8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

lucaswjk
post Jul 12 2016, 10:39 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(platingirl @ Jul 12 2016, 09:01 PM)
Thanks Lucas. When you say hotel allow to add futon, you mean those hotel that have the tatami room, right?  Do they charge extra? Appreciate any tips hahaha ... am bringing my in-laws as well this round, so i have to book like 2 rooms for each overnight *sweats*  biggrin.gif
extra charge yes
but not really recalled how much... coz i stay in ryokan and i walk-in
all paid by credit card
(no research/homework rclxs0.gif )

but if u r going during super peak, i dont think u wanna take the risk

my tips: look for the hotel/ryokan website/email
then write directly to them
or call them (from msia) skype?? my phone can call japan for free rclxs0.gif

---

almost forget, there is a time i stayed in western room...
the hotel provide extra futon to this type of room too

gud luck
lucaswjk
post Jul 12 2016, 10:47 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 12 2016, 09:57 PM)
wah, see girl only straight away help to plot on google map. didnt come to this thread for some time, missed so many tips of the month dy.
in this forum they hv special status brows.gif

actually i hv been telling alot of ppl to planned their itinerary using google maps
but nobody do this, at most i saw excel sheets

taking this chance to show the power of googlemaps
let them see for themself the usefulness

lucaswjk
post Jul 12 2016, 10:57 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 12 2016, 10:54 PM)
Please edit previous post and merge it next time.
this type of talk is inappropriate to discuss in the same post
imagine the gal hv to quote the msg, what she will think?

haha...

is v9 coming up?
lucaswjk
post Jul 14 2016, 11:32 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jul 14 2016, 10:39 AM)
I did some preliminary research. Hokkaido peak is summer, during ,their lavender season. But also alot of visitors during the snow festival.

Assuming i want to do both snow festival and drift ice in next year feb, is it too late if i only start planning/booking in december? Ie 2 months in advance? 4 of us going. Just friends, and we are ok with ryokan/budget accom, flexible.
i hate summer and winter vacations

summer always hot, rain then typhoon
winter worst, extreme snow cause flight cancellation, slippery road, super cold u don't even want to walk outside

yes their hv their own speciality but traveling in this conditions is totally waste of time, gud luck
---
QUOTE(michlove @ Jul 14 2016, 11:30 AM)
Looking forward to my 3rd trip to Japan...Feb 2017 for Valentine's!  wub.gif  wub.gif
go la nz, korea, or upcomming hawaii

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jul 14 2016, 11:36 AM
lucaswjk
post Jul 14 2016, 11:17 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ Jul 14 2016, 10:41 PM)
Too bad they don't provide train options when planning for direction. Else it will be perfect
OMG u r right
i just discover it really didnt hv train options bangwall.gif
lucaswjk
post Jul 15 2016, 12:54 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 15 2016, 11:49 AM)
Can be done, But must work together with Wikipedia.  Extra more homework.
Example Noboribetsu to Chitose.
First you go Noribetsu Station first on wikipedia. Then you will get Muroran Main Line info.
Then you will found Numanohata Station are Interchange between Muroran Main Line & Chitose Line.
Then you will success reach Chitose Station from Noboribetsu.
Oedo Onsen was expensive and sleep on tatami floor only. I rather sleep at Airport Hotel much better.
Best choice was sleep at Airport Hotel or take limo bus to Shinjuku. At Shinjuku walk to those Internet & Manga Cafe.  You can rent a small room inside CC. Extremely cheap and free bottomless drinks too.

