Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

junjie
post Dec 23 2015, 05:29 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Dec 23 2015, 05:19 PM)
if no good then i just go for jalan2 only. cheap tix anyway 2 person 1.2k with tax and all. anyway i really want to go to japan but just wonder if honeymoon is good there or not.
yes, it's good...
you might try Hakone or Kawaguchiko area!
junjie
post Dec 29 2015, 10:06 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 28 2015, 08:30 PM)
sifu-sifu sekalian, will be going osaka 2016 march, help me see my itinerary 2 days in Osaka ok or not  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Day 1:
7.00am GO KIX 1st floor Information Center buy Kansai Thru Pass
7.43am Take Nankai Airport Line to Namba Station
8.30am Arrived Namba Station
8.40am From Namba Subway, take Midosuji Line to Shinsaibashi Station then take Nagahori Tsurumi-ryokuchi Line to Osaka Business Park Station then walk to Osaka Castle
12.00pm Walk to Osaka Meseum of History
01.30pm Walk to Tanimachiyonchome Station(4 chome), take Tanimachi Line to Tanimachirokuchome Station (6 chome), Take Nagahoritsurumiryokuchi Line to Shinsaibashi Station

After that Lunch at somewhere else in Shinsaibaishi then check in hotel at 3pm,
after that go Minami, Den Den Town, Kuromon Market & Dotonbori

Day 2:

From Shinsaibaishi Station, take Midosuji Line to Osaka Station
- Yodobashi Camera, Umeda Sky building
- Night time, HEP FIVE Ferris Wheel
- back to shinsaibashi shopping

Can I use KTP for all the above "Line" ? Thank in advance!  notworthy.gif
Not worth to get Kansai Thru Pass for Osaka area only...

junjie
post Dec 29 2015, 01:47 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 29 2015, 01:13 PM)
im going to osaka kyoto and tokyo, wanted to use the KTP in osaka and kyoto, like this oso not worth ka? thanks sifu

kyoto itinerary not yet done so cant post here  blush.gif  notworthy.gif
you may consider Kansai Area Pass which is cheaper...
https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/travel-i...on/pass/kansai/

junjie
post Dec 29 2015, 05:49 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 29 2015, 03:37 PM)
ok sifu! thanks for the recommendation!!  rclxms.gif
what bout my itinerary in osaka? will too rush o not? haha, this gona be my first time to Japan  blush.gif

btw, i googled online and found that  Kansai Area Pass by taking "Kansai-airport Express HARUKA" can only bring me to shin-osaka? is that true? any other place in osaka tht KAP can bring me to? such as taking rapid services from KIX to namba station?

https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/travel-i...i_route_map.pdf

cannot bring me to osaka business park station? do i have to purchase separate ticket to go there?
your itinerary should be Ok but i thought nearest MRT station for Osaka Castle is Tanimachi 4-chrome Station along the Tanimachi Subway Line and Chuo Subway Line?

Maybe you can try Umeda Sky Building at night (night view)...

you might consider more location to visit for day 2.

Take Express HARUKA and stop at Tenoji then change to normal line. Or i suggest you to utilize the pass and ride until Kyoto.

1) Unlimited usage of non-JR trains in the Kansai Region, including
Subways of Osaka, Kyoto and Kobe
Hankyu Railways (Kobe - Osaka - Kyoto)
Hanshin Railways (Kobe - Osaka)
Keihan Railways (Osaka - Kyoto)
Kintetsu Railways (Osaka - Kyoto - Nara)
Nankai Railways (Osaka - Kansai Airport - Koyasan)
Sanyo Railways (Kobe - Himeji)
Keifuku Railways (Kyoto)
Nose Railways (North of Osaka)
Kobe Railways (North of Kobe)
Osaka Monorail (Northern Osaka, Itami Airport)
Kobe Kosoku Railways (Kobe)
Port and Rokko Liner (Kobe)
Various cablecars (Hieizan, Koyasan)
A few more minor railway lines

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2357_005.html

This post has been edited by junjie: Dec 29 2015, 05:53 PM
junjie
post Dec 29 2015, 05:55 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 29 2015, 05:46 PM)
If i only buy Kansai Thru Pass, what is the best way to go to Kyoto?

Shinsaibaishi to Yodoyabashi to Sanjo using Keihan Main Line ?
you can consider JR Special Rapid Service from Osaka to Kyoto which only take you 29 minutes.

Japan transport can be found here
http://www.hyperdia.com/
junjie
post Dec 29 2015, 10:41 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 29 2015, 06:41 PM)
thanks sifu for the reply

i used hyperdia but it only tell me the station to go but did not tell wad ticket i can use. And i go back to KTP route maps and i didnt found any route as stated in hyperdia. Do u mean using Tokaido-Sanyo Line? tht 1 need to buy separate ticket right? cannot use KTP right? thanks sifu
Human nature is right, KTP cannot be used on JR train
you might need to consider Keihan to Sanjo (actually sanjo is already inside Kyoto)
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 12:53 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 30 2015, 11:03 AM)
wow, thanks for the info!! 1 hour que at kix.. thats crazy  doh.gif  doh.gif

ytd i start working with Kyoto Itinerary and found that most of the place nid walk walk walk walk
and im still thinking how to go golden pavilion from arashiyama station and then back to shijo station as im staying at mystays shijo  rclxub.gif

will be staying at kyoto for 2 days, first day will go fushimi inari that side, second day will be going to arashiyama and golden pavilion that side, any other place to recommend that must go?
At Kyoto, recommend to use Kyoto City Bus & Kyoto Bus One-Day Pass
500 Yen only unlimited ride per day!

