Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

platingirl
post Jun 27 2016, 05:26 PM

209 posts

Hi everyone. We're planning to go to Hokkaido next month. 4 adults and 3 children. I was thinking of renting a MPV but seems the rental is quite expensive.

Which local car rental provider is the cheapest or is it better to take train/public transportation? I've just started to do some research but would appreciate if anyone has any suggestion for a group as big as ours. First time bringing parents for international travel happy.gif

Thank you.
platingirl
post Jun 27 2016, 09:35 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jun 27 2016, 06:31 PM)
u hv big family, it is actually cheaper when u evenly divide the cost
and hokkaido itself is actually more convenient with own transportation, except all those big town

my opinion, the elderly also hv more time to rest... less walking/waiting

there are many website... u just compare the price
http://www2.tocoo.jp/en
http://www.toyotarentacar.net/english/
http://nissan-rentacar.com/english/shop/hokkaido/

ps: non-peak season, no need book... many car rental hv counter at airport
Thanks Lucas. Actually we are going end July and its apparently high/peak season in Hokkaido lololz. But after i compare renting car vs train, seems train is also not cheap as it costs more than Y2000 for an adult to Asahikawa for example and thats only one way *eeks* sweat.gif

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 27 2016, 06:33 PM)
7 seater car sure will more expensive than sedan. Those car rental shop all have standard price. If cheaper also wont more than 1500yen different.  My fav car rental are Nippon Rent A Car company.
Thanks RegentCid. Yea, 7 seaters are indeed ex. Will take a look at Nippon Rent A Car. Are online rentals cheaper than renting at the car rental shops/booth?

This post has been edited by platingirl: Jun 27 2016, 09:37 PM
platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 12:39 PM

209 posts

Hi. Our upcoming trip to Hokkaido end of July is as follows

Day 1 - Arrive in Chitose / Furano / Biei / Overnight in Asahikawa
Day 2 - Noboribetsu / Lake Toya
Day 3 - Hakodate
Day 4 - Niseko
Day 5 - Shakotan Peninsular / Otaru
Day 6 - Jozankei Dam / Overnight Sapporo
Day 7 - Sapporo City / Overnight in Chitose
Day 8 Fly Back ..

But i am thinking if its better to stay in either Hakodate or Niseko for 2 nights instead and just visit Otaru for a couple of hours before staying overnight in Sapporo City.

Any suggestions ? Thanks smile.gif

platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 01:59 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Jul 12 2016, 01:50 PM)
D1 super rush....... i can said that u will reach Ashikawa hotel at 8-9pm even u may just touch and go at tourist spot
D2 another log hours inside the car (4-5 hours)
D3 No problem
D4 Summer at Niseko.....not much attractive
D5-D7 No problem
HI psiloveyou,

Thanks for your comment. thumbup.gif

Forgot to mention that we are renting a car .. so will reach Chitose around 820am, pickup car and go straight to Furano / Biei .. tomita farm / lavender park / blue pond etc. Yea will probably reach Asahikawa evening just to makan and rest at hotel before driving down to Noboribetsu.

Niseko - i know its probably not as nice as winter .. but i saw there is also fruit picking, hot air balloon .. etc.

Is there a need to stay in Hakodate for 2 nights instead (by sacrificing our overnight in Otaru) .. or do you think i should stay overnight in Otaru ?

This post has been edited by platingirl: Jul 12 2016, 01:59 PM
platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 02:39 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Jul 12 2016, 02:15 PM)
U r welcome, just my opinion for your plan

