[Overclock] Advance Modules® DDR RAM, Value RAM class to performance ones?

Max_D6d
post Dec 22 2006, 12:44 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Dec 22 2006, 10:28 AM)
oc the ram can be done in BIOS. viewing the temp need a sensor probe though.

by the way, how much can the KVR chip 512MB DDR400 can be oc'ed? tried at 3-4-4-8 @ 220MHz with 3-3-3-8@ 210MHz both at 2.7V the difference not that much? is it lose the timing greatly affect my speed even though at higher clock rate?
Sorry, could u please explain more about that, cos i m new in oc ram so i nid some advise on how to oc it thoroughly b4 i start to do it. THX. smile.gif
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 23 2006, 02:08 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(Max_D6d @ Dec 22 2006, 12:44 PM)
Sorry, could u please explain more about that, cos i m new in oc ram so i nid some advise on how to oc it thoroughly b4 i start to do it. THX.  smile.gif
So you're starting up just like me a few months back huh.gif

1) Go to LYN RAM handbook and read it thoroughly.
2) Go to your BIOS and set the timing according lowering the timings one notch at a time.
3) If it fails.. perhaps to boot or it keeps restarting your PC, increase the voltage by a lil but don't go too high.
4) I guess when you've reached your limit, thats the best your RAM can go.

But bear in mind, having tighter timings will decrease your RAM Speed limits (in Mhz), thus it makes overclocking your processor improper because supposedly you are to sync the FSB with RAM speed at a 1:1 ratio.

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Dec 23 2006, 02:09 PM
Max_D6d
post Dec 24 2006, 03:35 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Dec 23 2006, 02:08 PM)
So you're starting up just like me a few months back  huh.gif

2) Go to your BIOS and set the timing according lowering the timings one notch at a time.
3) If it fails.. perhaps to boot or it keeps restarting your PC, increase the voltage by a lil but don't go too high.

But bear in mind, having tighter timings will decrease your RAM Speed limits (in Mhz), thus it makes overclocking your processor improper because supposedly you are to sync the FSB with RAM speed at a 1:1 ratio.
Thank you very much provide such a great info...THX.. rclxm9.gif
tatayoung
post Dec 24 2006, 04:00 PM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Dec 23 2006, 02:08 PM)
So you're starting up just like me a few months back  huh.gif

I didn't even see that my mobo had set it to the 4:3 ratio previously laugh.gif ....,by how much did that degrade my performance?....,i'm using the Corsair rev1.2(i think) 1GB XMS Pro.....

This post has been edited by tatayoung: Dec 24 2006, 04:00 PM
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 25 2006, 12:30 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(tatayoung @ Dec 24 2006, 04:00 PM)
I didn't even see that my mobo had set it to the 4:3 ratio previously laugh.gif ....,by how much did that degrade my performance?....,i'm using the Corsair rev1.2(i think) 1GB XMS Pro.....
4:3 ratio is not that bad I think. But then again, I'm not such a pro in overclocking... very noob actually sweat.gif

You'd have to ask around in the other overclocking threads.
tacobell
post Dec 28 2006, 08:43 AM

57 posts

How come you never try to clock it to 230Mhz? tongue.gif
jcheong
post Dec 28 2006, 09:32 AM

323 posts

Tell the truth lo, your cousin work at advance module, you want to promote right? I see you everywhere promoting this ram.

My KVR running at stock runs faster than that ram when benchmarked.

This post has been edited by jcheong: Dec 28 2006, 09:33 AM
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 28 2006, 08:20 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(jcheong @ Dec 28 2006, 09:32 AM)
Tell the truth lo, your cousin work at advance module, you want to promote right? I see you everywhere promoting this ram.

My KVR running at stock runs faster than that ram when benchmarked.
LoL... yes he is. But then again, I am not helping him sell. If I was, I would put a link to his thread instead of my noob overclocking thread happy.gif

Btw, I didn't buy these pair of RAMs from him either. I accidently got it from acapz because I sold off my old HyperX and then he happened to be selling off his DDR400 rams cheap.

So I see cheap, I buy cheap, and I itchy fingers push the timing and voila. I got great results. Ntg wrong in sharing an unknown brand product that works great right?

QUOTE(tacobell @ Dec 28 2006, 08:43 AM)
How come you never try to clock it to 230Mhz? tongue.gif
and joo... don't spam my thread foo sign0014.gif

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Dec 28 2006, 08:23 PM
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 6 2007, 05:33 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

Advance module RAM are cheapest... which is best suited for dumb users in Klang... sweat.gif
But this is the weirdest best noob OC wif cheap RAM by far... good job man... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Jan 6 2007, 05:34 PM
TSJ-Slade
post Jan 10 2007, 08:38 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 6 2007, 05:33 PM)
Advance module RAM are cheapest... which is best suited for dumb users in Klang... sweat.gif
But this is the weirdest best noob OC wif cheap RAM by far... good job man... icon_rolleyes.gif
Whats with you and people from Klang? huh.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 11 2007, 07:17 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Jan 10 2007, 09:38 PM)
Whats with you and people from Klang?  huh.gif
haha... juz tat majority Klang folks dunno wat's quality and always go for the cheapest stuff... yawn.gif
noobianz
post Jan 11 2007, 07:52 PM

479 posts

i used this ram b4,n i manage to oc it too DDR500 with default timing and default vdimm....n i sold it after i recieve my corsair
Westsid3
post Jan 14 2007, 09:29 AM

Really weird to acheive those timings J-slade....good job bro!!! Tht means you kau kau taruk the rams. laugh.gif
Real cool info....
noobianz
post Jan 14 2007, 10:06 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Dec 8 2006, 09:53 PM)
If i've not mistaken, Aeneon rams 1gb modules can also do 2-3-2-5-1 at DDR400, and that is value ram too.
Not too sure what chipsets it uses though, anyone out there who knows?
I think it is possible for some value rams to do these timings.
My Old TCCC did DDR480 at 2.5-3-3-7 with no additional voltage.
nice timing n clock u hav there,btw,my current value corsair ram can run @ 2.5-3-3-7 DDR510 with no additional voltage too icon_rolleyes.gif

while my ex advanced module ram(i dun remember the timing,might as well same like J slade)can do DDR490 with default vdimm icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by noobianz: Jan 14 2007, 10:08 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0165sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:20 PM