Can someone tell me what's wrong with my camera?

TSArtic Monkeys
post Dec 2 2015, 08:25 PM, updated 11y ago

82 posts

I've been having these dark spots on my photos

I changed my lens but still the problem persists

I think its the mirror but I need to be sure because I'm quite new to DLSR

But what do you guys think?

I sent to one of the camera shop in Ampang Point and he has no clue lol
mingyuyu
post Dec 2 2015, 10:36 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Artic Monkeys @ Dec 2 2015, 08:25 PM)

high chance some oil spills on your sensor. nothing to do with the mirror since it doesn't affect the image captured at all. smile.gif
TSArtic Monkeys
post Dec 2 2015, 10:45 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 2 2015, 10:36 PM)
high chance some oil spills on your sensor. nothing to do with the mirror since it doesn't affect the image captured at all. smile.gif
Is this repairable or not?

I'm scared if it is, its gonna cost me a bomb sweat.gif
LegendLee
post Dec 2 2015, 10:50 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Artic Monkeys @ Dec 2 2015, 08:25 PM)

Which DSLR are you using?
TSArtic Monkeys
post Dec 2 2015, 10:55 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Dec 2 2015, 10:50 PM)
Which DSLR are you using?
Canon 70D

Haha sorry forgot to mention it before
vikingw2k
post Dec 3 2015, 09:52 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

If it's under warranty send to Canon Service center for cleaning.
goldfries
post Dec 3 2015, 10:07 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 2 2015, 10:36 PM)
"dark spots on my photos" how not "affect the image captured"? biggrin.gif

Looks like really dirty sensor, best is bring to Canon Service Center.

TSArtic Monkeys
post Dec 3 2015, 10:27 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 3 2015, 09:52 AM)
If it's under warranty send to Canon Service center for cleaning.
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 3 2015, 10:07 AM)

But if its not under warranty mahal tak to service?

Just asking, in case its expired already sweat.gif
aaronpang
post Dec 3 2015, 10:43 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

You could try locking up the mirror and using a blower maybe it's just dust.

My camera had dust on the sensor, so it was simple enough to fix.
Lego Warfare
post Dec 3 2015, 10:56 AM

4,676 posts

Yep like they said, it's most likely the mirror or focusing screen as your images displays those spots. They charge around RM50-65 (can't remember exactly) if you send to Canon HQ at Peremba Square, can collect same day or even within 1-2 hours.
Have you tried the sensor cleaning in your settings? If the dusts/dirt isn't sticky you could use a blower.

On a side note:
If you see spots in your viewfinder BUT your images do not capture those spots, it could be:
1) Dusts in your eyepiece/viewfinder lens (apparently charges more to clean in this situation as they'd have to disassemble parts of the DSLR)
2) Dusts in the superimposed lens/mirror (Easier for them to disassemble and low/free charge)

The 2nd one happened to me, and they cleaned mine for free smile.gif

TSArtic Monkeys
post Dec 3 2015, 11:04 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Dec 3 2015, 10:43 AM)
You could try locking up the mirror and using a blower maybe it's just dust.

My camera had dust on the sensor, so it was simple enough to fix.
Because I'm new to this so basically don't dare to DIY everything lol sweat.gif

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Dec 3 2015, 10:56 AM)
Yep like they said, it's most likely the mirror or focusing screen as your images displays those spots. They charge around RM50-65 (can't remember exactly) if you send to Canon HQ at Peremba Square, can collect same day or even within 1-2 hours.
Have you tried the sensor cleaning in your settings? If the dusts/dirt isn't sticky you could use a blower.

On a side note:
If you see spots in your viewfinder BUT your images do not capture those spots, it could be:
1) Dusts in your eyepiece/viewfinder lens (apparently charges more to clean  in this situation as they'd have to disassemble parts of the DSLR)
2) Dusts in the superimposed lens/mirror (Easier for them to disassemble and low/free charge)

The 2nd one happened to me, and they cleaned mine for free smile.gif
Have tried the sensor cleaning, still the same

I might just go to the center though
mingyuyu
post Dec 3 2015, 01:20 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 3 2015, 10:07 AM)

Wait, ts said he/she suspect it might has something to do with the mirror but I just said that if the mirror is dirty the image won't be affected at all.

This post has been edited by mingyuyu: Dec 3 2015, 01:22 PM
goldfries
post Dec 3 2015, 09:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 3 2015, 01:20 PM)
Wait, ts said  he/she suspect it might has something to do with the mirror but I just said that if the mirror is dirty the image won't be affected at all.

You didn't get it ah? What you say in the latest post is very different from your earlier post oh.

"nothing to do with the mirror since it doesn't affect the image captured at all."

You read carefully, unless your IT there refers to the mirror. tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 3 2015, 09:50 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 3 2015, 09:14 PM)

You didn't get it ah? What you say in the latest post is very different from your earlier post oh.

"nothing to do with the mirror since it doesn't affect the image captured at all."

You read carefully, unless your IT there refers to the mirror. tongue.gif
i meant the sentence in the way you quote it, about the mirror, nothing to do with the sensor. well it's not that I am a newbie in camera.

Anyways, to make it clear all I meant to say was that a dirty mirror will not affect the image captured. sorry for causing misunderstanding smile.gif
vikingw2k
post Dec 4 2015, 09:24 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Artic Monkeys @ Dec 3 2015, 10:27 AM)
But if its not under warranty mahal tak to service?

Just asking, in case its expired already  sweat.gif
If not under warranty then you might wanna try
- YL Camera - Pudu Plaza. Tel: +603 2110 2261/+6016 218 7810
- Albert Cheah - Mutiara Complex, Jalan Ipoh. 012-6679756 (mention viking intro)

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Dec 4 2015, 09:29 AM
TSArtic Monkeys
post Dec 4 2015, 09:26 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 4 2015, 09:24 AM)
If not under warranty then you might try
- YL Camera - Pudu Plaza. Tel: +603 2110 2261/+6016 218 7810
- Albert Cheah - Mutiara Complex, Jalan Ipoh. 012-6679756 (mention viking intro)
Thanks!

I'll probably just bring this to Canon Service Center if under warranty

And thanks to all too thumbup.gif
bcteh
post Dec 4 2015, 09:17 PM

481 posts

Should be sensor dirty. But since you said clean b4..I suggest you send to Canon for checking. Quite weird.
alhelmy
post Dec 8 2015, 04:47 AM

5,620 posts

QUOTE(Artic Monkeys @ Dec 3 2015, 11:04 AM)
Because I'm new to this so basically don't dare to DIY everything lol  sweat.gif
Have tried the sensor cleaning, still the same

I might just go to the center though
DIY is different from professional cleaning. Go through center definitely.

0.0204sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:46 AM