Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

quadcube
post Jun 5 2016, 11:38 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(key3hky @ Jun 5 2016, 11:07 PM)
Yahoo... Finally going to hokkaido next week.. Hope weather will be fine.. Anyone else going?
going to JPN on the 26th another 2 weeks laugh.gif
quadcube
post Jun 13 2016, 01:15 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(szejz123 @ Jun 13 2016, 12:04 AM)
Just sharing-
I got a 15 day data sim (Docomo)during my Japan trip in dec from TaoBao, 500mb/day at lte speed. after 500mb, speed was still about 2-4mbitps, the cost was only about 70RM (130 yuan).
Got 3 month data sim?any link?
Going there for 3 months in 2 weeks time
quadcube
post Jun 14 2016, 09:40 PM

1,924 posts

Hi guys,I'm traveling from Kansai Airport (KIX) to Komatsu on the 26th June 2016. Hyperdia and JR-West website are giving me different routes
1) KIX->Kyoto->Komatsu (from JR-West)
2) KIX->Shin-Osaka->Komatsu (from Hyperdia)
both of the links doesn't show routes offered by the other link, which is the correct one ya?
don't want to get lost for too long as I only planned 2 hours buffer time after arriving at KIX (8:25am) laugh.gif
quadcube
post Jun 15 2016, 10:33 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 14 2016, 09:52 PM)
Both way also can.
From KIX to Shin-Osaka Station Or Kyoto Station are Using JR ''Haruka'' Limited Express.

Either you get down from Shin-Osaka Station or Kyoto Station you still have to Change to JR '' Thunderbird'' Limited Express to Komatsu Station.

JR ''Haruka'' Route:
Kansai International Airport - Shin-Osaka - Kyoto - Maibara

JR ''ThunderBird'' Route:
Osaka - Shin-Osaka - Kyoto - (Katata) - (Omi-Imazu) - (Tsuruga) - (Takefu) - (Sabae) - Fukui - (Awaraonsen) - (Kagaonsen) - (Komatsu) - (Matto) - Kanazawa
Wow,that's very detailed,thanks a lot!
Hope I don't get lost in the Kyoto/Shin-Osaka station,they looked huge from the station map from JR-West website
quadcube
post Jun 16 2016, 01:56 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Jun 16 2016, 08:26 AM)
From my experience, just check what's your platform/train and follow the signboard accordingly. Signboard direction is quite clear and you won't get lost if follow correctly.
Thanks! thumbsup.gif
btw,do u have any idea why I'm not able to search any flight from Japan to KUL (one way)?
bought a one way Airasia ticket to KIX (sponsored by lecturer) but I'm trying to buy a one way ticket from Tokyo to KUL (preferably Japanese airline,ANA,JAL) but both airline websites gave me no result at all despite of me changing day for the whole week for both Narita and Haneda airport laugh.gif
quadcube
post Jun 16 2016, 02:04 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Jun 16 2016, 01:58 PM)
when are u travelling, maybe its too early and the flights are not opened for booking yet?
Flying there next Friday,coming back on the 11th of September 2016 laugh.gif I don't think it's too early ba?
quadcube
post Jun 16 2016, 02:42 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(Balalaika @ Jun 16 2016, 02:08 PM)
Check here:

https://www.google.com.my/flights/#search;f...2016-09-15;tt=o

I see got AirAsiaX

that's the only non-stop flight available
not planning to seat airasia if it's possible laugh.gif

