Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

Human Nature
post Feb 7 2016, 08:43 PM

- student of human nature -
26,521 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 7 2016, 07:54 PM)
Reporting in from Odawara. Although the weather was "only" around 6-9deg, it ended up being COLD thanks to wind + long term exposure (wife and I spent I think 4-5 hours outdoors?).

By a rough estimation I think around 25% of the trees are decently blooming (like the pic) ... another 25% in various stages of bloom and the remaining 50% still buds only no flowers. Probably within next few weeks will be perfect.

Oh, also ... Odawara castle is under earthquake restoration until April ... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
that is cherry blossom or plum blossom? way too early if it's cherry
Human Nature
post Feb 7 2016, 08:50 PM

26,521 posts

They look nice too biggrin.gif really CNY feeling
Human Nature
post Feb 13 2016, 09:04 PM

26,521 posts

The Chinese New Year Special, the girl that you brought to robuchon? biggrin.gif

I have tried Matsusaka beef at Yakiniku M but have yet to try Kobe beef

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Feb 13 2016, 09:06 PM
Human Nature
post Feb 21 2016, 04:06 PM

26,521 posts

Hope this is not implemented too soon.
http://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2016/02/1...s/#.VsbNZ3R953k
Human Nature
post Feb 21 2016, 06:18 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 21 2016, 06:15 PM)
Is it possible to ask for cash-back in Japan?

Like when buying things in grocery store and pay with debit cards. Say it's 5000¥. So they charge to my card ¥10k so that they give me cash ¥5k.

In this way, I don't have to withdraw money from ATMs.
I dont think so. Have you done this before at other places?
Human Nature
post Feb 21 2016, 06:58 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 21 2016, 06:55 PM)
It's starting to get implemented liao, sort of - supposedly the Ota ward already officially adopted the guidelines. It's anyone's guess how soon the other wards follow suit (if at all). Anyway FWIW some people are reporting their AirBnB booking kana cancelled: https://www.reddit.com/r/JapanTravel/commen...one_cancelling/

If wanna be totally safe possibly can go booking.com or agoda and book a fully refundable business hotel. Then a week or so before flying, double check with airbnb host, if OK then cancel the hotel booking.
Quite worrying. I have let go and cancel my booking.com last December.
Human Nature
post Feb 23 2016, 07:46 PM

26,521 posts

Is easter celebrated in Japan?
Human Nature
post Feb 23 2016, 10:39 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 23 2016, 08:49 PM)
No. It was not a Public Holiday at Japan plus it only celebrated by christian only and Japan mostly are Buddha.
aiya..was hoping to see some girls in bunny suit tongue.gif
Human Nature
post Feb 24 2016, 09:53 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Feb 24 2016, 09:40 AM)
Japan do not have any religious holiday. Even Christmas is not a holiday. Holidays will be like Chlldren day, Marine Day, Culture Day, etc.
wait, Christmas is not a holiday?

ah okay..would be nice to see malls with easter deco..but it's okay then
Human Nature
post Feb 24 2016, 11:08 AM

26,521 posts

delete, double post

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Feb 24 2016, 11:09 AM
Human Nature
post Feb 24 2016, 11:09 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Feb 24 2016, 10:41 AM)
The decoration is usually superb by far,
you don't have to worry not feeling the x'mas feels.
hehe was referring to Easter decorations..

surprising that Easter (the celebration part, not the religion part) has not gain traction in japan..bunnies, chocolates..

will be at USJ during Easter biggrin.gif

Human Nature
post Feb 24 2016, 09:22 PM

26,521 posts

1. Sent message to my 2 airbnb host whether should I be concern about any cancellations.
The host in Osaka replied to my message but did not answer the question.
The host in Hiroshima did not reply after 2 days. Prices are crazy in Hiroshima, so made a panic booking using booking.com. with free cancellation option, Toyoko Inn, 10 mins shinkansen away from Hiroshima St, RM300 more expensive than my airbnb and still subject to change depending on the currency.

2. Shitty MYR and strong YEN. Have not changed a single YEN.

3. Sakura forecast also not in my favor.

Haih, feel like wanna cancel my trip sad.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Feb 24 2016, 09:24 PM
Human Nature
post Feb 24 2016, 11:33 PM

26,521 posts

My booking.com for Toyoko Inn is under Pay Later and Free Cancellation option. However, I received SMS stating that the full amount has been charged by Toyoko Inn. This is weird because authorization checking will usually stated agoda.com, booking.com but this one states the Toyoko Inn name. Is this their policy? I have since cancelled my booking (free cancellation) and re-booked under Agoda (due to lower price).

Anyone know what is the email address for Toyoko Inn? unable to find at the website. Also, can we store luggage at the front desk if arrive before check-in time?
Human Nature
post Feb 25 2016, 12:45 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 24 2016, 11:58 PM)
Only have tel inquiry
QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 25 2016, 12:34 AM)
Human Nature no experience specifically with toyoko, but I guess in general most hotels will allow you to store luggage before check in or after check out.
Alright thanks.

Confirmed that Toyoko Inn has charged the full amount to my card. Got to be careful when using booking.com in future.
Human Nature
post Feb 25 2016, 11:15 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Feb 25 2016, 11:03 AM)
Is not full charged, it was just a pre-authorization, it will hold your CC limit for some time, and it will be release again.
This process will be done for every 90 days, according to Toyoko.
I have contact Toyoko Inn for this issue b4, you can refer to the attachment below
If u still want to contact them, this is the email addr: web_booking_dept@toyoko-inn.com
this email I use was 2 years back, i'm not sure izzit still available

Thanks for the info and email. Your reservation was direct with Toyoko Inn?

I have contacted booking.com and my card provider, both said that my card have been charged. It is still a floating transaction, so I will just have to monitor whether it is actually billed or not.
Human Nature
post Feb 25 2016, 11:29 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Feb 25 2016, 11:27 AM)
i booked via booking.com
It wont really credit, i have experiance  whistling.gif
Good if like that. Scare die me. By the way, that email works, I received an acknowledgement reply.
Human Nature
post Feb 25 2016, 04:33 PM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Feb 25 2016, 04:18 PM)
this map is 2015 or 2016
coz this year the weather totally chaos
they released an updated schedule yesterday
Human Nature
post Feb 26 2016, 12:11 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(apittke @ Feb 25 2016, 11:58 PM)
Just found baucer from Hard Rock osaka for dinner.. Expired on Feb 29.. Pm me if interested.. I post to ur address.. Not For selling A gift For those who are travel to osaka .. Can save ur budget for dinner wink.gif
that is nice of you. too bad, i will only be there in march
Human Nature
post Feb 26 2016, 09:58 AM

26,521 posts

QUOTE(Prodigius @ Feb 26 2016, 04:13 AM)
Currently filling in the blanks for 31/3 - 3/4 due to one cancelled Airbnb accommodation in Shinjuku.

Anything else I should not miss on this trip?
The airbnb is cancelled by you or host? Any reason given? Were you notified and do you get full refund and any compensation ?
Human Nature
post Feb 28 2016, 11:29 AM

26,521 posts

All rich people..can lose 10K's of yen just like that sweat.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0561sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:00 AM