145 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 02:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 01:33 PM)
got..arashiyama is the only area that I will be going two times as I missed Tenryu-ji and nonomia last time..wanted to go to some temples further north from arashiyama and also ryoan-ji this time but..lazy to walk tongue.gif
Remember to try Sagano train.
the temples can be connected with Kyoto bus.
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 02:41 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Dec 30 2015, 02:26 PM)
You need to take 3 bus trip in a day to make the bus pass worth while.  During peak season, buses are stuck in traffic and take long time to reach destination.  So this is where the rail or subway comes into the picture.  But if not peak season, bus is ok I guess.
Last time i go during sakura and autumn leave season, traffic still ok.
Most of the tourism place can be reach easily by bus but subway have to walk a bit.
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 30 2015, 01:24 PM)
why don have fushimi inari and golden pavilion geh? i tot it is a must go?
He went Japan many times d lor....
Victor3010
post Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM

1,567 posts

Yet to plan my trip itinerary and only flight ticket bought... Will give this thread a read through...

Will be in Japan for 13 Days 12 Nights on end January with a total of 5 people... Landing in Tokyo and Leaving from Tokyo...

I am thinking...

Tokyo --> Kyoto --> Osaka --> Tokyo

Made my first mistake I guess, should have considered multi city flight via ANA airlines for a couple of hundred extra... But travelling back and forth to the airport gonna cost time and money right?

This post has been edited by Victor3010: Dec 30 2015, 03:33 PM
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 03:37 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM)
Yet to plan my trip itinerary and only flight ticket bought... Will give this thread a read through...

Will be in Japan for 13 Days 12 Nights on end January with a total of 5 people... Landing in Tokyo and Leaving from Tokyo...

I am thinking...

Made my first mistake I guess, should have considered multi city flight via ANA airlines for a couple of hundred extra... But travelling back and forth to the airport gonna cost time and money right?
For me, taking shinkansen is more worth compare to flight in term of time.
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 03:43 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM)

I am thinking...

Take the 7 days JR nationwide pass.
Human Nature
post Dec 30 2015, 03:45 PM

- student of human nature -
26,522 posts

QUOTE(junjie @ Dec 30 2015, 02:36 PM)
Remember to try Sagano train.
the temples can be connected with Kyoto bus.
yeah thought of that too, thanks

QUOTE(michlove @ Dec 30 2015, 03:32 PM)
He went Japan many times d lor....
wah dont say like that, other sifu here will laugh at me le..i thought you went more than me too. by the way, 3 months to go thumbup.gif
michlove
post Dec 30 2015, 03:49 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 03:45 PM)
wah dont say like that, other sifu here will laugh at me le..i thought you went more than me too. by the way, 3 months to go  thumbup.gif
LOL....time to countdown! See you in Japan....haha
junjie
post Dec 30 2015, 04:11 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 03:45 PM)
wah dont say like that, other sifu here will laugh at me le..i thought you went more than me too. by the way, 3 months to go  thumbup.gif
Remember to buy at JR counter at Kansai Airport when you reached. if not will sold out...
Victor3010
post Dec 30 2015, 04:11 PM

1,567 posts

Is there a Tokaido Shinkansen Only Rail Pass?

This post has been edited by Victor3010: Dec 30 2015, 04:12 PM
JooSeng
post Dec 30 2015, 05:21 PM

31 posts

Will be going to Gifu - Snow Country next week...!!!
mt24
post Dec 30 2015, 05:22 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Dec 30 2015, 02:27 PM)
Try to check out if the JR West Pass is more worth it.  You can buy 1-day pass and do Himeji & Kobe on same day.  I did Nara without pass - just buy rail fare to & fro, cheaper than any pass.
already did my calculation i think should be fine considering we gonna hoping train / subway. some more this pass cover bus. at least we can estimate how much the transportation cost for that day.

2 days Kansai Thru Pass: Y4000
2 days JR West Pass: Y4300

another pass that I think usefull is Osaka Amazing Pass. Havent study completely yet but I think worth it for those who want to pusing pusing around Osaka.