http://www2.city.kyoto.lg.jp/koho/eng/acce...port.html#cvcrd
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 01:30 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 01:28 PM)
last trip already covered kinkakuji, fushimi inari, kiyomizudera, higashiyamaarea, kodaiji and gion..so going to new places  biggrin.gif
no go Arashiyama?
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 02:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 01:33 PM)
got..arashiyama is the only area that I will be going two times as I missed Tenryu-ji and nonomia last time..wanted to go to some temples further north from arashiyama and also ryoan-ji this time but..lazy to walk tongue.gif
Remember to try Sagano train.
the temples can be connected with Kyoto bus.
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 02:41 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Dec 30 2015, 02:26 PM)
You need to take 3 bus trip in a day to make the bus pass worth while.  During peak season, buses are stuck in traffic and take long time to reach destination.  So this is where the rail or subway comes into the picture.  But if not peak season, bus is ok I guess.
Last time i go during sakura and autumn leave season, traffic still ok.
Most of the tourism place can be reach easily by bus but subway have to walk a bit.
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 03:37 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM)
Yet to plan my trip itinerary and only flight ticket bought... Will give this thread a read through...

Will be in Japan for 13 Days 12 Nights on end January with a total of 5 people... Landing in Tokyo and Leaving from Tokyo...

I am thinking...

Tokyo --> Kyoto --> Osaka --> Tokyo

Made my first mistake I guess, should have considered multi city flight via ANA airlines for a couple of hundred extra... But travelling back and forth to the airport gonna cost time and money right?
For me, taking shinkansen is more worth compare to flight in term of time.
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 04:11 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 03:45 PM)
yeah thought of that too, thanks
wah dont say like that, other sifu here will laugh at me le..i thought you went more than me too. by the way, 3 months to go  thumbup.gif
Remember to buy at JR counter at Kansai Airport when you reached. if not will sold out...
junjie
post Dec 31 2015, 04:29 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 31 2015, 12:23 PM)
booked Vietnam airlines to Osaka for 1week getaway couple of months ago
Only now started reading and googling

planning to do 4D Kyoto, 3D Osaka + 1D Nara

Got a really good offer for Ibis osaka
haven't decided which place to stay at kyoto, i supposed nearby kyoto station is most convenient?

man, the railpass really got me into some headaches
Kyoto last time i stay at Kawaramachi area...
is a shopping street...

junjie
post Jan 2 2016, 08:07 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jan 1 2016, 11:59 PM)
Hi everyone... Here's how I intend to use my 7 Days Rail Pass

DAY
1  TOKYO ---> OSAKA
2  OSAKA ---> KYOTO
3  KYOTO
4  KYOTO ---> NARA (DAY TRIP, IN CASE SEEN ALL IN KYOTO)
5  KYOTO ---> NAGOYA
6  NAGOYA ---> TOKYO
7  TOKYO ---> YOKOHAMA (DAY TRIP)

Quite well utilised right?
you spent a lot of travel time in this trip...
junjie
post Jan 2 2016, 10:38 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jan 2 2016, 09:32 AM)
Icic... The remainder days i would just spend it in tokyo.... I will be there for 13 days 12 night ,activation of japan rail pass is on day 3....
suggest to put more day on Kyoto, too many place to visit there.
nara, half day trip i think OK.

Never go nagoya before.
Maybe can try Himeiji castle? just open recently after a big renovation...

junjie
post Jan 4 2016, 09:58 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(aeratholas @ Jan 3 2016, 09:35 PM)
So JRpass is not recommended? Because I plan to go from Tokyo-Osaka, Osaka-Kyoto then Osaka-Tokyo
Tokyo 1night, Osaka+Kyoto 4nights, Tokyo 2.5nights and it seems the JRpass would cover the costs if I travel like that.
for me, i prefer only visit kansai area only (kyoto + osaka + nara) if my trip is only 7 days.
maybe can add in Himeiji and Kobe as well.
junjie
post Jan 4 2016, 05:09 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Jan 4 2016, 01:23 PM)
i like Osaka more than Tokyo
i like kyoto the most! haha...
junjie
post Jan 4 2016, 05:53 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Jan 4 2016, 05:42 PM)
Hi all the Sifu here,

Regarding the Kansai Thru Pass. Remember when purchase this pass it comes with some free entrance tix with it as well right?
Can anyone send me a link for the detail of Free/Discount Entrance fee for the KTP?
http://www.surutto.com/tickets/kansai_thru_english.html
junjie
post Jan 5 2016, 02:02 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jan 5 2016, 01:49 PM)
Day 1 KUL - TOKYO (4pm arrival)
Day 2 TOKYO (Can only buy rail tickets during evening, as my dad flying in on Day 2 of the trip)

7 Days Rail Pass begins

Day 3 30/01/2016 Saturday Rail Pass  KYOTO
Day 4 31/01/2016 Sunday Rail Pass  KYOTO (OSAKA Day Trip)
Day 5 01/02/2016 Monday Rail Pass  KYOTO
Day 6 02/02/2016 Tuesday Rail Pass  KYOTO
Day 7 03/02/2016 Wednesday Rail Pass  KYOTO (NAGOYA Day Trip)
Day 8 04/02/2016 Thursday Rail Pass  TOKYO
Day 9 05/02/2016 Friday Rail Pass  TOKYO (YOKOHAMA)

7 Days Rail Pass expires
Day 10 Tokyo
Day 11 Tokyo
Day 12 Tokyo
Day 13 Back to KL
did not consider NARA?
junjie
post Jan 8 2016, 03:49 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 8 2016, 03:26 PM)
Your accommodation?
try search for free cancellation one...
book first, if see better deal then cancel and rebook...

0.0611sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:18 PM