Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

SnoopyDevil
post Aug 1 2016, 04:31 PM

383 posts

Hi Sifu,

will be doing a self-drive at Hokkaido early Nov. got cheap tickets previously ^^

1) found the most value portable wifi rental @ RM33/day (with damage insurance), telco is Softbank 4G LTE and claimed to have better coverage there compared with Ymobile
2) found a 6d5n ground package with these itinerary (excluded the suggested stops and places to visit):

chitose -> noboribetsu (hotel sekisuitei)

noboribetsu -> hakodate (hakodate kokusai hotel)

hakodate -> lake toya (toyako manseikaku)

lake toya -> sapporo (mercure hotel sapporo drool.gif )

sapporo -> otaro -> sapporo (mercure hotel sapporo)

sapporo -> chitose

Price depends on car and room type but one of the car i like is Subaru XV Hybrid rclxms.gif save petrol i guess icon_rolleyes.gif

Questions:

1) It stated that it comes with ETC Card but is there a place i can check their toll rate? What is the min reload i need to make?
2) My full trip is actually 7d7n, arriving early morning on 7th and leaving early morning on 14th. Any comment on the above itinerary and what other city to recommend? I plan to extend another 2 nights at Sapporo

Thanks in advance.
SnoopyDevil
post Aug 18 2016, 03:27 PM

383 posts

For Hokkaido driving, is this a good route? Any other recommended place i could slot into? (return tickets purchased at CTS)

Chitose -> Noboribetsu(1n) -> Lake Toya(1n) -> Hakodate(1n) -> Otaru(1n) -> Sapporo(3n) -> Chitose

Plan to book a Honda Freed but as per Tocoo it's about 51k all in, sounds quite expensive...
SnoopyDevil
post Aug 19 2016, 11:31 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 19 2016, 09:28 AM)
3-4 days in Sapporo a bit long. Maybe add another destination - Furano/Biei, Jozankei/Hoheikyo, Niseko also could be good. or Asahikawa/Sounkyou Onsen to head up the ropeways to the mountains. Depends on what you like and what season you're going.
Thanks. If i am not mistaken, the only nice place to visit at Asahikawa is the zoo?... I am going on Nov, i think won't be able to see anything at Furano/Biei. Will check out the other places you mentioned.

QUOTE(yaniee @ Aug 19 2016, 10:46 AM)
its free pocket wifi. both car and pocket wifi collect at airport.
just free hokkaido express pass plan. if u want etc card u need to pay more
we plan to use routes without tol.
that is the cheapest rate i compared among all. straight away i booked.
Hi, may i ask which website you book it thru? I was searching via Tocoo and interested in the Honda Freed (bigger for 4 of us with 4 suitcases) and it cost around 51,786yen (with tax and compensation coverage)

how does the free hokkaido express plan work? it actually stated in FAQ that "HEP fee is not included in the total price. Please pay at the outlet when you pick up your car" means we still need to pay for the pass?

is it true that paying tolls by cash is slightly cheaper than by ETS?
SnoopyDevil
post Aug 25 2016, 01:47 PM

383 posts

Hi Sifu. Had to revise the route of my plan as much lesser hotel options during weekend at Sapporo (especially my favourite Mercure). Could you help to take a look and comment as needed?

7th Nov - Arrive CTS 8AM. Explore around the airport and pickup car at 11AM. Drive to Sapporo (~49KM) and spend 2 nights at Mercure Hotel (tentative)

8th Nov - Stay at Sapporo

9th Nov - Drive to Otaru (~38KM). Spend the night at Grand Park Otaru. Plan to visit Otaru Canal, Citi Museum, Railway Museum, Sakaimachi Street

10th Nov - Drive to Lake Toya (~115KM). Spend the night at Granvillage Toya Daiwa Ryokan Annex (tentative)

11th Nov - Drive to Hakodate (~164KM). Spend the night at either Hakodate Kokusai or Hakodate Grand. Plan to visit Mt. Hakodate at night, Fort Goryokaku, Red Brick Warehouses and Asaichi morning market. I think can just park at hotel and walk to these places

12th Nov - Drive to Muroran/Noboribetsu (~213KM). Plan to visit Jigokudani and Shiraoi Ainu Museum. Spend the night at Dormy Inn Higashi Muroran Natural Hot Spring or Hotel Route Inn Higashimuroran Ekimae (tentative)

13th Nov - Drive back to Chitose to return car and spend the night at airport hotel

14th Nov - 9AM flight home. Free shuttle from hotel to airport

SnoopyDevil
post Aug 25 2016, 04:22 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 25 2016, 01:58 PM)
SnoopyDevil a side note on grand park Otaru, when I stayed there last year the room was super smelly (smoke). Had to leave the windows open in order not to suffocate at night. I don't know if they offer non smoking rooms, but something for you to consider if they don't.

For Hakodate, Hakodate grand is a very tired and dated hotel. Also, red brick warehouse area and the cable car to mt Hakodate area are walkable. Asaichi morning market is barely just walkable (25-30mins?), fort goryukaku need to take tram. When I went I visited the morning market twice: once at night specifically for uni don, and the next morning again for more 'normal' kaisendon.

For noboribetsu, porotokotan was the most shittiest attraction I ever visited in Hokkaido. Unless you're really interested in learning about the Ainu, can consider to give it a miss. Also your choice of hotel is πŸ‘ŽπŸΏπŸ‘ŽπŸΏ, go noboribetsu must go to RegentCid approved dai ichi takimotokan!!!!
TQ sir! will take note about Grand Park Otaru. haven't decided yet actually cause the reviews are nice. Any recommended place to stay at Otaru?

Thanks for the tips for Hakodate. I only went to Grand before so thinking of going back, but any other better place is welcome smile.gif Will be driving to Goryukaku nevertheless.

Took a peek at dai ichi takimotokan... expensive wei nearly 1K per night and i need 2 rooms sweat.gif will break my budget trip planing ohmy.gif

Is my overall route good to go?

0.0565sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:09 AM