How to upgrade performance for Mac, (For G4 , G3 , E-mac , Imac etc.)

butthead
post Feb 7 2007, 02:52 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Feb 6 2007, 12:37 PM)
that does not apply to every mac, especially those older one wink.gif
most easy to upgrade mac should be the Mac Pro, nothing come close to it that I've use.
most except for the PowerMac G3 below the 400MHz range...those are a bit fussy about the drives it uses...the macs after that works quite well with the LG drives...

why do you say MacPro... are you referring to their hard drive access... that i think is quite nifty...

wei
post Feb 7 2007, 02:56 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Not just the hard drive. CD bay. Thumbscrews on express card lane. Daugther board for more RAM. Modular PSU. Intel proc.

All those made upgrade much easier compare to PPC era.
butthead
post Feb 9 2007, 10:54 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Feb 7 2007, 02:56 PM)
Not just the hard drive. CD bay. Thumbscrews on express card lane. Daugther board for more RAM. Modular PSU. Intel proc.

All those made upgrade much easier compare to PPC era.
yes it is easier compared to PM g5... which needs to take off an additional acrylic panel and take out the fan to install more RAM... but the memory riser card seems a bit flaky and would fail everytime i unplug the card from the logic board...

wei
post Feb 9 2007, 10:58 AM

6,496 posts

I don't get it. Why fail? Did you push it hard enough wink.gif
butthead
post Feb 9 2007, 01:49 PM

593 posts

no it did not fail... but to have another connecting board is not that good...i'd rather plug it directly to the logic board.. it is not like we need to plug and unplug everyday...

MacDaNife
post Feb 9 2007, 02:44 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 9 2007, 01:49 PM)
no it did not fail... but to have another connecting board is not that good...i'd rather plug it directly to the logic board.. it is not like we need to plug and unplug everyday...
With EIGHT memory expansion slots how on earth are you going to design the mobo without risers? And since you do NOT have to unplug/plug everyday why would the risers be a problem?

I like the riser design. It means my RAM is cooled by a nice big 12in fan and airflow to the RAM is also unobstructed.

vandetta
post Mar 13 2007, 05:30 AM

658 posts

I dont want to start new thread so I think its ok to as k in this thread- quite related to my Q.
How much is price for Graphic card for PowerMac G 400MHz?
Where can I find 2nd hand one?
wei
post Mar 13 2007, 03:22 PM

6,496 posts

Depend on what you want and which you can afford.
gforce 5200? Radeon 9800? or even 7800GS?

Price won't be cheap or else you're brave enough to flash the PC card into mac compatible. Which I might do soon when I receive my Sawtooth logicboard this 2 weeks.
vandetta
post Mar 13 2007, 06:03 PM

658 posts

@wei
Someone offering me a 400Mhz PM G4 for around RM200 but there's no graphic card together. If worth it I am planning to buy it and make it Linux server at my house or if can, want to install Panther or Tiger just for typing. I have one Panther license lying down under the desk.
If flash the PC graphic card's chip will it make cost lower?
Just need low-end graphic card, not for high-end purpose, typing or server purposes only.
Any recommendation wei?
wei
post Mar 13 2007, 06:18 PM

6,496 posts

try ebay my friend. you might able to get the stock Rage128 card for a low price.
penman
post Apr 1 2007, 11:36 AM

142 posts

hi guys,

can we upgrade the graphics card for a PwrkBk 12" G4?
prasys
post Apr 1 2007, 05:29 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Again , you can't upgrade laptops graphics card. That goes for any laptops.

penman
post Apr 2 2007, 12:36 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 1 2007, 05:29 PM)
Again , you can't upgrade laptops graphics card. That goes for any laptops.
thanks, prasys icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0174sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:15 PM