SkyCaptain
post Dec 30 2015, 06:33 PM

262 posts

Bro, reserve some energy for your in room activity since you're going on your honeymoon. You only honeymoon once in a lifetime.

QUOTE(fuadfadz @ Dec 30 2015, 02:18 PM)
i just want to have fun during honeymoon.  rclxms.gif will try to do the iternary mid next year.
lee90
post Dec 30 2015, 06:37 PM

Ozibala
1,004 posts

This is my draft itinerary for Kyoto still not finish yet, sifu-sifu comment?

This post has been edited by lee90: Dec 30 2015, 06:37 PM
lee90
post Dec 30 2015, 06:39 PM

Ozibala
1,004 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Dec 30 2015, 05:22 PM)
already did my calculation i think should be fine considering we gonna hoping train / subway. some more this pass cover bus. at least we can estimate how much the transportation cost for that day.

another pass that I think usefull is Osaka Amazing Pass. Havent study completely yet but I think worth it for those who want to pusing pusing around Osaka.
i remember RC or mich saying tht Osaka amazing pass is nt amazing at all and is not worth at all? hahahaha
Human Nature
post Dec 30 2015, 06:46 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 30 2015, 06:37 PM)
This is my draft itinerary for Kyoto still not finish yet, sifu-sifu comment?

maybe tell us what pass are you using for the transport too, if any, or just icoca. why need so many station transfer for the 4th day from shijo to arashiyama? and if you are using the bus pass, might as well take the bus from kitano to kinkakuji. 3rd day so bare?
QUOTE(mt24 @ Dec 30 2015, 05:22 PM)

if you want to use osaka subway (without the admission discount), may consider eco card or 1 day subway pass too, better than amazing pass.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Dec 30 2015, 06:49 PM
lee90
post Dec 30 2015, 06:53 PM

Ozibala
1,004 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 06:46 PM)
maybe tell us what pass are you using for the transport too, if any, or just icoca. why need so many station transfer for the 4th day from shijo to arashiyama? and if you are using the bus pass, might as well take the bus from kitano to kinkakuji. 3rd day so bare?

if you want to use osakasubway, may consider eco card or 1 day subway pass too.
to make it simple, at the moment my itinerary will be for KTP pass.. not sure worth o not since i not yet start doing research on other pass, i choose KTP pass in the first place coz last few version of "Travel to Japan" thread all recommend KTP tongue.gif

3rd day still dono wan to add what in.. nid to draft something out first to motivate myself to continue blush.gif

This post has been edited by lee90: Dec 30 2015, 06:57 PM
Human Nature
post Dec 30 2015, 06:56 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Dec 30 2015, 06:53 PM)
to make it simple, at the moment my itinerary will be for KTP pass.. not sure worth o not since i not yet start doing research on other pass, i choose KTP pass in the first place coz last few version of "Travel to Japan" thread all recommend KTP  tongue.gif

3rd day still dono wan to add what in.. nid to draft something out first to motivate myself to continue  blush.gif
if you are using KTP then from shijo, just use subway to uzumasa, then randen to arashiyama..hankyu is slower and the station is further. then from golden pavi, take bus to kitaoji and take subway all the way to shijo. faster.

KTP is good but the cost is higher too. not worth it if you use it in one city (kyoto) alone, might as well rely on 1 day passes and icoca. do the comparison.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Dec 30 2015, 06:57 PM
lee90
post Dec 30 2015, 06:58 PM

Ozibala
1,004 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 30 2015, 06:56 PM)
if you are using KTP then from shijo, just use subway to uzumasa, then randen to arashiyama..hankyu is slower and the station is further. then from golden pavi, take bus to kitaoji and take subway all the way to shijo. faster.

KTP is good but the cost is higher too. not worth it if you use it in one city (kyoto) alone, might as well rely on 1 day passes and icoca. do the comparison.
ok, i will do the comparison sifu! thanks for the info.. reli helpful!! thumbs up! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
+h0m@s..
post Dec 30 2015, 07:04 PM

306 posts

Anybody know where in Japan I can buy a aged yamazaki or whiskey?

145 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.7617sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:10 AM