Those Internet speed are 30mb per sec. Used it for do homework.  brows.gif

https://tokyocheapo.com/accommodationcat/li...cafes-in-tokyo/
oh ya...

i forget to give u all tips, for those who traveling with train n shuttle bus
noboribetsu is actually very tourist friendly place
some hotel hv free bus from airport
---> just pretend u r walk-in customer to get a free ride brows.gif

but there r few attractions required some traveling... and it is quite a distance
too bad im not too sure they hv local bus/taxi service around there

lucaswjk
post Jul 22 2016, 12:38 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 22 2016, 12:32 PM)
This statement prove Deodorant are fatty.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

hazzly1
For me 20 Celsius are wearing T-shirt only. 10 - 13 Celsius will be T-shirt + one thin layer jacket.
this proof RegentCid is also fatty

the jacket must be windproof!!!
without it, when the wind blow, its like u r not wearing at all
lucaswjk
post Jul 24 2016, 06:54 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Jul 24 2016, 05:11 PM)
Hi sifus here,
I'm planning to go Hokkaido this year around end Oct.
Read in Japan Guide that Hokkaido trees will be turning red late Sept to early Oct. Would it be too late for me to catch the autumn leaves in late October?
When would be the best time to go Hokkaido if given a choice? Early October?

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2014_when.html
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 24 2016, 05:24 PM)
You will Miss it. If late Oct at Hokkaido.
You want to catch Hokkaido best Autumn, Have to go at Mid October.
yup mid of oct is best bet, but i will choose mid to end to be safe
from my experiences, the tree turn yellow+red is varied by locations
mountain area, forest and city... all hv their own timing
so dont get ur hope too high, as there is no perfect timing

if u planned to drive, u hv more chances to encounter yellowred hill/gorge/highway/bridge/dam

i went on first & second week, i recall only 40% or less is converted
i guessed mayb global warming delaying the winter hmm.gif

deodorant, mayb can gv more accurate answer, i think he went at the end of oct

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jul 24 2016, 06:56 PM
lucaswjk
post Aug 1 2016, 06:21 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Aug 1 2016, 04:31 PM)
Hi Sifu,

will be doing a self-drive at Hokkaido early Nov. got cheap tickets previously ^^

1) found the most value portable wifi rental @ RM33/day (with damage insurance), telco is Softbank 4G LTE and claimed to have better coverage there compared with Ymobile
2) found a 6d5n ground package with these itinerary (excluded the suggested stops and places to visit):

chitose -> noboribetsu (hotel sekisuitei)

noboribetsu -> hakodate (hakodate kokusai hotel)

hakodate -> lake toya (toyako manseikaku)

lake toya -> sapporo (mercure hotel sapporo  drool.gif )

sapporo -> otaro -> sapporo (mercure hotel sapporo)

sapporo -> chitose

Price depends on car and room type but one of the car i like is Subaru XV Hybrid  rclxms.gif save petrol i guess  icon_rolleyes.gif

Questions:

1) It stated that it comes with ETC Card but is there a place i can check their toll rate? What is the min reload i need to make?
2) My full trip is actually 7d7n, arriving early morning on 7th and leaving early morning on 14th. Any comment on the above itinerary and what other city to recommend? I plan to extend another 2 nights at Sapporo

Thanks in advance.
first thing first
1. read the thread... or page #1
2. no need etc, pay cash
3. noboribetsu -> lake toya
lucaswjk
post Aug 4 2016, 03:46 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

i heard crab??

my review
King Crab (grill) super delicious

Hairy Crab ~ waste money... DONT ORDER!!!~
lucaswjk
post Aug 4 2016, 04:14 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 4 2016, 03:58 PM)
Hairy Crab can be very delicious also. I know a shop at Sapporo specialist do hairy crab only. best Yo.
Hairy Crab shell as bowl , yoke + fried rice + crab meat.   thumbup.gif

Overall still budget. Got money sure can having king crab full meal.  Willing to spend then King Crab Leg / Echizen crab.  Kiamsiap type then eat Hairy Crab
hmm.gif
last time i ate hairy crab with king crab at the same time
mayb i compared it side by side...
coz the king crab taste is too tasty... while hairy feel like from slump
haha

