[Overclock] Advance Modules® DDR RAM, Value RAM class to performance ones?

TSJ-Slade
post Dec 8 2006, 10:41 AM, updated 19y ago

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Good day everyone, I just wanna share something with you guys and perhaps get some response from other users besides me. Currently I am using:

Advance Modules(R) PC3200 400MHz DDR (512MB*2)

So the story goes like this. Before this, those who have followed up with my posts knows that I had this problem with my Kingston HyperX because my crapped up ASUS motherboard refused to allow me to set the command rate to 1T timing. So since I had no other option, I had decided to sell it off. Then I bought myself some RAMS from a garage sale from one of the forumers here. He sold me:

2 Kingston(R) Value RAM PC3200 400MHz DDR (512MB)
2 Advance Modules(R) PC3200 400MHz DDR (512MB)

I was a lil skeptical at first to purchase because from what I know, Advance Modules isn't that well known plus, its homegrown made in Malaysia and all. If you observe the RAM properly, the chipset is not of the common ones you find in Kingston or Corsair, its really really small and square sized. In fact, the RAM stick overall is so light rclxub.gif

So, well you know what? One day my itchy fingers lead me to wanting to try to push the timings on this lil guinea pig RAMs of mine... muahahaha *evil grin*
So here is the results:

CPU-Z screenshot
user posted image user posted image

As you can see, even CPU-Z can't identify the manufacturer or the manufacturing date. But hell yea, I got myself a 2-3-2-5-1 timing~! So of course, what use is overclocked settings without any benchmarks cool.gif

This is my Kingston HyperX @ 2-3-2-6-2 (Command Rate at 2T cos my mobo allowed me to only do so sad.gif )

And this is my Advance Modules @ 2-3-2-5-1 (Yes, I did achieve this at best. Almost reaching the best timing of any performance RAMS which usually go @ 2-2-2-5-1

Side by side comparison for those who really wanna see the difference. (left one is HyperX and right one is Advance Modules)

Voila~ thats what happens when you experiment with non-branded RAMs. Btw I'm sure by the end of this review, ppl would be asking a few questions so let me answer them before you do.

► I did not set the voltage. It is still on 'Auto' and I have tested it with Prime95 for about 7hrs (I had to go out so I stopped it) and it was stable with no errors.
► The chipset, according to a reliable source in Advance Modules is that some of them by Infineon.
► Are all of them able to overclock like that? I dunno... thats why I am here gathering opinions and other's test results.

So yea, I gave away my Kingston to my girlfriend and I am sticking to these. And no, I do not work for Advance Modules. I'm just a student who just happens to buy this by luck. Anyone has the same sticks of RAM, give it a try and post your results here. I'm sure everyone would want these if all of them can push the timings till this far for a Value RAM class. Malaysia Boleh! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Dec 21 2006, 11:58 PM
tacobell
post Dec 8 2006, 10:58 AM

57 posts

Want RAM? get from me... smile.gif

This post has been edited by tacobell: Dec 8 2006, 11:34 AM
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 8 2006, 11:01 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Urm.. yea, as far as I know, tacobell is the only bulker for Advance Modules in LYN. Hey dude, don't quote my whole post la.. makes ppl hard to scroll down only sweat.gif
soulfly
post Dec 8 2006, 11:03 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

No spamming/trading here. Strictly discussions only.
baok
post Dec 8 2006, 11:05 AM

737 posts

try to overclock your HTT/FSB.... see how far the ram can go in 1:1 ...
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 8 2006, 11:07 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

I got a question....

I see your RAM still running at 200Mhz...
Is timing more important than FSB?

But FSB is for OCing proc rite?
So OCing ram means playing with the timing?
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 8 2006, 11:08 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 8 2006, 11:03 AM)
Yes, that is my objective. I need response and reviews from others. I dunno if my timing of 2-3-2-5-1 is real. Because I have never heard of value RAM being able to push the timing to that far. Is it possible that the readings are just mere readings and actually they are not really 'overclocked'? I mean, if it is so, then Advance Modules can start selling as performance rams already right?
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 8 2006, 11:13 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(baok @ Dec 8 2006, 11:05 AM)
try to overclock your HTT/FSB.... see how far the ram can go in 1:1 ...
I wanted to! But you know what? I'm using socket 754, my motherboard only allows me to go as far as 10x multiplier and urm... and increase is the FSB will make my system unstable.. but I will give it a try.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 8 2006, 11:07 AM)
I got a question....

