Huawei Mate 8 forum discussion V1, The truly premium flagship?
bearbearhong
Mar 15 2016, 07:55 PM
Having the mate 8 for half a day, lighter then I expect, the screen protector prone to attract finger prints...still exploring the device ...
Came out from.box warranty end may 2017
bearbearhong
Mar 15 2016, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 15 2016, 08:10 PM) i just checked via hicare app. my warranty is until 12th march 2017... not fair leh!  May be urs diff merchant...
bearbearhong
Mar 15 2016, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 15 2016, 08:12 PM) i have ordered the hard shell case. dislike the flip case, especially for this one, since you cannot see the notification light anymore  Yeah I dislike the flip case too, using it naked ..have ordered niklin tpu casing.
bearbearhong
Mar 16 2016, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(hirota @ Mar 16 2016, 09:49 AM) how many days it took from payment day till delivered? depends on the respective merchant, mine placed order on 9/3 but only received yesterday, some forumers placed on 9th received last saturday
bearbearhong
Mar 16 2016, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(karheng @ Mar 16 2016, 04:35 PM) This phone look like selling hot. gemfive is the cheapest with discount code. Just want to share it out. some of the seller at 11 street is selling this offer for 64GB RM2399 -free 1st year screen crack warranty, 1 year extended warranty RM2199 + shipping RM2299 with FREE RM119 rebate If you got 11% or citibank credit card, can get RM30 off with the coupon( 1000 coupons every day) or RM35 off ( 300 coupons every day) They are offer 0% installment as well. For those interested to buy this phone, go lazada, there is one rm2249 and maybank card extra 11%, so may end up less then 2k. So check it out
bearbearhong
Mar 16 2016, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(xisan @ Mar 16 2016, 08:15 PM) So tempted to get one after I tried the demo in Huawei KLCC. I'm not tried much, how's the battery life? And is it burning up when you play a game or browsing a lot on 3G/4G? From note 5, in terms of device temp, I have not feel it on mate 8 after usage of one full day. Batt 100% from 8am, now 53% heavy usage on whatsapp, moderate calls, browsing & Facebook . If note 5, I may need to charge the fone now. As for camera , may be am not particular but still is not bad as what others complained. The finger print feature is fast but I wish it comes with tap to wake.
bearbearhong
Mar 16 2016, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(xisan @ Mar 16 2016, 08:47 PM) That's great though. I wonder why Nexus 6P can't be this great. Maybe no battery saver from Huawei itself? Thank you for the info Definitely great then on battery life. Tap to wake like Nexus 6P eh? I thought they implement to their latest phone. Overall is a wow factor for what I can see to this device. Before I test the demo I thought it is the same as Huawei P8, even the demo is overheating. Boy I was wrong. Unlucky for me I missed the chance for the first 88 to get the free Talkband  Forget the talkband, u can spend rm2k save u rm400 to get one online .
bearbearhong
Mar 17 2016, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(hirota @ Mar 17 2016, 02:07 PM) impressive gemfive delivery, order on Tuesday, today arrived. congrats u r lucky one, received less then 3 days
bearbearhong
Mar 17 2016, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(ss1st @ Mar 17 2016, 11:53 AM) Placed and order for a Mate 8 + a Nilkin case on 11th March from Gemfive Gemfive website stated that the product will be sent out by 14th March Received Nilkin casing on 15th but no words about the arrival of the Mate 8 Make a phone call to Gemfive customer service (03-27141700) on the 15th and was told that will be informed once they receive any news from the merchant No calls or emails from Gemfive thereafter Call Gemfive customer service again this morning and was told the exact same thing again by the same guy with creepy sound (like he got some super nasty insomnia and never slept for 500 years) sigh.... experienced while waiting for status of my order, robotic customer servce agent.
bearbearhong
Mar 17 2016, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(hirota @ Mar 17 2016, 02:35 PM) any idea where can get cheapo transparent tpu soft case? getting friend to order from taobao, RM25+- niklin, waiting for its arrival, dont feel like spend too much on expensive casing anymore
bearbearhong
Mar 17 2016, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(retsmot @ Mar 17 2016, 02:59 PM) lelong got a few cheap ones. i'm using spigen transparent case, nice, but slightly exp. bro, where you get the SGP case?
bearbearhong
Mar 17 2016, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(retsmot @ Mar 17 2016, 03:49 PM) lelong... got 2 type, crystal clear and rugged. just go lelong search mate 8 case. noted with thanks !
bearbearhong
Mar 18 2016, 08:17 AM
Anyone can recommend a reliable double tap to wake screen app? Really miss the features ...and I don't know how to root a device . Thanks
bearbearhong
Mar 21 2016, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(icemessenger @ Mar 21 2016, 08:39 PM) That's why shared pics here lor
bearbearhong
Mar 21 2016, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Mar 21 2016, 07:43 PM) Mate 8 does has double tap wake function, it just hidden by huawei. You need to root to enable it Wish to have that feature but don't know how to root.
bearbearhong
Mar 23 2016, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(locomotion @ Mar 23 2016, 05:27 PM) everyone got their new case.. stock case no good ka?  stock case flip case very leceh to use with
bearbearhong
Mar 29 2016, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(reanimation_84 @ Mar 29 2016, 03:38 PM) Service centre provides top notch service. Had heating issues with my mate 8. Had it checked and after 1 hour got a new phone as a replacement.  wow glad to hear that !
bearbearhong
Mar 29 2016, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(mffa @ Mar 29 2016, 03:34 PM) Depends on each individual btw..I also think brand is unimportant, what more important is phone spec (flagship/middle/budget) until I meet my cocky cousin who use iphone 6..he kutuk kaw2 samsung..said why buy crap samsung..me should buy ip6 instead cause samsung including note 5 always hang..damn.quite sakit hati.bahaha.since then I think branding quite important..brand closely related to public recognition..really tired to deny skeptical public views..especially if the views are untrue about that products.. i was a faithful iphone fan years ago and stopped at iphone 4. the price of apple iphone and samsung is getting higher, i was biased against china made hp until i tried mi phone, then one plus one. i now eyeing on mi5 with the black ceramic built