Unifi Connect UniFi HyppTV Set Top Box Through WiFi

westlife
post Dec 25 2016, 12:24 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Dec 25 2016, 11:15 AM)
Vlan 600 have to tag to Asus 55uhp port4 then set dlink 850L to AP mode not repeater mode and connect to 55uhp port4, then it will work.

I already tested this setup....but make sure u can get nice wifi signal from your dir-850l where your hyppty setup box locate, as dir-850l have weak wifi penetration
yeah that's the disvantage for using wifi extender or using wifi router as access point.

I tried home plug, it works perfectly, think I will go with this option.
westlife
post Dec 1 2018, 11:31 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Oct 19 2018, 11:17 PM)
It shouldn't degrade internet speed.

In my case, HyppTV via powerline it's unstable. Maybe TP-Link C1200 doesn't like Powerline connected to LAN4, who knows, or due to my home's 3-phase wiring. Now after HyppTV is offloaded from my router, everything is fine.

As a good powerline can cost almost RM200, you might as well buy 2 TP-Link SG105E switch and trunk both VLAN 500 & 600 via your single network cable downstair.
Unifi wifi router the 4 network ports allow trunking?
westlife
post Dec 1 2018, 04:57 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Oct 16 2018, 09:57 AM)
[attachmentid=10070631]

Router & BTU is in store room, while HyppTV STB is in living room. There's a RJ45 wall socket at living room's wall, connected to store room.

Previously using Powerlines, but it's not stable (lag, disconnect etc). So I have to use cable, losing that wall socket for Internet.

I wonder will the setup above work? Can standard TM-supplied/consumer routers with Unifi VLAN tagging work in AP mode too? Thanks.
If without existing network ports, I dun think it is easy to implement the two ports from TM wifi router to another switch then to two different devices at different floors.

This post has been edited by westlife: Dec 1 2018, 04:58 PM
westlife
post Dec 1 2018, 09:03 PM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Dec 1 2018, 06:55 PM)
Couldn't do it so ended up using Powerline, but router no longer do VLAN tagging for HyppTV, it's done at my switch. HyppTV still loses signal sometimes, but I only need to restart BTU without restarting the rest of my network.
lucky my unifi tv is next to my wifi router, so no issue about this connectivity. In fact, I dun watch unifi tv at all since I am watching Astro instead.

I bought the TP-link TL-SG108 without 'E' switch to extend the gigabit Ethernet ports from my wifi router. So far so good. Previously my Sony tv I connect using wifi becos not enough ports on the wifi router, when I cast YouTube video to the tv, it always stucks at loading sometimes after a while and always need to off the wifi on the tv and on again to resolve, sometimes even need to repair the tv to my wifi to work. Now problem solved, a lot more stable on Ethernet.

And I have extra ports now to connect many other devices via wired including my MacBook Pro. I can get full internet speed connecting using wire to the newly bought switch.

Never bought the 'E' model becos I did not see it during the IT show when I bought this non 'E'. Now come to think, for home networking, I do not really need vlan tagging also.

So far so good.
westlife
post Dec 2 2018, 10:23 AM

14,251 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Dec 1 2018, 11:44 PM)
Great that you don't need unifi tv.

One more reason I bought SG108E is it can do port mirroring, connected to a small server monitoring Internet traffic.
it is worthwhile to buy SG108E certainly since the price difference is very little. tongue.gif

if it was selling at that time, i will buy it also.
too bad it was not.

yes, lucky also i do not need unifi tv and also do not need to do any port mirroring too since I am using my Internet alone. no need to monitor traffic as I am aware of what i use. haha.

0.0270sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:53 PM