Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

michlove
post Dec 16 2015, 12:43 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Dec 16 2015, 12:28 AM)
Hey guys I'm going to Hokkaido this Saturday. I'm going to wear a leather high top boots. Is it necessary to get a water repellent spray for the boots? If so where is the best place to get it? Thanks
I bought from Timberland.
michlove
post Dec 17 2015, 10:10 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 16 2015, 01:47 PM)
mich. timberland good? i heard quite heavy and when walk for few hours, legs will get tired.. i use uggs
mine got the anti-fatigue thing. So if I walk for long hours, it sorts of like absorb the vibration from walking. So far so good for me. And mine is also quite light one
michlove
post Dec 29 2015, 09:52 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 28 2015, 08:30 PM)
sifu-sifu sekalian, will be going osaka 2016 march, help me see my itinerary 2 days in Osaka ok or not  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Day 1:
7.00am GO KIX 1st floor Information Center buy Kansai Thru Pass
7.43am Take Nankai Airport Line to Namba Station
8.30am Arrived Namba Station
8.40am From Namba Subway, take Midosuji Line to Shinsaibashi Station then take Nagahori Tsurumi-ryokuchi Line to Osaka Business Park Station then walk to Osaka Castle
12.00pm Walk to Osaka Meseum of History
01.30pm Walk to Tanimachiyonchome Station(4 chome), take Tanimachi Line to Tanimachirokuchome Station (6 chome), Take Nagahoritsurumiryokuchi Line to Shinsaibashi Station

After that Lunch at somewhere else in Shinsaibaishi then check in hotel at 3pm,
after that go Minami, Den Den Town, Kuromon Market & Dotonbori

Day 2:

From Shinsaibaishi Station, take Midosuji Line to Osaka Station
- Yodobashi Camera, Umeda Sky building
- Night time, HEP FIVE Ferris Wheel
- back to shinsaibashi shopping

Can I use KTP for all the above "Line" ? Thank in advance!  notworthy.gif
I don't think KTP pays it off just by going to those places above. You need to add in at least Himeji and Kobe then it's good.

michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 08:52 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Dec 29 2015, 03:49 PM)
Planning to go to Tokyo with my wife and 2 kids (5 years old & 8 months old at that time)..plan for a week with at least a day trip to go play with snow, heard Gala Yuzawa is nearby for Tokyo..anybody have a good itinerary for us? First timers here.
what month are you going?
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 10:30 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Dec 30 2015, 10:02 AM)
Planning to go early Feb
you can get alot of snow in Feb. Gala Yuzawa is more like a commercialize snow resort. If you want more nature, try Takayama or Shirakawa-go.
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 10:50 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Dec 30 2015, 10:31 AM)
Will it be that far off Tokyo? and cost wise to those places?  notworthy.gif
Going to Gala Yuzawa is not cheap either. You can consider this pass : https://www.jreast.co.jp/e/tokyowidepass/

For Takayama, I would suggest to take bus smile.gif

Go do some googling yah

This post has been edited by michlove: Dec 30 2015, 10:51 AM
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 12:11 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Dec 30 2015, 12:04 PM)
Thanks! Looks like a great pass...I wonder if I can get to Gotemba using this pass..
Nope, you can't. But this pass covers Nikko, Mount Fuji and Yokohama. May be you want to consider this places too because the single tickets are not cheap. But unfortunately this pass is also valid for three consecutive days only. So plan your itinerary well! All the places I mentioned can do daytrip from Tokyo smile.gif
Except for Takayama and Shirawaka-go. These two places best to stay 1-2 nights.

This post has been edited by michlove: Dec 30 2015, 12:14 PM
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 30 2015, 01:24 PM)
why don have fushimi inari and golden pavilion geh? i tot it is a must go?
He went Japan many times d lor....
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 03:43 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM)
Yet to plan my trip itinerary and only flight ticket bought... Will give this thread a read through...

Will be in Japan for 13 Days 12 Nights on end January with a total of 5 people... Landing in Tokyo and Leaving from Tokyo...

I am thinking...

Tokyo --> Kyoto --> Osaka --> Tokyo

Made my first mistake I guess, should have considered multi city flight via ANA airlines for a couple of hundred extra... But travelling back and forth to the airport gonna cost time and money right?
Take the 7 days JR nationwide pass.
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 03:49 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 03:45 PM)
yeah thought of that too, thanks
wah dont say like that, other sifu here will laugh at me le..i thought you went more than me too. by the way, 3 months to go  thumbup.gif
LOL....time to countdown! See you in Japan....haha
michlove
post Dec 31 2015, 11:17 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Dec 30 2015, 05:22 PM)
already did my calculation i think should be fine considering we gonna hoping train / subway. some more this pass cover bus. at least we can estimate how much the transportation cost for that day.

2 days Kansai Thru Pass: Y4000
2 days JR West Pass: Y4300

another pass that I think usefull is Osaka Amazing Pass. Havent study completely yet but I think worth it for those who want to pusing pusing around Osaka.
Read here : http://www.2aussietravellers.com/osaka-ama...-it-good-value/
And you will understand how to make this pass worth it.