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Aug 4 2016, 04:15 PM
lucaswjk
post Aug 5 2016, 04:28 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 5 2016, 04:02 PM)
odaiba need one day?
i was planning on my itinerary, was slotting in odaiba for few hours for gundam, ramen and rainbow bridge view only
i took 4hrs for dinner, gundam, rainbow, dinner...
6pm to 10+pm

i would like to advise u, dont go too late...
coz i missed the gundam light show bangwall.gif

and dont dont dont forget... must go to 7-11 beside the gundam
there u can buy special edition gundam (not sold anywhere) at 7-11 price thumbsup.gif

if u wish to shop, odaiba is also a good shopping place...
lucaswjk
post Aug 5 2016, 04:52 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 5 2016, 04:35 PM)
any particular timing for light show?
forget, if not mistaken i think last is 8pm... not sure
tat day i took my dinner longer than expected bye.gif

the rainbow bridge, u can schedule it last...
i view it at one of the shopping center viewing platform
there is not closing time!!!~ becoz it is outside!~
(u need 18-200 zoom camera here!!)
lucaswjk
post Aug 5 2016, 10:56 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 5 2016, 07:19 PM)
i got none of that
kit lens have lag
prolly will buy a 50mm portrait lens
50mm still in the same length as 18 55 whistling.gif

u need prime lens 35mm f1.4 brows.gif
or 85mm
---
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 5 2016, 07:40 PM)
Can refer to Page 1 Tips of the months. Best place for shoot Rainbow Bridge picture.
i saw ur post,
but when i go there... it is very dark...
that y i goto the shopping center behind the park
---
QUOTE(hjh87 @ Aug 5 2016, 08:09 PM)
Haha, Disney still in consideration.

Yup, Odaiba is already in my list.
Nice and thanks for the info, can get some stuff before heading back.  thumbup.gif
Guy, beside Kawaguchiko area any other place nearby fuji lake have nice Ryokan?? Found few in Kawaguchiko but all fully booked  blink.gif
ur last options goto public onsen
lucaswjk
post Aug 8 2016, 03:27 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 8 2016, 11:03 AM)
i never knew that, i take taxi at HK also open door by myself laugh.gif
some taxi in msia also hv automatic door
lucaswjk
post Aug 12 2016, 10:04 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

if u wan save money,
most of the time hostel is cheaper than capsule
lucaswjk
post Aug 13 2016, 04:41 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Halfhearted04 @ Aug 13 2016, 03:42 PM)
anyone can recommend place near tokyo ueno station to sight see or kill time ?

thanks traveler smile.gif
ueno park
goto japan guide for more info
lucaswjk
post Aug 19 2016, 02:14 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Aug 19 2016, 12:48 PM)
booked a prius for 10 days at JPY65000 inclusive of the Tocoo support etc.
Didnt take any insurance at all... Still contemplating whether i should take up the insurance  hmm.gif
And mine doesnt even come with free wifi or HEP... dang...
jus take the insurance
Japanese is very nasty if u accidentally knock them

my father's frenz accidently knock a japs bumber here (minor accident)
he then goto hospital to do full body medical checkup, physiological evaluation and charge it to him, means lawsuit with other small compensation

very nasty stuff
lucaswjk
post Aug 23 2016, 03:21 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Aug 23 2016, 01:49 PM)
Hi, Im going to Tokyo and Hokkaido this end of November 25/11-3/12.

My itinerary is fly to Obihiro airport > Furano > Biei > Asahikawa > Sounkyo > Daizetsusan > Asahikawa > Sapporo > Otaru > Niseko > Lake Toya > Sapporo > Back to Tokyo.

I was wondering how is the snow condition will be like? is it advisable to drive around Hokkaido?

Im considering either rent a car or buy JR hokkaido pass.
u hv about 9d8n, u need car to cover this wide area
---
obihiro airport? i think u r the first person here mention this airport
but... from the maps it is kinda far compared to chitose to furano

r u comfortable driving in the dark? u can skip asahikawa...
Furano > Biei > Asahikawa > Sounkyo >

how bout jozankei and noboribetsu?
lucaswjk
post Aug 23 2016, 04:43 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Aug 23 2016, 03:24 PM)
Ya obihiro airport by domestic flight, because i intend to visit tokachi, the asahikawa zoo not worth going?
i tot u r going after Daizetsusan...

asahikawa zoo thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0616sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:07 PM