend the engine oil right?. not damaged engine?. I tot want to extend a bit my engine oil too. 10k km seems like too short now. And some even newer model car start to put interval 12k km too.
Yes no issues, no eo eating until now. 10k-12k range interval change especially after warranty ended.

Conti, volvo, vw all heading 15k km interval since years ago
TSBoy96
post Jan 14 2025, 05:14 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

2023 Car Maintenance

Ford
- Continental UC7 tyres x2 , 11th Jan, RM530
- H7 bulb, 6th March, RM10
- 131k svc, brake pad, 7th March, RM415.6
- Front skirting, 2nd Sept, RM350
- SACHS Absorber, Absorber mounting, cover, bushes, 15th Sept, RM1295.21
- Fan belt, coolant return pipe , 21st oct, RM495

Total: RM3095.81

Proton
- Timing Belt, Engine Oil, Oil Sump service, 24th Feb, RM910
- Leather upholstery reupholstery, 4th March, RM1150
- Fan Motor, socket, relay, 15th March, RM670
- Alignment Balancing, Disk Skim, Brake pad, 17th April, RM260
- Topup aircond gas, 10th May, RM50
- 2nd round disk skim, H7 bulb, 10th May, RM 180

Total: RM3220

=============// CAR SOLD //======== End of an era=======

Peugeot
- Low pressure fuel Pump,2nd March, RM2015
- Service, fuel filter, HPFP, mounting, speaker, headlight module, 7TH Nov, RM2321

Total: RM4336

BMW
- Alignment balancing, 3rd July, RM230
- Rim bengkok repair, 1st nov, RM80
- Bumper respray, 2nd dec, RM500

Total: RM810

GRAND TOTAL = RM11,461.80

Totally forgotten about this thread. 2024 one will be on next post

0.0466sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:51 PM