Racial Discrimination in the workplace, got it from cari forum

TSvincentlee
post Dec 8 2006, 10:26 AM, updated 20y ago

★★★7Star★General★★★
2,108 posts

Saw this thread over CARI forum, I am wondering wheter racial discrimination of such magnitude really exists...

A lot of examples are given from the replies in the thread.

http://forum.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?ti...&extra=page%3D6

yup mende ni MEMANG WUJUD...
my mom punye opish pon same...
mak aku citer kenkadang die rase sedih sangat...
die tengok budak grad melayu yg hantar resume mmg with good qualification, result and experience  tp diorang tak tengok pon resume budak2 tuh... tp bangsa cha ya ni ntah dr kolej mane2 tak penah dgr punye kolej pon senang2 diorang amik...

yg paling sedih mak aku kate budak lps SPM cha ya pastu buat keje yg bodo2 je dapat gaji RM 1800... tp sorang budak pompuan grad obersea keje title kerani gaji RM 1000 je tp buat keje macam exec... sabo jelaa...

lagik satu opis diorang ni skang dah tak ikot syarat kerajaan macam dulu mesti ada at least 10% bumi... syarat ni skang kerajaan pon dah tak amik pot...
so diorang skang mmg saje je pressure stafff melayu spy berenti sendiri pastu diorang ganti dgn bangsa cha ya...

cloudwan
post Dec 8 2006, 10:33 AM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

Wow... Guess these things still exist ar??? Haihhhh...
SUSSnake
post Dec 8 2006, 12:10 PM

692 posts

go see the real world, there is no contest.....
ckeenkheong85
post Dec 8 2006, 12:41 PM

117 posts

Not all are the same, but some did exist (but very rare), i saw it with my own eyes when working that time, wat i witness is, my superior treats diff race with diff kind of treatments, but i just work part time in an office smile.gif

This post has been edited by ckeenkheong85: Dec 8 2006, 12:42 PM
Ido
post Dec 8 2006, 02:26 PM

325 posts

Such discrimination is normal. Most people like to blame this as discrimination because other than that, what else blame. They think people treat them bad, how about they themselves.
joanalooidog
post Dec 8 2006, 03:28 PM

2,823 posts

wat is cha ya nun alif......and wat company is tat??chinese? indian? malay?taiwan?US?canadian?
cks2k2
post Dec 8 2006, 03:40 PM

1,966 posts

What goes around comes around.
Govt limit non-Bumi places in education; non-Bumis bite you back when employing.
Enough said.
yrh0413
post Dec 8 2006, 03:41 PM

12,214 posts

i just passed my industrial training in a local business-solution company. Yes, the boss really dislike Malays as he got really bad experience working with them. For my company, most of the time Yayasan Melaka will send students over for training, but then... cases like:

- work one day, cabut
- world cup, dun wan to come work
- programming do like shit, play minesweeper in office all the time

yup, i'm not concluding every Malay is like this. But my boss owns the company, and he accepted lots of trainees before. He even advice me next time do not take in any Malays if i set up a company laugh.gif
wongzai
post Dec 8 2006, 03:52 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 8 2006, 03:41 PM)
i just passed my industrial training in a local business-solution company. Yes, the boss really dislike Malays as he got really bad experience working with them. For my company, most of the time Yayasan Melaka will send students over for training, but then... cases like:

- work one day, cabut
- world cup, dun wan to come work
- programming do like shit, play minesweeper in office all the time

yup, i'm not concluding every Malay is like this. But my boss owns the company, and he accepted lots of trainees before. He even advice me next time do not take in any Malays if i set up a company laugh.gif
hahaha....almost all of the chinese man company thinking.......yupe, it's true for certain group of malay for the 3 main points....however not all of them , juz ...em..quite a big group?
SUSDrifter
post Dec 8 2006, 04:26 PM