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jun 16 2016, 02:21 PM)
For ANA, did you select economy lowest price? If yes you need to change it to economy flexible.
thanks! it works and omg...they cost almost RM10k shocking.gif if return trip,the ticket from NRT to KUL only cost RM800+ rclxub.gif
quadcube
post Jun 16 2016, 04:58 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jun 16 2016, 03:18 PM)
Yes, so my suggestion is to buy return and forego the KUL-NRT. Thats what I normally do.
the KUL-NRT ticket from ANA can't be refunded? confused.gif

haiz,can't decide when I want to fly back but I still need to buy the return ticket or not they won't let me fly at all laugh.gif

quadcube
post Jun 28 2016, 08:31 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 26 2016, 09:51 PM)
this should be very useful for many of us
http://www.iamili.com/

god i definitely need this laugh.gif it's been my 3rd day in Japan,can't even communicate with the people there. today a guy came to collect the futon rental,I couldn't even say thank you,brainfart doh.gif
quadcube
post Jun 28 2016, 09:44 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 28 2016, 09:04 AM)
if u have data
open/download google translate app
there is a voice translation part there
but will require data...accuracy of it though..i can't confirm since i can't speak japanese
haha,i have the app,just that on the spot when ppl are speaking to me,can't really translate on the spot and i totally have no idea what they are saying until they do some sign then I only can get what they actually want me to do laugh.gif laugh.gif
quadcube
post Jun 28 2016, 10:04 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 28 2016, 09:46 AM)
what are u doing in japan?
3 month internship in Nomi laugh.gif pretty fascinated by everything,the punctuality,efficiency,friendliness wub.gif even the toilet bowl in my single room is fascinating (not the auto spray buttock one laugh.gif )
quadcube
post Jun 28 2016, 04:14 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jun 28 2016, 10:22 AM)
u can switch though..press the japanese one
but u need to let the opposite talk to the phone
wow, so good
expenses self paid or?
self paid cry.gif plus a little allowance from my uni and lecturer
quadcube
post Jul 14 2016, 05:40 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 14 2016, 11:32 AM)
i hate summer and winter vacations

summer always hot, rain then typhoon
winter worst, extreme snow cause flight cancellation, slippery road, super cold u don't even want to walk outside

yes their hv their own speciality but traveling in this conditions is totally waste of time, gud luck
---

go la nz, korea, or upcomming hawaii
true...summer seriously rain almost everyday sweat.gif this week almost whole week I don't get to go out for dinner because the rain is too heavy
quadcube
post Aug 9 2016, 08:41 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(melk89 @ Aug 8 2016, 11:12 PM)
Hi, i will be going to japan this september and i have question regarding withdrawing cash in japan. Which one is better? Withdraw money from japan or exchange all the money in msia? Kindly advice! Thank you.
Best change in Malaysia...or not if your card can't withdraw then.. laugh.gif
My Maybank ATM card so far the only machine that I can withdraw is 7-11 ATM,other cant
quadcube
post Aug 10 2016, 08:01 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(melk89 @ Aug 10 2016, 07:45 PM)
Yep haha, changed my mind about withdrawing the money in japan. I do not want to have any risk in japan without cash...

Also is there any place to suggest for money exchange? I have euro and consider of changing at the airport but i think i can get better rate in tokyo.
That one u have to ask the sifu here,didn't change before any currency in Japan laugh.gif

Anyone in shinjuku?
Inb4,Suica penguin
quadcube
post Aug 13 2016, 10:24 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Aug 13 2016, 10:08 AM)
what is the cheapest option to get mobile data in Tokyo?
I have U Mobile but that is Rm36 a day. What cheaper alternatives SIM card for data especially I can get in Japan. I read that you can even buy one at Yodabashi or Bic Camera.

Thanks in advance
Depends on what you need,validity or amount of data..
When I need to use quite a lot of data for a day or two,I just use Maxis and run it on roaming plan
For my case,I need 80+ days of data,so I went for IIJmio Japan travel sim,2GB for 3 months,the cheapest I could find laugh.gif
quadcube
post Aug 29 2016, 08:48 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(kingofrave89 @ Aug 28 2016, 08:32 PM)
sifu, wanna ask, do we have to bring the voltage converter for our electrical appliances? and will our electrical stuff damage if we don't? thank u! biggrin.gif
Check your electric appliances input voltage..for laptop or AC to DC power supplies,usually no need 110v-to-230v transformer
But if for those hair dryer and stuff,u need the transformer

0.0591sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:56 AM