Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

Human Nature
post Apr 4 2016, 10:43 AM

- student of human nature -
26,522 posts

Make sense to drive from Osaka to Shirakawago and Takayama? Any other interesting are that I should include?
Human Nature
post Apr 4 2016, 05:23 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(Devil4life @ Apr 4 2016, 02:54 PM)
How's the bloom? I see more of it at Nara rather than Kyoto, went Philosopher's part on 27th but only odd 2/3 trees bloom.

You book the Kyoto Imperial Palace tour online? or walk in?
Didnt go to nara this time. There were some scattered trees at hiroshima, okayama, himeji and miyajima..decided to skip sakuranomiya at osaka..luckily read the blossom report by japan travel guide that the park at kyoto imperial palace is blooming, so changed iti to include it. Just the park, didnt join the tour. Philosopher path still scattered on 31st..so luckily there were some full blooms at pontocho and the big tree at maruyama is at its full glory thumbup.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 5 2016, 10:48 AM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Apr 5 2016, 10:28 AM)
Yes,make sense driving from Osaka to Shirakawago and Takayama...but need avoid Highway ,just follow old road ,if you want to see panorama and mountain. There many onsen at Gero on route 41. Highly advise use GPS google. I'm only use Highway after coming back from Takayama. Driving is the best to see nature beauty compare use Public Transport are limited.
QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Apr 5 2016, 10:39 AM)
check my previous post, i'm going to self drive from osaka another 1 week+
area covered below
kyoto -> takashima -> fukui -> kaga -> kanazawa -> toyama (tateyama) -> gokoyama -> shirakawa -> hida -> takayama -> gero -> hikone -> osaka
Thanks for the tips. Have not done any homework yet as just a quick brainstorming with friends on next trip. Sounds like fun thumbup.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 7 2016, 08:45 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Apr 7 2016, 07:28 PM)
Anyone here mind to share your pictures for this Spring 2016@ Japan??
Just go to japan travel guide reports...they have pictures for all over japan
Human Nature
post Apr 11 2016, 07:51 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 11 2016, 06:11 PM)
No such thing unless you using JR Rail Pass.
Shinkansen ticket only valid for you ride from Kyoto Station To Tokyo Station only. At Tokyo Station you need to buy JR Yamanote line ticket to Hamatsucho Station.

Shinkansen ticket have no power to take any JR local train as free.

BTW, if you want go Hamamatsucho Station. Just get down from Shinagawa Station. No need go until Tokyo Station. Shinagawa Station to Hamamatsucho Staion by Yamanote Line much faster.
Wah sifu, this time I win you biggrin.gif the method said by sacwoc is correct. I asked about this previously at Japan Guide and have also done it too, from Shin-Osaka to Shinagawa on Nozomi and then JR local / Yamanote line to Ueno. Not using any JR pass.

At Shin-Osaka Station:
- Insert both ticket at the same time to the entry gate.
- Collect both tickets.

At Shinagawa Station (do not exit JR station):
- Insert both tickets at the shinkashen transfer gate.
- Collect the base fare ticket only.

At Ueno Station
- Insert the base fare ticket at the exit gate.
- No ticket will be collected.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Apr 11 2016, 07:54 PM
Human Nature
post Apr 11 2016, 08:14 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 11 2016, 08:09 PM)
This method only works on Nozomi Shinkansen.
I very less taking Nozomi class.
One of reason I dont want Japan PR was to enjoy JR passes.
from my understanding, it works regardless whether it is nozomi, hikari or kodama as long as you have the shinkansen ticket and the base ticket. If using JR Pass, then no need to worry about all this anymore biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 11 2016, 08:38 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 11 2016, 08:30 PM)
Shit.
Never think of ths way before.
I some times no using JR Passes. Talkng Nozomi train.
After reach station I throw the ticket away and buy local train ticket again.
at first, i am hesitant too because need to insert 2 tickets together..what if the gate swallow both tickets biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 14 2016, 11:29 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(sexymyname @ Apr 14 2016, 11:27 PM)
Hi there, just want to know can i purchase Shinkansen ticket on the spot in the station as i need only 1 way ticket from Kyoto to Tokyo. Thanks alot  biggrin.gif
Sure, no problem.
Human Nature
post Apr 16 2016, 11:01 AM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(w'lock @ Apr 16 2016, 07:49 AM)
Hi, last time I went to Tokyo there's a 3 day pass for subway that can only be bought at airport which is way cheaper than if bought daily at station.

Wondering if there is same thing available in Osaka , thanks.
there is 1 day pass for subway in osaka, among other passes too
Human Nature
post Apr 16 2016, 07:54 PM

26,522 posts

I am officially starting to plan for a trip to Hokkaido. Targeting July next year for the Lavender season. After a quick read-up today, I have group the destinations to:

Confirm going: Sapporo, Otaru, Furano
Under consideration (75% chance): Asahikawa, Biei
Under consideration (50% chance): Noboribetsu, Hakodate
Want to go but seems 0% chance: Shiretoko, Daisetsuzan

Planning for 6-7 nights.
Wanted to try out ANA or JAL but seems they have transits. Taking direct AA flight, the main concern is the very early departure time on the return trip. Still thinking how to solve this.

michlovesee what happen... I told you don't poison me
Human Nature
post Apr 17 2016, 11:51 AM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Apr 17 2016, 07:37 AM)
Recommendation :

1. Asahikawa Zoo - If you want to see white beard.

2. Toya Lake - You can stop for while here..recommended.
Thanks for the recommendation. I might skip the zoo as I have seen polar bear and penguins at other places. Will check out Lake Toya.
Human Nature
post Apr 17 2016, 06:11 PM