FYI, most of the subway fares per way in Osaka is 280yen. If you want pusing pusing in Osaka city only, make sure you take the subway at least 8 times per day + one entrance fee wink.gif

This post has been edited by michlove: Dec 31 2015, 11:20 AM
michlove
post Jan 4 2016, 09:50 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 3 2016, 06:34 PM)
Hmm, higher temp compared to last year meaning cherry blossom could be earlier..am i right
Yes! I get to see sakura! rclxms.gif
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 09:21 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jan 4 2016, 11:42 PM)
Hey guys...

I am a little worried that booking at the counter on the evening before for my morning 10am departure train travel with my japan rail pass from tokyo to kyoto..

Would there be a chance that i may not get seats for 5 ppl?
what is the date that you are going to kyoto?
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 09:24 AM

233 posts

Sadly....no thick snow in Shirakawa-go up todate....

[attachmentid=5700231]
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 02:32 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jan 5 2016, 01:49 PM)
Day 1 KUL - TOKYO (4pm arrival)
Day 2 TOKYO (Can only buy rail tickets during evening, as my dad flying in on Day 2 of the trip)

7 Days Rail Pass begins

Day 3 30/01/2016 Saturday Rail Pass  KYOTO
Day 4 31/01/2016 Sunday Rail Pass  KYOTO (OSAKA Day Trip)
Day 5 01/02/2016 Monday Rail Pass  KYOTO
Day 6 02/02/2016 Tuesday Rail Pass  KYOTO
Day 7 03/02/2016 Wednesday Rail Pass  KYOTO (NAGOYA Day Trip)
Day 8 04/02/2016 Thursday Rail Pass  TOKYO
Day 9 05/02/2016 Friday Rail Pass  TOKYO (YOKOHAMA)

7 Days Rail Pass expires
Day 10 Tokyo
Day 11 Tokyo
Day 12 Tokyo
Day 13 Back to KL
Nice, easy slow itinerary. Maybe you want to consider 1 night stay in Osaka? The nightlife there is so much better than Kyoto. In Kyoto, everything closes at 9pm. And you are going to Japan during winter time, the daylight is shorter and it gets dark 4pm onwards.
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 02:36 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jan 5 2016, 02:25 PM)
my next march/april incoming trip  biggrin.gif

day 1: haneda
day 2: izu
day 3: hakone
day 4: yokohama
day 5: kawasaki & tokyo
day 6: tokyo
day 7: tokyo
day 8: saitama
day 9: tokyo
day 10: tokyo
day 11: tokyo
day 12: balik kampung

hope able to see any sakura along the way despite the future is looking bleak  blush.gif
This is what my cousin told me this morning...."Winter this time is not so cold compare to last year. So, we might expect early sakura blooming like 1 week earlier! Be prepared sis!"

I'm going to Japan on 18th March - 27th March....so the timing might just be right wink.gif

or....Winter might be late this year and we can expect heavy snow in March!

This post has been edited by michlove: Jan 5 2016, 02:41 PM
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 03:10 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 5 2016, 03:08 PM)
nope... winter is early this year!!!
started since dec
That is hokkaido....Central Japan is very less snow up to date.

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Jan 5 2016, 03:07 PM)
so sad wit ur statement cry.gif
awwwww.....don't worry. I see forecast, it's raining in Shirakawa-go now. And there are light snow for tomorrow until next week.

This post has been edited by michlove: Jan 5 2016, 03:12 PM
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 03:27 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jan 5 2016, 03:18 PM)
Not so sure about that. Till now I still havent bring out my "heavy artillery" of winter clothes in Tokyo:). I am still with one normal winter jackets and normal working clothes. I was even wearing shorts and slippers in Ginza in mid December.
My cousin is in Fukuoka ler....she's just wearing those spring clothings now tongue.gif
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 03:35 PM

233 posts

Read here..... : http://www.japantoday.com/category/nationa...spring-clothing

DEC. 17, 2015
TOKYO —
Plum trees blossoming in Kagawa Prefecture, temperatures topping 20 degrees in central Japan, stores selling spring clothing –– sounds like winter is finally over. Yet it is only one week before Christmas.

The recent mild temperatures and lack of snow, abnormal for this time of the year, are causing alarm at dozens of ski resorts and businesses profiting from cold weather across the country, with a vast number of ski resorts still remaining closed, according to Japanese media reports
michlove
post Jan 5 2016, 03:51 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jan 5 2016, 03:42 PM)
Maybe yes maybe not, taking it slow and easy, thanks for the suggestion
all airbnbs has been booked for the trip.... my friend persuaded me to go to kyoto more... haih... maybe in the end i'm gonna commute to osaka more sad.gif

modified my planning slightly to have base at kyoto and tokyo only, spending less time on check ins

I am going on end January

Back to the question, are those Japan shinkansen tickets easily snapped up especially for the Tokyo to Kyoto vice versa route, perhaps taking a 11am train with my rail passes...
Oh yah....you are going during winter time. It's not really that peak season. But just in case, What I did was, the minute I touched down Tokyo, I immediately went to the Shinjuku JR station to reserved all my travel dates seats. So, you really need to be sure when and what time to travel to those regions. All tickets were printed out immediately too.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0554sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:00 PM