I see your RAM still running at 200Mhz...
Is timing more important than FSB?

But FSB is for OCing proc rite?
So OCing ram means playing with the timing?
Yea I guess with tighter timing, you can't increase the Mhz. So you can't OC you processor as good as 1:1 ratio for ur FSB. Thats why they say:

Tighter timing = better performance
Loose timing = better overclocking ability

give and take la ya know? Since my motherboard is stubborn, I have decided to just push my RAMS further and just leave the processor be.

ktek
post Dec 8 2006, 01:20 PM

å°å–‡å­
13,187 posts

Normal DDR memory use TSOP chips .
This type of RAM is using FBGA (Fine-pitch Ball Grid Array) chips .
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 8 2006, 01:41 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Dec 8 2006, 11:13 AM)
I wanted to! But you know what? I'm using socket 754, my motherboard only allows me to go as far as 10x multiplier and urm... and increase is the FSB will make my system unstable.. but I will give it a try.
Yea I guess with tighter timing, you can't increase the Mhz. So you can't OC you processor as good as 1:1 ratio for ur FSB. Thats why they say:

Tighter timing = better performance
Loose timing = better overclocking ability

give and take la ya know? Since my motherboard is stubborn, I have decided to just push my RAMS further and just leave the processor be.
Hmm i thought multiplier locking is done on the proc itself?
If the proc is locked how to u change multiplier?

skydna
post Dec 8 2006, 04:11 PM

236 posts

can u try to clock the ram speed
if can do 2-3-2-5 at ddr400
may be with DFI board + volt and try 3-4-4-8 can go ddr500
can race with ce-5 liao hehe
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 8 2006, 08:35 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(skydna @ Dec 8 2006, 04:11 PM)
can u try to clock the ram speed
if can do 2-3-2-5 at ddr400
may be with DFI board + volt and try 3-4-4-8 can go ddr500
can race with ce-5 liao hehe
Nope... my motherboard only allows me to stick to 200Mhz.. gosh, if these RAMs go on DFI board. I think can push even further laugh.gif

Anyone here other than me using this brand....? Quick gimme ur opinions... am I the only lucky one or are all Advance Modules RAM that good in overclocking?
@meno
post Dec 8 2006, 09:53 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

If i've not mistaken, Aeneon rams 1gb modules can also do 2-3-2-5-1 at DDR400, and that is value ram too.
Not too sure what chipsets it uses though, anyone out there who knows?
I think it is possible for some value rams to do these timings.
My Old TCCC did DDR480 at 2.5-3-3-7 with no additional voltage.
tacobell
post Dec 9 2006, 12:22 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 8 2006, 11:03 AM)
My apology
ah_khoo
post Dec 11 2006, 09:40 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

lower multi, increase htt, i'm sure this ram can do better... smile.gif
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 11 2006, 12:04 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

It very much depends on your motherboard. DFI would be good. My ASUS is giving hell loads of problems... but then I'm very content with how it is. Not gonna upgrade or anything d... Btw, is there any way to unlock the the RAM speed? I can only do max at 200Mhz... I know its my motherboard limitation but is there any way for me to go further? Somehow using A64 tweaker, it doesnt seem to display my RAM info properly. Maybe its because mine is of an unknown brand?
joylay83
post Dec 13 2006, 01:40 PM

854 posts

maybe you can try clockgen... but as with any other software overclocking, you can't adjust voltages and dividers.

http://www.cpuid.com/clockgen.php
baok
post Dec 14 2006, 03:06 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Dec 8 2006, 08:35 PM)
Nope... my motherboard only allows me to stick to 200Mhz.. gosh, if these RAMs go on DFI board. I think can push even further  laugh.gif

Anyone here other than me using this brand....? Quick gimme ur opinions... am I the only lucky one or are all Advance Modules RAM that good in overclocking?
how about you lend it to me for severa days and i try overclock it for you.. whistling.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif
TSJ-Slade
post Dec 14 2006, 03:10 AM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(baok @ Dec 14 2006, 03:06 AM)
how about you lend it to me for severa days and i try overclock it for you.. whistling.gif  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
LoL... nice try. I guess it can be done with clockgen. For some reason I can't use A64 tweaker.. it doesnt register my RAM's timings properly.. hey, when holiday comes I might try to overclock further using software... haha.. since after all, my BIOS doesnt let me go any further hmm.gif
seveneleven
post Dec 14 2006, 03:12 AM

359 posts

Have you memtest-ed it? Any errors?

0.0200sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:05 PM