cherroy
post Dec 5 2015, 01:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 5 2015, 12:25 PM)
Just for info, I hang out in some international forums, even Canadian are complaining of the strong USD. Even they are looking whether US will increase rates.

So by increasing the rates > USD will increase > USD become too expensive > less demands > bad for economy?

I am still thinking and hoping US will just maintained. How many times they cry wolf already.
US people earn USD, whether it rises or drop against other currency, it doesn't matter when the goods is quoted in USD.
An Iphone cost $549, will still cost $549, whether the USD is at RM3.30 or RM4.20.

But for in term of pricing RM, it is not the same case.

cherroy
post Dec 5 2015, 02:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 5 2015, 02:03 PM)
The thing is not only us are feeling the strength of the USD. Even Canadian people. And that forum was a computer forum.
Everyone feeling the USD strength, no escape from it.

But US people earn USD, aka US consumers can buy more goods from others due to its strength.

Currency is traded in pair, when one currency rise, another must drop. If not how can it rises?

cherroy
post Dec 8 2015, 11:30 AM

25,802 posts

BNM international reserves up USD 700 mil to USD94.6 bil as compared to earlier data.
cherroy
post Dec 15 2015, 09:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(chengcheng @ Dec 14 2015, 11:48 PM)
Will Singapore raise their interest rate?

If they do, will it be Rm 3.10 to SGD 1?
The chance is almost near zero

1. Inflation is subdue in Sg. In fact, it is on deflation territory with CPI registered negative number for some months already.

2. Growth is mild, and with strong Sgd, there is no reason to raise rate.
cherroy
post Dec 21 2015, 11:35 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Dec 21 2015, 11:21 AM)
really?

6-7months ago 1myr = 3500idr.

now 1myr=3200idr.
Read the word "set", means prediction/projection ahead made by analysts or investment banks.
cherroy
post Jan 4 2016, 03:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(PenangLaksa @ Jan 4 2016, 03:19 PM)
what should we do if it keeps going down? is it wise to buy some us currency?
Almost all currencies are slipping against USD for today, not RM alone, while RM vs other currencies generally is quite stable across.

Unless you buy USD, if not, it makes little different.
cherroy
post Jan 6 2016, 02:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 6 2016, 10:55 AM)
usd suddenly shot up against all currencies in the last 30 min.

5 Jan 2016 14:50 UTC - 6 Jan 2016 02:52 UTC
USD/MYR close:4.38337 low:4.34050 high:4.38337

something to do with this?
USD shoot up across against all currencies.

Investors always flee to USD if there is such an event.

cherroy
post Jan 6 2016, 03:30 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jan 6 2016, 03:25 PM)
How about HKD? It is being pegged to the USD.
You already answered yourself. laugh.gif

Peg - fix currency with USD, so USD rise against others, HKD will follow the same magnitude.
If not, investors will take opportunity to arbitrage already to earn free money.
cherroy
post Jan 7 2016, 04:53 PM

25,802 posts

Today it is a strange day for RM.

Oil plunges severely.
Most currencies drop against USD.
But RM rise against USD.
cherroy
post Jan 7 2016, 10:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 7 2016, 06:59 PM)
End of the day, if you are not rich, you cannot open those account in another country from Malaysia. sad.gif If opening a foreign account in malaysia, it still makes no difference as the money is still in malaysian bank.

Looks like for not so rich people, the only hope is to fly there and open from there. sad.gif Rather than having a certain limit with certain banks.
Grass is not necessary greener on the other side.

Malaysia banks that are well run, their fundamental are not bad, in fact on par with some developed countries famous banks, and they may have lesser exposure to risky asset especially for the like exotic derivatives etc, due to Malaysia banks are more conservative compared to others developed country banks.

cherroy
post Jan 8 2016, 08:35 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 8 2016, 03:00 AM)
Is not the bank problem. But the value of our ringgit. Rupiah and bhat have managed to do better than us. Even if you have the best banks in the world but with a s*** currency, you are becoming poorer as sooner or later, things in your own country will increase to match the high foreign  currency exchange. All basic necessities will go up.
Local banks have foreign currency account/time deposit, you can easily exchange RM to USD AUD, JPY, GBP and deposit into those account, while DCI is also easily available across banks to mitigate the risk of RM. You do not need to go to oversea to have a foreign currency nowadays to hedge against RM if one views RM is weak.

Foreign currency deposit in local banks are ten of billions and is still increasing, latest reported by the media, total worth more than RM70 bil equivalent.
http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ggit/?style=biz

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 8 2016, 08:39 AM
cherroy
post Jan 8 2016, 08:38 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 8 2016, 03:02 AM)
Don't mind me asking, if China devalue their currency some more, would it put pressure on the USD or it will give the USD a boost?
It is an extra boost to USD.
Now USD is like the "king" of currency. Everyone devalue against USD.

When Yuan devalues, it put more pressure on emerging countries currencies.

cherroy
post Jan 8 2016, 10:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 8 2016, 10:10 AM)
That's what I am saying. Despite strong banks, our ringgit have fallen the worse in these region.
You also can have a strong currency, but a poor bank.