Day 1 - Arrive in Chitose / Furano / Biei / Overnight in Asahikawa
Day 2 - Noboribetsu / Lake Toya.  I will suggest you all to revisit Biei/Furano at the morning again until you all really satisfy.  I have been visited Biei/Furano twice (each visit I stayed three nights here)......so many attraction.  The best time to visit blue pond is with the strong sunlight which will give your photo "wow" effect. So u may reach Noboribetsu late evening or nigh time.
Day 3 - Hakodate........Enjoy your day time and Noboribetsu, visit Lake Toya, Lake Onuma, overnight at Hakodate
Day 4 - Enjoy day trip at Hakodate, stay at Hakodate
Day 5 - Shakotan Peninsular / Otaru There is a fruit orchard near Otaru, u can go there after visit Shakotan
Day 6 - Jozankei Dam / Overnight Sapporo
Day 7 - Sapporo City / Overnight in Chitose
Day 8 Fly Back ..
TQVM .... so guess i will skip staying overnight Niseko then. Hahaha, lucky i havent book Niseko yet. But i was actually planning to try out the mixed onsen there. Maybe should go during autumn or winter instead icon_rolleyes.gif Actually i only wanted to go to Fukidashi Natural Spring biggrin.gif

platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 04:16 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(khan @ Jul 12 2016, 03:38 PM)
Hey there, hope this help ( just came back from Hokkaido self drive)  rclxms.gif

1. for your D1 which route you plan to use? If same as mine, you will be reaching Asahikawa first, so you will need to drive to Furanu/Biei and back to your hotel (1 hour+ one way) Or the other route, you will be driving a lot more hours. How about staying in Furanu instead? Suggest you stay at least 2 night in Furano (if you are into Flowers, melons, lavender, country side and mountain)
2. Noboribetsu and Lake Toya are nothing special, worth a detour but not a full day, you may visit them while on your way to Hakodate.
3. Spend at least 2 nights at Hakodate, you won't regret it.
4. Skip Niseko
5 Day trip to Otaru but no need overnight. Stay at Sapporo instead. Sapporo to Otaru is just around 45 minutes. Spend 2 nights in Sapporo smile.gif
6 Every souvenir, chocolate, or Hokkaido limited stuff are available at the Airport at around the same price. So, don't worry if you forgot to buy anything.

Psiloveyou - Nice pics icon_rolleyes.gif

Khan - Not many hotels in Furano or too expensive during the time i go sad.gif Staying overnight in Lake Toya to see the fireworks display. Noboribetsu will stop by for day trip. Considering to stay 2 nights in Hakodate now smile.gif Thanks

platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 04:18 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 12 2016, 03:46 PM)
too rush  ranting.gif
all the place is totally out of order...  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
waste traveling time
dont think u able to reach hakodate
u think hokkaido is very small?  bangwall.gif
at the end u only hv 8days... u sure u have enuf time??

...unless this is your plan for full day driving trips (minus enjoying the trip)  sweat.gif
stamping all the way
---

after asahikawa, u should head to sapporo -> otaru -> jozankei -> ?? hakodate -> lake toya
noboribetsu is just below chitose, u better make it on last day

pls use google maps to plan your itinerary, at least u should learn the traveling time  whistling.gif
Yea a bit rush. I've already googled for the travelling time from one town to another. Seems acceptable to me, hahaha. But i am asking for inputs from all you season travellers, so i can improve my plan. Thanks for your input. Flight on last day is at 9am, so Noboribetsu have to go earlier.

This post has been edited by platingirl: Jul 12 2016, 04:46 PM
platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 04:22 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 12 2016, 04:06 PM)
Both also fail plan. Have to see Hokkaido Map before make such speechless waste money plan.

Proper Plan should be
Day 1 Chitose > Furano > Biei > Asahikawa (overnight)
Day 2 Asahikawa > Sapporo (lunch) > Otaru > Shakotan Penisula > Otaru (Overnight)
Day 3 Otaru > Niseko > Yakumo (Lunch) > Hakodate (Overnight)
Day 4 Hakodate > Hakodate (Lunch) > Noboribetsu ( Onsen + Overnight)
Day 5 Noboribetsu > Sapporo
Day 6 Sapporo > Jozankei
Day 7 Sapporo > Chitose (Overnight)
Day 8 Fly Back

Please Key in all placed in Google Map, It make perfect Circle, Making Sense.
laugh.gif laugh.gif

I have some reasons why i decided to take the clockwise route instead of anti-clockwise. For example, Shakotan Peninsular - would like to reach there in the morning instead afternoon because it will be hot. Our group has some elderly and young kids. But will relook at the plan again taking into consideration all the inputs here. Thanks for your input. smile.gif