1,349 posts

so is the 10% bumi not discriminating?
waynelyp90
post Dec 8 2006, 04:31 PM

Nonsense Hater
1,141 posts

I can say this kind of discrimination do exist these days but if the managing board of the company don't have racism in their mind and provide a multi-racial environment in the office. These kind of things will slowly disappear. It's because they will start to work together. That's why those with high ranks mustn't have racism in their minds.
ImAPrincess
post Dec 8 2006, 04:37 PM

61 posts

It happens everywhere and this nothing new, all type of colours different races gets discriminated everyday.
wongzai
post Dec 8 2006, 04:45 PM

780 posts

actually what i met before is, it's all depend on the management ppl, mean ur head above, coz i come accross a company which the indian manager only want the same race staff......so not only apply to melayu la..
yrh0413
post Dec 8 2006, 04:49 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee83 @ Dec 8 2006, 10:26 AM)
Saw this thread over CARI forum, I am wondering wheter racial discrimination of such magnitude really exists...

laugh.gif i just remembered one funny one that my boss told me during my training. There's this chinese company... has 8 chinese employee. He just hire a Malay as an office boy and his job is to make drinks, do cleaning, buy lunch etc... paid less than RM600 per month and walla, it fulfills the 10% employee must be Malay rule laugh.gif
aaronpang
post Dec 8 2006, 05:05 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Just to share a friend of mine told me the director of the company he works for typically favours Chinese staff, the irony is the director himself is Malay! whistling.gif

Anyways having a degree isn't the only determining factor if a person qualifies for a job. Attitute, aptitude, experience, knowledge and skill are also factors to consider. Paper qualifications are only a first step icon_idea.gif
ParaOpticaL
post Dec 8 2006, 05:26 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee83 @ Dec 8 2006, 10:26 AM)

this guy should really get his grammars checked. i read one paragraph already pening.

discrimination or whatever it is exist.
exist everywhere.

chinaman company hires non-bumi
govt hires bumi...

lots of things to compare.

but on a more serious note like a dude above posted his boss dislike Malay, not all but there can be a majority who does that.

my boss would like to have a good mix in the company. actually my company is Bumi dominated. Chinese = 8, Indian = 5, Bumi = 60.

ParaOpticaL
post Dec 8 2006, 05:27 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Dec 8 2006, 05:05 PM)
Just to share a friend of mine told me the director of the company he works for typically favours Chinese staff, the irony is the director himself is Malay! whistling.gif

Anyways having a degree isn't the only determining factor if a person qualifies for a job. Attitute, aptitude, experience, knowledge and skill are also factors to consider. Paper qualifications are only a first step  icon_idea.gif
and usually Paper Qualifications can only get you so far.
lots of positions now does not depend much on qualification.
warezmel
post Dec 8 2006, 05:39 PM

32 posts

Ask the one who posted the message write in proper Malay, or English. With this kind of "simply bahasa" I don't think he/she is qualified to be hired.

Please, although this is informal, please do use a proper language, at least let other people understand what you want to say first. I really feel disappointed with such a stupid langauge in forum. No offence, and this should not happen.

This post has been edited by warezmel: Dec 8 2006, 05:40 PM
mercurye
post Dec 8 2006, 05:49 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 8 2006, 04:49 PM)
laugh.gif i just remembered one funny one that my boss told me during my training. There's this chinese company... has 8 chinese employee. He just hire a Malay as an office boy and his job is to make drinks, do cleaning, buy lunch etc... paid less than RM600 per month and walla, it fulfills the 10% employee must be Malay rule laugh.gif
it might be tongue in cheek. however, once government realise that this is a trend of some sort, one politician will sure try to impose stricter rules on hiring. e.g. the 10% must be of certain level/management in the company.

since the government also try to reduce ali-baba companies.
maniac_rage
post Dec 8 2006, 06:42 PM

765 posts

It's hard to be accepted, but the fact is racial discrimination does exist. The government hires the bumi. While the Chinese owned companies only hire people who can speak Mandarin.

*Sigh*

This post has been edited by maniac_rage: Dec 8 2006, 06:43 PM

0.0167sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:19 AM