See how banks nearly collapse in those developed countries (even a few name famous worldwide well known banks) during 2008 financial crisis, despite with a super strong currency.
Greece also is using a strong currency aka Euro, so good to fly there to make a deposit?

You do not need directly go to overseas to mitigate the RM depreciation.
There are plenty of financial tool that can serve this purpose. eg.

1. Have a USD time deposit with local bank.
2. Invest in global UT that act as feeder fund to USD denominated mutual fund at overseas.
3. Invest in foreign equities directly, as nowadays there are many investment offering such a service already.
4. Invest in foreign ETF.
5. Invest in KLSE stocks that benefit from RM depreciation.
etc.

cherroy
post Jan 12 2016, 02:28 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 11 2016, 09:36 PM)
I just came back from a CPD event and this is what I heard. Let me share it with you:

1) The speaker showed the audience the line plot chart over time of oil price and MYR. There appear to be positively correlated, meaning oil price go up so will MYR and vice-versa.

2) currently oil price is very low, so don't be surprise MYR is low.

3) Why is oil price low? Simple: Supply more than demand!

4) USD will increase. Why?
    a) US economy is recovering as PMI numbers are > 50
    b) unemployment numbers are continuously low
    c) Fed rate increasing and will increase slowly but surely.

5) Hence for the near term, MYR will weaken against USD.

So, long USD; short MYR!

Xuzen
This statement coming late many months... laugh.gif

Even many forumers here posted the same statement months ago... laugh.gif
cherroy
post Jan 12 2016, 02:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 12 2016, 01:52 PM)
M looking conversion to AUD
Any tots?
Aud prospect is not that rosy either, there is potential rate cut for AUD as well in the near future if economy data is sluggish.

The only seems strong one at the moment is USD for near future.

For long term future, I do not have crystal ball.
Financial market and economy is always behave unpredictably one.
Who ever taught oil is going to USD 30, when it shoot up USD120 back 2006 time.

Remembered the story 10 years ago, oil is finite, would dry up one day, oil price has only one way that is up?

If there was one person who has crystal ball 10 years ago and said oil price will be USD30 when 2016, the person might be deemed need to go to hospital to have a mental health check. biggrin.gif

cherroy
post Jan 13 2016, 03:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 13 2016, 02:23 PM)
What's the difference?

Can't believe them anyway.
Unreliable means the figure is not that accurate reflecting the actual condition.

Eg.
If the figure reported is 6.5%, the actual condition out there may be 3 or 4% something like that.

All GDP data are not exactly 100% reflecting the actual situation, as we know some data may overstate or understate due to various reason as well as how the data are pulled in to compute aka sampling, but it does give good rough condition of the economy if the data being compiled time is close to to actual situation, this is what we call a reliable data.

Eg, A multi-national company has 50 branches across the world. 40 of the 50 branches manager overstate their sales figure through various accounting method, estimation or whatever so that they can get performance bonus, then when the HQ compile the data time, it shows promising good sales figure, but actual situation may not as rosy.

In this case, the HQ doesn't fake the figure, but the sales figure compiled is not reliable.
cherroy
post Jan 14 2016, 10:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 14 2016, 07:06 PM)
Well,.. nobody will notice since we don't do it all the time. Went with friends, after changing from one money-changer, brought to the car, drove off to the safe dep box company, and repeated this cycle until all changed. Ladies are even more unnoticeable.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2016, 07:18 PM)
How are you going to carry rm500k worth of SGD pass malaysian customs? That's a lot of money. You can't be carrying 166 notes of SGD1000 right? brows.gif

Not to mention SG banks sure going to ask the source of your money.
If Custom found out, money confiscated...
Penny wise, pound foolish? laugh.gif

Most countries practice limit of physical currency can be brought in/out from a country, violating the law, money confiscated and may be charged as money laundering as well.
cherroy
post Jan 15 2016, 08:48 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 15 2016, 08:41 AM)
When buying foreign currency from money changer, usually I will note it as "for holiday". Does it matter what I write down as the reason for buying foreign currency?

ps: I also cannot imagine how big of a bag is required to envelope RM500k, never had that much cash physically :-0
If you bring 500k cash just for holiday, surely raise the Custom's suspicion already. whistling.gif

cherroy
post Jan 15 2016, 09:28 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 15 2016, 09:24 AM)
I was referring to the form to be filled up when buying foreign currency from money changer, what are the appropriate reasons to fill in for large amounts? Without getting unwanted attention.
Just write what is your intention loh.
If it is holiday, then just write as holiday
If just for paying school fee then just write.

I don't see what is the concern, just a procedure, even you want to keep for fun or collection also can.
cherroy
post Jan 15 2016, 10:00 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Jan 15 2016, 09:35 AM)
My real intention is to bring cash to deposit to sg account for investment. For large amounts, will this draw unnecessary attention or drawback to me?

If for investment, just write investment.
There is no restriction that bar people to do investment abroad.

0.0496sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:31 AM