This post has been edited by platingirl: Jul 12 2016, 04:22 PM
platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 04:30 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 12 2016, 04:28 PM)
ok... ur plan ur decision...
seriously LEARN to plan itineray with google maps

How to Plan a Trip Itinerary Using Custom Google Maps

Some sample i create
Google Maps

Thanks smile.gif
platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 06:43 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 12 2016, 05:08 PM)
platingirl gmaps driving duration in Hokkaido a bit underestimated one. Just one comment from me. Other than the expressway, roads are typically very low speed limits (40-60km/h).
Thanks. I'll be getting the HEP. So mostly will be using Expressway i think, unless the GSP uses the non-toll roads.

Just doing a rough comparison on GMaps .. either clockwise route (Noboribetsu-Otaru) or anti-clockwise (Otaru-Noboribetsu) - seems not that much difference. The route that Lucas and Regentcid suggested is probably shorter by 1 hour.
platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 06:47 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Jul 12 2016, 04:57 PM)
Dear Lucaswjk and RegentCid,

Relax, brothers biggrin.gif ....... If you refer back to the her first thread, I just slightly modified it to enhance her travel experience.  She going to take off soon, I cannot simply suggest her to make new booking for her stay as u all know that:

Summer is a peak season for Hokkaido tourism, last minuets booking may be very expansive.
We do not how many travelers join her and who are they (adults, elderly, children or infant)?  My own experience to make booking at Furano guest house (travel with my six months old infant) was a very challenging task, not every guesthouse will accept children and infant.

Since she already explained her reasons for her planning, we give her input to enhance it.  Thank you. laugh.gif
I bought my tickets not too long ago. Consider kinda last minute ... and while doing more research and booking, realized its Peak Summer.

One challenge in accommodations is that Japanese hotels seems kinda strict on accommodating children or at least from what i read, squeezing more than 2 people in one room. We have 2 young children and 1 infant. doh.gif booking is a headache.

Are Japanese hotels really strict about having more than 2-3 people in one room?

This post has been edited by platingirl: Jul 12 2016, 06:48 PM
platingirl
post Jul 12 2016, 09:01 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 12 2016, 07:45 PM)
u can try japanese style room, tatami type (-->sleep on the floor)
normally hotel allow you to add futon

did that...  thumbsup.gif
Thanks Lucas. When you say hotel allow to add futon, you mean those hotel that have the tatami room, right? Do they charge extra? Appreciate any tips hahaha ... am bringing my in-laws as well this round, so i have to book like 2 rooms for each overnight *sweats* biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by platingirl: Jul 12 2016, 09:14 PM
platingirl
post Jul 13 2016, 09:10 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 12 2016, 10:47 PM)
in this forum they hv special status  brows.gif

actually i hv been telling alot of ppl to planned their itinerary using google maps
but nobody do this, at most i saw excel sheets

taking this chance to show the power of googlemaps
let them see for themself the usefulness
Thanks for the info.

Hahaha, old skool ppl like me use Excel Sheets. whistling.gif

I do use GMaps just to see distance etc from one place to another, but didnt really use it to map all our day-to-day itinerary. Thx for the tip thumbup.gif

And yea, kinda peak. Not risking. If sendiri jalan, then okay but we have to book like 2 rooms and with kids and seniors, proper planning better. And rclxs0.gif rclxs0.gif i did call some of the hotels to enquire. Had some help from Google translate la but when they speak, i had to listen clearly and ask for repeat .. Say What? Hahahaha
platingirl
post Jul 13 2016, 10:03 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Jul 13 2016, 01:40 PM)
If you booked business hotel liked Toyoko Inn, Super Hotel , Dormmy Inn, they usually allow one child (may be below 5-6 years old) free to sleep by using the existing bed.  If you have two children age more than 5 years old, you may need to book two rooms.
Peak season now .. its like 500+ or more per night for 1 room. bangwall.gif

0.1514sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:43 PM