26,522 posts

Not thinking about driving, so am checking on the rail passes available for Hokkaido and came across this two:

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361_01.html
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2357_001.html

Seems like the Hokkaido Free Pass at 26k++ is very expensive because JR Pass with more features is 29k++

rclxub.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 17 2016, 07:23 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(rexona @ Apr 17 2016, 07:07 PM)
Why not? Lots of places in Hokkaido very mahfan without car leh. Example you can get to Biei by train or bus but it would be a total bitch to explore blue pond, and hunt down the various trees and picturesque spots around the patchwork/panorama road without wheels.
honestly because quite stressful driving at overseas (drove at perth and okinawa before)..easy to go over speed limit..but let me read up more on the train network and passes. If the cost is much higher, then will re-consider driving.
Human Nature
post Apr 18 2016, 10:06 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Apr 18 2016, 10:05 PM)
woohoo! Oh, I manage to poison you ahh..... icon_rolleyes.gif Oh yah, hakodate must go...i regret for not going due to insufficient time. Remember to look out for Ibis Styles hotel. Love the spacious room!
When you are free ar, share your itinerary...your album / photo lack of info tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Apr 18 2016, 10:07 PM
Human Nature
post Apr 18 2016, 11:14 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(bartbarb @ Apr 18 2016, 10:54 PM)
hey guys, how could i convince my wife that it is ok to visit osaka/kyoto ?
As she is afraid of the radiation, & cause her unable to give birth.

I had told her there is nothing to worries about, but she still care.

Flight tix already bought somemore.
tell her you are going to walk pass kabukicho...just kidding tongue.gif

on a serious note, if she doesn't want to go, maybe just let it be to avoid future issues.
Human Nature
post Apr 20 2016, 10:46 PM

26,522 posts

Guys, Otaru is a 1-day or 2-days trip? Seems like it is similar to Kurashiki whereby the canal area can be explored in less than a day.

Very rough plan:

Sapporo - 3 days
Otaru - 1 day (day trip)
Furano / Biei - 1 day (day trip)
Noboribetsu / Lake Toya - 1 day (day trip)

Still thinking whether want to allocate 1 or 2 days for Furano / Biei. Since this is suppose to be a lavender trips, seems rugi if just go there for 1 day. If 2 days, will still be making daily trips.

Not going to Hakodate due to distance, time and cost factor. Staying at Sapporo throughout the trip.

Human Nature
post Apr 21 2016, 10:13 AM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Apr 21 2016, 12:01 AM)
Otaru can be done by one day trip plus it was not far away from Sapporo. 
For most of people 1 day trip enough unless you got alot of info about Otaru like my level then need 2 - 3 days

Noboribetsu best was staying overnight due to famous onsen. If staying overnight then can combo it with Lake Toya.
If day Trips...not really recommended (My Advice).
I will put more day on Furano or Asahikawa. 

I got alot of tips....maybe will put on Tips of the months or else just PM me for Advance Tips  brows.gif
thank you sifu..so allocate 1 day for otaru will do. Sapporo seems more happening with their summer events.

If I am buying the 3 days pass, 2 days for furano/biei/asahikawa that area and 1 day for lake toya / noboribetsu area. Still 50/50 because will not be going to onsen and I have been to the hell valley in hakone.

Since AAX return trip is early in the morning at 9.20 am, taking the first train from sapporo at 6.12am can make it? Reach airport at 6.55am.

Make it 2 tips per months biggrin.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 21 2016, 12:45 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(rexona @ Apr 21 2016, 11:53 AM)
Human Nature I forgot liao whether you are driving or not. If driving, the shiroi koibito park is exactly on the way from Sapporo to Otaru so you can consider adding that in if you're interested.

Blogwhore link: http://look-see-eat.blogspot.com/2015/11/h...cape-kamui.html

Otaru itself, day trip can d, pray for good weather otherwise the canal will look super underwhelming.

Sapporo 3 days feels a bit long leh. Is there enough summer events to fill up those 3 days? Events aside, I think 1 day enough liao: morning go seafood market (nijo or curb depending how far you wanna go), daytime mt moiwa, night time susukino/tanukikoji/pole town finish riao.

I'd rather cut 1 day from Sapporo spend it overnight in Noboribetsu. Check in Takimotokan, go bear park and feed the bears, go hiking in Jigokudani then come back soak in the 7 stars onsen πŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏ
Hi, yup have read that blog and several others..seems like many bloggers are driving and less blogs on taking trains. Tentative plan is to take train.

Will be going to shiroi koibito because I like anything sweet biggrin.gif Lol, i am quite wary of the canal..kurashiki canal is really super underwhelming too. I haven't zoom in on the places to go...just area to go first tongue.gif but all those you mentioned in sapporo, wont be missing. And thanks for the other tips biggrin.gif

You went during which season?
Human Nature
post Apr 24 2016, 03:26 PM

26,522 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Apr 24 2016, 03:06 PM)
Otaru Canal much more happening compare Kurashiki...Highly recommended to take photo during sunset at Otaru Canal.. smile.gif

If you go to Lake Toya..highly recommended to try Ais cream.

https://www.google.co.jp/maps/place/%E3%83%...4b99b3b88?hl=ms
Thanks, will check it out. smile.gif
Human Nature
post Apr 26 2016, 06:00 PM

26,522 posts

Just focusing on tokyo? maybe a day trip to hakone or nikko?

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0667sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:18 AM